View Full Version : city v nantes: second leg predictions

Ruairi
18/07/2004, 6:37 PM
i'm gonna go optimisitic,we ARE gonna go through.

2-0, georgie and doyler

18/07/2004, 6:39 PM
Im going to agree with Roar and say 2-0 City, with Dan Murray and Danny Murphy scoring.

adamcarr
18/07/2004, 6:40 PM
2-0 Fennaldo and Flynnaldinho with the goals!

eoinh
18/07/2004, 6:52 PM
i dont think we'll get through.

Dear God, hope im wrong.

They said on County Sound that there was 400 city fans in Nantes. Also said they were great ambassadors for Cork and Ireland.

When City were 3-0 down they were singing "we're going to beat you 4-3 at the cross" :D

Storysham
18/07/2004, 7:30 PM
Theres no point predicting anything else but a 2-0 win, becuse thats what we need at least. City can do it, its not beyond the realms of possibility, i just hope the two goal cushion doesnt stop people coming to see the game.

18/07/2004, 8:06 PM
I'd say 3:1 Flynnie, Fenn and Doyler !! :p

Eric
18/07/2004, 9:44 PM
I reckon it`s gonna be a game with a few goals in it, not sure which way they`ll go though.

Can`t see City keeping a clean sheet, Nantes too good!!!

2-1 to City

18/07/2004, 9:49 PM
to put a downer on it i would say nantes have another 20& in the tank if they need it :confused:

19/07/2004, 2:51 PM
Fenn admits Nantes best he's faced
19/07/2004 - 14:31:20

Cork City striker Neale Fenn has said FC Nantes were the best team he has ever played against but believes City still have a chance if the French are overconfident.

Fenn’s late strike gives City a priceless away goal and a 3-1 defeat in their InterToto Cup quarter-final clash from the Beaujoire Stadium in Brittany last night.

“FC Nantes were the best team we have played against so far in the competition. They moved the ball quickly and they were super fit," Fenn told the Evening Echo today.

"Whether they fancy it next weekend or not we don’t know. They might think they have already won the tie and maybe not try as hard as they might do,” he said.

19/07/2004, 3:03 PM
I think we will get an honourable draw, and bow out of this competition with our heads held high, and having garnered a lot of respect for the eL.

DolansWaistcoat
19/07/2004, 4:27 PM
3-1 with a last minute goal from us and we beat them on penalties with about five thousand ppl behind the shed to cheer us on,Mick Devine will be the new packie bonner v Romania,Italia 90. :cool:

Eric
19/07/2004, 7:17 PM
with about five thousand ppl behind the shed to cheer us on

Doubt you'd be able to fit about 5000 in the space behind the shed and the exterior wall!!!! :p

19/07/2004, 7:35 PM
Doubt you'd be able to fit about 5000 in the space behind the shed and the exterior wall!!!! :p

to be fair he didn't say the 5000 people behind the shed would be in the ground :D

yur man
20/07/2004, 12:15 AM
im goin for a 2-1 honourable exit, but u never know

im back home for it too so i cant wait. it was lookin like cork were goin to be playin away to ucd when i was on hols there but now its nantes at home :D

and its my first time too at the cross :eek:

DolansWaistcoat
20/07/2004, 7:23 AM
Great game for your 1st at the X. :)

20/07/2004, 9:12 AM
sorry lads

my heart says to 2-0 to city but

my head says 2-0 to nantes

20/07/2004, 9:16 AM
and its my first time too at the cross :eek:

You'd better make sure you've got your tickets early so to avoid missing out.

keeno
20/07/2004, 10:50 AM
i dont think we'll get through.

Dear God, hope im wrong.

They said on County Sound that there was 400 city fans in Nantes. Also said they were great ambassadors for Cork and Ireland.

When City were 3-0 down they were singing "we're going to beat you 4-3 at the cross" :D

508 away fans came up on the board during the game, the nantes stoped singing when they went up three nil. We were three nil down and didn't stop singing once! Great Weekend. Even the Nantes Supporters showed respect to us by clapping to the city fans as they were leaving the ground. Fair Play. :)

Bossman Scally
20/07/2004, 10:58 AM
My heart says 2-0, but my head says 1-1. Let's be honest, you have got to there on Saturday, just in case we do it! Imagine what you can say in few years time....."I saw Dave Barry score against Munich and I saw City beat Nantes at the X"! :)

20/07/2004, 10:58 AM
2-0 City

WE WILL DO THIS

early goal.. nantes under the cosh...city attacking the shed 2nd half...dan murray up from the back.. corner kick.. 85th min.. cross ..header.. 2-0

MAGIC

20/07/2004, 11:38 AM
City 1 Nantes 5

DolansWaistcoat
20/07/2004, 1:23 PM
City 1 Nantes 5

There's always feckin one! :rolleyes: ;)

Hope your not right though I really,really do. :(

20/07/2004, 1:26 PM
Hope your not right though I really,really do. :(

I never am ;)

Shelsman
20/07/2004, 4:48 PM
Well lads, here's my guess:

Head says: City 2 Nantes 1
Heart says: City 2 Nantes 0

COME ON CITY !!!!!

20/07/2004, 5:36 PM
2-1 to city. can't see us going through, they're a great side, and they're just too quick going down the left. Be nice to sign off with a win and get back to the league-which is the most important thing after all

Shelsman
21/07/2004, 12:52 PM
2-1 to city. can't see us going through, they're a great side, and they're just too quick going down the left. Be nice to sign off with a win and get back to the league-which is the most important thing after all

Do you think he will drop Lordan and bring in O'Halloran?

Ruairi
21/07/2004, 1:02 PM
might be an idea, o'halloran would ad a little more steel down our right side and stifle nante's attacking abilities down that side

21/07/2004, 1:13 PM
I'd leave Lordan where he is, if he's getting put under too much pressure Mucka, Greg or Hoggy can do a good back up job. But I say stick with the team that has gotten us this far.

21/07/2004, 1:23 PM
Zero chance Dolan will change team if Lordan had a 'mare.

21/07/2004, 2:56 PM
The only way I'd drop Lordon was if Hoggie was deemed to be fit.

I'd say we'll lose 2-1 on the night:(

Nantes are top class

ollie
21/07/2004, 3:22 PM
sorry lads

my heart says to 2-0 to city but

my head says 2-0 to nantes

i'm along the same lines as the corner.they are at the beginning of their season and will get better.fingers crossed that i'm wrong

BOF
21/07/2004, 3:26 PM
We will eat them alive

City 5 Nantes 0

brendan