View Full Version : Sligo
HulaHoop
05/04/2012, 12:57 PM
Have the begging bowl out early this year.
http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1504-2012-member-donation
2012 Club Donation
Wednesday, 04 April 2012 15:59
Sligo Rovers are continuing to request the club’s annual donation from members and supporters following the correspondence from the management committee last week.
The one-off €100 donation will help the club’s resources during the summer period including the June break when there is just one home game in at least a five-week period.
Club chairman Dermot Kelly said: “On the field we've made a great start to the season and as a committee we want to do everything possible to keep up the high standards throughout the year.
“We will have a fall in income in June so this is an important venture that needs support from everyone at the club.
“We hope what is happening at the Showgrounds is giving a lift to the county and the region and we want to keep it going.”
The club would like to thank those that have made the donation so far. For information on how to donate, please contact any committee member or visit the club offices between 10am and 4pm to arrange payment.
Further information is available by e-mailing sligoroversnews@gmail.com.
Roughly translated as we need a bailout because we haven't done our budgets properly.
We've never ever had a mid season break before have we Sligo management commitee?
El-Pietro
05/04/2012, 12:59 PM
thats bad form in fairness. you should at least dress up your fund raising campaign as a table quiz or raffle or something
Woohoo. Fair play to Sligo for this. Just when people thought foot was going quiet they put this out to boost post counts :positive:
El-Pietro
05/04/2012, 1:19 PM
oh and I'm not saying that Sligo fans won't be happy to pay this or it won't be a success. I just think that our football clubs have a history of constantly hitting the same people for donations and fundraising. Its always the same people who buy season tickets/go to every game, buy the shirt/other merch, programmes, turn up for every race night/table quiz etc and in general clubs should be looking for ways to bring funds in from a broader base, from people who don't go to every or any game.
I know Derry had a raffle recently for tickets for each of Irelands group games in Poland along with flights and accom. Thats the sort of thing that you can sell to the wider footballing public and not hit your regulars too hard for.
Like I said,many Sligo fans will be happy to pay this (honestly, if City tried this I don't think there is any chance I'd cough up 100 euro for nothign in return. Id be far more inclined to go to the club shop for Merch if I had €100 I didn't know what to do with) but sooner or later people become weary from constantly being asked to put their hands in their pockets.
poster
05/04/2012, 1:25 PM
April Fools D...
What's this FAI club licensing lark all about?
hoops1
05/04/2012, 1:35 PM
Predictable and Funny.
It's not cheap finishing second to us.
PartySaint
05/04/2012, 1:36 PM
Sure can they not just dip into that massive profit they made last year?
Some people respond better to a request for a donation than they do to draws or the like. That said, it may have been better for Sligo to offer a range of options to help.
Licensing isn't an issue. They probably planned on asking fans all along. I'd say all clubs submit a 'fundraising' figure
Thats not to say it isn't a bad sign. Still, €25 european tickets this year too
Predictable and Funny.
Its not cheap finishing ahead of Sligo either...
poster
05/04/2012, 1:42 PM
. Still, €25 european tickets this year too
Is it? You know that?
Of course I don't. Do you think they'll be cheaper this year?
Real ale Madrid
05/04/2012, 2:14 PM
*Fall in income
* €100 euro charge
*Some have paid but an appeal for more to do so?
Who's organising fundraising up there, Phil Hogan?
El-Pietro
05/04/2012, 2:24 PM
*Fall in income
* €100 euro charge
is there a deadline? will they be sending Sligo Rovers players around to fans houses to make them cough up?
placid casual
05/04/2012, 2:28 PM
sad to see.
obviously the money from the nordie's handbags didnt cover it
*Fall in income
* €100 euro charge
Broadening the tax base is important...
in general clubs should be looking for ways to bring funds in from a broader base
marinobohs
05/04/2012, 2:50 PM
Predictable and Funny.
....especially when you pay what you owe.
hoops1
05/04/2012, 2:59 PM
Is that what the brains trust are telling Zurich
marinobohs
05/04/2012, 3:07 PM
Is that what the brains trust are telling Zurich
we offered them 4% but they said we couldn't be that desperate :o
HulaHoop
05/04/2012, 3:36 PM
thats bad form in fairness. you should at least dress up your fund raising campaign as a table quiz or raffle or something
Definitely, they are probably the best placed club in the league to organise a table quiz. Sure they already have all those tables for when they pay their players under the table.
I'm not so sure a raffle would be a good idea though, the fans would only get confused between their match tickets and their raffle tickets.
Good ol' marinobohs
Can't leave a good Sligo bashing thread alone without bringing Rovers into it
Can we have a death pool-like sweepstake on Sligo yet?
Sean South
05/04/2012, 6:57 PM
When this was done last year it didn't get a reaction here. Thanks for restoring fate in this great site Shams
05/04/2012, 7:07 PM
This is the greatest fundraiser ever!!
"Give us a hundred quid"
"what for?"
"Just give us it"
"Ok"
If they can get away with that they're to be lauded not slagged off!!
Spudulika
05/04/2012, 7:10 PM
Just when you think our clubs are turning a corner.....this is going to upset players and staff more than anything, it's not as bad as bucket collections, but it's not far off. But if they can get away with it, why not.
poster
05/04/2012, 10:46 PM
Sure they already have all those tables for when they pay their players under the table.
Jim Magilton bought that table off us.
We won't be the only club doing this for the summer break. Our members/500 club etc. don't pay as much in fees to the club as other clubs (ahem, AHEM,) excuse me, so I don't have a problem with the club asking for an extra boost in time for when income will be down.
PartySaint
05/04/2012, 11:32 PM
We won't be the only club doing this for the summer break.
Ashing fans to stump up €100 for nothing in return...I think you will be.
Only1Rovers
05/04/2012, 11:40 PM
Sometimes the camaraderie in the League of Ireland between fans of opposing clubs makes me smile from ear to ear. For a fan of Shamrock Rovers to go out of his/her way to open a thread on a forum such as this to further publicize a Sligo Rovers fundraiser, well, it's just great! Thanks Hula-Hoop. Pats did the same last year on their forum. If your willing to do it on the forum of your particular club, go right ahead. here (http://www.saintsforum.net/showthread.php?1771-Sligo-Rovers/page2&highlight=Sligo+Rovers). Keep up the good work make sure as many as possible get the message. However, I do get a hint of surprise from one or two here about the whole thing, Sligo Rovers have been doing this, pretty much, since 1928; it's how we run our club. Thanks again for all your promotional work.
bullit
06/04/2012, 12:06 AM
.....Sligo Rovers have been doing this, pretty much, since 1928; it's how we run our club. .....
True,here is the promo poster picture from 1948:
http://torwars.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/oliver-twist-can-I-have-some-more.jpg
Class. Took nearly two pages for ye to bite lads.
Well done.
Why ye feel the need to come on here to defend something that ye seem to think is perfectly normal is beyond me.
born2bwild
06/04/2012, 10:18 AM
So, I guess Sligo won't be building that new stand any time soon, then.
Sonny
06/04/2012, 10:33 AM
So, I guess Sligo won't be building that new stand any time soon, then.
Ian Barraclough is tapdancing on O'Connell street until all the funds are raised. They are also running a sh*t or steal fundraiser with the local bus company!
dublinred
06/04/2012, 10:59 AM
Note the word annual.............. Not anything new just one of many fundraisers.
Sligo Rovers are continuing to request the club’s annual donation from members and supporters following the correspondence from the management committee last week.
poster
06/04/2012, 11:13 AM
This sort of thing happens at every ambitious club, just most of the time it's not put out to the public, just to shareholders/400/500 club members/season ticket holders etc.
El-Pietro
06/04/2012, 11:45 AM
This sort of thing happens at every ambitious club, just most of the time it's not put out to the public, just to shareholders/400/500 club members/season ticket holders etc.
it really doesn't, but if telling yourself that helps you sleep easy at night...
Sean South
06/04/2012, 12:25 PM
it really doesn't, but if telling yourself that helps you sleep easy at night...
How would you know? Maybe the reason why so many clubs in Cork have died over the years?
Spudulika
06/04/2012, 1:18 PM
Simple thing is that Sligo are raising funds how they can, if their supporters stump up the cash, then they believe it's for the good for the club, town and themselves. No harm in that. Equally it's par for the course that Sligo and other supporters might ask questions, but if it keeps the club afloat, then it has to be done.
Strawberry
06/04/2012, 1:20 PM
Seeing as how we do this every year and I,m pretty sure we're still in business I'd imagine we'll be fine this year as well.
In any case we've never been in administration, seen our club fold and have to start again or had to sell our ground so I'm sure we must have been doing something right all these years
redarmyfaction
06/04/2012, 8:54 PM
Anybody looking at our bench and the league table tonight will understand what this fundraising effort is about, what they will not understand is the complete morbid preoccupation that you Shams fans have with our finances for it passeth all understanding perhaps you could let us know as soon as you stop crying.
Anyone looking at your bench will recognise nobody.
Sligo may be short of a few quid at the moment, but as always, there supporters will rally around the club and see it good for the season. I don't think as many people know exactly how well embedded sligo rovers is in the community. This is their club and they wont let it sink, in fact I can see the club going from strength to strength now that for once they have hit the ground running at the start of the season.
Anyone looking at your bench will recognise nobody.
You can have all the players you wanton the bench but you can still bring on Conor Powell with 5 minutes to go after watching "Killer the Bohs scum" getting a new aresehole torn for him.Seems to be Kenny's way of operating.
Is Powell not Bohs scum as well? Or Oman? Or Greene?
How sh1t do those boys have to play to get the full Shams experience?
Oldred
07/04/2012, 12:09 PM
If I were a Cork fan I'd be more worried about the League table than some other clubs fundraising activities!
How sh1t do those boys have to play to get the full Shams experience?
I prefer to abuse them in advance in anticipation of them making an error.
srfc1928
08/04/2012, 9:47 AM
Just seen this thread
The fans in general were not asked to make a donation
Only members of the club and 500 club members
Our members do not pay an annual subscription like other clubs (shams, Bohs ?)
So just like other years members are asked to pay a voluntary donation of €100.
Cant believe the mass hysteria and joy in posts from fans of other clubs.
Sorry to dissappoint you all with the facts
Hairy Bowsie
09/04/2012, 9:58 AM
so I don't have a problem with the club asking for an extra boost in time for when income will be down.
Well then with, the greatest respect, you're a moron. And the club you love is taking you and the rest of your fans for morons.
I can't understand why Sligo fans aren't up in arms over this. How many times in the last 5 years has the club done this? Not only are the fans not blind with rage, with once again being asked to stump up cash but most seem happy to hand it over. I genuinely find it hard to grasp.
shellyriver
09/04/2012, 10:20 AM
Well then with, the greatest respect, you're a moron. And the club you love is taking you and the rest of your fans for morons.
I can't understand why Sligo fans aren't up in arms over this. How many times in the last 5 years has the club done this? Not only are the fans not blind with rage, with once again being asked to stump up cash but most seem happy to hand it over. I genuinely find it hard to grasp.
Blind rage? Ah, now - seriously, is it that hard to grasp?
It's optional.
poster
09/04/2012, 12:33 PM
Thanks man. I have the greatest respect for you and yours too.
I can't understand why Sligo fans aren't up in arms over this. How many times in the last 5 years has the club done this? Not only are the fans not blind with rage.
:cute:
Example?
redobit
09/04/2012, 12:58 PM
Just seen this thread
The fans in general were not asked to make a donation
Only members of the club and 500 club members
Our members do not pay an annual subscription like other clubs (shams, Bohs ?)
So just like other years members are asked to pay a voluntary donation of €100.
Cant believe the mass hysteria and joy in posts from fans of other clubs.
Sorry to dissappoint you all with the facts
This.
It answers all people need to know and shows why it isint really as big a deal.
Another daft thread that smells like it was born in the Always Ultras forum.