View Full Version : possible new signing?
17/01/2012, 2:56 PM
So the squad is looking like this at present:
GKs
Hyland
Hunt
(u19 keeper Fallon?)
DEF
Haverty
Hope
Deans
Dowling
Flood
Cronin
O'Reilly (possibly)
MID
Salmon
McGill
O'Brien
Gillespie
Crawley
Morley (possibly)
FWD
A Skelly
S Skelly
Bermingham
Shaw
Purdy
Not bad at all. I think that's everyone anyway.
17/01/2012, 5:36 PM
CMON DE TOWN! Would love 1 experienced keeper to act as cover always like to have 3 senior shotstoppers, I think were ok up front and unless kirbs comes back then we should be finished in midfield so unless we bring in a defender or two I'd say were fairly finished. Good squad though top 3 minimum.
17/01/2012, 7:11 PM
Heard the great news last night but out of courtesy let the club post it up first.. I know James was confd last night but not McGill but thats super news that the two of them have signed so thats three of shels squad we have got.. James is well experienced playin nearly ten yrs in the league, bray,galway,us, sporting fingal and one season with shels. I am surprised that James wasnt kept on.. McGill was part of Shamrock rovers squad that got promoted in 06 and was also with Dublin City. I wouldnt think that Noel Fallon would be part of that panel as hes not in the under 19s first team at present.. Im mightily impressed with the squad but will not put pressure on the lads..
17/01/2012, 7:43 PM
As per the main forum, we're apparently talking to Mark Forker who was formerly with Finn Harps. He's in college in Maynooth so with us training in Leixlip we'd be more convenient for him.
was speakin to a source of mine in the club about him.. he hasnt trained with us.. also its not confirmed yet about newbridge town friendly!
18/01/2012, 6:46 PM
Like I said I think were ok in midfield and upfront so I don't see us signing forket now I still think we need some more defenders and a keeper we look especially short in the FB positions, any word on Mick lee?
Tallanted
18/01/2012, 6:58 PM
Word in what way he was announced as signed on official website before christmas with O'Reilly and Morley to prove their fitness, this leaves Cronin and Lee for left back and Dowling, James(can play there) and O'Reilly(if signed) for right back, also deans, hope, haverty and flood leaving 2 players for each defensive position, not bad going on a low budget to be fair
18/01/2012, 7:50 PM
I knew I was forgetting somebody, I left out Mick by accident. Can't seem to edit the original post now.
18/01/2012, 8:07 PM
That's what we need to natural position players going for each position if we have that then I can't see why we can't push for top 3.
18/01/2012, 8:11 PM
Heres an interesting one I was thinking up today, what would be your starting 11 from the players we now have mine would be
gk - hunt
rb - dowling
cb - deans
cb - flood
lb - cronnin
rm - Mcgill
Cm - Gillespie
cm - samo
lm - Crawley
st - bermo
st - shaw
Would like to have colly in there but just can't fit him in which is a great sign.
Cabs88
19/01/2012, 12:33 AM
Two very good signings in James and McGill... Squad is really taking shape now! Still think we're short of a natural right winger, I dont think Gillespie has the legs for there any more.. Unless Cousins has something else in mind re formation!
Personally if i was to pick a team as it stands...
Hunt
Haverty Flood Hope Lee
McGill James Sammo Crawley
Bermingham Shaw
L.T.F.C.
19/01/2012, 1:36 AM
I might remove James until he proves himself. I saw on boards that James was crap for Shels. Maybe 4-3-3 with Skelly in?
LFC-Zulu
19/01/2012, 4:39 AM
Why do ye have David McGill on the wing? He is, and always has been, a central midfielder? Surely you're not mistaking him for Brendan?
sorbothegreek
19/01/2012, 12:42 PM
Got a bit of a shock there when i saw sky sports news telling me that an Anthony Modeste signed for Blackburn Rovers, i thought it was the guy that was on trial with us a few years back. It turns out that there's at least 2 Anthony Modeste strikers out there..
bluewhitearmy
19/01/2012, 1:32 PM
I might remove James until he proves himself. I saw on boards that James was crap for Shels. Maybe 4-3-3 with Skelly in?
Collie Jame is a very good player....I think a few of the Shels fans had something personal against him i seen him a few times other then when they played us and he played very well but still got slated by some Shels fans. Hes a better footballer then McGill imo.
19/01/2012, 2:08 PM
Got a bit of a shock there when i saw sky sports news telling me that an Anthony Modeste signed for Blackburn Rovers, i thought it was the guy that was on trial with us a few years back. It turns out that there's at least 2 Anthony Modeste strikers out there..
Ah yes, I made that same mistake when I saw his name down as a scorer for Bordeaux a while back. "Our" Anthony Modest must be finished at this stage?
Tallanted
19/01/2012, 2:28 PM
Our Modeste is still playing in the Jamaican league apparently
Cabs88
19/01/2012, 3:30 PM
Why do ye have David McGill on the wing? He is, and always has been, a central midfielder? Surely you're not mistaking him for Brendan?
Have him as a right midfielder as opposed to a right winger, he would fill a gap if we are to get an out and out winger in.. He has played on the right side of midfield before afaik
19/01/2012, 4:57 PM
Two very good signings in James and McGill... Squad is really taking shape now! Still think we're short of a natural right winger, I dont think Gillespie has the legs for there any more.. Unless Cousins has something else in mind re formation!
Personally if i was to pick a team as it stands...
Hunt
Haverty Flood Hope Lee
McGill James Sammo Crawley
Bermingham Shaw
Interesting to see you left out gillespie its something I thought about strongly alright I just think he could come in handy as a holding midfielder but I agree we could do with an out and out winger and I have a feeling TC may change formation this season should be great maybe wel get a few "its like watching brazil" chants again this season :)
bluewhitearmy
19/01/2012, 5:41 PM
Interesting to see you left out gillespie its something I thought about strongly alright I just think he could come in handy as a holding midfielder but I agree we could do with an out and out winger and I have a feeling TC may change formation this season should be great maybe wel get a few "its like watching brazil" chants again this season :)
Of course ye will..............................When ye play us :p
Cabs88
19/01/2012, 6:29 PM
The only time I remember that chant was when we wore the yellow away shirt..
I personally do not think Gillespie has been great thus far. He spent too long injured / suspended last year. Yes he had some nice touches and is a good player to have at set pieces, but I would not have him as an automatic starter. If I was Hyland I would feel hard done by that he was let go based on footballing reasons. He was a far more consistent performer IMO.
19/01/2012, 7:16 PM
The only time I remember that chant was when we wore the yellow away shirt..
I personally do not think Gillespie has been great thus far. He spent too long injured / suspended last year. Yes he had some nice touches and is a good player to have at set pieces, but I would not have him as an automatic starter. If I was Hyland I would feel hard done by that he was let go based on footballing reasons. He was a far more consistent performer IMO.
Totally agree with you Hylo should still be there
20/01/2012, 8:41 PM
Hyland has signed for Carrick Rangers up the North apparently. Best of luck to him up there he was good for us.
31/01/2012, 8:57 PM
Jacques Morley confirmed to me on twitter that hes definitely staying. Hes not sure about Nellie so waitin on Nellie's response!
town squad now:
updated squad:
GKs
Hyland
Hunt
DEF
Haverty
Hope
Deans
Dowling
Flood
Cronin
O'Reilly (possibly)
Lee
MID
Salmon
McGill
O'Brien
Gillespie
Crawley
Morley
FWD
A Skelly
S Skelly
Bermingham
Shaw
Purdy
01/02/2012, 1:06 AM
Squad looks set to me (apart from my belief of 3 senior keepers) the only thing I would say is the season is drawing closer and Kirbs still has no home :)
01/02/2012, 9:41 PM
Squad looks set to me (apart from my belief of 3 senior keepers) the only thing I would say is the season is drawing closer and Kirbs still has no home :)
I know that Noel Fallon is out injured at present for the under 19s so once hes fit he could be in the first team panel..
Tallanted
01/02/2012, 9:46 PM
I thought Conor Devlin was playing ahead of Fallon for the 19s now?
01/02/2012, 10:37 PM
I thought Conor Devlin was playing ahead of Fallon for the 19s now?
good point tallanted i had forgotten about conor devlin i think he has played more games than Fallon this yr for the 19s... perhaps Devlin might make the first team squad if thats the case!
daithi
09/02/2012, 7:04 PM
Great to see Kirbs back,could be a very significant signing...............
http://www.longfordleader.ie/sport/soccer/longford_town_fc_welcome_back_alan_kirby_1_3506656
09/02/2012, 8:24 PM
Great to see Kirbs back,could be a very significant signing...............
http://www.longfordleader.ie/sport/soccer/longford_town_fc_welcome_back_alan_kirby_1_3506656
just spotted this on the town website the link to the longford leader. he came on as sub in pats game.. I am made up if we pull this off! I am surprised Dundalk didnt get him!
09/02/2012, 8:30 PM
I'd imagine he'll be signing or he wouldn't have come to the match. It's not like he'd be on trial. The others may be though, Keogh and Duffy.
09/02/2012, 8:47 PM
I'd imagine he'll be signing or he wouldn't have come to the match. It's not like he'd be on trial. The others may be though, Keogh and Duffy.
i heard Keogh and Duffy are on trial through a reliable source.. duffy is with a boyband at present!
09/02/2012, 9:18 PM
good point tallanted i had forgotten about conor devlin i think he has played more games than Fallon this yr for the 19s... perhaps Devlin might make the first team squad if thats the case!
I think Conor Devlin had to pull out at the start of the season due to school commitments (he's up in Dublin) I'm great friends with him though and I can tell ya he's top class (likes to think he's good outfield like all goalkeepers too)
09/02/2012, 9:21 PM
i heard Keogh and Duffy are on trial through a reliable source.. duffy is with a boyband at present!
Which keogh and duffy is that now?
09/02/2012, 9:23 PM
Which keogh and duffy is that now?
karl keogh ex wexford youths and jamie duffy who played with us for one season under alan mathews in 07 and also played for shamrock rovers, dundalk and drogheda!
09/02/2012, 9:30 PM
Ye thought it was them u were on about. Did an interview with karl last season while he was at Wexford really nice fella but haven't seen much of him as a player. Duffy was great with us the year we went down I thought, he had a decent cross on him and worked up and down, always wondered where he Had got too, what age is he now he was still quite young when he was with us, would be good signings IMO....were almost set, without doubt strongest squad since we were relegated.
Cabs88
09/02/2012, 10:31 PM
karl keogh ex wexford youths and jamie duffy who played with us for one season under alan mathews in 07 and also played for shamrock rovers, dundalk and drogheda!
Always rated Duffy, didnt get enough game time under Matthews, if memory serves he scored a great goal v Bray in a 3-1 victory in the carlisle grounds that season, a great game. We went one down iirc and won 3-1, the great escape was in motion then!
I though we were short on wide players (of quality) and I feel kirbs addition and perhaps that of Duffy could be very astute...
Shaping with a 3 man midfield I think (James-Salmo-Kirbs) Behind a front three of (when fit) Crawley, Bermingham and Shaw.. Exciting times ahead...
09/02/2012, 11:30 PM
good lord we actually do have a good squad it really happened. we'll just win ever game 3-2 ta feck.
Hope Duffy signs like the rest I thought he was great last time he was here.
10/02/2012, 8:08 PM
I think Jamie must be 27/28 now i reckon..
10/02/2012, 8:51 PM
He's 28 I think. I see the Town site says it's "likely" that Kirby will be the last signing. I guess it depends on how much more can be squeezed out of the budget.
L.T.F.C.
10/02/2012, 9:24 PM
I'm surprised that people liked Duffy. Thought he was a headless chicken last time round, and since the boyband thing I can't take him seriously.
10/02/2012, 10:12 PM
I'm surprised that people liked Duffy. Thought he was a headless chicken last time round, and since the boyband thing I can't take him seriously.
Haha, I asked my missus about that band and she heard about them anyway, never knew about it myself..
Well Div 1 is fairly ****e this year so if he puts a decent shift in he will do very will for us
L.T.F.C.
10/02/2012, 10:15 PM
Get a load of this!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T5xFpe1ZIo0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T5xFpe1ZIo0)
10/02/2012, 11:03 PM
Thats a 1st division standard Boy Band anyway :D
11/02/2012, 5:45 PM
Kirbs.. Kirbs will tear you apart..
Welcome back Alan.
11/02/2012, 8:44 PM
Extratime.ie reckon David McGill won't be joining us after all. What's gone on there? A bit disappointing but if there was a choice between him and Kirby then it's Kirbs every time.
11/02/2012, 9:53 PM
Ever since he 'signed' McGill that is people have been saying to me that's not yet confirmed and things along those lines so obviously something going on there with regards to him not signing but as said above if it's between him and Kirbs there's only 1 option.
Alan kirby is a Longford town fan, alan kirby is a Longford town fan dadadadadaadadadadada great to see him back, legend.
11/02/2012, 11:22 PM
He must have agreed to sign or TC wouldn't have told the club to announce it. He was up at training afterwards too according to some of the players on Twitter. Anyhow given that he wouldn't be fit until May anyway and there's always a doubt as to how a player will come back it may be for the best in the long run, good as he is when fully fit. I wonder if his u-turn allowed the club to up the offer to Kirbs a little, or whether somebody like Duffy might sign now instead?
L.T.F.C.
12/02/2012, 12:39 AM
I'd much rather McGill than Duffy!
12/02/2012, 1:04 AM
Yeah I know but..and I genuinely don't know..it could have been McGill or Kirby or rather that losing McGill freed up a bit more to move towards what Kirby wanted. We'll have to wait and see what the circumstances are really. We might be able to get someone else in be it Duffy or anyone else. That said the club are working off a small budget and have done great do far by the looks of things.
12/02/2012, 11:23 AM
Kirby and Duffy for McGill, wouldnt be bad business if it did plan out that way.