View Full Version : LOI Matches Week 1 - Weekending 2/3/12

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

03/03/2012, 1:21 PM
First division table makes for interesting reading. We're mid-table. Not too bad.

In other news, Keith Cowan was taken off on stretcher and taken away in an ambulance. Dirty Limerick scum, absolutely dirty challenge, doesn't deserve to ever play football again, rotten stuff, hope he breaks his leg.

What are you on about. Didn't it happen in your own box as two players tried to win the ball, nothing malicious at all and not one of the harps players even reacted to it so it must not have been that bad. Bluewhite says he got up out of the ambulance after so couldn't be that bad.

What's your angle with calling limerik scum and hoping the player breaks his legs? Makes no sense.

Bawnville Hoop
03/03/2012, 1:25 PM
The Spit O' Red :)

bluewhitearmy
03/03/2012, 1:27 PM
What are you on about. Didn't it happen in your own box as two players tried to win the ball, nothing malicious at all and not one of the harps players even reacted to it so it must not have been that bad. Bluewhite says he got up out of the ambulance after so couldn't be that bad.

What's your angle with calling limerik scum and hoping the player breaks his legs? Makes no sense.

Just talking to one of our stewards that says he was talking to the lad after he came off and he said it wasn't that bad. He had no complaints about the tackle.

03/03/2012, 1:40 PM
For those complaining about the Tolka pitch - you are in for a treat when you travel to Monaghan!

harpin
03/03/2012, 1:46 PM
Just talking to one of our stewards that says he was talking to the lad after he came off and he said it wasn't that bad. He had no complaints about the tackle.

Was very close to the Harps fans and from where I was I thought Behan was trying to get a shot away and the 2 harps players dived in.....

thomas72
03/03/2012, 2:11 PM
First division table makes for interesting reading. We're mid-table. Not too bad.

In other news, Keith Cowan was taken off on stretcher and taken away in an ambulance. Dirty Limerick scum, absolutely dirty challenge, doesn't deserve to ever play football again, rotten stuff, hope he breaks his leg.

What a stupid post you clown it just proves you didn't even see what happened because if you did you would of seen that behan had the ball in the box fainted to shoot 3 harps players dived to block the shot with yer owe player sliding in on yer owe player basically Limerick had the ball so how could we have made a tackle. AS for you sickening comment about breaking legs your nothing but a complete muppet.

03/03/2012, 2:30 PM
You folk make me laugh. Not sure whats worse..the fact you took what I said seriously..or that you're arguing the point about the tackle.

I know it wasn't a bad tackle, and I was talking to Keith after the game too who is actually grand. He's getting a scan today to see how bad it is but it's not as bad as it first looked.

03/03/2012, 2:57 PM
You folk make me laugh. Not sure whats worse..the fact you took what I said seriously..or that you're arguing the point about the tackle.

I know it wasn't a bad tackle, and I was talking to Keith after the game too who is actually grand. He's getting a scan today to see how bad it is but it's not as bad as it first looked.

In fairness there is nothing in your original post to suggest you where joking.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/03/2012, 3:07 PM
No mention of the tackle on Peers in the last minute by any of the Shels fans amazingly enough (stupid playacting by keane after it). Shame to see Tolka Park gone to the state it's in,

Great performance by us in the second half I thought under all the circumstances. Peers and Dillon the two standout performers. Shels number 8 was excellent as well (was it Cassidy?)

03/03/2012, 3:21 PM
No mention of the tackle on Peers in the last minute by any of the Shels fans amazingly enough (stupid playacting by keane after it). Shame to see Tolka Park gone to the state it's in,

Great performance by us in the second half I thought under all the circumstances. Peers and Dillon the two standout performers. Shels number 8 was excellent as well (was it Cassidy?)

Yeah it was Casso. He's a cut above sometimes. It can be frustrating when he's so far ahead in his thinking and tries to do something clever which the rest of the players aren't able to envisage and then an attack boils down to nothing.

Deano's distribution was shocking last night and I don't know how many of those awful kickouts were telegraphed. The amount of times he dilly-dallied over the ball and allowed ye to get back into position was something fierce.
Didn't like the look of Rogers under pressure on any backpass. We should have exploited that more.

I just hope for the rest of the season that Sligo don't go down that road of OTT protests at the ref and the rest. I always had a soft spot for the Bit O'Red but last season and last night have coloured my attitude towards ye.

legendz
03/03/2012, 3:27 PM
Some win for Wexford. Had Cobh or Tralee been beaten by that score in the opening weekend their place in the league would've been questioned. On the back of an 8-0 friendly loss to Shamrock, things are not looking good in Waterford.

blue til i die
03/03/2012, 3:30 PM
Some win for Wexford. Had Cobh or Tralee been beaten by that score in the opening weekend their place in the league would've been questioned. On the back of an 8-0 friendly loss to Shamrock, things are not looking good in Waterford.

Enough said :rolleyes:

03/03/2012, 3:41 PM
Straight away I took his post as a joke referencing Sheahan's broken leg in Ballybofey last year.

CraftyToePoke
03/03/2012, 3:43 PM

As someone coming on here for news of a game I was unable to attend, I would agree, there was nothing in the above to suggest you were joking.

CraftyToePoke
03/03/2012, 3:46 PM
Straight away I took his post as a joke referencing Sheahan's broken leg in Ballybofey last year.

This was also a possibility that occurred to me when I read it, but even then its in fairly poor taste if so, and many reading this wouldn't perhaps make that connection, and from that viewpoint it just reads nasty.

the-blue-harp
03/03/2012, 4:11 PM
Obviously a joke! Especially after limerick fans reaction to an honest tackle that went wrong last season with Mark Forker.

Keen2win
03/03/2012, 5:00 PM
Was at the Shels-Sligo match... Two things:
1. Kavanagh is telling the truth.
2. Worst pitch I've ever seen in loi, I think!

CiaranR
03/03/2012, 5:11 PM
I remember when Tolka was by far the best pitch in the league!!

Here are two performance analyses from last night's game:

http://sc1sports.com/derry-city-v-bohemians-stephen-mclaughlins-performance/ A look at Stephen McLaughlin in Derry's win over Bohemians

http://sc1sports.com/drogheda-united-v-shamrock-rovers-stephen-rice-and-kerrea-gilbert/ Looking at Stephen Rice and Kerrea Gilbert from the televised game.

The posts contain passing stats as well as a look at a few other aspects and trends of their performances.

03/03/2012, 5:36 PM

Keith got an x-ray this morning, there is a fracture, he'll be out for around 8 weeks. Massive blow to us.

passerrby
03/03/2012, 5:53 PM
For those complaining about the Tolka pitch - you are in for a treat when you travel to Monaghan!

Anybody going to oriel park expecting to find a pitch are in for a surprise

born2bwild
03/03/2012, 6:24 PM
Yeah it was Casso. He's a cut above sometimes. It can be frustrating when he's so far ahead in his thinking and tries to do something clever which the rest of the players aren't able to envisage and then an attack boils down to nothing.

Deano's distribution was shocking last night and I don't know how many of those awful kickouts were telegraphed. The amount of times he dilly-dallied over the ball and allowed ye to get back into position was something fierce.
Didn't like the look of Rogers under pressure on any backpass. We should have exploited that more.

I just hope for the rest of the season that Sligo don't go down that road of OTT protests at the ref and the rest. I always had a soft spot for the Bit O'Red but last season and last night have coloured my attitude towards ye.

Casso was sublime last night. He played really badly in the friendlies and I was a bit worried but needlessly, it turned out. He's worth the price of the ticket on his own.

Good atmosphere at the game - Sligo fans are decent, no real scum element that I could hear - but yeah - the protests were a bit OTT. I'm not going to post about DN again. Doh!

03/03/2012, 6:53 PM

Maybe, the fact I didn't reference any person, generalised about Limerick which I know isn't true. In fact, I shouldn't even have to argue a point here. It's very clear it was a joke in reference to the reaction to Limerick fans about Mark Forker last season.

Jesus lads, calm down. Sorry if I caused offence, sorry if it seemed in bad taste, but it's absolutely no different to the abuse Mark Forker got last season for an accident.

It was a clear joke, those of you with your heads in your arses didn't recognise the joke, clearly others did.

EDIT:

Aside from all this, I'd much rather talk about the match now, a good occasion, a sporting game, and a thoroughly enjoyable evening in Limerick. Great hospitality from the Limerick folk and not a bother on the terrace at all. Great fun.

geezer
03/03/2012, 7:00 PM
Shame to see Tolka Park gone to the state it's in,

must be five years since i was in tolka, it was awful then it must be very bad now from what you say, how come it passes licence when half Terryland looks like it could be closed off in an effort still trying to secure ground stadium safety cert for this season weeks after licencing

The mind boggles

03/03/2012, 7:28 PM
Maybe, the fact I didn't reference any person, generalised about Limerick which I know isn't true. In fact, I shouldn't even have to argue a point here. It's very clear it was a joke in reference to the reaction to Limerick fans about Mark Forker last season.

Jesus lads, calm down. Sorry if I caused offence, sorry if it seemed in bad taste, but it's absolutely no different to the abuse Mark Forker got last season for an accident.

It was a clear joke, those of you with your heads in your arses didn't recognise the joke, clearly others did.

EDIT:

Aside from all this, I'd much rather talk about the match now, a good occasion, a sporting game, and a thoroughly enjoyable evening in Limerick. Great hospitality from the Limerick folk and not a bother on the terrace at all. Great fun.

Na thats fair enough but I just didn't see the joke in it at the time and to be honest didn't even think back to last year for the simple reason I wasn't at that match so didn't complain about Forkers tackle.

Good that ye enjoyed the night and made a good bit of noise. The biggest and most vocal support I've ever seen ye bring down.

On the pitch if Harps play more like they did in the second half then ye will definitely be in the mix for the promotion places.

03/03/2012, 7:30 PM
Shame to see Tolka Park gone to the state it's in,

must be five years since i was in tolka, it was awful then it must be very bad now from what you say, how come it passes licence when half Terryland looks like it could be closed off in an effort still trying to secure ground stadium safety cert for this season weeks after licencing

The mind boggles

Tolka is in a bad state but its understandable. The up keep of a ground that size I would think would be pretty expensive and the years in the first division certainly didn't help them in raising the funds i'm sure.

PartySaint
03/03/2012, 7:45 PM
Pretty poor game in Richmond last night, we played well in patches but need to improve alot. I'm not too worried, the performances will come it's just about getting the right results early on.

Bray never really threatened, think they only had 1 shot on target which didn't trouble Clarke. Who is Brays number 11? He is lightening quick.

bluewhitearmy
03/03/2012, 9:38 PM
Apologies to Nigel even though i wrote about Sheahans injury the fact it may have been a joke about the reaction to that didnt come into my head at all.

04/03/2012, 12:26 AM
Apologies to Nigel even though i wrote about Sheahans injury the fact it may have been a joke about the reaction to that didnt come into my head at all.

The two incidents weren't really comparable tbh and twas disingenuous to compare them.

At the time most of the anger of the Limerick fans was because of the behaviour of Forker after the incident, giving it the big man for the natives after he'd slid in sideways on his ar$e and nearly ended a youngfellas career. Whether it was malicious or not, it was a clumsy, dangerous, challenge and his reaction was a disgrace with Gary quite obviously very badly injured next to him. The absolute gibbon that was managing Harps at the time didn't help either. That's why Limerick fans were upset as far as I remember. GSpain was absolutely apopleptic and when gspain is furious with you you're in the wrong as far as I'm concerned. :)

Having said all that, I haven't a notion of debating it, all water under the bridge now, was talking to Gary last night and he hopes to feature in one of the next two away games which is brilliant.

On Harps this year, look pretty solid but were absolutely toothless. Someone said earlier in the thread I think that they had us pinned back for all of the second half. This just didn't happen, the second half was mainly two teams humping it at one another, can't remember them having more than two chances over the 90. Like I said though more solid and once McHugh starts scoring they'll be grand and should see a big improvement on last year.

04/03/2012, 12:30 AM
Good that ye enjoyed the night and made a good bit of noise. The biggest and most vocal support I've ever seen ye bring down.

They used to have a right decent support years ago in fairness to them, you'd often get 40 or 50 drunk Harps lads in Hogan Park, did a lot of em have "Mr" names or something?? (Mr. A is one)

Good lads too, just having a laugh not an ounce of hassle

04/03/2012, 12:38 AM
A lot of the old Harps faithful have disappeared over the past few years. As much as I've always been a Harps fan, and always been around home games all my life, it's only the past 3 or 4 years I've been travelling to most away games. I know one thing is for sure, it's the best away crowd and best away atmosphere we've had in a fair few years now.
Glad to have enjoyed such a trip and we'll definitely be back and hopefully sitting up there challenging with Limerick all being well. Limerick will take time to gel, as will Harps. We have the makings of a good team and if McHugh and Curtis start scoring up front we'll be flying. Stevie O'Donnell has to come back yet and will be a massive player for us this season.

Limerick I still expect to walk away with the league even if they weren't anything spectacular on Friday.

Dalymountrower
04/03/2012, 8:57 AM
I would have been interested to hear any Derry posters read of the game against Bohs. They must be a bit shocked at the performance, given their good pre-season

Worst Derry team I have seen in years, the Bohs kids played them off the park before Doyle decided to flash the red for what looked like a decent hard tackle for me. Mc Loughlin did a salmon leap and tumble as if he had been hit by a truck. Lots of kisses and winks at the bohs fans when he outjumped everyone 15 minutes later to score the winner, seemingly unaffected by his em injury.
Bohs went three at the back after that but never really threatened the Derry goal apart from some chances gifted by mistakes from the Derry defence. A closing vignette tells you all you need to know about this Derry Team..... injury time, Bohs under the cosh and Derry bring the ball into the corner to run down the clock!

Apart from that, the usual supporters bus window broken as is now the traditional Brandywell "failte". I

freewheel30
04/03/2012, 9:32 AM
Derry's Setanta Cup result surprised me a bit definitely. Zayed, McGlynn, McClean and Lafferty were four huge losses that they didn't seem to have properly replaced.

04/03/2012, 9:33 AM
They used to have a right decent support years ago in fairness to them, you'd often get 40 or 50 drunk Harps lads in Hogan Park, did a lot of em have "Mr" names or something?? (Mr. A is one)

Good lads too, just having a laugh not an ounce of hassle

Yup, the Mr. Men, only Mr.A left standing after years of burn-out and fall out's at the club.
We also had the FBTN supporters club but the majority of them are in Australia now.

One of the FBTN lads was saying they had Christmas dinner out there with over 30 people. All those people were from a 10 mile radius of Finn Park and would have regulars in Finn Park plus a good few of them used to travel to away games too.

04/03/2012, 9:38 AM
Derry's Setanta Cup result surprised me a bit definitely. Zayed, McGlynn, McClean and Lafferty were four huge losses that they didn't seem to have properly replaced.

Patterson will make up for the loss of Zayed imo.
McCaffrey will be a good player for them too at left back.
I agree about McClean though, I don't see where they will replace him yet but they have a cracking right winger coming through their 19's, Michael Kelly, keep an eye out for that lad, exciting player.
As for McGlynn, I reckon Stephen McLaughlin will more than compensate for him this year and by all account, McEleney should crack on this year so I don't see McGlynn being a big loss.

Was chatting to a guy who was at the game and reckons Bohs were by far the better side but will struggle to score goals this year. Derry were very disappointing supposedly.

srfc1928
04/03/2012, 11:47 AM

I just hope for the rest of the season that Sligo don't go down that road of OTT protests at the ref and the rest. I always had a soft spot for the Bit O'Red but last season and last night have coloured my attitude towards ye.People tend to have a soft spot for other clubs when they are/were Sh1te, which in fairness is what we have been for most of our existance, then when that club gets a bit of success or are a threat, its, I Fuc*ing hate that shower.
No big deal, we'll live, and hopefully more fans in the future will dislike us too!
As for Rovers fans complaining about the refs decisions, its what football fans do when they are passionate about their club.
Really enjoyed the other night in Tolka, fair play to the Shels fans, they turned out in big numbers and created a great atmosphere. That stand behind the goal was bouncing.
As LOI fans is it not what we want to see, two clubs well supported, great atmosphere and fans queueing to get into a ground before kick off?

Aaron
04/03/2012, 12:22 PM
I would have been interested to hear any Derry posters read of the game against Bohs. They must be a bit shocked at the performance, given their good pre-season

Worst Derry team I have seen in years, the Bohs kids played them off the park before Doyle decided to flash the red for what looked like a decent hard tackle for me. Mc Loughlin did a salmon leap and tumble as if he had been hit by a truck. Lots of kisses and winks at the bohs fans when he outjumped everyone 15 minutes later to score the winner, seemingly unaffected by his em injury.
Bohs went three at the back after that but never really threatened the Derry goal apart from some chances gifted by mistakes from the Derry defence. A closing vignette tells you all you need to know about this Derry Team..... injury time, Bohs under the cosh and Derry bring the ball into the corner to run down the clock!

Apart from that, the usual supporters bus window broken as is now the traditional Brandywell "failte". I

Yes we were disappointing but this time last year we played excellent and lost 1-0. It's all about a good start, performances will come after that

Bohs played well, but after the sending off we were in control. Rovers didn't exactly look great against Drogheda but got the points, that's all that matters early doors.

I'll worry in a few weeks time if we're playing like that

SwanVsDalton
04/03/2012, 4:11 PM
Yes we were disappointing but this time last year we played excellent and lost 1-0. It's all about a good start, performances will come after that

Bohs played well, but after the sending off we were in control. Rovers didn't exactly look great against Drogheda but got the points, that's all that matters early doors.

I'll worry in a few weeks time if we're playing like that

Yeah we were poor, though I wouldn't hold with Bohs necessarily be the better side in the first half. Nonetheless we should be asserting ourselves more. But we lacked composure, were too eager and anxious - first game nerves or something. We'll settle and play a lot better in the coming weeks. Can't say I'm particularly shocked, lot of new players, new manager - and are good pre-season involved stuffing Distillery, who are utter no-hopers. It didn't really tell us much.

As for the sending off didn't get a great view of it but it looked like possible studs up - most people I spoke to reckoned it was a challenge which would be a fine a couple of years ago but ref's have to send these day's.

If it's any consolation, myself and a other supporters got glass bottles chucked at us coming out the ground. These scumbags arn't particularly discriminatory.

L.T.F.C.
04/03/2012, 5:00 PM

Was it ever in a good state?

OneForTheFuture
04/03/2012, 6:52 PM

Pffff! It was lovely in 1921

MagicMon
04/03/2012, 7:25 PM
http://foot.ie/images/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. http://foot.ie/images/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=1579812#post1579812)

Pffff! It was lovely in 1921

That's the Brandywell you're thinking of :p

White Horse
04/03/2012, 10:35 PM
Anybody going to oriel park expecting to find a pitch are in for a surprise

A pleasant one. Especially if their previous away game was in Monaghan. Their teams might to able to play a five yard pass without the ball bouncing all over the place.

Seriously though, it's time to stop using cows and sheep to keep the grass short. Buy a a lawnmover.

gormacha
05/03/2012, 8:36 AM
Waterford were rubbish!! I'm sure their fans will agree

Not at all. I thought we were magnificent.

Just resurfacing after that performance. I've been going to Waterford matches on and off (moved abroad, work commitments, young family etc) for 30 years and I don't recall a poorer game. I'm desperately hoping that its a one off and there's significant improvement to come, but the string of pre-season results suggests we have major problems.

In fairness, when we weren't self-destructing, Youths played some good stuff. The first goal in particular was rather special. Three touches from just outside their penalty area into the back of our net.

05/03/2012, 8:47 AM
I saw the footage of the Wexford-Waterford game (poor camera angle but still footage), was that Seamy Long playing right back? If so he got an absolute roasting, either he was pathetic or the left winger for Wexford was outstanding, id say 5 of the 6 goals came from that side.

gormacha
05/03/2012, 8:54 AM
No, Long was playing as left sided centre back. The right back was Peter White, who has actually been one of the very few bright things about pre-season, as he has been very good, even in losing causes. He didn't play well at all on Friday (who did?), but he wasn't responsible for the amount of goals you suggest. Their first did come down his side, but it was a first time whipped in cross that he couldn't do much about. He was possibly at fault for the fourth. God, did I just write that sentence? Our problems our waaaaaaaaaay bigger than him.

05/03/2012, 6:59 PM
Mons v Dundalk highlights

http://vimeo.com/37911339

06/03/2012, 9:48 AM
In fairness, when we weren't self-destructing, Youths played some good stuff. The first goal in particular was rather special. Three touches from just outside their penalty area into the back of our net.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqVs_t1ascI&t=0m28s

Sean South
06/03/2012, 9:59 AM
http://comeheretome.wordpress.com/2012/03/05/fortress-belfield/

legendz
06/03/2012, 10:38 AM
When I saw results popping up for four first division games at the weekend, I was expecting how the other games went on but of course there isn't any other games. It really is a small division.

OneForTheFuture
10/03/2012, 2:34 PM
If it's any consolation, myself and a other supporters got glass bottles chucked at us coming out the ground. These scumbags arn't particularly discriminatory.

Scumbag Derry City fans according to your own chairman!

SwanVsDalton
10/03/2012, 4:43 PM
Scumbag Derry City fans according to your own chairman!

Indeed. Didn't say otherwise although, as many would say about their own elements, just because they buy a ticket doesn't make em fans.