View Full Version : You know... it's never going to be about our best back four

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

Terry Phelan
21/10/2004, 11:57 AM
Why cant longford town have squad numbers and their names on the backs of their jerseys.?I think the cup final would be a special occasion to start printing names on backs of the jerseys,probably to late now tho!

21/10/2004, 12:01 PM
well it helps if the photographer knows who they are taking pics of, that is one reason why a lot of people are pushing for squad numbers at all premier clubs.
Excuses, excuses. They managed to do it when some clubs did have squad numbers. It's just laziness. It's not like the Hearld is pushing an evening deadline is it?

21/10/2004, 12:36 PM
Excuses, excuses. They managed to do it when some clubs did have squad numbers. It's just laziness. It's not like the Hearld is pushing an evening deadline is it?

plus some of em know very later about football, well irish anyway.

21/10/2004, 2:55 PM
Anyway, that's me out of here till Wednesday - Thank you Mr.Flexitime.... :D

51, Noon Sunday, be there or be a light weight. :cool:

21/10/2004, 6:03 PM
would'nt dream of posting something just for the sake of keeping "the sacred thread" alive. :rolleyes: :D

i see the herald did the business again on the photo of the cork game.
paiso morphed into brian mcgovern :eek:

Was referring more to my post than yours but how and ever..

22/10/2004, 9:37 AM
Was referring more to my post than yours but how and ever..

yeah i knew that.
i was just keeping the ball moving :D :D

22/10/2004, 12:49 PM
Just to keep the thread flowing! Still in London after having mssed my early mornnig flight from Stansted!!!! Nearly didnt make it, but theres still time, not in Heathrow yet. Pray for me.....

22/10/2004, 1:01 PM
what were ya at last night that ya missed the flight, i was right, you'll be seen rowing up into dublin on sunday morning :D

22/10/2004, 1:03 PM
right,
all together now.hail mary........................... :D

Dillo
22/10/2004, 3:31 PM
Excuse my ignorance but where is the 51 pub in Dublin? Is it somewhere on Baggot Street? Is it going to be Town's main drinking venue on Sunday?
Hope Pauro makes it home..... "Our Vinny, who art in Heaven, hallowed be thy name!"

fosterdollar
22/10/2004, 3:40 PM
haddington road - turn left at the canal on the way out of town

Dillo
22/10/2004, 3:42 PM
Cheers Magoo!

23/10/2004, 6:47 AM
And so, it begins.............I'll see ye in the 51!!

25/10/2004, 3:55 PM
we're all going on a uefa holiday
we're all gonna have a drink or too
we're all goning ona uefa holiday,
scumlone ya wish it was you,
scumlone ya wish it was you.

25/10/2004, 4:09 PM
we're all going on a uefa holiday
we're all gonna have a drink or too
we're all goning ona uefa holiday,
scumlone ya wish it was you,
scumlone ya wish it was you.

Scumlone, Waterford, Bohs, Drogs, Derry, Pats, Scum Rovers, they all wish it was them!

01/11/2004, 12:57 PM
Scumlone, Waterford, Bohs, Drogs, Derry, Pats, Scum Rovers, they all wish it was them!

oh the thoughts of another week on the beer :D

Dillo
01/11/2004, 3:45 PM
Enough to send a shiver down a lads spine!

01/11/2004, 3:46 PM
my liver was running at 10% by friday night, but we struggled through another nights celebrations :D

TheJamaicanP.M.
01/11/2004, 8:04 PM
my liver was running at 10% by friday night, but we struggled through another nights celebrations :D

Fair play to ya Max! Well deserved those celebrations!

Terry Phelan
25/11/2004, 2:10 PM
hope nobody was forgetting about the best thread ever on foot.ie!!!!!!!!!!! :confused: :D :D

25/11/2004, 2:14 PM
hope nobody was forgetting about the best thread ever on foot.ie!!!!!!!!!!! :confused: :D :D

with garto gone we will have a new contender for a place in the best back 4 :(

25/11/2004, 2:15 PM
well i'd like to see maccer back, he cna do the job and kenny did nothing at bohs both mess him bout and destroy his confidence.....plus he can take a peno :D

town73
25/11/2004, 3:09 PM
plus he can take a peno :D

lest we forget!!

25/11/2004, 8:34 PM
..plus he can take a peno :D

cheap digs!

25/11/2004, 8:38 PM
I don't think it'll be too long before we have a replacement for Gartland, an experienced but still young central defender very keen to team up with Barry apparently, hopefully the next day or so will bring developments..kind of a swap really

26/11/2004, 2:43 AM
cheap digs!

truth.......harps play off ring any bells......balls the size of a blue whale to take that peno :cool:

26/11/2004, 7:42 AM
well i'd like to see maccer back, he cna do the job and kenny did nothing at bohs both mess him bout and destroy his confidence.....
I really hope you're takin the p!ss. I can't believe that anyone would seriously suggest us taking him back
1) Because he simply isn't good enough as a defender (good ball player, but no defender
2) How he went around saying that he'd never play for Kenny again after spock left for bohs, then next close season went and signed for him anyway
3) Did I mention he can't defend?

He looked good playing along side Eric Smith ffs....

Enda M
26/11/2004, 9:42 PM
dont tell me its that waster aiden lynch

26/11/2004, 10:16 PM
Lavine is just God.

Ah Macy, had to bring this quote back to people's attention..

27/11/2004, 12:31 AM

indeed when we all know that vinny is god :mad:

Flea
28/11/2004, 10:02 PM
Now that Gartos gone Frank Darby is back in the fray for my best back 4-that voice baby! ;)

29/11/2004, 7:25 AM
I was taken out of context.... :o

That must be from about page 2 of this... :D

29/11/2004, 1:25 PM
Page 1 actually..brings back memories.

fosterdollar
29/11/2004, 3:21 PM
I can't believe I just spet the last hour reading back through the whole thread. There is some amount of ground covered in there. Although, in fairness, the amount of constructive posts in it would barely fill two pages!

29/11/2004, 3:32 PM
I can't believe I just spet the last hour reading back through the whole thread. There is some amount of ground covered in there. Although, in fairness, the amount of constructive posts in it would barely fill two pages!

now that is a point of debate........shall we :D

fosterdollar
29/11/2004, 3:50 PM
I'm afraid I cannot let you put forth such a flawed argument Max

29/11/2004, 4:29 PM
why not, as a town fan on a town forum i am entitled to voice my views on such a post, it was misleading in a number of ways.......why putting forward a view that a lot of this thread is just meaningless rubbish is is is is......OUTRAGOUS :mad: :D

joey B
29/11/2004, 4:33 PM
Is this the longest thread in history .

29/11/2004, 4:34 PM

yes, yes it is :cool:

30/11/2004, 7:36 AM
The longest thread that hasn't had about 20 threads merged into (i.e. the pro and anti celtic).

Flea
18/12/2004, 3:58 PM
Happy Christmas to LTFC :cool:

18/12/2004, 4:09 PM
i see brian mcgovern says he's been told he's still part of the plans for season 2005 for town.
another year left on his contract apparantly and not going anywhere ? :confused:

18/12/2004, 4:46 PM
where did you hear the story twelth man of mcgovern? :confused: :confused:

19/12/2004, 10:26 AM
where did you hear the story twelth man of mcgovern? :confused: :confused:

twas fridays evening herald.and i quote:

former arsenal player brian mcgovern is still in limbo after a move to newry city fell through.
defender mcgovern (24) has not played for longford town in five months and did'nt even make the squad for their fai cup final win over waterford utd.
he was heavily critisised by manager alan matthews and then dropped after a
2-1 defeat in july and mcgovern made just one more appearance for the midlanders.
a move to spl side inverness collapsed when longford demanded a fee and this week a planned move across the border to newry also failed to materialise.
"i d'ont know whats going to happen" says mcgovern who made one premiership appearance under arsene wenger in his four seasons at arsenal.

"longford have said i'm part of their plans for next season-i have a year left on my contract-but they have'nt played me since the summer and i was'nt involved for the cup final,so its a confusing situation".

shamrock rovers have also expressed an interest in mcgovern who played for arsenal,qpr,norwich and peterborough before coming home to irelans in 2003,joining town after a brief spell with st pats.

make of that what you will,maybe himself and alan have spoken about staying on ?

19/12/2004, 11:03 AM
He's a good player so maybe it wouldnt be the worst thing to see him back, esp. after Garto leaving :(

19/12/2004, 11:34 AM
They've spoken recently as far as i know but I don't know what came of it..We'll have to see what happens

20/12/2004, 9:55 AM
in todays papers ucd want to sign brian mcgovern.

gypsyfella
24/12/2004, 4:44 PM
he;s been talking to Roddy this week....

24/12/2004, 6:38 PM
Correct, Roddy is very interested, as is said below a swap with O'Brien may be on. Oh and by the way, who's going to have that special 800th post on this thread? A new foot.ie landmark!..

24/12/2004, 7:48 PM
Oh and by the way, who's going to have that special 800th post on this thread? A new foot.ie landmark!..

I will!!

Happy Xmas everyone!!!