View Full Version : Hats off to Shels
belfastreb
04/08/2004, 8:19 PM
2-0 against the champions of Croatia!!!! :eek: :D
Superb, dominated the match, brilliant goals, thoroughly deserved; fecking brilliant!!!
Let’s hope this is the start of a transformation in club football in Ireland.
spiritofshanks
04/08/2004, 8:48 PM
My hat is off!!! Fair play to Shels. Let's hope Europe was watching. Irish football on the up.
04/08/2004, 8:52 PM
Aye, fair play to Shels, they did the League proud. Best of luck next week too.
But, Shels are close to becoming the Rosenborg of Ireland. And I dare say, not even Shels fans want that... :(
sullanefc
04/08/2004, 9:04 PM
I must say I was critical of Pat Fenlon's Euro tactics on other posts but he proved me wrong tonight. Superb performance by shels and well worth the win. Never looked in trouble except for 5 mins after scoring the first. Plain sailing for the rest of the game. Congrats.
Ollie Byrne said on the news after that they were going to try and get the tie switched so they play at home first. Its a hard one to call. I'd imagine they'd lose the tie anyway. But if you were an extremely optimistic person :eek: wouldn't you want to play away first. Pessimism or good thinking by Byrne??????
spiritofshanks
04/08/2004, 9:13 PM
But if you were an extremely optimistic person :eek: wouldn't you want to play away first. Pessimism or good thinking by Byrne??????
Always best to play away first IMO, especially while the confidence is up. Fair enough, if you don't get a decent result you lose the sunshine support for the second leg, but I think it's always worth the gamble.
Daxion
04/08/2004, 9:32 PM
Super result, Shels. Well done, this should mean that they play at least 5 more games IF they fail against Depor. :) Or better still, the unventured ground of the Champions League. (In with the big guns)
sullanefc
04/08/2004, 9:38 PM
Super result, Shels. Well done, this should mean that they play at least 5 more games IF they fail against Depor. :) Or better still, the unventured ground of the Champions League. (In with the big guns)
The second round proper of the UEFA cup is the group stage. Shels only get to the first round of the UEFA if they lose to depor. So they only have 4 guaranteed games including the Depor tie.
On the other point I also think its better to play the Away leg first. You may lose the sunshine support for the second leg but I think Ollie is being clever here. He may be thinking of playing the first leg at Landsdowne and making a fortune. Would he sell it out though???
Daxion
04/08/2004, 9:50 PM
The second round proper of the UEFA cup is the group stage. Shels only get to the first round of the UEFA if they lose to depor. So they only have 4 guaranteed games including the Depor tie.
Looks like your right, only 4 more games are guaranteed.
ger121
04/08/2004, 9:57 PM
On the other point I also think its better to play the Away leg first. You may lose the sunshine support for the second leg but I think Ollie is being clever here. He may be thinking of playing the first leg at Landsdowne and making a fortune. Would he sell it out though???
I wouldn't say the attendance was far off 10,000 tonight if Tolka's capacity is 11,000, I stand to be corrected. I'd say they'd get 15,000+ in Lansdowne maybe it would be worth it?
04/08/2004, 10:01 PM
I wouldn't say the attendance was far off 10,000 tonight if Tolka's capacity is 11,000, I stand to be corrected. I'd say they'd get 15,000+ in Lansdowne maybe it would be worth it?
A full house at Tolka park is certainly better than even 25,000 at Lansdowne. Deportivo play in them kind of grounds every week but they don't play in one such intimidating as Tolka. A load of flares and noise and scare the shít out of the Spaniards.
A 3-1 defeat away would be great.
ger121
04/08/2004, 10:05 PM
A full house at Tolka park is certainly better than even 25,000 at Lansdowne. Deportivo play in them kind of grounds every week but they don't play in one such intimidating as Tolka. A load of flares and noise and scare the shít out of the Spaniards.
A 3-1 defeat away would be great.
I agree but if ollie is looking to make more money then Lansdowne might seem like a better option. an extra 5000 people = a lot bigger gate. He was saying on the news he wants to switch the 1st leg to a home tie.
eoinh
04/08/2004, 10:05 PM
A full house at Tolka park is certainly better than even 25,000 at Lansdowne. Deportivo play in them kind of grounds every week but they don't play in one such intimidating as Tolka.
thats true. look at city at the cross in europe
04/08/2004, 10:30 PM
Brilliant performance by Shels - probably the best night ever for an LoI side in Europe. Hadjuk were outplayed, out thought and out fought. Passing was superb Shels owned the ball.
Hadjuk would have fancied their chances against Depor so lets not be too defeatist however Shels are now facing one of the top 4 club sides in Europe.
Note to barstoolers - Depor are the team that beat Man Utd home and away i nthe champions league a few years back.
BTW Shels are not the Irish Rosenborg - they may well be knocked off the top by the weekend. Cork are also serious challengers. Bohs might even bounce back.
The money coming is well deserved and if Shels don't have thousands of new fans after tonbight they should give up.
sullanefc
04/08/2004, 11:13 PM
Prob would be worth it. If I was Ollie I would be hoping for around 20k. I wonder would they have to pay much rent to the IRFU for Lansdowne tho??
04/08/2004, 11:27 PM
A full house at Tolka park is certainly better than even 25,000 at Lansdowne.
Was talking to a Shels fan after the game and he said that Lansdowne would only be considered if they could get 25,000 - BUT UEFA licencing means that Lansdowne could only hold 22,000 (no bucket seats - i.e. no North or South Terrace) so it'll be in Tolka.
To be confirmed, obviously, but well done Shels! Definitely deserved! Now why did Fenlon leave Glen on for son long? :confused: ;)
Brilliant performance by Shels - probably the best night ever for an LoI side in Europe.
Yeah definately a great result for Irish football, it's just a shame it has to be Shels of all clubs.
Have the 3 biggest European nights for Irish football all come this season? Surely you won't get much bigger than City's 2 victorys over Malmo or Shels victory over Hadjuk and you definately won't get bigger than City's victory over NEC*.
*unless Shels were to miraculously beat Deportivo!
yur man
05/08/2004, 12:16 AM
great result for the league, well done
can only be of benefit the the league
i wonder will lopez be goin to dublin for the match?
harry crumb
05/08/2004, 12:22 AM
I couldn't believe how good they were.
Tolka wasn't even full. :mad:
I saw more Man u jerseys and other foreign shirts than Shels shirts!!! :mad:
feckin Dubs! West Brits,,...!!!
05/08/2004, 12:59 AM
I watched a recording of the match when I came from work and Shels were by far dominant team of all! didnt realise that Dave rogers had a powerful shot on goal!
well done to the shels and perhaps is this the start of a period of league domination by the Reds! :(
parnell ranger
05/08/2004, 7:32 AM
great performance,great result,hats off to the shels fans for making it the colourful spectacle it was.
will they become another Rosenburg?
i think olly has loftier ambitions than that.plus1 team dominating a league is way harder than two as is the case in scotland .
worse case scenario would be a cash rich dublin dominant shels plus cork city
battling it out every year for the title.
its up to the likes of derry,drogheda,waterford and even populous areas like limerick and galway to get their acts together and prevent it happening.
instead of worrying how successful shels will be we should be doing what cork and bohs are doing and trying to compete.
shels are taking off and were trying to close the airport.
Did RTE show it?, congrats to Shels and all the fans, great achievement. Looking forward to Deportivo!
Even Shels go out there is still the great consolation of the Uefa Cup :)
Junior
05/08/2004, 8:08 AM
Great result for Shels and the LOI. Don't follow the LOI much apart from what I read on here, but a great result and a mouth watering tie agaisnt the spaniards awaits.
I hope Shels do themselves justice in the next round and wherever they decide to play it in Dublin that they pull a big crowd.
Is there anywhere you can see the goals online? the first goal, the volley sounds like a cracker!!!
Junior
fosterdollar
05/08/2004, 8:46 AM
from uefa.com
Fenlon's opposite number Ivan Katalinic admitted: "This is a huge disappointment for us financially, we had expected to get through and we needed the money we would get from the next round. We lost the game in Split by letting Shelbourne get a second goal."
surely shels would still have won.
Don't you just love the arrogance of the other (fairly mediocre) teams in Europe :rolleyes:
only1kilbane
05/08/2004, 8:46 AM
Great crowd last night nearly capacity very few empty seats and great atmosphere. It was great to see all the other fans cheering shels on as well. HOpefully game will be in tolka and think the 1st leg at home would be good. If we go to Coruna first we could get soundly beaten and the home leg would be an anit-climax .
Yeah definately a great result for Irish football, it's just a shame it has to be Shels of all clubs.
Have the 3 biggest European nights for Irish football all come this season? Surely you won't get much bigger than City's 2 victorys over Malmo or Shels victory over Hadjuk and you definately won't get bigger than City's victory over NEC*.
*unless Shels were to miraculously beat Deportivo!
Shels has to be the winner this season, given the competition it was in. With all due respect for Corks achievements this season in Europe (and I do have a lot of respect for them!), Champions League and UEFA Cup are the main players and the one's that have the whole of Europe sitting up and taking notice. Even 5 live was talking up the Shels result last night....
btw 3 Biggest Nights? Last night was right up there, but what about the Aberdeen and Kaiserslauten (away) results that Bohs got the other year, scumlone drawing with Madrid etc.
I couldn't believe how good they were.
Tolka wasn't even full.
I saw more Man u jerseys and other foreign shirts than Shels shirts!!!
feckin Dubs! West Brits,,...!!!
For starters, circa 10,000 is still the highest attendance anyone's got this season, and the people with United/Seltic/Lids shirts on are exactly who we have to be attracting to the grounds. Any Barstooler who was there must have a big eL buzz this morning, and hopefully be back (ditto those sat at home watching an eL team dominate a famous european name). That's exactly what the benefit of last nights result should/could be for the rest of the league*
*Once they are competitive against Depor, and don't get tonked...
sorbothegreek
05/08/2004, 9:04 AM
On an off topic note from the actual match last night, did anyone see the slightly disturbing pictures of sombody that looked like eamon collins holding a baby of about a year old on the ground as all the players dived in to celebrate after the final whistle. :eek:
thats the crocodile guy from australia. he was looking for a bigger challenge after crocs, so he decided to try and mix it with shels players.
found him dead at the bottom of the pile this morning. hand bitten off. :(
05/08/2004, 9:20 AM
macy one of those barstoolers works with me here and his words this morning were" great game, best atmosphere i've ever seen at a game and a great win as well".....
but the next sentence out of his mouth showed just how hard we have to work to get there guys into the ground again, wait for it......"but irish football is still $hit" :mad: :mad: :mad:
Footie_Fan
05/08/2004, 9:45 AM
Great night. One of the best atmosphere's I have ever been at. Tolka was packed the only section with a number of empty seats was at the Ballybough End because the guards wanted to keep a few empty seats around the twenty or so Hadjuk supporters.
Ollie should switch the home tie to Tolka not Lansdowne. It would guarantee a sell out and another frightening atmosphere. If Shels went to Deportivo and got hammered the home leg would then be a major anti climax.
Peterc
05/08/2004, 9:45 AM
Congrats Shels, you did the LOI proud.
Now is the time for the FAI and clubs to build on this and show that LOI football is improving all the time.
sylvo
05/08/2004, 10:19 AM
Fantastic result, congratulation's Shel's. They were talked about over here and Pat fenlon was talking on Talk sport, even though they were called Shelbourne park by the presenter.
Maybe if more people could get out and support local club's maybe we could have more night's like Shel's had last night and Cork had in the Inter toto cup.
05/08/2004, 10:25 AM
Ollie should switch the home tie to Tolka not Lansdowne. It would guarantee a sell out and another frightening atmosphere. If Shels went to Deportivo and got hammered the home leg would then be a major anti climax.
think they have agreed for deporto to come here first
sylvo
05/08/2004, 10:28 AM
great result for the league, well done
can only be of benefit the the league
i wonder will lopez be goin to dublin for the match?
He will no doubt be questioned by many over a few pint's tomorrow night.
DolansWaistcoat
05/08/2004, 10:34 AM
Hats off indeed,brilliant stuff.Lets hope they do our league proud against the spainish giants. :)
Congrads to Shels, completely deserved win & good to hear Ollie Byrne give some thanks to the non-shels people who turned up.
Few words of pessimism:
- pitch looked in poor condition which didn't help passing football.
- good first half but 2nd half was very flat & boring on tv until goal arrived.
- shels hoofed the ball way too much but maybe pitch didn't help the passing.
namloc
05/08/2004, 11:19 AM
- shels hoofed the ball way too much but maybe pitch didn't help the passing.
David Crawley is a fierce hoofer altogether. every time he got the ball he hoofed it up the pitch
Obviously shels got the result they needed so doesn't really matter but be interesting to see what bar stoolers thought of the quality of the play.
Liked Colm Murrays gaff on News 2 saying Deportivo were La Liga (i'm sure he was real proud he knew name of league) Champions.
Nice to see shels goal on Sky News headlines last night, They also mentioned on Euronews this morning where they said Deportivo "won't have too much trouble against irish minnows..."
balls
05/08/2004, 12:25 PM
congrats to shels. great pereformance. tactics spot on. alan moore what a preformance def motm. tought ollie cahill and jason byrne played very well on the flanks. they deserved the win. bring on deportivo. atmosphere was good but not electric. cork city's shed displays for their euro games were better.
btw 3 Biggest Nights? Last night was right up there, but what about the Aberdeen and Kaiserslauten (away) results that Bohs got the other year
Bohs beating Aberdeen was a good result but Malmo and NEC would be of a far higher standard. As for Kaiserslautern, wasn't the tie pretty much over by the time Bohs got the second leg result.
Anyway, as much as I hate the cnuts, Shels result last night was a massive result for the league as a whole. Hopefully, their continued Euro exploits will distract them now and we can catch them on the hop on Staurday week.
Bohs beating Aberdeen was a good result but Malmo and NEC would be of a far higher standard. As for Kaiserslautern, wasn't the tie pretty much over by the time Bohs got the second leg result.
NEC higher than Kaiserslautern? Regardless, like it or not, the toto isn't one of the major European competitions - good for publicity, but ultimately no long term benefit.
NEC higher than Kaiserslautern?
Read my post again. I said that NEC and Malmo would be of a much higher standard than Aberdeen. I made no comparison between them and Kaiserslautern.
05/08/2004, 12:53 PM
Yep well done Shels, getting the el a lot of good publicity and fair play to all the non shels fans who cheered them on!
annacotty
05/08/2004, 12:57 PM
why compare results ? who cares who took the biggest scalp ?
the important thing is that an IRISH team won.
congratulations Shels
irwinsalegend
05/08/2004, 12:59 PM
The match has been fixed for Landsdowne, they've gone for the money instead of trying to make a match
annacotty
05/08/2004, 1:09 PM
disappointing, "going for the money" means throwing in the towel in my book. 99% of teams approaching a match with a defeatist attitude will walk away as losers. hope shels prove me wrong.
do they expect to fill Lansdowne ? Deportivo don't have many household names playing for them.
Read my post again.
Read your post!?!? I do have work to do sometimes :D
IMO the league has now moved on from meer once off results & we can really only judge performances on the results over 2 legged ties.
Result last night definitely biggest for eL in last 20 odd years, surpassing Kaiserslautern as they still lost the tie.
I don't know what total irish record in recent years has been but results in Europe for this season now @:
Played: 14 - 4 Wins, 5 Draws, 5 Defeats
Goals: 17 For 17 Against
Daxion
05/08/2004, 2:15 PM
IMO the league has now moved on from meer once off results & we can really only judge performances on the results over 2 legged ties.
Result last night definitely biggest for eL in last 20 odd years, surpassing Kaiserslautern as they still lost the tie.
I don't know what total irish record in recent years has been but results in Europe for this season now @:
Played: 14 - 4 Wins, 5 Draws, 5 Defeats
Goals: 17 For 17 Against
Not a bad record, but you cannot include Cork City's results, as they have no overall effect on our standing in Europe. They do not affect the Co-Efficient table. Which in effect IS what matters.
Yeah it was a great result for Shelbourne.I didn't see the game as was working but was keeping an eye on aertel on the net and was glad to see they won 2-0.It got plenty news coverage too on rte tv,sky sports news and it was the first item on Dave Fanning's radio show this morning.He was talking to Ollie Byrne.Will they fill Lansdowne Road for the game v Deportivo La Coruna?
Not a bad record, but you cannot include Cork City's results, as they have no overall effect on our standing in Europe. They do not affect the Co-Efficient table. Which in effect IS what matters.
I'm not talking about standing in europe or anything - just trying to stress the positive side of things... ;)