View Full Version : LoI clubs you hate

25/04/2012, 11:00 AM
Feck that love in thread, name the clubs you hate.

Shamrock Rovers - coz they're *****. Always the team I loved beating the most.

Cork City - Corkonians are just an arrogant shower of *****.

Waterford United - the away trip I'd look forward to least. The RSC is a depressing hole.

25/04/2012, 11:41 AM
I hate them all bar my beloved Cork City FC.

Shannonsider
25/04/2012, 11:44 AM
Monaghan and Shelbourne.

askmehoop
25/04/2012, 11:52 AM
you tend to hate teams that win the league, so i dont hate anyone.

being a Rovers fan i should hate Bohs, but these days i just feel sorry for them

marinobohs
25/04/2012, 12:07 PM

being a Rovers fan i should hate Bohs, but these days i just feel sorry for them

Wow, your third season following LOI so AMH, how is it going for you ?

Arrogant, soap dodging glory hunters. Shams - Whats not to hate ? :p:p

Hibs4Ever
25/04/2012, 12:13 PM

Wow. Such a clueless post, displaying one of the main reason Shams are hated so much. Glory hunter, blow in "supporters" who don't have a clue about the league pre SDCC renting!

25/04/2012, 12:17 PM
you tend to hate teams that win the league

Thats true. But its not exclusive. Some teams like Rovers were ****e for years and still generally despised.

Glad you don't hate anyone though. Good for you

askmehoop
25/04/2012, 12:21 PM
Wow. Such a clueless post, displaying one of the main reason Shams are hated so much. Glory hunter, blow in "supporters" who don't have a clue about the league pre SDCC renting!

someone taking the internet too serious?

askmehoop
25/04/2012, 12:22 PM
Wow, your third season following LOI so AMH, how is it going for you ?

Arrogant, soap dodging glory hunters. Shams - Whats not to hate ? :p:p

Bit more then 3 years mb. i do agree with you on one point, we are an arrogant bunch :)

askmehoop
25/04/2012, 12:28 PM
Thats true. But its not exclusive. Some teams like Rovers were ****e for years and still generally despised.

Glad you don't hate anyone though. Good for you

i think it was because we were so arrogant. all we needed was a big hug

marinobohs
25/04/2012, 12:31 PM
Bit more then 3 years mb. i do agree with you on one point, we are an arrogant bunch :)

......sure wouldn't it be a boring old league without someone to "hate" (in a football sense) ? Often makes up for the inadequaces of the teams we "love" :cool:

askmehoop
25/04/2012, 12:32 PM
......sure wouldn't it be a boring old league without someone to "hate" (in a football sense) ? Often makes up for the inadequaces of the teams we "love" :cool:

you have to balance these things out i suppose.

SwanVsDalton
25/04/2012, 12:33 PM
The hate's diminished somewhat over recent years but it still has to be Shels. Though in a love-to-hate kind of way.

marinobohs
25/04/2012, 12:36 PM
The hate's diminished somewhat over recent years but it still has to be Shels. Though in a love-to-hate kind of way.

Well balanced (or a chip on both shoulders). trust derry to have it BOTH ways :o

25/04/2012, 12:46 PM
i think it was because we were so arrogant. all we needed was a big hug

So arrogant that you're even trying to tell people why they hated you?

askmehoop
25/04/2012, 12:51 PM
So arrogant that you're even trying to tell people why they hated you?

Über arrogant

25/04/2012, 1:00 PM
All of them, and I hate Limerick about 90% of the time too.

25/04/2012, 1:18 PM
Ack, can't we all just be friends? There really is no need for any of us not to get along.

Apart from Derry (cheating cheaters who are worse than Joseph Kony, Adolf Hitler and Dana combined).

There's some very nice people involved with them mind you. Oskar Schindler type figures in a way.

Oh and Sligo. Still haven't forgiven them for all that Jim nonsense.

25/04/2012, 1:47 PM
I hate some teams so much I'm not going to give them the stisfaction of naming them as teams I hate...

El-Pietro
25/04/2012, 2:10 PM
Pats
Shels
...Drogs? Do I still hate them? I don't know anymore.

gormacha
25/04/2012, 2:11 PM
For the sake of pantomime, I get in character for disliking Cork when we're in the same division, but even that is forced. I can't generate enough interest in any other club to truly hate them. I was pi55ed off with Dundalk for a few years after the '97 playoff.

I surprised myself at how wound up I got against Liverpool in last season's friendly, although I think that was more to do with the local Waterford people shouting against their local club.

25/04/2012, 2:24 PM
No huge dislike for anyone in the league as such. Sligo really, Derry for obvious reasons. Aside from that....it tends to be whoever plays Harps that week.

poster
25/04/2012, 2:25 PM
Oh and Sligo. Still haven't forgiven them for all that Jim nonsense.

Jim? What Jim? What are you talking about Jim?

JIM.

bluewhitearmy
25/04/2012, 3:48 PM
Monaghan

25/04/2012, 4:01 PM
See hate is too strong a word.

There isn't another club in the league that occupies my thoughts for more than ten minutes a week tbh.

Having said that there's probably at least a dozen I dislike to varying degrees for some percieved slight or other down through the years. I may list them later if bored, stay tuned. :)

bluemovie
25/04/2012, 4:12 PM
I hate all of them to a greater or lesser degree (and half a dozen former clubs). The extent changes over time and is kind of cyclical.

Battery Rover
25/04/2012, 4:12 PM
Seeing as I bleed blue and black I have no time whatsoever for that shower across the county line but it wouldn't be the same without them in our shadow.

ger121
25/04/2012, 4:23 PM
Hate is such a strong word! Can't we all just get along:kissing:

askmehoop
25/04/2012, 4:36 PM
Seeing as I bleed blue and black I have no time whatsoever for that shower across the county line but it wouldn't be the same without them in our shadow.

i'd get to a doctor fast mate, that doesn't sound right

25/04/2012, 5:40 PM
Apart from sh1t club down the road who we will hammer on Friday I have to say I hate Waterford United and since last season Finn Harps! It's good to have rivalry those trips to Finn Park are the first thing I look for these days!

sullanefc
25/04/2012, 5:46 PM
Shels

UCD

St. Pats

Shamrock

Edit: Add SD Galway and Mervue.

DannyInvincible
25/04/2012, 5:50 PM
Bray Wanderers.

Well, someone has to challenge their inoffensive nature!

Bohs11
25/04/2012, 5:56 PM
Quicker to go through the ones I don't hate in the PD so Monaghan, Sligo, Drogheda & the Junkies.

thomas72
25/04/2012, 6:20 PM
Shamrock rovers a fantastically run football club the past few years but everyone hates them because of the scum minority that travels around the country looking for fights there animals drugged up dopes who think there hard.

nosebleds
25/04/2012, 6:47 PM
Shamrock rovers a fantastically run football club the past few years but everyone hates them because of the scum minority that travels around the country looking for fights there animals drugged up dopes who think there hard.

wexford yohoo,s no real reason except theres feck all there,except a wine bar u cant even get into.

bullit
25/04/2012, 6:55 PM
Canny stand that shower of inbred,six fingered/eight toed knackers from Termonbarry Alberts. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrr :( Near as bad as flippin Drawwwwwwwwwwwwdaaaaa ;)

Olander
25/04/2012, 8:46 PM
I don't HATE anyone, hate is a strong word.

I've always disliked Limerick. Not a fan of their supporters. I've been to too many of their horrible "grounds" over the years, rats would not inhabit those shítpipes. Been spat at by locals inside their stadium in the o-so-charming Hogan Park.

A few clubs have scummy fans I would dislike, Pats/Sligo fans broke windows in our supporters buses before. (Pats after we hammered them 3-0 on the opening day of the season a few years ago, Sligo years and years ago. To be fair that hasn't happened in years going to Sligo and most of their fans are sound to chat to).

We've had issues with local hoodlums at a few Athlone games, but I like them as a club and there are definitely some good people in the background there. Their supporters Club members apologized after some of their supporters caused trouble at a game in Dubarry Park a number of years ago.

Never respected/liked Longford or Monaghan, two teams that are basically provincial Dublin clubs that do all their business in Dublin and train in Dublin. I remember a few years ago at a game in Gortakeegan, our game was delayed because Monaghan's team bus was caught in traffic on the way from Dublin..... farcical.

25/04/2012, 9:31 PM
Never respected/liked Longford or Monaghan, two teams that are basically provincial Dublin clubs that do all their business in Dublin and train in Dublin. I remember a few years ago at a game in Gortakeegan, our game was delayed because Monaghan's team bus was caught in traffic on the way from Dublin..... farcical.
That's hardly their fault. Most players either have jobs or go to university, neither of which the midlands is exactly flush with.

Guinney
25/04/2012, 9:52 PM
As mentioned already hate is a harsh word. I have a dislike of Shamrock Rovers, but without them the league would be a quieter place.
Also there is no better feeling than beating our neighbours Drogheda and I love the rivalry between the two clubs.

The Lilywhites
25/04/2012, 10:32 PM
Galway United. Shower of *******s. Glad they're gone.

25/04/2012, 10:50 PM
Despise Shelbourne. For obvious reasons. You definitely need someone to hate. Much more fun that way. Nothing like beating a team you genuinely despise. Makes losing to them all the more painful of course (last seasons semi final for instance)but that's part of it too. The defeats just make the victories sweeter.

PartySaint
25/04/2012, 11:51 PM
A few clubs have scummy fans I would dislike, Pats/Sligo fans broke windows in our supporters buses before. (Pats after we hammered them 3-0 on the opening day of the season a few years ago,

Really? That's the first time I have heard about that. Disgraceful stuff. You would wonder why they did it to a Galway supporters bus, there is absolutely no hard feelings between the clubs

Olander
26/04/2012, 12:13 AM
Really? That's the first time I have heard about that. Disgraceful stuff. You would wonder why they did it to a Galway supporters bus, there is absolutely no hard feelings between the clubs
Yeah, literally right outside Richmond Park on the road. They were 16-17 year olds I would say. They started pelting stones at the windows of our supporters bus in the middle of the street and broke one of the windows. Was a chilly drive home but worth it, 3-0 :p

26/04/2012, 12:46 AM
Pats

Being a Clondalkin native and the closest ground to me, all wins and losses are felt that bit better/worse.

White Horse
26/04/2012, 2:06 AM
As other have said, hate is too strong of a word.

There isn't a club who don't have some decent fans and where I have had enjoyed away games.

The one club I have grown to dislike in recent years is Shamrock Rovers. It's not the sucess, the media bias, or the "model cub" arrogance. Once you and your young sons have been spat at by middle aged "fans" while queuing to buy tickets in Tallaght it is difficult to have positive feelings. I used to enjoy going to games in Milltown in the past. Rovers are not the same club anymore. I don't know what or who they are now.

Drogheda fans think we hate them, but I don't. I enjoy the rivalry and am glad they have survived their recent meltdown. I don't like going to Monaghan but that is because we can't win there.

I did dislike Galway for a while after they cheated their way into the premier league. However, I think they've paid enough for that so I've let that one go and hope they can come back in some form.

26/04/2012, 3:12 AM
I don't hate clubs, I just hate certain foot.ie posters... :)

ped_ped
26/04/2012, 12:22 PM
Gonna take it as granted the 'hate is a strong word' and the fact that I have huge respect for practically every single fan of a LOI club, but that said I'm not particularly fond of Shels, Dundalk or UCD.

Throw them into the Europa League / Champions League qualifiers, though, and I'll be as hopeful as anyone that they'd progress!

sullanefc
26/04/2012, 12:43 PM
I don't hate clubs, I just hate certain foot.ie posters... :)

Funny that you say that. 2 out of my 4 disliked clubs are based on the posts of their fans on here. The other 2 are based on real life experiences.

26/04/2012, 12:53 PM
Looking at the 4, I'm taking credit for that.

marinobohs
26/04/2012, 1:46 PM
Funny that you say that. 2 out of my 4 disliked clubs are based on the posts of their fans on here. The other 2 are based on real life experiences.

Really ? i'd guessed it was an "S" thing - Shels, Shams, St pats and sodding UCD :cool: