View Full Version : Support the Shels |angerss?

06/08/2004, 12:04 PM
Just wondering if theres a few of us going up to see the 'other' scum play deportivo. i know theres a lot of people saying why bother but this thread isnt about that. if possible, a bus load of city fans arriving up there and congregating would just remind people who the big club are :)

06/08/2004, 12:10 PM
Jaysus, bus load of people travelling from Cork to watch other team in Europe? Dunno bout that. I'm living in Dublin & gone to Shel$, Bohs & Rovers games befotre but dunno if will go to this...

06/08/2004, 12:16 PM
this is the first time that an eircom league team will really make the diehard barstoolers actually interested. Deportivo like, last years semi-finalists, sure havent i seen them on tv loads of times! whether we like that its shels or not is irrelevant, the league needs to support this game

Eric
06/08/2004, 12:20 PM
I'm going and I hope Shels really get HAMMERED!!!!! :D

Flynninio
06/08/2004, 12:29 PM
didnt think you would be like that eric :confused:

06/08/2004, 12:32 PM
if shels get destroyed it'll reflect badly on the whole league.
but thats not what the topic is about, who'd be interested in a bus?

City Hero
06/08/2004, 12:37 PM
The problem with most "bar stoolers" as they are called is that they are really only FA Premiership bar stoolers. Even thought Depor played and beat Man Utd twice 2 seasons ago in the group stages, how many barstoolers could name more than 3 or 4 of Depors players. They could name plenty of Monaco players because they played Chelsea in the semi final, but did they realy pay any attention to Depor beating AC Milan 4-0 (possibly the biggest shock scoreline in many years).

I hope that the barstoolers show up because of the novelty factor, but will they even consider going to Tolka or any other ground regularly. I don't think so, too much hassle. Following football teams for these people is about convenience, not going every other week when it's raining.

Flynninio
06/08/2004, 12:44 PM
a lot has to be said for english fans who gather in there thousands to watch lowly clubs in the lower divisions. you dont see them complaining about quality of football- you support "your own no matter what attitude" is the attitiude this country so sadly lacks
if i was off work i would go up and support shells eventhough i have me grievances with ollie byrne for refusing us entry to tolka park bar at half time earlier this season.but **** that i would love if he was our chairman.

06/08/2004, 12:50 PM
but **** that i would love if he was our chairman.

Byrne for his faults has done great work for Shels and always puts his team first, but I wouldn't have him in Brian Lennox's place, and I'm surprised any city fan (especially considering our run-ins with Oily) would.

06/08/2004, 1:01 PM
Byrne for his faults has done great work for Shels and always puts his team first, but I wouldn't have him in Brian Lennox's place.

If I was a fan of any other club I'd be grateful for the likes of Byrne to take the club to new heights but like Tiktok says, I wouldn't swap Brian for a bag of Ollies. Brian will take us to even greater things.
Fair play to Ollie and Shels for stamping down the long grass and beating a path for other eL clubs to the potential Euro greatness.

06/08/2004, 1:46 PM
Had interesting Sky Sports advert on RTE during halftime last week with slogan alomng lines of "..we are the greatest team in the world..because its my team..."

Would be good to have similar El campaign.

06/08/2004, 2:09 PM
but **** that i would love if he was our chairman.

not a hope in hell. lennox anyday of the week

07/08/2004, 11:58 AM
I might go up to the game alright, don't think I could bring myself to support Ollie Byrne's thugs though.
Hopefully they'll get a good result in Dublin but get hammered in Spain, at least that way the barstoolers will be impressed with what they see and we won't have the nightmare scenario of Shels going through and earning the money to dominate the league.

tippman
07/08/2004, 12:32 PM
I might go up to the game alright, don't think I could bring myself to support Ollie Byrne's thugs though.
Hopefully they'll get a good result in Dublin but get hammered in Spain, at least that way the barstoolers will be impressed with what they see and we won't have the nightmare scenario of Shels going through and earning the money to dominate the league. :confused:

you just cant except that shels are a better team than cork

07/08/2004, 12:42 PM

you just cant except that shels are a better team than cork

We'll see saturday

ShelsTim
07/08/2004, 9:49 PM
Come on lads, Shels fans gave you plenty of support in your InterToto adventure, the least you could do is be rooting for Shels, whatever about coming up to Dublin. If you were playing 3rd round qualifier, I'd go to the cross. I would've gone for Nantes but had work commitments.

08/08/2004, 6:26 PM
Come on lads, Shels fans gave you plenty of support in your InterToto adventure.

It's been returned in kind, remember, there's more of us ;) :D .

I saw a good few City shirts (and faces) at Tolka last wednesday, and there's a bunch of us planning to go next wednesday too.You're going to get plenty people coming down on both sides of the argument, and there was plenty anti-Dolan and anti-Cork sentiment on your own message boards too.

I don't expect you to win the tie, but I'll be cheering you on in the hope that you give a good showing and maybe get a home result, for the sake of the status of the league and the Uefa coefficient.

10/08/2004, 7:51 AM
Come on lads, Shels fans gave you plenty of support in your InterToto adventure, the least you could do is be rooting for Shels, whatever about coming up to Dublin. If you were playing 3rd round qualifier, I'd go to the cross. I would've gone for Nantes but had work commitments.

I'll be hoping you do well, people like Artane red on your own MB don't do your cause any favours though ;)

"Oh, By the way,, NO ManUK or Liverfool jersy's,
And if you like Fat Dolan, you can **** off aswell!!!!"