View Full Version : Limerick away 1st V 2nd
L.T.F.C.
07/04/2012, 12:35 AM
Over the moon! I think we were well worth the win, they had half-chances but not incredibly threatening! Super header from James, rocketed into the top corner!
07/04/2012, 9:42 AM
Over the moon! I think we were well worth the win, they had half-chances but not incredibly threatening! Super header from James, rocketed into the top corner!
Don't think your giving Hyland enough credit he had to make at least 3 top class saves and anyone at the game will comment on his wonderful double save when he was lying on the ground only to jump up and punch the goal bound shot away. It was very similar to Aaron Shanahans against Shels in Tolka a few years back.
The 2 Limerick boys in front of me said at HT we were the far better team but Lims had the better chances and could have been 3 up and I fully agree with that.
What pleased me the most was the lads belief....to be pulled back in the 80th minute only to go and hit the killer blow in the 83rd was just fantastic and every single player gave it there all which was fantastic to see.
Stand out on the night were Hylo, Tommo, Gillespie and James who is showing some real class in the midfield this season with wonderful flicks and tricks and as said above what a diving header best I ever seen!
I said before last nights game we would be taking it 1 game at a time but us football fans never can :) so I'd be very confident of a win in the cup Tuesday even with a changed line up because Dundalk look sh1te tbh and then we have another very tough test against Harps our long time pals.
bluewhitearmy
07/04/2012, 12:31 PM
Fair play to the Longford fans that traveled down and well done to your team played some lovely football and fully deserved the win. The only value for money anyone of the big crowd got was watching ye play.
That double save outspoken is talking about was unbelievable.
Also the look on his face when Martinho was called from the stand was brilliant :p.
Fair play lads.
fitzpatrick10
07/04/2012, 12:39 PM
Fair play to the Longford fans that traveled down and well done to your team played some lovely football and fully deserved the win. The only value for money anyone of the big crowd got was watching ye play.
That double save outspoken is talking about was unbelievable.
Also the look on his face when Martinho was called from the stand was brilliant :p.
Fair play lads.
Priceless....
I said before last nights game we would be taking it 1 game at a time but us football fans never can :) so I'd be very confident of a win in the cup Tuesday even with a changed line up because Dundalk look sh1te tbh and then we have another very tough test against Harps our long time pals.
Id say TC will play most of the non staters from friday night in the cup.
07/04/2012, 2:23 PM
YE agree there but even our second string could beat Dundalk if you ask me! If TC plays the same team that he did against Bray in the LSC I'd be very confident.
Town Legend
07/04/2012, 2:46 PM
Excellent win last night. Have to agree 100% with Outspoken, we were the better team but Lims had 3 great chances (2 great saves from Hyland including the double one and then somehow the Lims striker blasted over from 6 yards out!). Have to say Gillespie was excellent as was Kirbs ran himself into the ground. Salmo closed down every ball in what was a vast improvement on last week. Shaw had the 2 assists for the goals (I think it was him who flicked Crawleys throw for the first one) and was shattered at the end. Hopefully Ozzies injury isn't too serious to keep him out for long. I heard he twigged his back after challenging Ryan for the ball. Looking forward to Tuesday night to see some of our fringe players getting a run out!
Tallanted
07/04/2012, 4:20 PM
Limerick are too good for this league, oh wait..............
Great result, no complaints, we will take that all day long. Well worth the trip.
07/04/2012, 5:24 PM
What a win! I like to think I claim an assist for our first goal as tommo took the throw right beside us and I shouted at him! LONG!! some weapon to have his long throws bit like against Waterford..The second goal was right beside us too and shawsie did fantastic in chasing a lost cause and put purcell under pressure. his cross was superb and collie james header was the best I have seen! The power and distance it went was unreal..
Credit to the Limerick fans beside us.. Great banter between us and I was stunned to hear my name called out!Didnt realise I had a fanclub goin.. Pity it wasnt the females ! Best of luck to limerick for the rest of the season..
I am still concerned that we can do a Waterford as three years ago the blues were unbeaten for the first seven games and lost their way badly under stephen henderson..
btw if you ever are looking for somewhere decent to eat on the way home call into Luigis Borrisokane on the Nenagh Athlone road.. Top notch food and as i was leaving Philip Coffey,Kirbs,Mick Lee and Des Hope were ordering their well deserved food!! So theirs who can vouch my claim!
07/04/2012, 5:29 PM
good to know TC has them all on a super healthy diet :P
L.T.F.C.
07/04/2012, 6:27 PM
Finally posting properly on the game.
First of all Jackman park is one of the biggest dives I have been in a while! I've seen chicken coops in better nick. And people complain about Flancare?
Behan is packing a nice bit of weight. Niall Sheridan job. Does get alot of headers, but Hope and Deans took good care of him. One point I will make about him was the tackle on Haverty that the ref got wrong in the first half. He came in with a high foot, and got Haverty in the chest. Then he proceeded to roar into Haverty's face when he was on the ground. Disgusting. Anyway, I was delighted for him at 90mins.
We were far better anyway. Hyland was super. And Salmon was unreal. Coming out of nowhere to pick up possession. Kirby and Gillespie ran the show in the middle. I was impressed with James too, a super header!
Shaw played well I thought, but was tiring badly towards the end. Great ball in for the winner! Was disappointed to see Skelly get taken off with an injury. Hopefully he won't be too long in coming back.
Was a very short journey home with that win!
I also don't think there was 1200 at that game last night. Closer to 1000.
07/04/2012, 6:29 PM
good to know TC has them all on a super healthy diet :P
in fairness the rest of the squad were on the bus to dublin at that stage! these were the locals on the way back home.. no it was nice to see them in there. I stated my delight to them at seeing their performance and it made the night for me!
07/04/2012, 9:53 PM
Near impossible to tell the attendance tbh as it's so spread out but the stand was full and the hill was fairly packed and as Limerick have the electronic system I wouldn't doubt the 1207 figure.
Martinho why are you so negative :) we're no Waterford United! And while we're talking about Jackman and food the ground maybe a bit 'uncomfortable' let's say but the curry chips are awesome!
Also fair play to the lads with the drum I didn't see the signing section of town fans at the far side of the stand till it was too late :( by that time the two lads in front of me where asking me about the GAH and the egg chasing I was clueless haha. Anyway I hear the club are looking for a few drumers Tuesday night so keep them coming lads and from talking to some of the section O Crew Saturday night could be a throwback to the good old days, drums, flags the lot and I'm told we may even see a Poznan!
08/04/2012, 5:05 PM
Short audio interview with TC here http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/7791/cousins-pleased-squad-depth/