View Full Version : El Classico!

Keen2win
22/04/2012, 7:09 PM
Looking forward to this one, we should win, let the hype begin! :D

I would create an event on facebook to try and get optimum interest from Town "fans" in this game, but would it be better if the group was created by the Longford Town FC page?

22/04/2012, 7:30 PM
I can't wait for this there should be a huge Town support crossing the enemy lines for this one and I really hope we can get the win because we haven't won in quite a while over there.

fitzpatrick10
22/04/2012, 8:45 PM
Really hope we get a good travelling support. I personally have been disappointed with the crowd at home games, like especially this year , top of the table , playing great football ( at times ) and still only a few extra people coming out to support the town.. If were still in contention near the end of the season I’d say all the “die-hard fans” will start to appear but too little too late.

Anyway if we play like we did against merview id predict a win for town but if we perform like we did against the harps we be lucky with a draw, and with wexford the week after at home 3 points and a good performance is needed.

Cabs88
22/04/2012, 10:03 PM
Id expect a good travelling support for this, looking forward to it! A drum or two if we could resurrect them would be class, great to hear singing at the games, especially in the second half against mervue... Would be great if we could repeat the same in Athlone

23/04/2012, 9:06 AM
Hoping to make it down for this one. Missed the last couple of home games (for reasons other than watching foreign football), so hoping to get back into a bit of a run. My impression was that attendances had picked up a bit this season? But 1st division is still the 1st division when it comes down to it.

L.T.F.C.
23/04/2012, 10:34 AM
A win here would be especially great against Athlone.

I think there is a bit of rift between Shaw and Cousins. I didn't think Shaw played badly on Saturday, he did set up two goals after all, but the way Cousins reacted to any mistake that was made you could see that words were had, coupled with the fact he was taken off at half-time. Hopefully Shaw will push on and improve, he definitely has the ability.

One player that I've been very happy with is Bermingham. I think he has been fantastic all season long. I was concerned with all the comments about his attitude, but he has been faultless.

Hopefully we can do a job in Athlone on Friday.

23/04/2012, 10:41 AM
Shaw was taken off because he had a tight hamstring on Saturday.

Can't wait for this game. The week is gonna drag on.

Richardanthonyc
23/04/2012, 10:52 AM
After finally going to my first town match in 4 years (due to moving away, getting married, having a son now and finally moving back) I might even go to my first town away match as this one mite end up being a cracker I hope

23/04/2012, 4:56 PM
Speaking of singing and drums I was talking to a friend of mine from Athlone last night and he told me they were told to stop singing at games because of the noise haha....I say we bring 7 or 8 drums a megaphone and what ever else we can find and lift the place out've it haha CMON DE TOWN DE REAL TOWN!

L.T.F.C.
23/04/2012, 5:42 PM
7 or 8 drums? Is that one per person? One or two is plenty.

23/04/2012, 6:57 PM
Speaking of singing and drums I was talking to a friend of mine from Athlone last night and he told me they were told to stop singing at games because of the noise haha

Steward came up to us the other night and told us to stop saying certain things as they were rude...essentially the same things Limerick fans were shouting back at us.

23/04/2012, 9:33 PM
We're a better side than Athlone but they're never easy to beat. That little hoor McGee has an awful habit of scoring against us too. Won't make it down in time for it myself unfortunately. I'll go for another 2-1 win.

L.T.F.C.
23/04/2012, 9:42 PM
Is Hyland back?

23/04/2012, 9:47 PM
7 or 8 drums? Is that one per person? One or two is plenty.

Joking of course, as for Hylo he wasn't sent off for violent conduct so ye he should be back.

howsyourtouch
24/04/2012, 2:01 AM
have not been to anywhere near enough games this year(not my choice, work is a bitch this season) but really hope we get a result sat night, the squad has been flying this year!

24/04/2012, 11:08 AM
Steward came up to us the other night and told us to stop saying certain things as they were rude...essentially the same things Limerick fans were shouting back at us.

People don't expect any better from us though. :)

Richardanthonyc
26/04/2012, 12:58 PM
What kind of crowd would be expected at this? Numbers wise that is

26/04/2012, 7:04 PM
there was 500 ppl at home match this season I doubt 500 will be in lissywoolen so would guess 300-350 with a larger than expected attendance from ltfc fans!

26/04/2012, 9:29 PM
Time countinues to tick down can't wait for this now....Cmon de town!

Keen2win
27/04/2012, 11:25 AM
Where are the Town fans standing in the stand???

atfconline
27/04/2012, 11:27 AM
Far end is the away end.

Bosco
27/04/2012, 1:04 PM
Is the bar under your stand still open?

L.T.F.C.
27/04/2012, 1:11 PM
Where are the Town fans standing in the stand???
I don't think any LT fans are there yet, bit early.

atfconline
27/04/2012, 3:11 PM
No bar anymore, just the shop.

Nearest bar is the Olive just up the road near the roundabout.

27/04/2012, 5:06 PM
No bar anymore, just the shop.

Nearest bar is the Olive just up the road near the roundabout.
Why did the bar close out of curiosity? Id have thought once it was opened it wouldn't be all that costly to run. It'd probably do well if ye went up <shyeah right..>

atfconline
27/04/2012, 5:41 PM
Just wasn't worth it I think. Anytime we'd get a big crowd, we would be asked to close it for 'security' reasons.

L.T.F.C.
27/04/2012, 9:01 PM
Unstoppable! :D

27/04/2012, 10:10 PM
Another excellent three points on the board. Wasn't there so can't comment on how we played! Where has Colly James found these goals from?

27/04/2012, 10:35 PM
we could do with a clean sheet and a cf scoring one of the says! Other than that we can't complain right now, hurray for winning. The limerick fans are fairly ****ed with skully now

27/04/2012, 10:46 PM
just back from the game. collie james goals are getting better and better. shawsie did fantastically well to win the ball back and the ball came to collie james riveled it on the run. the goal we let in was shockin bad hylo wouldnt go for ball over top he allowed athlone player to lob him but we did very well to win it.. from balls toing and froing the ball came rebounded to havo in the peno area and he couldnt miss! Athlone got a player sent off for diving and got two yellow cards for his troubles gas thing is that it was the linesman that copped this! superb town vocal support there tonight!

28/04/2012, 8:18 AM
Great game and an even better win, every season we seem to be privaleged to witness amazing goals away from home and it will take an absolute worldy to beat Colly James goal tonight what a screamer! One thing that's really pleasing me is the amount of goals coming from our back four With Des Hope and Havo weighing in big time this season, maybe Martinho could check his big bad book of statistics and tell me what's the most goals scored in a season by a defender for de town?

Martinho is dead right RE Athlone's goal, we started the 2nd half very very slow and sloppy and on a number of occasions Hylo failed to come and sweep the ball which in fairness to him he did brilliantly in the first half but for some reason he just didn't seem to do it in the 2nd and as a result we were caught quite badly with the goal. But fair play to not only the team for not cracking under the pressure and panacking but fair play to all the supporters who got right behind the team and not on their backs when it would have been very easy to do so.

The atmosphere was absolutely fantastic and we have some cracking new songs on the playlist now! Well done all.

L.T.F.C.
28/04/2012, 8:47 AM
I'm delighted to hear about our grit to get the win.

I am very worried as Acornvilla said, that our strikers aren't scoring. I do realise that Shaw has three assists in the last two games, and Bermingham has some too, but I'd love if they scored. Their recent performances really deserve some goals! Hopefully they'll push on and get a few goals next week!

I'm so excited though. Was giddy all day yesterday and my weekend hinged on last nights result. Limerick losing made it a bit sweeter!

Keen2win
28/04/2012, 9:36 AM
Clip of the Town fans from last night up on youtube already... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=makLoWvLtMQ

28/04/2012, 11:20 AM
That young Corby chap from Dublin was recording the game last night so I tweeted him to see if he got any of the crowd and he said he has the crowd, the last 2 goals and the penalty incident which looks like a peno the first 4 times and not a peno the next 4 and 50/50 thee afterwards as he put it, it's obviously impossible to tell but my instant reaction was it's not a peno, anyway I'l keep an eye out for this video.

28/04/2012, 1:06 PM
On my phone now so can't post a link but that video is now up in Youtube just search Loiinterviewshow and youl find it. There's some decent game footage on there and it shows Athlones goal and our winner, very little of the crowd shown just at the start but you can't hear us it's just showing us clapping basically.

The interviews are flipping comical because all the Athlone lads are crying about the penalty and are very bitter, Jennings said we're no Barcelona or Real Madrid and he might be right about that but were certaintly not Athlone haha

then he interviews TC and he says to him about the penalty and fair fecks to Tony he says in no uncertain terms it was not a penalty and he has footage to prove it, he also says there's more to come from us. Also interviews with Shaw, Kirbs and Gillespie and that big dose Mike Keerly with his colourful scarf.

Just on the attendance we thought maybe 350-400 but when you see on Camera the stand was fairly empty. Anyway enjoy it Cause it's very funny, the bitter o blue and black.

L.T.F.C.
28/04/2012, 1:29 PM
Here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nQ-Dl0o3MU4

Kirby spoke very very well.

28/04/2012, 6:55 PM
outspoken the highest amount of goals scored by a town defender in a single season was in the 01/02 season with Stewie Holt(mind you some classify him as a midfielder) and 2005 season Stephen Paisley with six goals!

Bosco
28/04/2012, 7:00 PM
Would have considered Holt more of a midfielder!!Set piece specialist,will never forget his free kick against pats on the last day of the season or the time he scored straight from a corner!

28/04/2012, 7:15 PM
well then its stephen paisley on his own whos the highest scoring defender in a season ever!

28/04/2012, 10:18 PM
Thanks for that Martinho, I'm very confident we could have a new record set in that field this season with Hope and Haverty both scoring goals for fun! Has deans scored yet this season? Won't be too much longer just waiting in Crawley then and our whole back 4 will be in on the act, would be great if we could do like Spurs last season and get every outfield player a goal. But at the end of the day as long as we win who cares who scores.

L.T.F.C.
28/04/2012, 10:38 PM
Deans scored the third against Mervue.

L.T.F.C.
29/04/2012, 1:50 PM
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/7965/

Extratime interviews Cousins on the derby.

Tallanted
30/04/2012, 9:37 AM
outspoken the highest amount of goals scored by a town defender in a single season was in the 01/02 season with Stewie Holt(mind you some classify him as a midfielder) and 2005 season Stephen Paisley with six goals!

I think Holt played right back for that season, if thats the case then he counts as a defender.

Casperian
30/04/2012, 11:00 AM
Bit disapointed we didn't here 'You'll never walk in Athlone' sang with gusto a few times as usual at the El Classico ! I think the new Section O lads need to be thought the old and best songs :-)

L.T.F.C.
30/04/2012, 2:20 PM
I keep seeing Keith Gillespie getting MOTMs. Fair play.

Richardanthonyc
30/04/2012, 3:38 PM
Bit disapointed we didn't here 'You'll never walk in Athlone' sang with gusto a few times as usual at the El Classico ! I think the new Section O lads need to be thought the old and best songs :-)

Twas sung a couple of times, just getting used to all the songs again though so give us fairweather fans a few games to get up to scratch!

Bosco
30/04/2012, 4:01 PM
Bit disapointed we didn't here 'You'll never walk in Athlone' sang with gusto a few times as usual at the El Classico ! I think the new Section O lads need to be thought the old and best songs :-) It was sung once or twice,all the songs the other night a part from two were just old songs with the words changed. "Section O the Remixes 2012". Having said that there wasn't enough there that knew Two little boys to get it going...

Keen2win
30/04/2012, 7:58 PM
It was sung once or twice,all the songs the other night a part from two were just old songs with the words changed. "Section O the Remixes 2012". Having said that there wasn't enough there that knew Two little boys to get it going...

Love that song, but yes, nobody would have known it unfortunatly.

01/05/2012, 4:02 PM
Was great to hear 'Athlone Town are ya listening' again

Cabs88
01/05/2012, 10:24 PM

As mentioned above it was sang a couple of times, and im sure if anyone started it up, others would have joined in! As regards the 'new section O lads' the majority of lads that were there last week were in and around section O for the last number of years..