PDA

View Full Version : Other league clubs you like.

Pages : [1] 2

sadloserkid
24/04/2012, 6:11 PM
I find myself wondering who the league's most popular 'second club' is. I think everybody has clubs that they have a good affinity for as well as those that they detest. For the good of the thread it may be for the best to focus on the positives here and try and avoid the old mudslinging we usually resort to. :)

In fact I'll list, in order now, my fav five (nod to Booker T) other clubs in order. If anybody else feels like adding we can award points (5 for the club in first through to 1 for the club in fifth) and total it at the end for a winner. Obviously, don't name your own club and keep it to current clubs!

slk's five favourite LOI clubs that are not Limerick

5th - UCD
Always empathised with them (no doubt in part because I was a student when I started following the league) and felt that they took a lot of undeserved flak on forums. Also admired the fact that they were one of the few clubs not to constantly seem on the brink of oblivion.

4th - Drogheda United
A harder one to justify in some ways, used to get on well with a few of their fans on here many moons ago and liked their league winning team a lot. Remember knocking them out of the cup fondly too.

3rd - Longford Town
I like the town itself a lot actually, like Flancare too (though it's seen better days). Nice fans and I think they were an easy club to like back in their days as cup heroes punching above their weight.

2nd - Sligo Rovers
Tend to play decent football. My first serious away trip (Glebe North away hardly counts), generally a good bunch as well and there's been enough traffic back and forth between us over the years as well to keep things interesting. A shared rival probably helped too.

1st - Finn Harps