View Full Version : Week 4: March 23rd - 25th
23/03/2012, 12:55 PM
Premier Division:
Friday March 23rd
Bray Wanderers - Drogheda United (http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/17865/0/)
Derry City - Cork City (http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/17866/0/)
Dundalk - U.C.D (http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/17867/0/)
Monaghan United - Sligo Rovers (http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/17868/0/)
Shamrock Rovers - Shelbourne (http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/17869/0/)
Sunday March 25th
Bohemians - St Patrick's Athletic (http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/17864/0/)
First Division:
Friday March 23rd
Limerick FC - SD Galway (http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/18097/0/)
Mervue United - Athlone Town (http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/18098/0/)
Saturday March 24th
Finn Harps - Wexford Youths (http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/18099/0/)
Longford Town - Waterford United (http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/18100/0/)
23/03/2012, 6:56 PM
Limerick one up - Rory Gaffney
freewheel30
23/03/2012, 7:00 PM
Drogs 1-0 up as well. Any Ustream or local radio covering Derry games this season?
wonder88
23/03/2012, 7:10 PM
The President Michael D is in Tallaght, always a great supporter of the League of Ireland
23/03/2012, 7:26 PM
2-0 Limerick. Penalty from Shane Tracey.
kksaints
23/03/2012, 7:39 PM
Drogs 1-0 up as well. Any Ustream or local radio covering Derry games this season?
http://www.drive105.co.uk/. Its on this website.
gufc2000
23/03/2012, 7:54 PM
The President Michael D is in Tallaght, always a great supporter of the League of Ireland
Poor lad is going from ground to ground wondering what to do like all us GUFC/GUST supporters
freewheel30
23/03/2012, 7:56 PM
Great kksaints, thanks
23/03/2012, 8:01 PM
3-0 Limerick, Dom Foley.
23/03/2012, 8:05 PM
The second Rovers goal tonight is Christmas video gold. Assuming you don't want to wait til then, check it out on MNS.
23/03/2012, 8:06 PM
Sligo take the lead in Gortakeegan. Danny North 49 mins.
23/03/2012, 8:32 PM
Bray 2-4 Drogs
Derry 2-0 Cork
Dundalk 2-1 UCD
Mons 0-1 Sligo
Rovers 3-0 Shels
Limerick 3-0 Salthill
Mervue 0-1 Athlone
I went out to Tallaght tonight to see Shams v Shels (and revel in the wonderful facilities) and I have to say I was surprised how little fight Shels put up.
Alan Matthews must really really love Shams to be scoring their goals for them as well.
I went out to Tallaght tonight to see Shams v Shels (and revel in the wonderful facilities) and I have to say I was surprised how little fight Shels put up.
Alan Matthews must really really love Shams to be scoring their goals for them as well.
(in before sligoman)
It's Mathews.
GalwayRed
23/03/2012, 10:28 PM
It's all a Dublin conspiracy to screw Sligo Rovers over.
Game was effectively over once Deano got sent off. We were never going to hold Rovers off for 87 minutes with 10 men. It was the manner in which we conceded the goals that really frustrates me. Apart from the third goal which I think Skinner should have done better with, they were all off Shels mistakes. The second goal was horrendous.
Cuyahoga
23/03/2012, 10:36 PM
Whats wrong with aertel tonight, no results on page 231.?
23/03/2012, 10:39 PM
No updates at HT either when we went into the bar.
It's all a Dublin conspiracy to screw Sligo Rovers over.
Game was effectively over once Deano got sent off. We were never going to hold Rovers off for 87 minutes with 10 men. It was the manner in which we conceded the goals that really frustrates me. Apart from the third goal which I think Skinner should have done better with, they were all off Shels mistakes. The second goal was horrendous.
I think ye could have gone for it a bit more. Ye still had plenty of good players on the pitch. Gave Turner way too much room in the centre of the park to dictate the game.
GalwayRed
23/03/2012, 10:53 PM
I think ye could have gone for it a bit more. Ye still had plenty of good players on the pitch. Gave Turner way too much room in the centre of the park to dictate the game.
I think to be fair we had settled into the game at 1-0 down. The second goal was a complete disaster though and heads just dropped after that.
Cuyahoga
23/03/2012, 11:20 PM
How come David Cassidy didnt come on tonight for Shels. He was popular at Rovers when he was there under Pat Scully but he let him go which came as a surprise to the fans.
MagicMon
23/03/2012, 11:26 PM
A team like Sligo really makes you appreciate the gulf in quality between the first division and premier. I thought Monaghan held our own for most of the game, but were punished for one of the only mistakes made.
Sean South
23/03/2012, 11:30 PM
Poor lad is going from ground to ground wondering what to do like all us GUFC/GUST supporters
Supporters of a supporters trust.......
MagicMon
23/03/2012, 11:41 PM
Probably best that no-one tells you that Aertel had Limerick 3 Galway United 0 up for the most of an hour tonight then
born2bwild
24/03/2012, 9:13 AM
How come David Cassidy didnt come on tonight for Shels. He was popular at Rovers when he was there under Pat Scully but he let him go which came as a surprise to the fans.
Good question. He got a bit of a knock a couple of weeks ago and was out. Who knows what's going on behind the scenes but the fact that Mathews brought Anto Murphy on when Shels were 3 down and not Casso (Shels' best attacking player) suggests that he's still carrying an injury.
PartySaint
24/03/2012, 4:23 PM
Good question. He got a bit of a knock a couple of weeks ago and was out. Who knows what's going on behind the scenes but the fact that Mathews brought Anto Murphy on when Shels were 3 down and not Casso (Shels' best attacking player) suggests that he's still carrying an injury.
It was over at 3-0 (tbh it was over after 7 minutes) no need to risk your best player. I'm expecting Paisley and Cassidy to play against us next week. Hopefully they both pick up knocks in training :)
The seemingly unstoppable Longford lead Waterford 1-0.
Harps game will be covered here: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/finn-harps-radio
Wexford lead at Finn Park.. another bout of the head staggers from the Harps "defence".
24/03/2012, 8:45 PM
Finished 3-2. Deserved the win, completely dominated the first half should have scored a couple more. Waterford came back strong second half but didn't really create a lot. They managed to score two screamers though from Dunphy. Salthill next week, 5 from 5 a real possibility.
24/03/2012, 9:04 PM
Hyland should have saved the 1st, shocking attempt, useless closing down also. The 2nd was a good'un but still savable if he was on his fecking line. Bring in Hunt for the next game I say, see how he does. Deserved win thou, disappointing crowd.
24/03/2012, 9:21 PM
I have no idea how Wexford managed to win tonight. We just can't seem to take any chances.
24/03/2012, 9:35 PM
Hyland should have saved the 1st, shocking attempt, useless closing down also. The 2nd was a good'un but still savable if he was on his fecking line. Bring in Hunt for the next game I say, see how he does. Deserved win thou, disappointing crowd.
The gate wasn't much less than Athlone I believe and a lot less away support. About 350 there I'd say. Good buzz developing amongst the crowd though, a few faces reappearing after a long absence.
another bout of the head staggers from the Harps "defence".
We just can't seem to take any chances.
Defence...attack...which one takes the blame?
Always good to hammer Shels, albeit thanks to their own mistakes, but they get punished at Premier level. I can't remember even Galway or Kildare conceding such comical own goal. There was a pause in play waiting for him to do something with everyone marked and then he just kicked straight at the goal. Great view of it personally too :cool2:
Both are seriously deficient currently. We give up chances out of nothing, and when we get chances miss them. Apart from that we're pretty decent. Although in fairness our midfield isn't always great and our keeper has played better too.
L.T.F.C.
25/03/2012, 12:49 AM
Totally disagree with this. Those two goals for Waterford were brought on by simple ball-watching. The back four trotting around like we're already promoted. The first one took a deflection which didn't help the situation either.
Hyland has been solid since the start of the season and I think we could have a new long-term keeper. He doesn't warrant being left on the sideline yet.
25/03/2012, 2:55 AM
Really, our first 11 should be beating most teams in this division. Defensively suspect at times, but with possibly the youngest backline in the whole league there's a lot to be said for experience.
Midfield has been strengthened with the re-signing of Shaun McGowan.
Up front you have the obvious talent of Kevin McHugh who is looking in the best shape of his career as far as I can see.
What's wrong is we're leaking soft goals through lapse in communication and the fact last seasons player of the year Keith Cowan is out injured who is the real leader of the backline and controls all there.
We are playing some lovely football, albeit against Athlone we were awful, but tonight and in previous games we played a bit of really decent football. Just seem to s**t the nest when we get sight of goal. Could have easily had 4 or 5 against Wexford tonight if it weren't for poor decisions in the final third and people capitalising on good crosses.
Graham Doyle made 3 or 4 very good saves too which also helped matters for Wexford who themselves didn't really have more than 2 or 3 chances in the match in total.
noddy102
25/03/2012, 4:18 AM
Does anybody know if the Pats-Bohs game is available worldwide on the rté website or is it just available in Ireland?
25/03/2012, 4:19 AM
Totally disagree with this. Those two goals for Waterford were brought on by simple ball-watching. The back four trotting around like we're already promoted. The first one took a deflection which didn't help the situation either.
Hyland has been solid since the start of the season and I think we could have a new long-term keeper. He doesn't warrant being left on the sideline yet.
I wish there were replays available, watch his footwork when making saves from now on, the 1st one was very saveable, I did say they should have closed down.
The 2nd goal, like I said was a better goal shot and was less avoidable lets say. He made 1 more save I think which he actually could have caught if he fecking used his feet and took a step or two before attempting saves.
There was one point also, I think it was just after 13 and 14 came on for waterford (who both look about 15 years old but seem like they have bags of tallent). They had the ball just at the edge of the D, Hyland was out beyond the penalty spot totally in no man's land begging to be chipped. I don't get to half as many games as the rest of you probably do and that was the 1st time I've ever seen the lad play but I wasn't very impressed, he was grand with the other aspects of his play, he's decent with the ball at his feet, although none to convinced with his attempts to claim crosses either but he got away with it and at least sort of palmed the ball away each time.
I'm not saying hes crap and Hunt is better, but the Salthill match is a good time to give Paul a run out.
The gate wasn't much less than Athlone I believe and a lot less away support. About 350 there I'd say. Good buzz developing amongst the crowd though, a few faces reappearing after a long absence.
Atmosphere was good alight, Section O seems to be expanding a little too :D The crowds seem to be a good bit better than last year so far anyway, I just think we should be doing a little better, especially if the results keep going the right way, slow progress is better than no progress thou!
Spudulika
25/03/2012, 8:12 AM
Does anybody know if the Pats-Bohs game is available worldwide on the rté website or is it just available in Ireland?
You can watch it online. It's worldwide.
born2bwild
25/03/2012, 11:27 AM
It was over at 3-0 (tbh it was over after 7 minutes) no need to risk your best player. I'm expecting Paisley and Cassidy to play against us next week. Hopefully they both pick up knocks in training :)
Paiso? Sure, someone will be rude to him in the local shops and he'll be out for the rest of the season. I wouldn't factor him into your planning.
Paisley is Shels best player imo.
born2bwild
25/03/2012, 12:39 PM
Paisley is Shels best player imo.
That's all fine in practice but what about the theory?
PartySaint
25/03/2012, 1:06 PM
I meant Cassidy is your best player
Hibs4Ever
25/03/2012, 3:59 PM
Hillarious from the Bohs manager saying they are struggling to get out of their half "because of the strong wind"
sundance kid
25/03/2012, 4:06 PM
Not having all those groundsmen anymore is going to really help bohs this year. There won't be one decent game of football on that pitch this season.
harry crumb
25/03/2012, 4:08 PM
my eyes, my eyes.
Awful game.
Hibs4Ever
25/03/2012, 4:11 PM
Bohs are one of the worst teams the league has had for years. become a right bunch of divers too
noddy102
25/03/2012, 4:56 PM
Bohs are one of the worst teams the league has had for years. become a right bunch of divers too
This is the biggest overstatement i've seen in a while. Galway?
Bohs are being written off right now after playin Derry and Sligo away and Pats and Shels at home. I still expect them to finish well clear of relegation.
total hoofball
25/03/2012, 5:45 PM
That was disgraceful game of 'football' from both Bohs and Pats to showcase live on national television. Kilkenny City v Kildare County from a few years back would have been about the same standard as that dross.
CSFShels
25/03/2012, 5:58 PM
I meant Cassidy is your best player
Yup, him or Philly. Paisley isn't even our best centre back.