View Full Version : Collins breathing down our necks!
observer
26/07/2004, 1:12 PM
Just learned that Roddy loudmouth has taken over Dublin City. Loads of talk already of big signings and heroic deeds. Pain in the arse that he is he might still get a run going for them, so its time to hit the accelerator and get the hell away from the bottom of the table. A run in Europe will be small consolation if we are doomed to Division one at year end. Still a big result on Thursday should rally the troops. :rolleyes: ;)
26/07/2004, 1:32 PM
famous last words.....all will be fine.
sullanefc
26/07/2004, 2:01 PM
I really hope you survive it. I'm always of the opinion that the more non-Dub teams in the premier the better. Its going to be tough for ye considering you're still involved in four competitions though. You've got more quality than Dublin but Roddy will rally the troops never the less. Fingers and toes crossed for ye.
26/07/2004, 2:04 PM
no fingers needed, we have quality throughout our side and dc are gary o'neill and a division 1 squad, one injury to him and they are even more fcuked, he will miss 2 games anyway because of his sending off last week.
i think pats should be more worried, they might have no players come next week.
27/07/2004, 11:26 AM
Being honest, its not begrudgery but id love to see Roddy fall flat on his face. Nothing wrong with being cocky, but the smugness of him on TV3 last night was a bit much. Its hard to like the guy, but if he pulls this one off, fair play to him. Obviously hope he doesnt though.
27/07/2004, 8:34 PM
listen jackass, that is your surname isn't it ?? prunty is the best player in the squad this season. sean moved to ballinalee when he was 7/8 so he has lived there for 2/3 of his live just as the rest of his family have, so cut out getting personal about our players and where they come from.
i've put up with your sh1t for the last week or so but enough is enough, talk in sensible terms about the players or p1ss of back to whatever hole it is you climbed out of, here is an idea, use your own name when you make such comments....
In fairness, apart from his absolute drival surrounding his only valid point, the truth is that Sir Stu Byrne has not been replaced. Those days of him being everywhere for us were the best yet. There was a real buzz when he played for us.
Legend.
28/07/2004, 8:34 AM
agreed xlex, but i gave up reading jackass's post after the first two lines of rubbish.
maybe when dean gets a rest and settles in he might be it, might be.
28/07/2004, 7:30 PM
there was no county schoolboy league until autumn 90 in Longford, no team in Ballinalee so hard for him to play for them jackass ???
RockofGibraltar
28/07/2004, 9:40 PM
Maybe Sean's father thought that he had a chance of making it in england and he wanted the best for his son. There was more chance of this happening if he was playing for Belvedere than an underage team in longford,as the english scouts go to all the famous "nursery" clubs like Belvedere,Cherry Orchard etc.
That doesnt take anything away from his longford roots though. He came back to Ireland and wanted to play for the town cos he knew he wouldnt make it in England. Bohs wanted to sign him on a professional contract but he opted to play on a semi-pro contract for the town because its where he was born and brought up.
So in future Patrick J or whatever ur name is, get for facts right or keep ur mouth shut!Because everyone is ****ed off listenening to ur Sh*te at this stage.
28/07/2004, 9:55 PM
That would still make him young enough to play Max. Think your arithmethic resembles 3 years of education in Templemichael College as opposed to the five years I had in St. Mel's. :D The lad was unheard of in this county when he left for Middlesboro at the age of 16. The idea that Sean Prunty is "red and black" is about as ludicrous as claiming that Eric Lavine is the father of Avril Lavine. I'm sure Eric has lots of baby-making power but the sums simply don't add up. You may refer to me as Patrick J., jackass, etc. Whatever does it for you Max. ;)
patrick j, the point that noone had heard of Sean Prunty when he went to Middlesborough is crap because it appeared on the front page around six -seven years ago of the Longford Leader.
I rem when I heard the news that he was signing for us it made my day as he came home to his spirtual home where he was raised up. just cos he played for belvedare is irrelevant after all his mum is from dublin and his grandad played for pats in the fifties so they would surely have had an influence.
29/07/2004, 1:46 AM
To be fair to Sean he played a lot of schoolboy football in Longford with Teffia Harps until he was about 14-15 when he went to Willow Park in Athlone, played for Athlone Town after that at U-17..ssh ;) ...You may criticise him for not playing in Longford at that time but seriously the underage set-up then was not as good as it is now, he got better coaching in Athlone. He then joined Belvedere because there were English scouts sniffing around and he felt he'd get spotted there quicker, which turned out to be true..You cant knock the lad because he wanted to make the best of himself..And having gone to school with him I know he feels he's from Ballinalee now so to call him a blow-in is unfair.
observer
29/07/2004, 9:01 AM
From the first friendly games pre season to date Sean Prunty has been for me the outstanding player for Longford Town. Tell the people in Ballinalee who turned out en-mass to welcome him after the cup final that he is not local.
As for playing with Belvedere, the dogs in the street know that that if a young lad does not play for a Dublin Team he will never get recognition at International level, or indeed even on interprovincial teams. It is a closed shop which is the way the powers that be want to keep it.
29/07/2004, 9:03 AM
so keeny is a great manager who didn't nothing wrong, yet he signed a player that isn't good enough to play for the club, jackess stick to one argument and stop tripping yourself up. your not really that good at stiring the $hit, there are holes in your argument and possibaly between your ears as well.
29/07/2004, 9:21 AM
has anyone denied what he did while he was here, but he destroyed a lot of the good will he built up when he left as he did.
do us all a favour and lay off sean prunty or log on with your real name and say the same stuff about him then.
go on, dare ya.
parnell ranger
29/07/2004, 9:36 AM
To be fair to Sean he played a lot of schoolboy football in Longford with Teffia Harps until he was about 14-15 when he went to Willow Park in Athlone, played for Athlone Town after that at U-17..ssh ;) ...You may criticise him for not playing in Longford at that time but seriously the underage set-up then was not as good as it is now, he got better coaching in Athlone. He then joined Belvedere because there were English scouts sniffing around and he felt he'd get spotted there quicker, which turned out to be true..You cant knock the lad because he wanted to make the best of himself..And having gone to school with him I know he feels he's from Ballinalee now so to call him a blow-in is unfair.
Absolutely correct Longfordian.
the deal with middlesboro was done long before he joined belvedere.
he was a member of a good willow park under 16 side that did fairly well in the SFAI national cups and it was Willow only that benefitted from his move.
i saw him in action coaching at the fai summer camps in Willow last week along with gary murphy.
i remember taking an under 10 side to play teffia in the green and he was outstanding.
29/07/2004, 9:40 AM
i remember taking an under 10 side to play teffia in the green and he was outstanding.
he still is.
either pj is almost blind or has not seen prunty play in recent times.
29/07/2004, 11:23 AM
either pj is almost blind or has not seen prunty play in recent times.
agreed. i personally feel that sean prunty has been our best player this season by a long shot
Albert
29/07/2004, 11:56 AM
Ah not to worry its clear that poor Pat Knows very little about football or Longford, 5 years in Mels is about all he knows of it from what I see. Anyway its nearly term time again so I presume he'll be getting back to wasting tax payers money putting hi through monkey college now.
Hopefully we get a big result tonight, both the club and the league really need it, an early goal from Dessie Baker would be sooooooo sweet!
Albert
30/07/2004, 10:36 AM
HAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHA Partrick J thats the funniest thing Ive ever heard anyone say HAHAHAHHAHAHAHA best laugh in ages!!! Clonguish corner back??? hahaha oh Jeez my sides are hurting. Educated and experienced view of soccer Ineed :D :D
CuanaD
30/07/2004, 6:11 PM
As a Dub I find all this 'not a local' talk peculiar. I know from my family in Lanesboro that this is a normal attidude down there - dont support Longford Town they are a bunch of Dubs coming down for the paycheck. Whats the problem where the players are from - they are there to do a job for your local team. Make them feel welcome & they will come to feel it is their local team too, & play with more heart because of the goodwill.
In Dublin we have lots of players from abroad (& from around the country) and it dosn't stop us suporting them. All the English teams that so many people call "my team" have loads of 'foreigner' players - whats the problem? :confused:
Albert
30/07/2004, 6:30 PM
Your welcome Patrick J, you deserve it for giving me that laugh :D
Cuana D I think you are so right, and to be honest I dont hink its the view of many of the actual soccer fans. There are two types of people who hold that view, the die-hard GAA types who see soccer as a threat especially since Town have a better ground and more success than the county team and those fas ironicaly of english teams hich jus makes it funny!! To be fair I know many people of all ages urban and very rural who have no problem with the town payers being from wherever as they actually understand soccer and that its the fans and people around the club that make it local.