View Full Version : possible new signing?

11/12/2011, 9:53 PM
I was up at the programme fair for Bohs Schoolboys today in Dalymount and heard from a fellow ltfc fan thats working with one of our players from last yrs squad that we signed some haverty guy! I wonder is this Noel Haverty ex Shels and Pats? Anyone any opinions on him?

11/12/2011, 11:22 PM
I can confirm we have signed Noel Haverty think he came from Pats If I'm not mistaken, wouldn't know too much about him tbh but an extra CB can only mean good things. Deans, Hope, Flood, Haverty not too bad IMO

L.T.F.C.
12/12/2011, 1:53 PM
I can confirm we have signed Noel Haverty think he came from Pats If I'm not mistaken, wouldn't know too much about him tbh but an extra CB can only mean good things. Deans, Hope, Flood, Haverty not too bad IMO
Straight from the heart of Flancare!

12/12/2011, 2:14 PM
I think he's more of a full back than a centre back from what I can recall of him.

12/12/2011, 4:17 PM
Oh right, you could be right there as I said I wouldnt know too much about him.

22/12/2011, 11:32 PM
I was at the Supporters club xmas hamper draw and can reveal to you who has definitely signed for us: Craig Hyland Shamrock Rovers, Karl Bermingham Shelbourne and Noel Haverty ( free) as shels were his last club but noel decided to go travellin abroad.

Kirbs has bein asked but is decidin whether to accept it. My source told me the chances of gettin him is 70%.
confd as stayin:

Micheal Lee
Des Hope
Chris Deans
Mark Salmon
Craig Walsh
Cathal Brady
Gary Cronin
Graham Dowling
Paul Hunt
Austin Skelly
Keith Gillespie
Thomas Crawley
Daniel Purdy
Jeff Flood
Sean Skelly

23/12/2011, 2:40 AM
We have the bones of a good team there, getting Kirbs in would be massive thou, with himself on board theres no reason why we shouldn't be looking to come 2nd, Limerick are probably way too strong for everyone, but after that the 1st division is a bit **** poor really now.

23/12/2011, 12:48 PM
That's a very decent looking squad if we can get Kirby and one or two more maybe, Bermingham could be a decent addition. We've kept our best players from last year which is great. Marty, Jacques Morley is staying on too isn't he? He said he was on Twitter anyhow.

23/12/2011, 6:16 PM
That's a very decent looking squad if we can get Kirby and one or two more maybe, Bermingham could be a decent addition. We've kept our best players from last year which is great. Marty, Jacques Morley is staying on too isn't he? He said he was on Twitter anyhow.

http://www.ltfc.ie/news/article/?id=50eaa02a-eaf3-4445-a048-3706188443bb

confd on town website pete.. Jacques Morley and Niall O Reilly's fitness is being assessed before TC makes the decision to sign them..

hollocaine
24/12/2011, 9:24 AM
What about Alan McGreal and James O'Brien? They weren't mentioned at all.

L.T.F.C.
24/12/2011, 4:14 PM
Alan McGreal is gone. No idea about James O'Brien.

24/12/2011, 5:02 PM
McGreal looked good when he started out would have liked to give him another chance as for James O'Brien he simply must stay.

24/12/2011, 5:29 PM
I was told lads that nineteen are in the squad at the moment in my list I have eighteen players so I have a feeling that James O Brien is stayin.. I was told McGreal had departed!

24/12/2011, 7:20 PM
got confirmation from the club directly just now that James O Brien is staying so that makes a squad of nineteen players!

Cabs88
28/12/2011, 1:25 PM
didnt think mcgreal showed enough in the short time he was with us he should be kept on.. Still think we could do with another striker and centre half

28/12/2011, 1:30 PM
Tell Kirby I'll give him free pints in Pv's for life if he signs

sorbothegreek
02/01/2012, 7:46 PM
Gary Shaw signs from Bray, he's a striker and has played for Ireland u19's...

02/01/2012, 9:22 PM
Sounds like a good addition, good that he's prepared to turn down Premier Division teams to come to us. An experienced midfielder now, Kirby hopefully, and we'll be looking in good shape.

02/01/2012, 10:38 PM
For some reason I thought shaw was a midfielder, he missed a lot of last season with a broken foot but he has to be half decent if he has under 19 caps and had 2 premier sides chasing him. As longfordian said all we need now is kirby!

Won't find pre season coming now I can't wait bring us some glamour ties :)

02/01/2012, 10:56 PM
I am mightily impressed with the signing.. there wasnt even a mention of him coming to us from paper reports which makes it glorious imo.. He has great pedigree and will fit in well with us. I was talking to Jacques Morley on twitter today.. he is back fit the ball is in TC's court now to see if he earns a new contract. he confd to me that nothin has bein decided yet with Nelly!

03/01/2012, 9:29 PM
I just did some research on our new star signing. He only played for bray the last season and a half. I looked up old programmes of him when he was with Bray and he wasnt around when we met in the 2009 fai cup! the penpict explains it perfectly..

http://www.braywanderers.com/squad.php

(DOB: 10/05/1992, Dublin) Striker.
Gary joined from Newbridge Town in August 2010 and made a scoring début against Dundalk in September 2010. He scored three times in 11 appearances in 2010 season. Republic of Ireland Under-19 international.

Rocky77
04/01/2012, 10:48 AM
Yeah I saw him make his Bray debut in 2010 ad he looked really good for that half a season, he scored Bray's second against Shamrock Rovers at the Carlisle Grounds the night Rovers won the second. He bullied Craig Sives, got across him at the near post and headed past Mannus - he was only 17 at the time!

Last season he hardly featured due to injury but got a good goal up in Drogheda after going past about 4 players from half way - although admittedly the defending was poor.

He's still very young and I'm not sure he's an out and out poacher (though maybe he will prove me wrong) but he is a very good centre forward, good touch and good movement. I am very excited about this signing.

A bit of a coup, I presume it was the old TC/Newbridge connection that was the deciding factor

Tallanted
04/01/2012, 11:04 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=miYLWU06mLg
His goal v Rovers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7zxDmAS_w_g
His goal v Drogheda

04/01/2012, 11:50 AM
Good stuff. Hard to read a lot into those couple of videos but plenty of promising signs there. He reminds me of Dave Mooney a bit for some reason.

04/01/2012, 2:00 PM
Jesus if hes anything like moons were in 4 a treat

Tallanted
04/01/2012, 2:31 PM
On one of the other forums that Cathal Brady has signed for Drogheda

04/01/2012, 2:36 PM
gutted! we have to get kirbs now

Tallanted
04/01/2012, 2:47 PM
gutted! we have to get kirbs now

Don't hold your breath

04/01/2012, 6:00 PM
You know something we dont?

L.T.F.C.
04/01/2012, 6:15 PM
On one of the other forums that Cathal Brady has signed for Drogheda
Hmmm!

Tallanted
04/01/2012, 9:37 PM
Sorry I will rephrase that, he has gone to Drogheda!

05/01/2012, 7:56 PM
Sorry I will rephrase that, he has gone to Drogheda!

I questioned my source in the club last night and he said that he had heard the same thing as well but couldnt confirm if it was definite or not..

06/01/2012, 9:45 AM
I've been told it was in the local paper that dotsy has moved.

06/01/2012, 6:32 PM
I've been told it was in the local paper that dotsy has moved.

assume u are sayin it was in one of the drogheda newspapers?

07/01/2012, 11:13 AM
Yes sorry should have phrased that better

07/01/2012, 7:37 PM
is there a link to that article outspoken?

Town Legend
07/01/2012, 10:25 PM
http://www.drogheda-independent.ie/sport/soccer/fabio-comes-home-to-join-the-drogs-2979480.html

11/01/2012, 4:26 PM
Alan Kirby played for the PFAI 11 last night in dalier as they lost 4-3 to Bohs, looking through the starting 11 hes the stand out name I think we may miss out

L.T.F.C.
11/01/2012, 6:39 PM
Well hopefully not... it means that he still hasn't got a club, so maybe we have a chance!

11/01/2012, 9:50 PM
As per the main forum, we're apparently talking to Mark Forker who was formerly with Finn Harps. He's in college in Maynooth so with us training in Leixlip we'd be more convenient for him.

12/01/2012, 3:36 PM
Hmm would he be much good to us do you think?

12/01/2012, 4:36 PM
Can't recall much about him other than the name, but Sam_Heggy seems to think he's a cracking player.

12/01/2012, 8:32 PM
I can see why kirbs is not comin to us as according to the star dundalk want to sign him.. I got a club txt to confirm that the first team are back trainin this sat and sun!

13/01/2012, 4:25 PM
ye it was announced on twitter there back 2mrw

Tallanted
17/01/2012, 8:45 AM
Colly James and David McGill have signed form Shels

17/01/2012, 10:05 AM
They're two very good signings. Squad is looking strong.

gufc2000
17/01/2012, 10:32 AM
Looks like the strongest squad Longford have put together since relegation. Limerick will surely win the First Division, but ye look the best of the chasing pack.

17/01/2012, 10:45 AM
Definitely our strongest squad since we went down. It's taken a few seasons to build it up but hopefully we're well placed to contend at the top anyway.

17/01/2012, 11:07 AM
Realisticly anything lower than 2nd will be disappointing with that team, given how weak the division is outside of Limerick, and I suppose Waterford will be decent, other than that every team should be muck

17/01/2012, 1:13 PM
Realisticly anything lower than 2nd will be disappointing with that team, given how weak the division is outside of Limerick, and I suppose Waterford will be decent, other than that every team should be muck
We should be there or thereabouts, but we shouldn't be creating hostages to fortune before a ball has even been kicked. Plenty of time for other teams to strengthen - some are in a much better position to do so now!