View Full Version : Willo Flood
22/02/2009, 5:08 PM
Yeh I feel that too and if Strachan is going then I'm pretty positive that Roy Keane would get the job. I wouldn't be happy with that after seeing the amount of people in this country that turned against Sunderland because the interest we had in them when Keane was there. This country is anti-Celtic enough as it is. :)
Razors left peg
22/02/2009, 5:46 PM
Yeh I feel that too and if Strachan is going then I'm pretty positive that Roy Keane would get the job. I wouldn't be happy with that after seeing the amount of people in this country that turned against Sunderland because the interest we had in them when Keane was there. This country is anti-Celtic enough as it is. :)
Id love to see Keane get the job, think he would do very well
Fergie's Son
23/02/2009, 3:35 AM
Given Rangers financial state a monkey with a crayon could manage Celtic well enough.
SilkCut
25/02/2009, 5:49 AM
Given Rangers financial state a monkey with a crayon could manage Celtic well enough.
Ha Ha Ha I have a Monkey, could he borrow a crayon from you, he ate all of his.
irishfan86
13/07/2009, 4:59 AM
Watched the Celtic vs Brisbane game on a web-stream, and Willo Flood played the entire match, and the commentators were mentioning him as a contender for man of the match.
Interestingly enough, Mowbray played him in a central role, whereas with Strachan he was exclusively used as a wide player (correct me if I'm wrong).
McGeady came on in the second half, and looked a step above anyone else on the field.
Just pre-season, but I thought I'd give an update on the Irish lads for those interested.
14/07/2009, 8:18 AM
Was Brisbane goalie any good? Only asking cos I think I read on teletext that his name was Liam Reddy!
irishfan86
14/07/2009, 7:30 PM
Was Brisbane goalie any good? Only asking cos I think I read on teletext that his name was Liam Reddy!
Haha, hard to judge. He didn't have much to do really, but was a poor goalkeeper (punching out catchable crosses, poor kicking, etc.).
Thought he could have done better with one of Killen's goals, but the other 2 he had no chance on.
It's not as if he had a bad game, he just didn't look commanding or capable of doing the simple things top goalkeepers must do.
Haha, hard to judge. He didn't have much to do really, but was a poor goalkeeper (punching out catchable crosses, poor kicking, etc.).
Thought he could have done better with one of Killen's goals, but the other 2 he had no chance on.
It's not as if he had a bad game, he just didn't look commanding or capable of doing the simple things top goalkeepers must do.
funny - he didnt have a bad game, he's just sh1te! :D
SilkCut
17/07/2009, 3:01 AM
Oh God, please don't start looking to the A-League for players with a future with us. It must be the most rubbish league I have ever watched. Fitness level sky high but technique completely lacking. Any league that heralds Kevin Muscat and Danny Tiato as "Stars" has an issue!!!! LOI players who are sick of the Irish weather would do well over here, probably make more money too.
As for Mr. Reddy, absolutely terrible, no presence at all.
Would love to see Jason Byrne, Neale Fenn or any decent attacking player from LOI come over here for a season.
10/08/2009, 9:30 AM
Flood unhappy with lack of first team opportunities: http://soccerrepublic.eircom.net/News/floodfrustratedatlackoffirst-teamaction.aspx
25/08/2009, 1:10 PM
Flood linked with move back to Dundee United: http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/2009/08/25/exclusive-dundee-united-set-to-resign-willo-flood-from-celtic-86908-21622328/
It's the Daily Record so don't take it at face value
Junior
25/08/2009, 3:26 PM
Could well believe it. Mowbray has already stated his squad is too big and expects some movement in ths final week, hopefully offloading those surplus to requirements.
Id say Flood falls in to this category based on the competitive games weve had this season.
Colbert Report
26/08/2009, 11:00 PM
Flood came on today against Arsenal with thirty minutes to go. Clearly Mowbray is putting him in the shopping window with the transfer deadline only four days away now.
26/08/2009, 11:35 PM
thought Flood did ok when he came on actually. Showed good energy, made some decent interceptions and passes.
27/08/2009, 5:22 PM
I actually like Flood as a player and if he had the physique would certainly be good enough for Celtic. Excellent at a short quick passing game. His tiny size is probably why he gets rid of the ball so quick before someone gets the tackle in.
Brendan 82
27/08/2009, 6:11 PM
I actually like Flood as a player and if he had the physique would certainly be good enough for Celtic. Excellent at a short quick passing game. His tiny size is probably why he gets rid of the ball so quick before someone gets the tackle in.
I was surprised by how big he looked last night. He looks physical enough, maybe I was expecting a dwarf or something. Looked like a man possessed last night, fair play
17/08/2010, 10:14 AM
Flood out for 6 months with dislocated knee cap: http://www.mfc.co.uk/articles/20100807/unlucky-willo-dislocates-knee_70638_2114794
09/04/2011, 1:24 PM
Haven't seen this posted on the forum yet, Flood made his comeback for the reserves recently
Played for 59 minutes VS Leeds last week: http://www.mfc.co.uk/page/news/latest/0,,1~2326712,00.html
Played for 67 minutes VS Hull during the week: http://www.mfc.co.uk/page/news/latest/0,,1~2331699,00.html
Mowbray says he could be back in the senior team soon, but he's not going to rush him back: http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/07042011/63/mowbray-issues-caution-flood.html
At 25, there's still time for him to make his way into the international squad, could be a backup on the right in the way Keith Treacy is on the left
Junior
11/04/2011, 9:26 AM
Will be interesting to see if Mowbray really thinks he could get in to the first team squad at 'boro seeing as he offloaded him from Celtic to 'boro in the first place.
No doubt he has some ability but for me just too lightweight to do a job for us (or Trap more to the point) at international level.
11/04/2011, 11:30 AM
I wouldn't think he's too lightweight, but I've never associated him with pace, more the trickery and good close control - similar to Hoolihan or Andy Keogh, in the withdrawn striker/advanced midfield role.
12/02/2014, 10:29 AM
Flood impressed a watching Keane at the weekend for Aberdeen, could be in line for a call up: http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/willo-flood-s-ireland-cap-hopes-raised-by-cup-show-1-3303028
12/02/2014, 10:38 AM
He may be a small fellow but he's been afflicted with ideas, way above his station in world football :rolleyes:
the Dubliner has always dreamed of playing for his country.
“You never give up hope, once you are playing well and enjoying your football you have a chance. It’s something I have always wanted to do.”
12/02/2014, 1:30 PM
I though Flood was in London and Somerset ;)
Fixer82
12/02/2014, 3:19 PM
He may be a small fellow but he's been afflicted with ideas, way above his station in world football :rolleyes:
“You never give up hope, once you are playing well and enjoying your football you have a chance. It’s something I have always wanted to do.”
Fair play to him
Does he ever stop complaining?
13/02/2014, 10:53 AM
Flood impressed a watching Keane at the weekend for Aberdeen, could be in line for a call up: http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/willo-flood-s-ireland-cap-hopes-raised-by-cup-show-1-3303028
Read between the lines: "The Manchester United legend was understood to have been hugely impressed with 28-year-old Flood". Understood by whom? No direct quote from Keane. Paper talk I suspect.
I saw the game and thought Hayes was the most impressive Irishman on the pitch and Rooney also did well.
TheOneWhoKnocks
13/02/2014, 1:42 PM
Meeow. Claws out again.
When Flood starts sounding less like someone who wants to play International football and more akin to someone canvassing for votes, then I'll complain.
He wouldn't be on my list in terms of new call ups either but you know the saying - "opinions are like.....".
The squad doesn't need radical surgery. Noel King already called up the players who should have been in squads all along and several others were firmly on the margins under Trapattoni.
25/01/2017, 1:10 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/38739791
Interesting interview.
(No thread for him already that I could see.)
DeLorean
25/01/2017, 1:19 PM
Really? (http://foot.ie/search.php?searchid=3076508) :D
25/01/2017, 1:45 PM
he said "that he could see" i.e. I dont know how to search(and possibly i dont want to spend the time learning) and i dont see anything on the page in front of me therefore i will create a new one.
Is this where he mentions being broken into and the guy says dont take it personally? Fair play he can laugh about it, especially being confronted in your own house at 19 years of age. Fair play to him, a serious level of maturity. Must have been very difficult.
DeLorean
25/01/2017, 1:54 PM
At least Tets can't give out to him, having created two of those threads himself in the space of two months back in 2004. :)
25/01/2017, 2:42 PM
This thread (http://http://foot.ie/threads/107348-Links-to-Irish-International-Players-Threads) has no mention of him.
25/01/2017, 2:44 PM
Really? (http://foot.ie/search.php?searchid=3076508) :DThat doesn't open anything for me.
This thread (http://http://foot.ie/threads/107348-Links-to-Irish-International-Players-Threads) has no mention of him.
DeLorean
25/01/2017, 2:47 PM
Strange. The thread you linked doesn't open anything for me. Try searching Willo Flood (by thread title only) in advanced search.
25/01/2017, 2:53 PM
threads merged, and added to Irish International Players Threads
25/01/2017, 4:31 PM
"For me, I was signing for Derek McInnes. Derek McInnes could have been manager of St Johnstone at the time. I think I would have signed for him."
I think that means under normal circumstances Willo really doesn't like St. Johnstone, but rates them a bit higher than he does Tony Mowbray.
25/01/2017, 4:34 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/38739791
Interesting interview.
(No thread for him already that I could see.)
"Flood has been shaped by experiences on and off the field. At Manchester City as a youth he was burgled at knifepoint in his own house" - I am not sure a person can be burgled either at knife point or otherwise.
Always liked Willo when I saw him play. Talented without the physicality required perhaps.
"Flood has been shaped by experiences on and off the field. At Manchester City as a youth he was burgled at knifepoint in his own house" - I am not sure a person can be burgled either at knife point or otherwise.
apparently you can (poor Willo)
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=burgle
liamoo11
25/01/2017, 6:34 PM
Would he have averaged 5 grand sterling a week over his career 13 year career? Serious money in fairness
25/01/2017, 9:22 PM
apparently you can (poor Willo)
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=burgle
Trust a flat lander to put us right on that context :)
I don't know about the stress involved with having to handle a crazed manc with a knife pointed at his back but it sure would have been humiliating for poor Will to be made the carry the flat screen tv (25kg?) twice as big as him probably, with raw plugs dangling, out of his own house to the getaway vehicle.
What kind of getaway vehicle would a crazed knife wielding manc have on hand to carry away the loot or would he probably just order a taxi and give the driver his home address?
26/01/2017, 8:47 AM
He used willos car, you mustn't have been paying attention.
27/01/2017, 9:25 PM
He used willos car, you mustn't have been paying attention.
No Paul, I don't pay attention to the voices in your head,
what are they telling you now?
27/01/2017, 10:59 PM
geysir, attack the post, not the poster.
28/01/2017, 2:02 PM
geysir, attack the post, not the poster.
???
I was referring to that post, 100%. According to that linked bbc article Willo droped the tv and ran for help
28/01/2017, 2:21 PM
I was talking about listening to the voices in Paul's head
29/01/2017, 11:01 AM
Of course I don't pay attention to the nonsense element in a post from Paul, not even when he demands it :)
Young Willo did well at the time and had the benefit of more than sufficient psychological support from his club. He was able to process the experience and work the trauma out of his system totally, so much so that when he's asked to recall how he felt, he can only recall the (absurd) humour of the incident. That's a healthy sign.
I'd say the top clubs in England and Celtic in Scotland take much better all round care of the young Irish lads in their tutelage than in days of old. When Shane Long went over, didn't his mom go over with him and set up a home from home?