View Full Version : Derrick Williams (D. LA Galaxy b. 1993)

Pages : 1 [2]

liamoo11
11/12/2016, 9:57 AM
Towk I didn't get to see as much of that game as I hoped wood u tink Cunningham or Williams looked best option for us as a left back?

TheOneWhoKnocks
11/12/2016, 12:59 PM
I think Williams looked better on the day, but they were both impressive going forward.

I'd still have Cunningham ahead of him at Intl level because he's been doing it longer, is steadier defensively and has already acquitted himself at Intl level.

But there should be room for both of them in the near future with Ward not getting any younger and no other sure thing to replace him.

TheOneWhoKnocks
16/02/2017, 5:44 PM
I met his godmother's son the other night while on the beer.

Small world.

liamoo11
17/02/2017, 7:28 PM
I met his godmother's son the other night while on the beer.

Small world.

Jesus what a thought TOWK on the beer!

samhaydenjr
09/03/2017, 12:29 AM
Last minute equaliser for Williams against Cardiff last night - his first for Blackburn:

https://youtu.be/pOL4xJjdqwo?t=103

TheOneWhoKnocks
02/04/2017, 6:17 PM
MOTM in the game against Brighton according to the Lancashire Telegraph.

Apparently nullified the threat of Anthony Knockaert.

Has to be considered as a successor to the left back position.

Darragh Lenihan a contender for Player of the Year according to the same paper.

Has to be considered purely due to his versatility.

http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/15198084.PLAYER_RATINGS__Brighton_1_Blackburn_Rove rs_0/

Olé Olé
02/04/2017, 6:35 PM
MOTM in the game against Brighton according to the Lancashire Telegraph.

Apparently nullified the threat of Anthony Knockaert.

Has to be considered as a successor to the left back position.

Darragh Lenihan a contender for Player of the Year according to the same paper.

Has to be considered purely due to his versatility.

http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/15198084.PLAYER_RATINGS__Brighton_1_Blackburn_Rove rs_0/

That's fantastic to hear. Hope Hoban gets into this bracket of high achieving for Blackburn.

I saw Lenihan play in the middle of the park for our under 21s against Italy last year I think. Could see his attributes but thought he struggled on the ball. Was probably forced to play too advance in a flat midfield as part of a 4-4-2 as well which didn't help. He's clearly making the centre half position his own and I hope it's not going unnoticed by the management. There's a queue of centre halves at Championship level ahead of him. The onus is probably on the younger lads (Egan and Lenihan) to move up a level to the PL if they're going to skip ahead of McShane and Pearce. Otherwise, their relative experience and arguable reliability will be enough for them to remain in their stead.

01/05/2017, 10:21 AM
Blackburn's player of the season: https://twitter.com/DSWilliams_/status/858404876795117570

Thanks to everyone who voted me Player of the year. Massive win today! Thanks to the fans that came out in numbers!! Now onto Sunday!

samhaydenjr
21/08/2019, 12:18 AM
Scored the only goal for Blackburn against Hull: https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/49326869

samhaydenjr
14/09/2019, 4:49 PM
Second of the season for Blackburn today - potential option for the left side of defence in Stevens' absence? https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/49617719

tommy_c12000
14/09/2019, 5:06 PM
Watched the first half as Molumby was playing. Belter of a shot from outside the area for his second league goal this season. Defensively he has been doing okay as well. Difficult game for Molumby but did okay, hopefully it’s the start of a run of starts for him.

liamoo11
14/09/2019, 9:33 PM
Watched the first half as Molumby was playing. Belter of a shot from outside the area for his second league goal this season. Defensively he has been doing okay as well. Difficult game for Molumby but did okay, hopefully it’s the start of a run of starts for him.

Is he playing left side of a three at the back with Cunningham left full? Did molumby do much on the ball?

CraftyToePoke
14/09/2019, 9:37 PM
A 93.8% pass success rate from 32 passes, including two key passes, 44 touches, 2 fouls and two tackles, as you ask liamoo :)

Olé Olé
14/09/2019, 11:12 PM
Left back or centre half?

ColourfulPeanut
14/09/2019, 11:41 PM
Left back or centre half?
Looked like the left of a 3 based off the team I saw. Didn't see anything but the goals myself though!

liamoo11
15/09/2019, 10:16 AM
A 93.8% pass success rate from 32 passes, including two key passes, 44 touches, 2 fouls and two tackles, as you ask liamoo :)

It's nice in fairness and he normally is inclined to look for a forward positive pass not just sideways Bob stuff.
Looks to have all the tools doesnt he? Maybe doesnt score many goals?

07/03/2020, 7:40 AM
Linked with a move to MLS: https://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/18287903.rovers-respond-transfer-interest-derrick-williams/
Presumably, as the son of a US national, he wouldn't need a work permit to earn a living in the States?

Fixer82
07/03/2020, 2:33 PM
He did well against NZ. Could he be called up to latest squad with Coleman injured and Keogh obviously gone?

09/03/2020, 2:25 AM
Linked with a move to MLS: https://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/18287903.rovers-respond-transfer-interest-derrick-williams/
Presumably, as the son of a US national, he wouldn't need a work permit to earn a living in the States?
No footballer at his level will have trouble playing in the US. Bigger question is why would he go there with his career prospects.

Demesne Lad
27/08/2020, 1:19 PM
Derrick being linked with Swansea. Has a year left on his contract with Blackburn Rovers.

Fixer82
27/08/2020, 5:51 PM
Derrick being linked with Swansea. Has a year left on his contract with Blackburn Rovers.

Swansea and DC United. I know which one I'd like him to go for

05/01/2021, 4:28 PM
out with a hamstring injury for the rest of the season: https://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/18983352.two-rovers-players-isolating-mowbray-reveals-injury-blow/

“Derrick Williams, very experienced, an international footballer is out in the same position, left centre half and I don’t think he’ll be playing again this season.
“He’s had an operation and I don’t think he’ll play again.

seanfhear
05/01/2021, 4:36 PM
A huge amount of footballers getting hamstring injuries these days ~ some of them career stalling. Must be something to do with football being so much quicker and that speed is absolutely vital.

You can have a great young player and if the hamstrings start giving trouble then it is such a big problem.

How early in Michael Owens career did the Hamstrings feck him up. Fernando Torres was also done in by the hamstrings admittedly after he had a previously brilliant career.

What to do about Hamstrings ~ ~ Medicine / Doctors / Science ~ please solve this one.

05/01/2021, 6:40 PM
The shorter close season last summer can't be helping

seanfhear
05/01/2021, 7:13 PM
Not too mention all the other players nursing Hamstrings ~ ~ Hamstrings and elite sports were not made in heaven !

irishfan86
05/01/2021, 9:07 PM
Either leagues need to eliminate midweek games or managers need to take rotation seriously. Given squad size rotation is possible but given the pressure managers are under these days they probably feel they have no chance but to ride key players hard.

Bielsa´s irish
05/01/2021, 9:21 PM
we cant afford to lose guys in certain positions, we ve got to maximize our panel, hopefully Cunningham can play there as a specialist.

Fullbacks I prefer them specialist, even though some center mids like delap, meyler filled in. and ronnie whelan on the left as emergency.

Fixer82
02/03/2021, 3:14 PM
Moving to LA Galaxy according to reports

elatedscum
03/03/2021, 1:03 AM
Weird that they’d sign a player with such a serious injury before he was fully recovered

ColourfulPeanut
03/03/2021, 10:33 AM
He's a pretty low risk/high reward signing for LA. He's a US citizen so no foreign slot and not a Designated Player either so not big money.

Good move for him personally. The level isn't as bad as people believe and what a lifestyle upgrade!

Diggs246
03/03/2021, 10:36 AM
You've obviously never been to LA !

Razors left peg
03/03/2021, 3:38 PM
The lifestyle is unbelievable in LA if you have a bit of money which he will. I live just outside LA and its by far the best place I've ever lived. Downtown LA is a bit of a kip in places like most cities, but its not called the entertainment capital of the world for nothing (pre pandemic)

03/03/2021, 3:50 PM
And whatever about LA I have been to Blackburn and I wouldn't begrudge anybody looking to relocate!

Razors left peg
04/03/2021, 6:40 PM
Move to Galaxy confirmed.

05/03/2021, 2:53 PM
When does it take effect? Should I edit the thread title yet?

05/03/2021, 3:23 PM
When does it take effect? Should I edit the thread title yet?

since yesterday - https://www.lagalaxy.com/post/2021/03/04/la-galaxy-sign-defender-derrick-williams

interview on their website
R1fL8VtLhUQ

Colbert Report
05/03/2021, 11:31 PM

I live in LA, about six kms from the stadium the Galaxy play in. It is a magnificent place to live.

Colbert Report
18/04/2021, 7:13 PM
Not in the squad today for the season opener away to Inter Miami FC. Apparently he's recovering from surgery.

seanfhear
19/04/2021, 1:40 AM
Not in the squad today for the season opener away to Inter Miami FC. Apparently he's recovering from surgery.
That was quick ~ Straight into the plastic surgery almost on arrival at Los Angeles ( It’s a joke ) don’t split your sides !

Colbert Report
09/05/2021, 2:07 AM
Set up a goal with an incredible tackle for the opener in a 2-1 over LAFC today.

Colbert Report
22/05/2021, 8:33 PM
Straight red today for an absolutely criminal two footed challenge. The fourth red card of his career. It was so bad that the commentators and fans seemed shocked, and Williams himself didn't protest at all and left the pitch immediately. He's likely looking at a few match ban, which is a shame because he has played very well in his first three appearances for the Galaxy, who are the top team in the league.

26/05/2021, 5:06 AM
I mean it didn't look horrendous, just very badly timed. And I mean it clearly wasn't the first cousin of a two-footed challenge so I'm not sure what you were watching.

irishfan86
26/05/2021, 8:32 PM
Williams reportedly getting death threats and racial abuse following the tackle.

Razors left peg
26/05/2021, 9:00 PM
I mean it didn't look horrendous, just very badly timed. And I mean it clearly wasn't the first cousin of a two-footed challenge so I'm not sure what you were watching.

Looked more like he fell into the player clumsily more than anything else.

https://twitter.com/stuholden/status/1396212691899846657?s=20
\

seanfhear
26/05/2021, 9:03 PM
Looked more like he fell into the player clumsily more than anything else.

https://twitter.com/stuholden/status/1396212691899846657?s=20
\
It’s a bit strange because Williams seems to miss a ball he shouldn’t have but Nobody would be happy about a challenge like that on one of their own team’s players.

NeverFeltBetter
27/05/2021, 7:31 AM
One of those that looks worse in real-time. It's clumsy and reflects poorly on the player in terms of his ability to properly challenge for a ball, but I've seen way, way worse.

Colbert Report
22/10/2022, 2:14 AM
He came on as a sub last night with the Galaxy down 2-1 to crosstown rivals LAFC. They ended up equalizing almost immediately but then went on to lose 3-2. LAFC are head and shoulders above the rest of the league.

It'll be interesting to see where he lands after the World Cup, his contract is up but the Galaxy have an option to extend it a further year. He counts as an American player so he could catch on with another MLS club.