View Full Version : Display: Saturday

FourFiveOne
21/07/2004, 5:26 PM
Has anybody got any ideas?

We still have a fair few of the green, white and red small flags that were used at the Malmo game, but there is a lot of organising to pull that off...

Green till rolls are gone.

More green A3 sheets?

A big 2-0 banner?

Anyody available to help out before Saturday and also before the game on Saturday, please let us know and we'll see if we can get something going.

FFO
:ball:

NorthoftheLee
22/07/2004, 7:59 AM
Has anybody got any ideas?

We still have a fair few of the green, white and red small flags that were used at the Malmo game, but there is a lot of organising to pull that off...

Green till rolls are gone.

More green A3 sheets?

A big 2-0 banner?

Anyody available to help out before Saturday and also before the game on Saturday, please let us know and we'll see if we can get something going.

FFO
:ball:

I know it short notice but if there's money and people available, then the purchase of green, white and red material from hickeys might be an idea......we could get them the length of the shed and then when the team,s come out have the strips going from the back to the front of the shed...would look cool and we can always use the material later for more flags etc...could even use it towards making a crowd cover.....

22/07/2004, 9:29 AM

Maybe give whats left out to the kids in the family enclosure if not so many left?

Some coloured smoke or is that banned?

Eric
22/07/2004, 10:04 AM
Smoke is banned and with the amount of little scumbags that are gonna be at the game on Saturday I'd say give the green, white, red material idea a miss too because you know they are just gonna rip the stuff!!!

22/07/2004, 10:45 AM
ANyone got any smart ideas for a paper banner for the Shed?

Cowboy Builder
22/07/2004, 11:01 AM
I could build something for ye!!!! ;) :p

22/07/2004, 11:26 AM
ANyone got any smart ideas for a paper banner for the Shed?

Hows about some list of famous City (home) won/drawm European games? Bayern, Cwmbran, Standard Leige Gothenborg, Malmo, Nijmegen....Nantes...?

22/07/2004, 11:28 AM
Welcome To Hell :D :D :D

22/07/2004, 11:54 AM
Welcome To Hell :D :D :D

Whats the French for that?

Bienvenue a HELL?

22/07/2004, 11:56 AM
Whats the French for that?

Bienvenue a HELL?

that would be hilarious to see. :D

22/07/2004, 12:09 PM
Smoke is banned
Shels had smoke (Green, white and orange) at their game last night with no hassle. The PA guy said that flares were banned but said nothing about smoke.

22/07/2004, 12:10 PM
Do It In French And English

BIENVENUE À L'ENFER

22/07/2004, 12:30 PM
Hows about some list of famous City (home) won/drawm European games? Bayern, Cwmbran, Standard Leige Gothenborg, Malmo, Nijmegen....Nantes...?

I like it

or Ou est Bersson

also, the second line of the Marseillesse (French National anthem) is, 'our day of glory has come', how about...

Cork City - Le jour de gloire est arrivé! :o

NorthoftheLee
22/07/2004, 12:54 PM
I like it

or Ou est Bersson

also, the second line of the Marseillesse (French National anthem) is, 'our day of glory has come', how about...

like that....... like that a lot....

22/07/2004, 1:00 PM
Shels had smoke (Green, white and orange) at their game last night with no hassle. The PA guy said that flares were banned but said nothing about smoke.
It says in the Stadium Regulations section of the programme that smoke cannisters are prohibited, but they don't seem to be frowned upon in the same way as flares are. I've been wanting to get some for our games.

22/07/2004, 1:12 PM
Shels had smoke (Green, white and orange) at their game last night with no hassle.

They have their own set of rules though, the filthy cheating *******s.

I like the "Cork City - Le jour de gloire est arrivé!" one. Nice one.

We'll do that and a
BIENVENUE A L'ENFER one?

22/07/2004, 2:11 PM
Email the club and see whats the story with smoke!

The club have made it very clear that smoke is banned. :(

We'll do the two banners.
The club can do the sea of green.
RedFM will do the masks!
Add in the big TIFO flags and other usual flags, banners, crowd covers etc and we should create a good atmosphere.

22/07/2004, 3:22 PM
7000 pat dolan masks? they'll sh!t themselves!

Eric
22/07/2004, 6:46 PM
I think I might sit and watch this game from the Donie Forde.

Best of luck with the displays lads

City Hero
22/07/2004, 9:23 PM
Is there anywhere that these banners could be put so that they are on view for the whole of the game, and not just when the teams come out (like the 2 green banners). Across the front of the shed up high would be great, but you would need a big ladder and a brave man - anyone see one of them? :D

22/07/2004, 9:55 PM
They have their own set of rules though, the filthy cheating *******s.

Yeah we have UEFA in our back pocket.

22/07/2004, 10:07 PM
Yeah we have UEFA in our back pocket.

I know the sentiment was harshly put (probably too harshly) but to be fair Slash/Ed.....

-Smoke Cannisters may be tolerated by your stewards, but they are not acceptable to UEFA (having said that fair play ton the BD boys for the display)
-You still make absolutely no effort to keep those kids off the pitch at the full time whistle, which should mean a 500yoyo fine every home game by the EL's own rulebook
-Bohs were fined last week because a missile was thrown at a ref, more than one missile was aimed at Pat Dolan in tolka a while back, one hit him in the face (thrown by one of those kids on the pitch)

where are the reprimands and fines???

When clubs like Bohs and City put time and money into Stewarding that succeeds in stopping invasions onto the pitch, it's perfectly understandable that fans get frustrated when Shels appear to pocket the money that they should be spending on the same job.
It frustrates the sh!t out of me anyway. :(

22/07/2004, 10:16 PM
Fair point on the kids, the pitch invasions thing is easily avoidable and something that irritates me aswell. The standard of stewarding at Tolka Park is very poor, you're not wrong there, but, on the Smoke Cannisters, as far as I know they are not illegal by UEFA regulations. Flairs are, and there was an announcement about them, but Smoke Cannisters are a different thing altogether and I don't think UEFA fine people who use them. They're seen all over Europe in European matches.

22/07/2004, 10:20 PM
.. on the Smoke Cannisters, as far as I know they are not illegal by UEFA regulations. Flairs are...

Fair enough. I'm not 100% so I'll happily take your word on that.

I think you meant Flares though,
'coz we all know Flair has been outlawed at Tolka for ages and ages ;) :D :D

22/07/2004, 10:32 PM
What about a large banner simply with

Believe....

Might even get a well known drinks company to lash a few pound your way

22/07/2004, 10:34 PM
What about a large banner simply with
Believe....
Might even get a well known drinks company to lash a few pound your way

That's a very very very good idea, like it a lot :cool:

City Hero
23/07/2004, 12:29 PM
And if we still had adidas as kit suppliers, we could do the whole "impossible is nothing" approach.

Eric
23/07/2004, 5:44 PM
It's great to see people coming up with ideas and saying 'how bout doing....' and 'why not do..........' but aside from 451 lads how many people have actually made up banners etc for this game?????

23/07/2004, 10:40 PM
Fair point on the kids, the pitch invasions thing is easily avoidable and something that irritates me aswell. The standard of stewarding at Tolka Park is very poor, you're not wrong there, but, on the Smoke Cannisters, as far as I know they are not illegal by UEFA regulations. Flairs are, and there was an announcement about them, but Smoke Cannisters are a different thing altogether and I don't think UEFA fine people who use them. They're seen all over Europe in European matches.
the eircom League has banned both flares and smoke bombs, so shels are breaking the rules. the stewarding at tolka is brutal and shels do get away with this shít repeatedly. fact

23/07/2004, 10:46 PM
so shels are breaking the rules.

WHAT!!!!!!!! SHELS BREAKING THE RULES,..................NEVER

adamcarr
23/07/2004, 10:50 PM
............. :D

23/07/2004, 11:07 PM
it is a bit of a surprise- as was pointed out earlier, shels usually make the rules

23/07/2004, 11:12 PM
the eircom League has banned both flares and smoke bombs, so shels are breaking the rules. the stewarding at tolka is brutal and shels do get away with this shít repeatedly. fact

This wasn't an Eircom League match. Still, rant away, it has to beat trying to fish compliments from the Pats fans all day.

23/07/2004, 11:25 PM
fine, good point. maybe they are allowed by UEFA- I was fairly sure they weren't but I won't argue with you. And as I have already said, City can get compliments from far better places than Pats.

Eric
24/07/2004, 1:03 PM
451 started this thread asking for ideas. :rolleyes:

Ya and they also lookf for help when it comes to sorting these things out and thats when people start getting slow to offer their services!!!

26/07/2004, 3:31 PM
RedFM are handing out 7000 Pat Dolan masks

how about...

Did any of this come off on Saturday?
The crowd was massive!

Ruairi
26/07/2004, 3:35 PM
masks did. not sure if they actually worked though

26/07/2004, 3:52 PM
masks did. not sure if they actually worked though

they didn't really, you had to hoild them up as opposed to put them on (i.e. no strings attached ;) ) and a lot were just cast aside on the ground. Having said that they actually looked great and the gang of us there goit a good laugh out of them. :D :D

27/07/2004, 7:22 PM
its all well and good suggesting ideas or complimenting displays, but more people are needed to sort these things out. Speaking personally, I spent 5 or 6 hours before the NEC game sorting stuff out and I just don't have the time to do that every week. Neither do the other people who helped out. Simple as that. If people want to see this kind of thing regularly, they have to get the finger out. Someone willing to give even an hour every few weeks would make a huge difference