View Full Version : Olli€: $ell-out
Cas'Grande
05/08/2004, 6:39 PM
$helbourne are in the process of undoing the bit of good they did for the image of the League last night by cashing in on the game against Deportivo.
First they give up the advantage of playing away from home,
now, they're gonna play it in Lansdowne! For the sake of an extra few grand.
Shouldnt expect much more of Ollie the Cigarette seller.
They'll get wallopped5/6 nil at Lansdowne. I felt they had a small chance of keeping them to 1/2 at Tolka, maybe even scoring themselves.
They make me sick.
I hope I get a chance to tell Ollie when they're down next week.
spot on. what would you expect though
Yawn !!!!!!!!!!!
How can ye be so negative?
And, why is this in the cork section. It should either be in the shelbourne section or general. Wake up and try and get a broader view.
Cas'Grande
05/08/2004, 7:34 PM
It gets worse.
Dunno where I saw it but apparently Shels have a friendly against some English side lined up for Saturday, cancelling their league game against Home Farm.
How do they get away with it.
sullanefc
05/08/2004, 8:00 PM
I'm sure if City were playing against a top European side and there was a 40000 stadium in Cork then we would do the same. Its good money for the club and you can't blame them. Look at Arsenal playing CL games in Wembley a few years back. They had bad results there but earned them a good few bob, they spent it wisely and look at them now.
ccfcgirl
05/08/2004, 8:43 PM
Shels are right to move there game to lansdowne ,it would be alot easier to get tickets ,i hate all this negative talk about a team whom are doing the league proud,i for one would love to get up to dublin to see them play if there was a bus going .
sullanefc
05/08/2004, 9:24 PM
Shels are right to move there game to lansdowne ,it would be alot easier to get tickets ,i hate all this negative talk about a team whom are doing the league proud,i for one would love to get up to dublin to see them play if there was a bus going .
Here ya go then
http://www.buseireann.ie/site/home/
Sorry, couldn't resist :D
ive already got an email from ticketmaster offering tickets for the match! :eek:
Wake up and try and get a broader view.
Eoin, the broader view is that they should have played the first leg away and played their home tie in Tolka. This way they might have stood some small chance and would still have made a lot of money. However, they have conceded defeat and chosen to take the pay day instead of trying to have a go at Depor and see what happens.
05/08/2004, 11:19 PM
plain and simple
just a small club there to make up the numbers
damage limitation.
sad really innit
plain and simple
just a small club there to make up the numbers
damage limitation.
sad really innit
That's it exactly.
City are a big club with top class players and noisy intimidating supporters (both home and away) and we knew we were good enough and had the confidence to take on any of Europes top clubs. Shels however are small time and are happy just to take the pay day, it's pathetic really.
Snatch
06/08/2004, 12:05 AM
$helbourne are in the process of undoing the bit of good they did for the image of the League last night by cashing in on the game against Deportivo.
First they give up the advantage of playing away from home,
now, they're gonna play it in Lansdowne! For the sake of an extra few grand.
Shouldnt expect much more of Ollie the Cigarette seller.
They'll get wallopped5/6 nil at Lansdowne. I felt they had a small chance of keeping them to 1/2 at Tolka, maybe even scoring themselves.
They make me sick.
I hope I get a chance to tell Ollie when they're down next week.
Come off it Cas' Grande. That is a pure negative and dare I say jealous attitude. A couple of extra yards in the width of the pitch won't neccisarily make a 3 goal difference. Anyway, they can narrow the lines in Landsdowne.
Moreover, I'm sure City would do the same.
06/08/2004, 8:50 AM
According to the news section on their official website, they couldn't play the game at Tolka due to UEFA Licensing restrictions, what's the story, do they have an A licence or what?
from www.shelbournefc.com
"The home leg of the third round Champions League Qualifier against Deportivo La Coruña has been switched to Lansdowne Road to be played on next Wednesday 11th August.
Shelbourne FC would much dearly prefer to play the game in Tolka Park, but unfortunately due to UEFA Licencing restrictions, are unable to do so. We apologise to our fantastic fans and supporters because of this and wish also to thank all fans of other EL teams who turned out in Tolka Park in great numbers to support us last night.
One other consideration in moving the match, is in order to cater for the massive interest in the match from supporters, sponsors and media, which we could not accommodate in Tolka Park."
LFC in Exile
06/08/2004, 9:03 AM
According to the news section on their official website, they couldn't play the game at Tolka due to UEFA Licensing restrictions, what's the story, do they have an A licence or what?
from www.shelbournefc.com
"The home leg of the third round Champions League Qualifier against Deportivo La Coruña has been switched to Lansdowne Road to be played on next Wednesday 11th August.
Shelbourne FC would much dearly prefer to play the game in Tolka Park, but unfortunately due to UEFA Licencing restrictions, are unable to do so. We apologise to our fantastic fans and supporters because of this and wish also to thank all fans of other EL teams who turned out in Tolka Park in great numbers to support us last night.
One other consideration in moving the match, is in order to cater for the massive interest in the match from supporters, sponsors and media, which we could not accommodate in Tolka Park."
I think the story there is that they would have lost 1- 2,00 off the attendance so the game could have been played at Tolka but with reduced capacity. I think this is begrudgery of the highest order. Shels are dead right to move the game to Lansdowne Road. What price would they have to charge to Tolka to make up the difference in revenue? Then they'd get slated for cashing in. Cork City would do exactly the same given the chance. So would any club in the league. Shels are among the few clubs in the league trying to bring the full-time set-up forwards. They need big pay days when the chance come along. It is more than a "few grand extra" - it is in the region of 100k.
To accuse Shels of being small time is laughable - the first and imo best full time outfit in the league are hardly small time.
In all seriousness lads, this is a ridiculous thread. City, and every other club in the country would do everything they could to maximize revenue from this game. We changed with Malmo to get the home leg first, and be honest, this was to try to get as many people at the game, and to avoid a situation where the tie might be "dead".
I am really jealous of $h£l$ and the money they are going to get in, just like every other club in the country is. This thread is a simple case of the green-eyed monster coming out in all of us. We all wish we were in the same position........
Ruairi
06/08/2004, 9:45 AM
And, why is this in the cork section. It should either be in the shelbourne section or general. Wake up and try and get a broader view.
well said.
If shels want to move the game then thats their right but must say its been funny to hear the excuses...
Shelbourne FC Chairman Finbarr Flood said today " The desicion to move from Tolka Park to Lansdowne Road was not taken lightly. I feel it is in the interest of Irish Soccer and we don't want to disappoint fans and supporters who want to see this historic match "
LOL :rolleyes:
If they want to move for the cash then why not just say so?
06/08/2004, 11:28 AM
I think there are more stringent conditions required the further you go in Europe. A ground suitable for 1st and 2nd qualifying round mightn't necessarily be good enough for 3rd qualifying round. The floodlights have to be brighter, the further you go for one thing, plenty of others too.
06/08/2004, 11:32 AM
That's it exactly.
City are a big club with top class players and noisy intimidating supporters (both home and away) and we knew we were good enough and had the confidence to take on any of Europes top clubs. Shels however are small time and are happy just to take the pay day, it's pathetic really.
Yeah, Cork would murder Depor. 3-0 home and away, if Cork were talking it easy that is, because their just so much more big time than little ol league winning champions league third round competing shels.
06/08/2004, 11:34 AM
The problem in Tolka mainly was in the media facilities. It just can't handle the amount of media who will be there, it couldn't even handle the media who went to the Hajduk game. Apparently Ollie had to put a few of them up in a hotel so they could watch the match on RTE because there simply wasn't room, and it'll be far worse for the Depor match.
only1kilbane
06/08/2004, 11:36 AM
Selling out how stupid are some people ? Look at the state of finances in our league what other club in Ireland would not do the same and make as much money as they can . Who knows when we will get the same chance again. If they have it in tolka not everyone who wants to go shels fans or not will get tickets so lansdowne gives everyone a chance and gets much needed money in the coffers . After all it is a business not a charity
06/08/2004, 11:42 AM
That's another good point, I can only imagine how ****ed off I'd be if I missed out on seing the match live because it was in Tolka and it sold out before I managed to get there. I'd rather see it in Lansedown than have to watch it on RTE.
06/08/2004, 11:53 AM
"First Irish side ever to progress four rounds in a European competition"
getting beaten by deportivo and being dumped into the uefa cup doesnt count as progressing
namloc
06/08/2004, 11:59 AM
Yeah, Cork would murder Depor. 3-0 home and away, if Cork were talking it easy that is, because their just so much more big time than little ol league winning champions league third round competing shels.
He's right. When City get to the 3rd Qualifying Round of the Champs League then we can say we're bigger/better than Shels, until then ya can't knock their acheivement as much as people might not like it
blobbyblob
06/08/2004, 12:24 PM
Carlsberg dont make .....
He's right. When City get to the 3rd Qualifying Round of the Champs League then we can say we're bigger/better than Shels, until then ya can't knock their acheivement as much as people might not like it
I'm not knocking their achievement but I think that Shels have been relatively poor in Europe this season. Or to put it in a way that might ease the personal abuse that I'll probably get :D ; Shels have done really well not playing to their full potential.
I think the only difficulties that Shels have experienced so far in Europe have been mental e.g.
- Irish teams are meant to do poorly in Europe.
- Shels hadn't won at home in eleven years in European competition
It really annoyed me at half-time when Shels were obviously the better team and Roddy Collins was talking about being realistic and how many passes Hajduk Split were stringing together. The only thing that was strong about the Hajduk Split team that I saw was their history.
Pat Fenlon has adopted a new formation for Europe irrespective of the opposition. Personally I think Shels are strong enough to have come thru playing 4-4-2 and I abhor the thought of the country's top striker playing in midfield. I think it made things harder for themselves adapting to a new method, but then again they are where they are so who am I to talk, and it will probably stand them in good stead when they play teams who are of a higher quality.
I think that Cork City's run in Europe has been more impressive so far (and I stress so far) but as I have said Shels have been battling their own demons as well as the opposing team. City had only one player with previous European experience (two for Nijmegen away) but they had several players with experience with a winning Ireland u21 team. Even after beating Malmo 3-1 at home the only people who believed they could progress were the players themselves. They won away, kept a Dutch league team scoreless over two legs and frightened the bejesus out of Nantes. If Shels had the same confidence then I believe that they would have strolled thru the two rounds, but their quality saw them through anyhow.
With the confidence they have now they could give Deportivo a right scare.
Which is why I'm a bit disappointed that they're playing it in Lansdowne, I know there's good reasons for it but as Pat Fenlon said
"I hope it’s at Tolka. The crowd were fantastic for this game. If there’s the ticket demand, maybe we’ll have to move the game but I hope it’s here. I think we’ve got a chance against anyone if we play it here." - Eleven-a-side.com (http://www.eleven-a-side.com)
My head understands the decision but my heart thinks that Shels have conceeded before they've begun. They have to play two away games against top class opposition.
This is not meant to be a Shels-bashing or a Cork-arrogance post but I think that the giant-killing, once-in-a-lifetime-achievement, best-result-ever brigade are doing the league a disservice. While tactics and luck and decisions come into it I think that lack-of-belief has been the reason that Longford and Bohs have done badly in Europe, and that Shels and Cork City have (hopefully) broken that duck. Either one would not have been enough, but both teams making history could spell the turning point in eL football.
As for the fear that Shels will dominate; it is a possibility, but only if the other teams allow it. I'm going to speak purely from a Cork City fan's viewpoint now but it applies to other teams as well. With Bohs in turmoil and Shel's likely to have a bit of a slump in the league due to Europe it's all there to fight for. A top two place will get us into the Setanta cup with a possible €300k prize money and European football in either the UEFA cup or (here's hoping! :D ) the champions league. If City can do that then I'd have no worries of them repeating their run in Europe. The money is out there now. Shels got it but they're merely the first to do it.
Citys run was great but don't think you can say better than Shel$ cos theres a lot more pressure on the CL games cos of the importance. City knew the Inter Toto would not make or break their season.
Obviously Fenlons tactics were rewarded with win but I was surprised stuck so much to 4-5-1 with Jason Byrne way out of position & largely ineffective.
Maybe it not suitable for all teams but I thought Citys tactics in Europe were very good with variations on 4-4-2, 4-5-1, 4-6-0 given the situations.
Sport is largely TV driven these days so is only natural so many people express interest in watching game on tv but really wouldn't realistically attend a game.
06/08/2004, 2:43 PM
"First Irish side ever to progress four rounds in a European competition"
getting beaten by deportivo and being dumped into the uefa cup doesnt count as progressing
It will when we make the UEFA cup group stages :)
only1kilbane
06/08/2004, 3:40 PM
To Derm who said Shels have been relatively poor in Europe has he seen the footage of both legs of the game in Split. Some of the football Shels played on wed was better than anything I have seen in the League and shows the level they are capable of playing at . Its a bit sad to see how people will never appreciate how good our teams are capable of being
Citys run was great but don't think you can say better than Shel$ cos theres a lot more pressure on the CL games cos of the importance. City knew the Inter Toto would not make or break their season.
My point essentially was that Shels were under more pressure but it was of their own doing - they were fighting history as much as Hajduk Split were relying on it. Besides, you don't get to be league champions by not being able to handle pressure.
City had a team of youngsters who didn't know any better and an optimistic madman for a manager and the results they got were awe-inspiring, but ultimately meaningless. So IMO City's results were better but Shels were more important.
In short City deserved to get to the quarter-finals, Shels deserved to get into the 1st round (or is it another qual - CL always confuses me). I think Shels have the ability to have made qualification easier for themselves but they chose to make it more dramatic!
To Derm who said Shels have been relatively poor in Europe has he seen the footage of both legs of the game in Split. Some of the football Shels played on wed was better than anything I have seen in the League and shows the level they are capable of playing at . Its a bit sad to see how people will never appreciate how good our teams are capable of being
That was the hook! Further on I say that Shels hadn't played to their full potential, which in my understanding equates to "how good our teams are capable of being". The results against Hajduk Split were well deserved, but seem to point to the fact that the Shels made hard work of it against Rejkavik. TBH Rejkavik was a bit of a banana skin and I didn't see them play but I believe that our teams are capable of being better than Icelandic teams. Those results were "relatively poor", not in eL terms but in Shel's own terms.
Basically I'm saying don't miss the wood for the trees. Shels achievement is not great because they beat superior teams or overcame great odds. They deserve it, plain and simple. It's a great achievement because it has never been done before.
Personally I think that our teams are good enough to make City's & Shel's achievements the norm in future years.
Shelsman
06/08/2004, 4:45 PM
Maybe it not suitable for all teams but I thought Citys tactics in Europe were very good with variations on 4-4-2, 4-5-1, 4-6-0 given the situations
Or 10-0-0 for the last 10 or 15 minutes against NEC !!! :D
Better 10-0-0 against NEC than those Icelanders ;)
Shelsman
06/08/2004, 5:01 PM
While tactics and luck and decisions come into it I think that lack-of-belief has been the reason that Longford and Bohs have done badly
I don't agree. I think Longford lost because they have a crap squad ( I mean when compared to the other eL participants in Europe, I mean how may of the Longford players would get into the Shels, Bohs or Cork teams? ).
This in turn turn makes you wonder about having your Cup Winners playing in Europe -remember when Bray won the cup and then lost 8-0 on aggregate to Grasshoppers Zurich, but then, other countries let their cup winners in and if the UEFA place was taken away from the FAI Cup to the league then clubs might not take the cup seriously.
As for Bohs, I think it was overconfidence that caused them to lose -I think the fact that they had always progressed past the first round in recent years coupled with the fact that they had knocked out the same club before and apparently dominated the first leg meant they were complacent in the second leg ( although I will accept the views of someone who was actually at the match if they think otherwise ).
City Hero
06/08/2004, 7:27 PM
AFAIK it wasn't the same club that Bohs played a couple of seasons ago, but a club from the same city.
The quality of oppostion faced in the Uefa cup & CL (with the exception Split) by Irish teams this year has been very poor, and should have been beaten easily. It's about time we as a nation were able to beat the best that Estonia, Leichtenstein & Iceland have to offer, and I hope that will be the case in future years.
I think that Shels will loose to Deportivo, but as a seeded team in Uefa cup 1st round draw, they will probably be drawn against a team which they have a good chance of beating, and ending up in the group stage. This will be a better reflection on how far they will have progressed this year than the games against Deportivo.
06/08/2004, 7:40 PM
AFAIK it wasn't the same club that Bohs played a couple of seasons ago, but a club from the same city.
It's the same team with a different name.
I don't agree. I think Longford lost because they have a crap squad ( I mean when compared to the other eL participants in Europe, I mean how may of the Longford players would get into the Shels, Bohs or Cork teams? ).
This in turn turn makes you wonder about having your Cup Winners playing in Europe -remember when Bray won the cup and then lost 8-0 on aggregate to Grasshoppers Zurich, but then, other countries let their cup winners in and if the UEFA place was taken away from the FAI Cup to the league then clubs might not take the cup seriously.
As for Bohs, I think it was overconfidence that caused them to lose -I think the fact that they had always progressed past the first round in recent years coupled with the fact that they had knocked out the same club before and apparently dominated the first leg meant they were complacent in the second leg ( although I will accept the views of someone who was actually at the match if they think otherwise ).
From what I remember from the away game report Longford were all over Vaduz and Vaduz scored with their only shot of the game (I may be open to correction here). It was Lichtenstein's first win in Europe, so confidence did play a part for both teams in the return leg.
I agree with you about Bohs, you should always treat teams who have a score to settle with respect ...
As to Boh's opposition (can't remember their name :o ) AFAIK there are an amalgamation between the team Boh's beat and another team from the same city.
Good luck to Shels tonight