View Full Version : Ireland V Estonia - Tuesday, 15th November 2011 - Euro 2012 Playoff 2nd Leg
theworm2345
15/11/2011, 7:16 PM
Ward!!! Duffer in inspired form tonight.
15/11/2011, 7:17 PM
Wardy!!!
Metrostars
15/11/2011, 7:17 PM
Warddddddddddddddddddd
MagicMon
15/11/2011, 7:20 PM
Yes!!!!! Game over!!
Ward's played well tonight, an example of what can happen with Duff on the left and a full back that is able to get forward.
Good job too, the game was settling into the sort of match that reminds everyone why Trap gets criticized.
theworm2345
15/11/2011, 7:25 PM
Paper bloody airplanes, Stalin had the right idea, shoot "fans" like that!
YBIG were responsible for them in 2009, not sure about this time. A thinning of their ranks would definitely be a positive thing.
Apparently the wave is going up which is perhaps representative of all of the extra people who filled the seats that are usually empty.
15/11/2011, 7:26 PM
I suppose you could take Robbie off now, mind you I think he has some goal scoring targets to try and hit.
MagicMon
15/11/2011, 7:40 PM
Slovakia (and Armenia) must be raging now. Estonia don't look like they're anywhere near good enough to get to a tournament.
Spudulika
15/11/2011, 7:44 PM
I was almost going to type a very Irish thing (that we've all heard but in relation to pedo's, granny bashers, junkies or sky league fans) - "Hitler had the right idea, gas them all". But then I figured, it gives out the wrong idea and I could get into trouble, even though what happened in the German Reich was totally wrong.
Spudulika
15/11/2011, 7:46 PM
The way sky are covering this you'll be seeing a red haired leprechaun with a pipe in one hand and a pig under his arm being interviewed. Shocking.
15/11/2011, 7:48 PM
The way sky are covering this you'll be seeing a red haired leprechaun with a pipe in one hand and a pig under his arm being interviewed. Shocking.
They're coming live from Sligo?
theworm2345
15/11/2011, 8:00 PM
Well Shay if there was ever a time for that this was it.
So frustrating to be drawing....they are rubbish...we should have just punished them much earlier
Brendan 82
15/11/2011, 8:04 PM
McGeady should play when we have a bit of the ball and space (for his skill); Hunt when the backs are up against the wall (for his energy/commitment)
15/11/2011, 8:05 PM
4 more shots like that and we are out!!:think:
theworm2345
15/11/2011, 8:10 PM
Why Cox?
ped_ped
15/11/2011, 8:17 PM
'Only one home-based player in their squad of 23 . . .' :p
Brendan 82
15/11/2011, 8:17 PM
At least the games in the tournament are not at home. We are crap at home
15/11/2011, 8:22 PM
Sky: "There will be sense of anti-climax if Ireland can't finish here with a win..."
Really, there won't be. We're going to the Euros.
TrapAPony
15/11/2011, 8:23 PM
Sky: "There will be sense of anti-climax if Ireland can't finish here with a win..."
Really, there won't be. We're going to the Euros.
That's true but we should be beating this Estonian side
cavan_fan
15/11/2011, 8:25 PM
We are, It's 5-1
15/11/2011, 8:27 PM
That's true but we should be beating this Estonian side
as useless as this Estonian side are, you can't really judge a team 4-0 up from the first leg IMO. It's an odd night in football terms.
theworm2345
15/11/2011, 8:35 PM
Well that second half sure as **** wasn't worth it but I can't complain
15/11/2011, 8:39 PM
Ah no that link's gone. is there anywhere I can see the interviews and celebrations now?
15/11/2011, 8:44 PM
http://www.firstrowsports.tv/watch/92085/1/watch-ireland-vs-estonia.html
stilll here, but it's pretty much over now.
15/11/2011, 8:44 PM
Sorted ta.
Noelys Guitar
15/11/2011, 8:54 PM
I'm off to the pub. Tie was won away and these of type of games are impossible to get into first gear. Trap already thinking about who we get. Great achievment and just look at the teams that have qualified. Going to be a great competition.
MagicMon
15/11/2011, 8:56 PM
What other FA head would have the ego to be giving TV interviews? Cringeworthy.
theworm2345
15/11/2011, 8:58 PM
What other FA head would have the ego to be giving TV interviews? Cringeworthy.
Or throw their tie in to the stand.
15/11/2011, 8:58 PM
Delaney is Brent.
"When people say to me: John would you rather be thought of as a sound man for the pints man or a great boss? My answer’s always the same, to me, they’re not mutually exclusive.”
15/11/2011, 9:09 PM
Delaney was good in the interview.
He use to spend the time distancing himself from the failures, now he has the knack of getting close to the winner.
Time for a Kill Bill 3 and finish the job.
Hardly has the lap of honor has been completed, Bill facing the panel, poses the question (which he got from some considered source) - is it not true that our 442 will be unravelled at the Euros?
MagicMon
15/11/2011, 9:11 PM
Poor to watch, forgettable matches, we're in serious danger of getting torn apart by the likes of Spain... but f*ck it, we're through to Euro 2012 :eek::eek::eek:
15/11/2011, 9:21 PM
Glad that's over. Thank Christ. Now for pints. b2bw, you're officially on notice for Polkraine.
15/11/2011, 9:27 PM
I'm hanging on a bit longer,
to watch Portugal 3 Bosnia 2 66mins gone
5-2 now - humdinger - Portugal have scored a few of the best goals i have seen this year!
French Toasht
15/11/2011, 9:53 PM
Just to put the scale of our achievement into perspective, we are the only third seeds to qualify for Euro 2012. When the draw was made we were ranked 25th in Europe and to grab one of the 14 qualification spots available is an impressive accomplishment. Fair play Trap, genuinely believe this qualification is more impressive than any of our previous successful qualification campaigns.
15/11/2011, 9:56 PM
Tweets going round on seedings as follows: 1: POL UKR ESP NED; 2: GER ITA ENG RUS; 3: CRO GRE SWE POR; 4: DEN FRA CZE IRL
15/11/2011, 10:02 PM
Tweets going round on seedings as follows: 1: POL UKR ESP NED; 2: GER ITA ENG RUS; 3: CRO GRE SWE POR; 4: DEN FRA CZE IRL
It's possible to get Spain AND Germany.
http://images.memegenerator.net/images/408x/552601.jpg
cavan_fan
15/11/2011, 10:03 PM
Poland, russia, greece. Not spain, germany, portugal
Crosby87
15/11/2011, 10:08 PM
Spain and Germany. Good Lord.
backstothewall
15/11/2011, 10:11 PM
Hardly has the lap of honor has been completed, Bill facing the panel, poses the question (which he got from some considered source) - is it not true that our 442 will be unravelled at the Euros?
Sick and tired of Bill and his loaded questions to be honest. I cannot remember him ever putting the other side and suggesting that Giles and Dunphy are talking out of their respective arses. I think Brady likes him on a personal level too much to challenge him on it, but it is the job of any self respecting journo to play devils advocate. Not set up questions to further the well established agenda of his panel.
it's high time the old fool was put out to pasture and George Hamilton was given the comfy chair. Perfect job for him with his ticker trouble and all.
15/11/2011, 10:12 PM
Poland, russia, greece. Not spain, germany, portugal
I think I'd actually rather England than Russia.
Poland, England, Greece and Ireland is my perfect group.
15/11/2011, 10:36 PM
Poland, England, Greece and Ireland is my perfect group.
That's literally what I just said on the phone to my uncle there now. I would love to draw England, and then Poland and Greece are the weaker candidates in the other groups. Sod getting Russia, they can tear you apart. I have a strong feeling we'll draw England, and I'd really look forward to it.
Imagine drawing Spain, Germany and Portugal...
MagicMon
15/11/2011, 10:37 PM
My perfect group would be:
Poland (wouldn't actually care if it was Spain or Holland, they'd be as likely to beat every other team too so it would leave 2nd spot open)
Italy (nothing special and Trap always pulls out a big performance against them)
Greece (though the game would be awful to watch)
Worst possible group would be with Germany and Portugal.
And while I agree that this qualification was a great achievement, 2002 was the best- 3rd seed and up against 2 Euro2000 semi-finalists, but ending up with an unbeaten record (from playing some lovely football) that would've qualified in any other group and would've seen us go through as best 2nd place team if that had been available.
backstothewall
15/11/2011, 10:52 PM
It's hard to know
On one hand I think the first seed doesn't matter. If anything it is to our advantage for it to be Spain. They will beat everyone, but Poland/Ukraine will probably drop points somewhere and will be looking at us like a lion looks at a bison in one of those BBC documentaries. That being the case it is crucial to get England as they are the only one of the 2nd seeds I can see us turning over, with their usual arrogance and cockyness.
But then I think that if we can get a result against one of the hosts, that they will pick up points somewhere and that will give us the opportunity to get through.
If we do get one of the hosts it would be great to be involved in the opening game. It's always such a great occasion and such a nervous occasion for the hosts
15/11/2011, 11:01 PM
If we do get one of the hosts it would be great to be involved in the opening game. It's always such a great occasion and such a nervous occasion for the hosts
I'd completely forgotten about this possibility. God, I love being back in the big time.
Noelys Guitar
15/11/2011, 11:14 PM
It's hard to know
On one hand I think the first seed doesn't matter. If anything it is to our advantage for it to be Spain. They will beat everyone, but Poland/Ukraine will probably drop points somewhere and will be looking at us like a lion looks at a bison in one of those BBC documentaries. That being the case it is crucial to get England as they are the only one of the 2nd seeds I can see us turning over, with their usual arrogance and cockyness.
But then I think that if we can get a result against one of the hosts, that they will pick up points somewhere and that will give us the opportunity to get through.
Agree with that Backtowalsall. I would love to draw Spain. I actually believe we can do OK against them especailly if we draw them in the first game. Don't want to draw Russia as they have the mojo on us at the moment. I would prefer us in a group of death as we always seem to somehow get out of it.
Noelys Guitar
15/11/2011, 11:19 PM
lads can anyone help. I can't play the RTE clips of post match interviews? Is anyone else having this problem or is there something I need to download? I can get Monday night football (LOI ) no problem and all the RTE radio stuff but can't play the TV interviews? Thanks in advance
backstothewall
15/11/2011, 11:21 PM
In fairness it was hard not to agree with me. I said it would be great to get Spain or Holland, or that it would be great to get Poland or Ukraine
God, I love being back in the big time.
****ing great isn't it?
15/11/2011, 11:55 PM
My perfect group would be:
Poland
Italy
Greece
Yeah, I'd go with this too.
Though that said, we have tended to raise our game against the bigger sides (Russia apart, which kind of only leaves Italy and France...). Also, I've a feeling we could frustrate a 0-0 draw out of tikky-takky Spain, who struggle to break down massed defences (like against England on Friday).