View Full Version : 2014 World Cup qualifying
DannyInvincible
13/09/2013, 7:35 PM
Who replaces Cape Verde?
Tunisia top the group (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_(CAF)#Group_B) in place of Cape Verde after being awarded a 3-0 victory and will now enter the third round play-offs as one of the seeded teams (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_(CAF)#Third_roun d).
14/09/2013, 4:16 PM
Tough, but not that tough on Cape Verde. They fielded a player who was serving a ban after getting sent off in a game against Eq Guinea, a game which was forfeited 3-0 in Cape Verde's favour, because EQ G fielded ........ an ineligible player :)
But Cape Verde had lost that game, before it was forfeited.
Tunisia advance, probably on merit.
In fact Eq Guinea had 2 games struck off against Cape Verde.
17/09/2013, 2:27 PM
AFRICAN 2014 PLAY-OFFS -
Ivory Coast v Senegal
Ethiopia v Nigeria
Tunisia v Cameroon
Ghana v Egypt
Burkina Faso v Algeria
Closed Account 2
18/09/2013, 11:15 AM
Switzerland aren't mathematically home and dry just yet. You need to pay more attention to your group. :)
If Switzerland lose 2-0 in Albania and Slovenia win 2-0 home to Norway on the 11th then going into the last match which is Switzerland vs Slovenia, I think a 2-0 win for the Slovenes here will see both level on 18 points and +5 goals, I think Slovenia would be ahead due to having scored a goal more.
Iceland can also finish top if they win both their games (home to Cyprus then away in Norway) and Switzerland lose both of their last games (scores / goal difference doesnt matter in this scenario). Or, again if Iceland win both of their remaining games and Switzerland only pick up a point Iceland could finish above them on goal difference but would probably need a hefty victory (say a 4-0 or 5-0).
I want to talk about the European play-offs. Nine groups, eight places. Looking at the format it seems to me that it will be the second placed team from Group B or Group E that will have the least impressive final record, meaning it will be Denmark/Bulgaria or Iceland/Norway/Slovenia to be denied a shot at the promised land??
If the games go the way I feel they will, we would end up with the following eight contenders:
Croatia
Denmark (I feel they will sneak in at expense of Group E R.up)
Sweden
Turkey (The force is with them now)
Portugal
Greece
Ukraine
France
Going by the FIFA rankings the four seeds would then be:
Croatia
Portugal
Greece
Sweden
But, in my opinion, Turkey, Denmark, France and Ukraine are all well capable of upsetting any of those four. I know it's impossible to predict the draw, but these could end up the closest and most exciting Euro section play-offs ever.
AFRICAN 2014 PLAY-OFFS -
Ivory Coast v Senegal
Ethiopia v Nigeria
Tunisia v Cameroon
Ghana v Egypt
Burkina Faso v Algeria
Can't wait for these games. Africa is always fascinating and this new format is so much better than the old group winner one. I can see a few upsets here.
Cote D'Ivoire are strong and have impressed, but they have choked so often in recent years, in African Cup of Nations especially that I honestly can see this powerful young Senegal team really giving them problems.
Nigeria should be too strong for an Ethiopian side that have done superbly to reach this stage.
I think Tunisia will take full advantage of their reprieve and knock out an unpredictable Cameroon.
Ghana Egypt is a real clash of titans and easily the toughest to call, but I just think home advantage and the hunger to reach the finals for the first time since 1990 not to mention how badly the country needs a lift will fire the Pharoh's to glory.
I also see a clean sweep for North African giants with Algeria returning to the finals for the first time since a little Argie lit up the world in Mexico 86!
Whatever happens, I'll be glued to it all and hopefully Eurosport delivers on the coverage.
Closed Account 2
27/09/2013, 10:10 AM
I would go for:
Ivory Coast
Nigeria
Cameroon
Ghana
Algeria
Which I think is the same set of teams that were at the last World Cup (without hosts South Africa).
DannyInvincible
27/09/2013, 2:40 PM
I also see a clean sweep for North African giants with Algeria returning to the finals for the first time since a little Argie lit up the world in Mexico 86!
Algeria qualified as recently as the last World Cup in 2010.
27/09/2013, 6:11 PM
Based on my considerable expertise on African football matters, my vote goes to Cameroon qualifying first,
as things stand now of course.
Tunisia Blues (http://allafrica.com/stories/201309261312.html)
Zizou
30/09/2013, 11:56 PM
Algeria qualified as recently as the last World Cup in 2010.
They did, didn't they?!!!! Woops.
01/10/2013, 2:06 PM
Hop Suisse, I say.
Uttering of that phrase resulted in an automatic tar and feathering in my house until recently.
DannyInvincible
08/10/2013, 8:39 PM
'FIFA to keep World Cup play-off seeding': http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/worldcup/2013/1008/479178-fifa-to-keep-world-cup-play-off-seeding/
FIFA will once again keep the top four teams apart in the draw for Europe's World Cup qualifying play-offs - despite controversy over the system four years ago.
The draw to see which four of the eight group runners-up will qualify for next summer's finals in Brazil will take place on October 21 at FIFA's headquarters in Zurich.
The top four teams will be seeded according to their FIFA ranking and will play against one of four lower-ranked teams - a system that was criticised by the Republic of Ireland when they were drawn against France for the 2010 World Cup play-off.
Former Ireland boss Giovanni Trapattoni described the seeding system as the "death of football", while Republic goalkeeper Shay Given branded it "disgusting" and "totally unfair on the smaller nations" because the countries had already been seeded in their qualifying groups.
Roy Hodgson's England could be involved in the play-off if results in the final qualifiers against Montenegro on Friday and Poland on Tuesday do not go according to plan.
FIFA said in a statement: "The eight teams will be seeded in two pots with the four highest-ranked teams placed in one pot.
"The ranking will be based on the FIFA/Coca-Cola world ranking published on October 17, 2013. The matches are due to be played on November 15 and November 19 respectively."
There are nine European qualifying groups and the eight best runners-up will go into the play-offs, two legs played on a home-and-away basis, to determine the four remaining European slots for the final tournament.
As one of the qualifying groups has only five teams and the others all have six, the results against teams ranked sixth will not be taken into account when determining who are the best runners-up. It will be decided by points, then goal difference, goals scored, goals scored away from home and if necessary on disciplinary ranking.
Unsurprising news.
08/10/2013, 10:06 PM
Former Ireland boss Giovanni Trapattoni described the seeding system as the "death of football"
i.e. until that time we were seeded.
09/10/2013, 8:46 PM
The group of elegance, Group E, enters a sort of an x rated Tarantino standoff phase between 5 teams.
Tickets for Iceland's home game against Cyprus were sold out in no time, about 10,000 will be there and the rest of the nation watching it on tv.
Not the first time, football has knocked handball aside in popularity for a few days, but it is a rare happening. I have my tickets and will be later catching a recording of the ireland game. Sad that it's come to this, but you gotta go with the bandwagon.
Lagerback's image in coaching has undergone a transformation from staid with Sweden to progressive, adventurous and confident with Iceland.
Considering Sweden haven't changed that much since Lagerback left, except mainly to reap the bounty from the intelligent deployment of agent Zlatan, maybe the cautious side of staid is something more peculiar to Sweden than it is to Lagerback.
11/10/2013, 10:49 PM
Looks like the dud group with the worst 2nd place team will be group B, Denmark or Bulgaria, possibly group D runners up.
Bendtner scored 2 for Denmark against Italy, only for Italy to draw level with the last kick of the game, that was cruel.
Better to be out of running completely, than have the guillotine come down like that.
11/10/2013, 10:55 PM
Classy goal by the Faroes against Kazakhstan
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lE8Q-k-yTo
ArdeeBhoy
11/10/2013, 11:12 PM
Well done Iceland/Island...
:(
Though, if they hunt whales, they can GTF.
JC_GUFC
12/10/2013, 7:11 AM
Looks like the dud group with the worst 2nd place team will be group B, Denmark or Bulgaria, possibly group D runners up.
Bendtner scored 2 for Denmark against Italy, only for Italy to draw level with the last kick of the game, that was cruel.
Better to be out of running completely, than have the guillotine come down like that.
Looks almost certain to be this group Denmark play Malta in their last game so can only achieve 10 points against top 5 teams. Bulgaria same.
Group D Turkey/Romania/Hungary would need to see former 2 lose and Hungary fail to beat Andorra for runners up to be on 10 points.
In Group E because Iceland lost at Cyprus they have enough points to guarantee playoff if they finish 2nd. So only way Group E may miss out is if Iceland lose in Norway and Slovenia draw in Switzerland. Slovenia would then finish 2nd with 10 points against top 5.
12/10/2013, 8:11 AM
Well done Iceland/Island...
:(
Though, if they hunt whales, they can GTF.
Maybe they dont have many cows n sheep up there in iceland?
Ok head on block time - going for all home victories:D
Ivory Coast v Senegal
Ethiopia v Nigeria
Tunisia v Cameroon
Ghana v Egypt
Burkina Faso v Algeria
12/10/2013, 11:04 AM
The 1st goal settled it for Iceland, but the team just kept it going until they got the 2nd. Though it's tough breaking down these compact organised minnows, who camp in their own half.:)
Before the game, a very secure looking Lagerback was quick to put all the praise on the players and buried the perception of the experienced head (like him) needed to be able to handle the pressure that inevitably surrounds the team in this circumstance, he just totally shrugged it off and said 'the boys don't need any managing at all - Iceland should be proud of them'.
In Iceland the team are known as 'the boys', however, when they do well they are known as 'our boys'.
Slovenia have recovered well after losing 3 of the first 4 games, their only 'legend player' Katanec is their coach since game 4. Switzerland have a few weakness but would be amongst a small group of teams knocking on the door of the top 6 in Europe and would give anyone a game.
Switzerland now play Slovenia and a dying Norway take on Iceland in Oslo. The play-off dream comes to the end game and it's looking good but not certified yet for Iceland.
DannyInvincible
15/10/2013, 1:27 AM
"France to speak to Fifa about 'unfair' World Cup play-off seeding system": http://www.theguardian.com/football/2013/oct/14/france-world-cup-seeding-ranking
France believe the seeding system is unfair for the World Cup play-offs in November and plan to ask football's ruling body Fifa to review it ahead of next week's draw.
The world and European champions Spain are three points ahead in Group I and host Georgia in their final qualifier on Tuesday when second-placed France, who look certain to go through to the playoffs, entertain Finland.
The play-off seeds will be determined by Fifa rankings and 25th-placed France face a likely meeting with another big footballing nation.
Les Bleus believe the system is flawed because fewer ranking points were available in the five-nation Group I while the other sections all contained six teams.
"We're going to contact Fifa," the French Federation's president Noël Le Graët told the radio station RMC. "There is a little injustice between the group of five and the groups of six. Our rivals from other groups have been able to score more points ... that's a fact."
I feel a distinct sense of schadenfreude reading this story given the FFF's satisfaction with FIFA's moving of the goal-posts four years ago. In saying that, I do think they also make a valid point.
Metrostars
15/10/2013, 5:26 PM
France complaining about unfair playoffs - now thats a new one :p
15/10/2013, 10:42 PM
African play-off first legs completed. Ghana are basically through after beating Egypt 6-1. Burkina Faso beat Algeria 3-2 while Ethiopia lost 2-1 against Nigeria; the two will still probably be outside bets to qualify as both are away in the return legs. Ivory Coast beat Senegal 3-1 in the other game and have one foot in the draw.
Mexico finally scored at home, and then added a last-minute goal to beat Panama and basically qualify for a play-off against New Zealand, barring some unlikely results tonight. New Zealand will probably be a bit annoyed at having Mexico in the play-off, but given how Mexico are playing, NZ have to have a change.
16/10/2013, 6:48 AM
Amazing end to the CONCACAF qualifiers. Mexico lost 2-1 to Costa Rica, and going into injury time, Panama were 2-1 up against America - that'd mean Panama made the play-off against New Zealand on goals scored. But then the Yanks scored twice in injury time, so Panama are out and Mexico are in the play-offs.
Still, NZ don't seem to have much to fear. Dunno what's happened Mexico this campaign.
Uruguay beat Argentina, but still face a play-off against Jordan.
Closed Account 2
16/10/2013, 11:28 AM
I think the guy who scored the USA's winner (and the goal that kept Mexico alive) was in the Iceland squad for their first two games of qualification this time last year.
Ok head on block time - going for all home victories:D
Ivory Coast v Senegal
Ethiopia v Nigeria
Tunisia v Cameroon
Ghana v Egypt
Burkina Faso v Algeria
Ghana just destroyed Egypt, I can't believe they hammered them in that way. Tunisia/Cameroon and Algeria/Burkina Faso are nicely poised, but the other three are done. I think same 5 qualifiers as last time.
Amazing end to the CONCACAF qualifiers. Mexico lost 2-1 to Costa Rica, and going into injury time, Panama were 2-1 up against America - that'd mean Panama made the play-off against New Zealand on goals scored. But then the Yanks scored twice in injury time, so Panama are out and Mexico are in the play-offs.
Still, NZ don't seem to have much to fear. Dunno what's happened Mexico this campaign.
Uruguay beat Argentina, but still face a play-off against Jordan.
Uruguay will have way too much for Jordan, I watched them twice against Uzbekistan and whilst hearty and well drilled they are very poor on the ball, Suarez and Cavani will also go to town on their defence.
Gutted for Panama. So close to a first ever tournament, the Yanks saving Mexico is a real surprise! Mexico have been so bad, but are New Zealand really much better? I think Mexico to steady the ship, and sneak through, maybe on away goals.
Metrostars
16/10/2013, 5:12 PM
I know that Mexico were not much better but Panama only won 1 of their 10 hex qualifiers, plus lost their last two games.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CKKeSG_bXAU
16/10/2013, 7:48 PM
It could be looking good for Chris Killen et al.
It's actually is a source of inspiration that the likes of Chris Killen could well be gracing the World cup Finals for a 2nd time. If only I kept faith with my very modest talent, I too could have been a Chris Killen.
16/10/2013, 8:03 PM
I think the guy who scored the USA's winner (and the goal that kept Mexico alive) was in the Iceland squad for their first two games of qualification this time last year.
He was an u21 international for Iceland, one of the golden generation and played at the 2011 Euro u21 finals, but he did not answer the call to join the senior squad.
He had no football connection and a minimal identity connection to the USA but he was eligible to play for them. It would be highly unusual for an Icelander to chose another country that he's only a passing connection with, probably unthinkable, probably unprecedented, as with island nations the nationalist pride factor is astonishing, it's just engrained in the dna. From a football point of view he made a good choice, certified qualifiers for the world cup and what a dream that is for a footballer in his situation
Iceland already have 2 ace strikers better than him and usually only use one of them for the first hour, he's a loss but it doesn't really hurt the team.
16/10/2013, 8:22 PM
It is a strange one alright. The islander mentality there probably isn't a lot different to our own.
ArdeeBhoy
16/10/2013, 11:48 PM
Benno will be gutted by Panama's exit, also a bad result for NZ as Mexico will blow them out of the water.
My NZ spies tell me they have no chance this time.
Chris Killen's no mug, a reasonable SPL player, though no where good enough for the 'Tic. You must have had some mighty talent, to match him, geysir?
17/10/2013, 8:34 AM
Benno will be gutted by Panama's exit, also a bad result for NZ as Mexico will blow them out of the water.
Chris Killen's no mug, a reasonable SPL player, though no where good enough for the 'Tic. You must have had some mighty talent, to match him, geysir?
Yeah, lucky i didnt lump the few grand i was thinking, n just had a hundred or so on instead -personal circumstances (travelling, etc) saved me a few bob, phew - they drew with jamaica, and that really cost them.
17/10/2013, 11:27 AM
I did not say Chris was a mug, I referred to him as a modest pro.
Where does modest pro = a mug?
He played a bit in the SPL and didn't play that much after leaving the SPL. He could be better or worse than say Daryl Murphy, I don't know, but he's one of the best players New Zealand have in that position and for a player of modest professional talents, now he has an incredible chance to be in the world cup finals for a 2nd time, in his 30's
What teams in the top 40 even the top 50 in Europe would Chris Killen have a sniff of getting into their squad? So fair play to him for what he has achieved with New Zealand.
Metrostars
17/10/2013, 1:40 PM
He was an u21 international for Iceland, one of the golden generation and played at the 2011 Euro u21 finals, but he did not answer the call to join the senior squad.
He had no football connection and a minimal identity connection to the USA but he was eligible to play for them. It would be highly unusual for an Icelander to chose another country that he's only a passing connection with, probably unthinkable, probably unprecedented, as with island nations the nationalist pride factor is astonishing, it's just engrained in the dna. From a football point of view he made a good choice, certified qualifiers for the world cup and what a dream that is for a footballer in his situation
Iceland already have 2 ace strikers better than him and usually only use one of them for the first hour, he's a loss but it doesn't really hurt the team.
Much like ourselves, the US is quite aggressive in searching out eligible players and then promising them playing time and the potential of playing in every WC as seen with the number of eligible German born players Klinsmann has found. Johannson is a good player, he's doing will in Holland this year. He wasn't so great last Friday against Jamaica but took his goal well against Panama.
As for the US team themselves, Klinsmann has done a good job with them this year. They play a much better possession based game compared with Bradley's team and he's also not afraid to shake things up tactically during the game when he needs to e.g. they had not played so well for the first hour on Friday night so he brings on a couple of subs, makes a few switches in the team and next thing they get the 2 goals.
18/10/2013, 12:29 PM
So England can win the World Cup...
The best part of the lead-in to a World Cup now begins...
1158:
FOOTBALL
West Ham midfielder Joe Cole believes England can win the World Cup next year with a team that "excites" him.
Cole, 31, has 56 England caps and says he has not given up hope of being in Roy Hodgson's 23-man squad for Brazil.
"I'm thinking England can go there and win it," Cole told BBC Sport.
"I know the gaffer will want to play things down and rightly so, but it excites me because I think there is enough talent in the country."
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/24577584
ArdeeBhoy
18/10/2013, 4:50 PM
I did not say Chris was a mug, I referred to him as a modest pro.
Where does modest pro = a mug?
He played a bit in the SPL and didn't play that much after leaving the SPL. He could be better or worse than say Daryl Murphy, I don't know, but he's one of the best players New Zealand have in that position and for a player of modest professional talents, now he has an incredible chance to be in the world cup finals for a 2nd time, in his 30's
What teams in the top 40 even the top 50 in Europe would Chris Killen have a sniff of getting into their squad? So fair play to him for what he has achieved with New Zealand.
'mug'= a figure of speech, not necessarily derogatory!
CK is a journeyman, making up the nos' for NZ, good luck to him. That's all!
21/10/2013, 1:00 PM
play off draw...
Portugal v Sweden
Ukraine v France
Greece v Romania
Iceland v Croatia.
ArdeeBhoy
21/10/2013, 1:24 PM
Good luck Sweden, Ukraine, Greece & Iceland...
21/10/2013, 4:23 PM
Good luck Sweden, Ukraine, Greece & Iceland...
Dont want to see Ronaldo in a final?
ArdeeBhoy
21/10/2013, 5:39 PM
We did. In 2002!
21/10/2013, 9:38 PM
I think this is first time there's been an outdoor intl game of any kind, fixed for mid november in Iceland, could be an issue as there's no undersoil heating on the pitch. That might seem a bit weird when the pitch is located right beside an open air thermal heated pool, in a city where even the pavements are heated, but usually football just moves indoor from November onwards.
It'll be a virtually impossible task for Iceland's back 4 to keep a clean sheet at home against a team like Croatia, best chance is with plan B, the old fashioned way, score more goals than the opposition.
22/10/2013, 11:10 AM
Much like ourselves, the US is quite aggressive in searching out eligible players and then promising them playing time and the potential of playing in every WC as seen with the number of eligible German born players Klinsmann has found. Johannson is a good player, he's doing will in Holland this year. He wasn't so great last Friday against Jamaica but took his goal well against Panama.
As for the US team themselves, Klinsmann has done a good job with them this year. They play a much better possession based game compared with Bradley's team and he's also not afraid to shake things up tactically during the game when he needs to e.g. they had not played so well for the first hour on Friday night so he brings on a couple of subs, makes a few switches in the team and next thing they get the 2 goals.
There are some similarities with ourselves, but Johansson already had an international career, was wanted by his association and is/was an active Icelander. Anybody we pick up, either declares for us (identity), or is not wanted by anyone.
By "aggressive searching", many suspect that includes financial inducements were used to persuade him to declare for the USA.
I suppose this has something to do with the massive commercial potential to sponsors in the event of the USA being certain WC qualifiers.
Somewhere, somebody has worked out to the nth degree, the commercial potential coming from that batch of viewers who casually catch the game on screen for 1 minute before moving on, to the millions who might well be watching another thrilling performance in last 16/qf.
ArdeeBhoy
22/10/2013, 11:19 AM
Interesting little story about some Bosnia fans.
As the comments show, Irish have done similar...
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=525670517526929&set=a.105473786213273.9902.103673066393345&type=1&theater
And something more uplifting?
http://balls.ie/football/kim-kallstrom-and-max/
DannyInvincible
14/11/2013, 9:15 PM
You're not behind this, are you, geysir?: http://countyiceland.ie/
15/11/2013, 1:18 PM
You're not behind this, are you, geysir?: http://countyiceland.ie/
That would would be well below my level of corniness :)
It's play-off time for those countries in the UEFA qual zone.
It's come a long way from this, the first game Iceland played as a new republic in 1946 and a similar crowd 10,000 attended.
http://www.mbl.is/tncache/frimg/dimg_cache/e360x253/7/8/708450.jpg
Looks like the weather will be decent (means barely tolerable) for the game. There's no underground heating on the pitch.
They had imported some special blankets which covered the whole pitch and had been blowing hot air under it to keep the turf defrosted.
http://www.mbl.is/frimg/7/8/708101.jpg
They could have sold 30,000 tickets, that makes it way bigger than Sachin Tendulkar's last game. I'll be there and most every male I know will be there.
It could be a case of what could go wrong, goes wrong, like what happened to Estonia - the ultimate anti climax, or it could be more like Scotland v Netherlands, heroically winning the first leg but getting mercilessly hammered in the 2nd leg. One can dream of a third scenario. Lagerback had said clearly from the outset that the target was to qualify and the squad was good enough. There's some truth in that, there isn't the sense here that he has worked a miracle, it's more that there's a good team there and Lagerback hasn't fcked them up, but gets a lot of credit for astutely organising them tactically.
16/11/2013, 12:23 PM
It was rocking last night in Reykjavik, the weather and pitch were perfect. The crowd atmosphere was the incredible force of nature. Usually the anthem is met with an almost mute humm, the tune just goes too low and too high, goes along in a roller coaster, leading to a himalayan peak at the end. You can't just sing it and merrily meander through the lyrics, you have give it welly from every fibre of your body, last night was the first time everybody gave it welly, going from a whisper to a high pitch to a guttural primeval roar at the end, ballboys, security guys, policemen all standing tall and singing.
The support during the game was a nonstop crescendo of noise, everybody on their feet, except for 1 second of the first minute, when time stood still and everybody just stared at an Iceland defender desperately lunging his leg to clear a certain goal bound shot, most every man stroked their chin. 10 seconds later the ball was nearly in the Croats' net. And that was that for a long while re goal chances. The tempo of the game was relentless, the crowd noise was relentless. Iceland played with 2 strikers and their energy closing down kept Modric playing his football in the Croat half. One of the Iceland strikers went off injured at HT and Eidur Gudjonsson came on, and it was just what was needed, a classy veteran who took no shít and started to boss the bullies.That lasted 5 minutes, the RB got sent off for a last man tackle, it looked innocuous, an ankle clip at worst, the Croat probably would have scored. The LM goes in at RB and Eidur has drop out of the hole back into midfield. The classy Modric then can move and play his football in the Iceland half.
Yet each team only had one real chance in the 2nd half. The final result was celebrated as a deserved victory against the odds
To pull off a scoreless draw with 10 men for 40 minute was no mean feat, but to concede only one real chance during that time was astonishing.
Afterwards the Croats were miserly and condescending with their recognition of went down in the game, I think they could be in for another 15 rounder on tuesday night. The Iceland team are quite confident of finishing the job then.
This performance alone puts to bed forever the idea that this team got lucky to get this far out of a weak group.
DannyInvincible
16/11/2013, 12:51 PM
Great report. I particularly enjoyed how your increasing passion as the telling of the tail developed took you so seamlessly from the past to present tense and back again. Were you singing the anthem yourself? :)
Rakitić certainly made the most of the red-card incident. There was no "tackle". At most, it was a minor-enough holding of the jersey - not even a full-on tug - with the Icelandic keeper possibly well-placed to scoop up the oncoming ball. But as soon as Rakitić went down, the ref didn't really have an option, did he? Jersey-holding is an impediment, after all.
It wasn't totally backs-to-the-wall for Iceland, but Halldórsson did well when called upon. They're are in a good position; nick an away goal and Croatia are in big trouble. Can you see them managing that in Zagreb?
16/11/2013, 10:46 PM
You watched the game or bits of it, Danny?
The anthem is about the 1,000 year old nation. The 'thousand year' (pronounced 'Thusand our') bit keeps repeating and there are only a few other lines.
The trick is not to burst a blood vessels when you sing the last 'thousand year' bit, to save something for the final peak, but that's way above my pitch anyway.
You can get some idea of the last bit here as it was sung last night (after 30 secs at 14.30) Atmosphere at Laugardalsvelli (http://www.ruv.is/frett/god-stemning-a-laugardalsvelli)
I haven't seen the red carded tackle yet on tv, the general view at the game was that Croat was through and something brought him down.If he went down on purpose, he was an idiot because there looked to be a clear goal chance.
I can see a lot of different things happening in the return leg, Iceland have had a good away results. The Croats are expecting the return game to be different because they are playing at home, therefore it's automatic that they will win. Though there was one of the Croat journalists who was more restrained and took full account of how little they created against 10 men. The Croat coach's explanation of that difficulty was extracted from the UEFA coaching manual, chapter 5 paragrapgh 1. 'on being reduced in numbers, the home team can find something extra which make them more difficult to break down than if they had 11 players, sometimes it's more difficult to play against ...........
I can judge the optimism of the nation and the attention the game is going to get, by the queues outside the State off licences on match day. Fortunately the one closest to me stacks the beer for the customers, by the pallet load in an open warehouse type space.
I shout over the throngs to the fork lift driver, "hey, where the fcking Grolsch gone to?" "sold out" he says, "Any Gull?" shouts another "just a sec, I'm getting it" as he scoops up a pallet load and swings through the crowd, who part like the red sea to make way.
DannyInvincible
17/11/2013, 12:07 AM
I just saw highlights, I'm afraid. The sending-off incident occurs after 1:22 in this reel:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTQiggEu21o
Just watching it again closely - the quality's not amazing, mind - and I'm not even sure the jersey was being held. There doesn't look to have been much in it from the view behind the goal, but it's difficult to see for sure as the two players involved only come into view as the Croatian takes his tumble. It was actually Ivan Perišić who went down after Rakitić played the ball through. Perišić might well have felt the hand of Skúlason on his arm and decided to hit the deck.
Skúlason once played for Arsenal, of course.
http://www.arsenal.com/assets/_files/scaled/510x250/jun_12/gun__1340350468_skulason.jpg
Back in the '70s, by the looks of it.
I really hope Iceland can go on and qualify now. Not that I particularly care for Iceland. Well, I dread to think what the off-licence queues of sorrow might look like, but, mostly, I just look forward to reading more of these stories.