View Full Version : Other league clubs you like.
26/04/2012, 12:53 AM
Longford fans no need to be touchy I wasn't blaming anyone if the moneys not there its not there, I'm glad to hear ye've sorted under main stand.
I just thought tis a nice methaphor for the reasons jof mentioned
and I personaly find the place depressing with the beiruit car
. . . am I right in thinking nobody has said Shels, Monaghan or Wexford kiddies yet?
I'd probably slot Mons in fifth, but at the moment that's on probation under current management.
26/04/2012, 1:01 AM
Longford fans no need to be touchy I wasn't blaming anyone if the moneys not there its not there, I'm glad to hear ye've sorted under main stand.
I just thought tis a nice methaphor for the reasons jof mentioned
and I personaly find the place depressing with the beiruit car park, the wierd hut thing, the faded seats and the condemned end, it just kinda reeks of decay to me. But it's just a personal thing.
Actually never understood why ye didn't just rip out all the seats that aren't in the main stand and have lovely neat terracing!
All those seats was kinda overkill and day one and like Longfordian said it's more or less impossible for ye to maintain
26/04/2012, 1:04 AM
and i dunno what in the name of jaysus happened with that post up there. :confused:
I liked to see Cobh doing well when they were about.
My new soft spot is Athlone because of their new CEO.
WindmillWarrior
26/04/2012, 6:57 AM
You sure that was Drogheda? Seriously i remember Shearer being one of the filthiest players i have ever seen pre-season. Im sure it wasnt in United Park?
It was yeah, I was at it, early 90's. It may have been his Blackburn debut. Certainly his debut season anyway.
Gay thread btw!
thomas72
26/04/2012, 8:34 AM
You sure that was Drogheda? Seriously i remember Shearer being one of the filthiest players i have ever seen pre-season. Im sure it wasnt in United Park?
I'M sure blackburn played a few friendlys in Ireland that year :rolleyes:
El-Pietro
26/04/2012, 8:47 AM
I liked to see Cobh doing well when they were about.
My new soft spot is Athlone because of their new CEO.
judas
It was yeah, I was at it, early 90's. It may have been his Blackburn debut. Certainly his debut season anyway.
Gay thread btw!
Haha..you weren't saying that on those debauched nights in Ballybofey :)
Guinney
26/04/2012, 11:31 AM
Cork and Derry would be my favourite teams. I lived in Cork for a year as I was in college there, so went to a few games in Turners Cross. They have good fans that are passionate about their club. Similarly with Derry, they have a good fan base who are passionate about the club. Anytime they come to Oriel, they show their team good support. I will like Sligo this year if they win the league over Rovers. But like Dundalk Sligo is a good football town.
I love going to Drogheda away. Usually we bring a good crowd down there and it's good craic.
GalwayRed
26/04/2012, 11:46 AM
I liked Galway United when they were in the league just because when I was in college there I went to see them a good few times. Hopefully they'll be back next season because the people working with GUST have put so much into trying to keep the club going and deserve a club to support.
Apart from there's not really any other clubs. Monaghan before Roddy maybe. Always treated very well up there and seem like a good group of fans.
Personally I don't see how anyone would really attempt to defend the flansiro from the accusation of having seen better days. Up keep was never what it should've been in an ideal world (for obvious reasons). Various issues from the very start have always irritated me as well - stand is the wrong side of the ground, pitch being too small if we'd ever have progressed in europe and the feck up over complying with bar licence the main ones.
Back on topic...
1) Pats - I think if I'd moved back with no long standing connection to a club, and just tried the league, they'd have been the ones I'd have ended up supporting.
2) Harps - not just to annoy Mr A, but that is part of it.
Don't really feel the hate for any club outside of match nights or around specific issues tbh. Except Shels.
L.T.F.C.
26/04/2012, 12:00 PM
Personally I don't see how anyone would really attempt to defend the flansiro from the accusation of having seen better days. Up keep was never what it should've been in an ideal world (for obvious reasons). Various issues from the very start have always irritated me as well - stand is the wrong side of the ground, pitch being too small if we'd ever have progressed in europe and the feck up over complying with bar licence the main ones.
Back on topic...
1) Pats - I think if I'd moved back with no long standing connection to a club, and just tried the league, they'd have been the ones I'd have ended up supporting.
2) Harps - not just to annoy Mr A, but that is part of it.
Don't really feel the hate for any club outside of match nights or around specific issues tbh. Except Shels.! Yes, Flancare had a quiet patch as regards upkeep, but it is looking very well these days, with lots more work to come. To say now that it is decaying and neglected is just plain wrong.
ped_ped
26/04/2012, 12:19 PM
All the Galway clubs, though my good will for Salthill Devon fell with the change of name.
Shamrock Rovers and Pats mainly because of their European exploits, hard not to want to see them do well.
Even the other Munster teams (Cork, Waherford, Cobh, Tralee), I'd like to see 'em do well.
Obviously all this goes out the window when they get within an ass's roar of Limerick's interests, but I like to see them do well in their own spectrums.
Dave_SRFC
26/04/2012, 12:20 PM
Sligo are my favourite other team because they play good football like Barcelona and they are also a Rovers too.
The current crop play some football, but I think I've witnessed some of the worst football ever played in the history of the sport in the Showgrounds over the years.
passerrby
26/04/2012, 1:39 PM
There isn't a ground in the loi that does not need a lick of paint and some running repairs , always seems to be a limerick fan pointing out the short comings of grounds, wonder why?
The current crop play some football, but I think I've witnessed some of the worst football ever played in the history of the sport in the Showgrounds over the years.
Steve Cotterill's team was disgusting. Even when I see him pop up on Sky Sports News (or similar) I find myself fighting the urge to throw the remote at him. A disgusting pig of a team.
26/04/2012, 3:07 PM
I still like Cork even if El-Pietro trys to seduce our women folk
Straightstory
26/04/2012, 5:21 PM
I like Sligo.
26/04/2012, 5:31 PM
I always liked visiting Pats and McDowells, the fans in there were always good craic and I actually like Richmond as a proper old school ground. The stand is a bit cramped mind you. Sligo are a decent bunch too, a few of them used to come watch us on occasion. I'm pretty meh towards everyone else really. Except Athlone.
My spidey senses suggest that Dave_SRFC may not be entirely serious.
26/04/2012, 6:14 PM
I like Longford because the girlfriend's from there. Always liked Derry and Cork as they're strong regional teams who produce good players. I've always had a soft spot for Pats too, and Bray.
Sean South
26/04/2012, 6:27 PM
I like Longford because the girlfriend's from there.
You're kidding no one.
26/04/2012, 6:28 PM
OK, my dog is from there.
26/04/2012, 7:17 PM
Sligo rovers will be another loi team I always wish well.. I lived there for 3 great yrs in the mid 90s in lawrie sanchez, steve cotterill eras and went to a few matches there too.. richmond park is a particular favourite ground for me with mcdowells and I always liked turners cross exp with the horseshoe bar right next door to it..
26/04/2012, 7:22 PM
I always liked turners cross exp with the horseshoe bar right next door to it..
And more importantly its in Cork
26/04/2012, 7:41 PM
Have a soft spot for Bray, Dundalk, Monaghan and Longford.
Loved Kildare County for no real reason.
In no particular order - Harps U19s, Harps A, Harps Reserves and of course the now sadly defunct Harps Ladies.
Also the clubs who's fans contributed so generously when we were in bother recently. Shamrock Rovers, Derry, Cork and Drogheda.
26/04/2012, 9:40 PM
There isn't a ground in the loi that does not need a lick of paint and some running repairs , always seems to be a limerick fan pointing out the short comings of grounds, wonder why?
Because Jackman Park is such a wonderful facility. Obviously. Jeez... :rolleyes:
Edit: 5,000 posts. And they weren't ALL nonsense. Go me! Calls for a celebration. Have some cake passerby. :cake:
In no particular order - Harps U19s, Harps A, Harps Reserves and of course the now sadly defunct Harps Ladies.
What the %^&* do you have against the Harps Foyle Cup teams?
26/04/2012, 10:13 PM
Have a lot of respect for some of the country clubs. Sligo, Cork and Derry are all good clubs with a solid core of support. Sligo in particular I've always thought of as a real good football town. If we can't win the league this year I hope they do it. (Won't stop me hoping we stuff em on Friday, natch!)
Rover'n'out
27/04/2012, 12:27 AM
Hilarious. You have gone out of your way to say otherwise on other forums in the past few months.
27/04/2012, 12:36 AM
Because Jackman Park is such a wonderful facility. Obviously. Jeez... :rolleyes:
Edit: 5,000 posts. And they weren't ALL nonsense. Go me! Calls for a celebration. Have some cake passerby. :cake:
It's passerrby :P
NB. that apparent typo has always bugged me. :)
27/04/2012, 10:03 AM
It's passerrby :P
NB. that apparent typo has always bugged me. :)
*checks back* Huh, you're right. On ALL counts! :)
redarmyfaction
27/04/2012, 10:29 AM
I like Drogheda Pats and Galways grounds I also like Longford, the locals have a great sense of humour, then I suppose they have to.
Louth4sam
27/04/2012, 10:35 AM
Finn Harps, Derry and Limerick. Always had a soft spot for Galway too which was probably my favourite away trip.
Used to like Sligo too before they got good and their fans became arrogant.
DaveyCakes
27/04/2012, 10:41 AM
Do you mean the "greatest team in the history of the world Barcelona" that existed up until 10 days ago or the "couldn't kick snow off a rope" doppelgangers that replaced them?
not sure if (or where!) this has been posted before but pure classic - not sure where to put it but I always liked the Pats fans (except my brother), good sense of humour.
http://armchairsaint.blogspot.ca/2012/04/abandoned-cup-final.html
Quality.
d rovers
27/04/2012, 7:41 PM
Cork, Bohs and Pats. Always found their fans to be a decent bunch.
El-Pietro
28/04/2012, 9:42 AM
I still like Cork even if El-Pietro successfully trys to seduce our women folk
fixed your post!
28/04/2012, 8:49 PM
Mervue are my favourite club now.
Cuyahoga
28/04/2012, 10:54 PM
Sligo - locals get behind their club and have created a really good club. It was great to see the way they outnumbered the Shams in the Aviva a couple of years ago despite the ground being in Dubin.
Finn Harps - screwed by the LOI over Derry's entry, but they still keep going.
Drogheda - the way they kept the club alive. I don't know how they did it. Fans are now getting their reward.
To be honest, most clubs (with one or two exceptions) have aspects I admire and respect. We're all trying to sail against the tide.
You are wrong about the Aviva in 2010. It was generally accepted that the attendance of 36,100 attendance was 50-50 between both clubs. I know that shamrock Rovers sold 18,000 tickets directly and there would have been at least 3,000 more hoops fans who bought through ticketmaster or paid on the day.
Cuyahoga
28/04/2012, 10:57 PM
I like Dundalk, Drogheda United, Athlone Town, Finn Harps and Wexford Youths.
MMVIII
29/04/2012, 10:38 AM
You are wrong about the Aviva in 2010. It was generally accepted that the attendance of 36,100 attendance was 50-50 between both clubs. I know that shamrock Rovers sold 18,000 tickets directly and there would have been at least 3,000 more hoops fans who bought through ticketmaster or paid on the day.
What are you smoking man?
You're saying Shams sold at least 21,000 tickets? Bahahaha. Without doubt there was more Sligo Rovers support there, not that it's a major achievement now considering they've all ****ed off, but 21,000 tickets? You're some man.
Yeah. 18,000 and we couldn't get 2,000 in the gate against Pats when we are top of the league. Fantastic.
01/05/2012, 1:25 PM
Bohs Harps UCD and Longford