View Full Version : FAI Cup Second Round- Cherry Orchard vs Longford Town

L.T.F.C.
30/04/2012, 6:51 PM
We have just been drawn against Cherry Orchard.

30/04/2012, 8:12 PM
They're struggling this year in The Leinster Senior League but I'd expect them to be well up for this.

fitzpatrick10
30/04/2012, 11:42 PM
They're struggling this year in The Leinster Senior League but I'd expect them to be well up for this.

up for it, town will win even with tc probably trying out a few things with diff players.. nice if a good town following went up.. could be a boost for few of the players fighiting for 1st team...

Tallanted
01/05/2012, 11:26 AM
Paddy Collins is playing for them since he left us, they will be no push over at all, the venue will be an issue, expect a tight win from us.

L.T.F.C.
01/05/2012, 12:09 PM
Where do they play?

01/05/2012, 12:17 PM
They play there home games in Ballyfermot but I'd imagine they'll move it somewhere else to get a few quid out of it.

Tallanted
01/05/2012, 12:26 PM
They play in Elmdale Crescent in Ballyfermot, basically a pitch with a rail around it, dressing rooms currently under construction, the link below only gives a small glimpse

http://www.cherryorchardfc.ie/images/Clubhouse%20construction%20Feb%20010.JPG

There is two full size pitches one with a railing around it and also a ssg pitch too, its located in a housing estate at the back of Parkwest. No chance it would cater for a League of Ireland game.

01/05/2012, 12:44 PM
They could move it to Richmond perhaps?

01/05/2012, 12:57 PM
They could move it to Richmond perhaps?

Crumlin might concede home advantage to play Pats there (Richmond) that weekend and Tallaght Stadium (on which ever day Rovers don't need it when playing Limerick) a possibility as Sacred Heart (Tallaght club) played Limerick there at this stage last season

01/05/2012, 2:03 PM
I thought it'd be moved to Richer, on the Sunday. Hard to see it not being moved to one of Richmond or Tallaght though.

01/05/2012, 2:25 PM
I thought it'd be moved to Richer, on the Sunday.

I hope you're right.

01/05/2012, 2:45 PM
I hope you're right.
Just a guess, not any substance! :)

01/05/2012, 3:41 PM
Would love a trip to Tallaght lets wait and see! What date is game?

01/05/2012, 7:26 PM
Cherry Orchard is of course Vinny Perth's old club before he came to us. this is the first time that the clubs have met since we joined the league of ireland. I am not sure if we met in the non league days as I havent done the stats yet for that era!

L.T.F.C.
01/05/2012, 7:47 PM
Cherry Orchard is of course Vinny Perth's old club before he came to us. this is the first time that the clubs have met since we joined the league of ireland. I am not sure if we met in the non league days as I havent done the stats yet for that era!
Fucck sake Marty... get the finger out.

Cabs88
01/05/2012, 10:25 PM
Thats the weekend of The Ireland match isnt it?! We're looking at the Friday night or Monday so... would love if the game was in Tallaght, have never seen the town play there..

01/05/2012, 10:55 PM
Thats the weekend of The Ireland match isnt it?! We're looking at the Friday night or Monday so... would love if the game was in Tallaght, have never seen the town play there..
Why not Sunday?

Richmond is the obvious choice (and way, way cheaper than Tallaght) but wouldn't surprise me if they tried play it in their place. Crumlin played their game last year v Pats in Richmond. have to think this year will be the same

Cabs88
01/05/2012, 10:57 PM
Why not Sunday?

apologies.. meant Sunday..

02/05/2012, 11:23 AM

Himself and Spud managing Malahide Utd (one division down from Cherry Orchard) these days and have Glen Crowe playing for them and while I expect a Town win I would think it would be a good game.

Robbie Martin playing for Leixlip Utd (his brother John managing) in the league below Malahide Utd.

L.T.F.C.
02/05/2012, 3:17 PM
I always wondered what happened to John Martin. My favourite Town player, followed by Glynn!

03/05/2012, 7:56 PM
Hey lads, any idea what's happening with the date and venue of the fixture yet?

03/05/2012, 8:15 PM
no word from the club as of yet podge..theres talk that game could be played in incicore or tallaght

Tallanted
03/05/2012, 10:16 PM
Leixlip won their league tonight and Malahide won their league two weeks ago.

04/05/2012, 9:31 PM
I received a text from the club just now on the FAI Cup tie;

Cherry Orchard v Longford Town is now being played on Sunday 27th May at 2pm in Frank Cooke Park Griffith Avenue Dublin 11 just to let ye know!

06/05/2012, 5:29 PM
Anyone know anything about that ground? Many heading up? Would be great to give the lads some backing up there it could be the difference cause its gona be tougher than most think.

06/05/2012, 5:57 PM
Its a pitch with a clubhouse. Standing around the pitch for all spectators.

06/05/2012, 5:59 PM
It's a grand little ground. Good bar in the clubhouse too. Or there was when we played there in 2003, I assume it's still there!

06/05/2012, 6:05 PM
Home of Tolka Rovers,decent pitch the last time I was there,surprised that the home team are playing the game on the Northside of the city with I'm sure plenty of grounds on the Southside.They're a LSL team and there's a clubhouse which I'd say has decent dressing rooms but no stands,terraces etc

07/05/2012, 9:34 AM
Not to bad by the sounds of things.

Tallanted
07/05/2012, 11:17 AM
Small shed on one side of it to stand under for cover, pitch is in great condition, decent little ground.

07/05/2012, 5:59 PM
Hey lads, any idea what's happening with the date and venue of the fixture yet?

Just booked my tkt home to coincide with the Longford game in Dublin, hope to get another FAI game later on in the day as well. So Pauro are you heading over too:D (or will the woman let you!)

08/05/2012, 1:53 PM
Cherry Orchard will be playing Avondale Utd in the Intermediate Cup Final in Tallaght next Sunday at 3pm for any Dublin based Longford fans looking for a glimpse.

08/05/2012, 6:57 PM
Cherry Orchard will be playing Avondale Utd in the Intermediate Cup Final in Tallaght next Sunday at 3pm for any Dublin based Longford fans looking for a glimpse.

We'll send Tallanted along he can do a scouting report!

Tallanted
08/05/2012, 9:42 PM
I've seen them this season already, hard working and will try knock the ball about, shouldnt take them lightly, at full strength we have plenty to beat them, they will fancy their chances

08/05/2012, 9:54 PM
I'm sure Cousins will be familiar with them and will be taking nothing for granted, as long as it sinks in to the players.

24/05/2012, 4:25 PM
a big ask i know - but is it possible that anyone can bring a longford town baseball cap to the game in dublin, and i will pay you for it and buy you a pint after????? Getting a bit bored wearing my wimbledon fc cap around london and would like a real team. PM me if you can do it, thanks:p

26/05/2012, 6:42 AM
I was told last night that there are 28 Town fans heading up on the supporters bus which is fantastic! I can't remember as many since we were relegated. Should be a cracking atmosphere in cracking weather (22c promised) might even put on some shorts!

Keen2win
26/05/2012, 1:44 PM
Any spaces on bus left?????

26/05/2012, 7:39 PM
I was told last night that there are 28 Town fans heading up on the supporters bus which is fantastic! I can't remember as many since we were relegated. Should be a cracking atmosphere in cracking weather (22c promised) might even put on some shorts!

a cap, a cap?????:o

27/05/2012, 6:39 AM
Sorry bud if I had a town cap I'd gladly switch it for the crazy gang hat but I have to say I don't see many town caps around these days but hopefully someone will rescue ye :)

Space on the bus.????? I'm not sure but if you give liam a text youl know I think his number is in the club notes on ltfc.ie if you don't have it.

27/05/2012, 6:41 AM
By the way guys anyone looking for some Reading on the way to today's game if you log onto ltfc.ie you will see a short interview with myself and captain Chris Deans....hope you enjoy, cheers.

27/05/2012, 9:28 AM
Sorry bud if I had a town cap I'd gladly switch it for the crazy gang hat but I have to say I don't see many town caps around these days but hopefully someone will rescue ye :)

nah bother - sure might get a cherry orchard one! ****e Im tired, up since 1.15 - bloody ryanair and their cheap flights!!!! Better not be a nil-nil

27/05/2012, 9:44 AM
nah bother - sure might get a cherry orchard one! ****e Im tired, up since 1.15 - bloody ryanair and their cheap flights!!!! Better not be a nil-nil

How long are you over for?

El-Pietro
27/05/2012, 3:26 PM
looks like you got your request, thats quite the shock! were you poor or did they just take it to ye or what?

27/05/2012, 6:31 PM
We were absolutely awful and tbf that defeats been coming for weeks.....the last time i can remember us playing well was mervue united 4-2 and limerick away where we had to rely on big hylo saves. We are too laid back against small teams and perhaps the only good thing to come from this was that TC will lay into the boys all week as someone said behind me to make sure we are 1000% ready for limerick. A lot of people said the players didnt try hard enough but all I'l say is fair play to the fans who gave it there all and afaik Cabs will be posting details of our plans for the limerick game on here so keep an eye out because we need an atmo like that every game! For anyone who wasnt at the game you missed a beautiful day at a beautiful ground with the best bar in history! at least something good came from the days eh boys.

27/05/2012, 7:54 PM
The chances we missed were a joke. Then they scored from pretty much their only two clear chances. Just far too casual today. Where where Bermingham and Shaw? Should have had at least one of them on the bench if both were fit. Kirby too.

fitzpatrick10
27/05/2012, 8:24 PM
we just couldnt score, didnt look like we wanted to win the players were very laid back and you could hear TC roaring at them at half time.. came out then a little bit better for a few min but still just couldnt hit the back of the net.. hopefully we can pick it up for game against limerick, we wont beat them if we play like we did

27/05/2012, 9:23 PM
kirbs and shaw were injured and bermingham was suspended longfordian. havo was a huge loss to us today. its a pity as there was a huge away support and there were people that i hadnt seen at a away game in well over five yrs.. I hope the lads get their act together it was embarassing to watch tbh.. gillespie was the only one that played well for us.

27/05/2012, 9:43 PM
TBH thought Cherry orchard were well up for it today and deserved it - a well drilled team - who coaches them?
Longford were not at the races and probably thought this would be a cake walk - pity as they brought up a decent and vocal support

28/05/2012, 10:41 PM
It was the first time in 17 long yrs that we were knocked out by a nonleague side Avondale in 95! and hopefully will never see the likes again.. the lads better buck their act for saturday or there will be changes galore!