View Full Version : Sligo confirm Cook in talks with St Johnstone.

25/10/2011, 4:21 PM
I know it's specific to Sligo, but thought it was news enough to be in the main forum.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/1025/cookp_sligorovers.html

Sligo Rovers and St Johnstone have confirmed that Paul Cook is having talks about the vacancy with the Scottish Premier League side.

Saints chairman Geoff Brown told BBC Scotland: "We have got permission from Sligo to speak to Paul Cook and we are in the process of talking to him.

"We've had lots of applicants and, looking at them, we've made a lot of crosses and a number of ticks."

Rovers gave the Saints permission to speak to Cook, with compensation provisionally agreed for the Liverpudlian who is under contract with the Bit o' Red.

EDIT : It's already in the transfer rumours thread, so a mod can delete this or not as they see fit.

PartySaint
25/10/2011, 4:28 PM
Buckley for Sligo???

Mr Maroon
25/10/2011, 4:34 PM
There's a very professional man from West Belfast who would be perfect for the job IMO.

25/10/2011, 5:46 PM
There's a very professional man from West Belfast who would be perfect for the job IMO.

Also a well loved man living in Killybegs who would be perfect for the job. Im sure the Sligo fans would be head over heels to get either of those guys.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/10/2011, 6:17 PM
There's somethings that people should not joke about

25/10/2011, 9:54 PM
see in the paper today that fenlon has being linked with the sligo rovers job. what would the sligo heads think of that?

Verdebianco
26/10/2011, 3:20 AM
I'd imagine Nutsey would be the obvious choice but being the doyens of football they should get Martin Russell and continue the sanctimony.

26/10/2011, 8:14 AM
Ian Foster? ;P

Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/10/2011, 8:37 AM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/1026/cookp_sligo.html

26/10/2011, 9:14 AM
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/6969/cook-staying-sligo-rovers/

Statements from both St. Johnstone and Sligo Rovers this morning have confirmed that manager Paul Cook is staying in charge of the Bit o Red.

In a statement from Scottish Premier League club St. Johnstone, they have indicated that whilst they did talk with Cook, a failure to reach personal terms meant the Saints hunt for a new boss continues.

Their statement in full reads:

The club’s search for a replacement manager continues today but it does not appear that the successor to Derek McInnes will be Paul Cook.

The current manager of Sligo Rovers has been in highly-publicised talks with St Johnstone about the vacant post but the two parties have been unable to reach agreement on personal terms and the club therefore moves on to other options.

ger121
26/10/2011, 11:59 AM
Are the Sligo fans happy he is staying? He is a great Manager and one of the characters in the league, so I'd be glad he isn't leaving. Does seem strange though, he couldn't agree terms with St Johnstone. I would have presumed money wouldn't have been the issue, as he was bound to have been offered more than he is currently on with Sligo. Maybe it was the length of the contract?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/10/2011, 12:06 PM
Are the Sligo fans happy he is staying? He is a great Manager and one of the characters in the league, so I'd be glad he isn't leaving. Does seem strange though, he couldn't agree terms with St Johnstone. I would have presumed money wouldn't have been the issue, as he was bound to have been offered more than he is currently on with Sligo. Maybe it was the length of the contract?

I'm delighted he's staying. But I would think we're just delaying the inevitable really as surely he'll be across the water at some stage.

Redzer
26/10/2011, 12:29 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/15423385.stm
The reason on BBC is that he did not want to uproot his family.

CiaranR
26/10/2011, 12:50 PM

I wondered this myself. I'm glad he's staying though as he's done a stellar job and he's good for the league in general. Him and his hoarse scouse voice!

dublinred
26/10/2011, 1:06 PM

Glad has is staying for now but expect him to go to one of his former clubs in the championship soon , money not an issue to him as he is loaded invested well during his playing days and still runs a few pubs in merseyside.

born2bwild
26/10/2011, 3:49 PM
Well, I wanted Shels and UCD to win and Paul Cook to stay with Sligo. Meatloaf has a song about that.

26/10/2011, 4:02 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/15423385.stm
The reason on BBC is that he did not want to uproot his family.
Sounds like a bit of a convenient excuse. Why ask to speak to them in the first place if he didn't want to move his family? Unless he would have moved them if he was given a longer contract?

HulaHoop
26/10/2011, 4:18 PM
I would have presumed money wouldn't have been the issue, as he was bound to have been offered more than he is currently on with Sligo.

You would think that wouldn't you. I'm sure he was offered better terms than his official contract with Sligo but obviously St Johnstone weren't willing to match or better what he allegedly gets from "supplemental" income up in the north west...

Glad he's staying actually, the thought of Nutsy managing Sligo had me really worried about the league next year. At least with Cook you're almost guaranteed Sligo will get off to a poor start and end up having to play catch up for the rest of the season.

poster
26/10/2011, 4:32 PM
At least with Cook you're almost guaranteed Sligo will get off to a poor start and end up having to play catch up for the rest of the season.

Did Michael O'Neill ask you to post this? What does he have to do to be offered a decent job?

HulaHoop
26/10/2011, 5:04 PM
Did Michael O'Neill ask you to post this? What does he have to do to be offered a decent job?

Truth hurt?

2008 First 12 games - 4 defeats, 3 draws.
2009 First 12 games - 5 defeats, 5 draws.
2010 First 12 games - 3 defeats, 7 draws.
2011 First 12 games - 4 defeats, 2 draws

It's your slow starts each year that are costing you dearly. The first third of the season is where you are dropping the most points and end up playing catch up every season. An ultimate professional like Nutsy usually has his players in peak condition from day 1 in the season which is why I said I prefer Cook is staying rather than the prospect of Nutsy managing Sligo.

dong
26/10/2011, 5:24 PM
Truth hurt?

It's your slow starts each year that are costing you dearly. The first third of the season is where you are dropping the most points and end up playing catch up every season. An ultimate professional like Nutsy usually has his players in peak condition from day 1 in the season which is why I said I prefer Cook is staying rather than the prospect of Nutsy managing Sligo.

It's a long off season so there are no guarantees he will be with us next season.

It's a fair point you make about slow starts to the league but you are one sad sad man to be on here typing about Paul Cook the day after your team has won the league. I'd say the rest of your clubs fans are rightly still on the beer celebrating their achievement and fair play to them, so would I be, but yourself and Mypost would rather be getting your kicks with your pants around your ankles typing about "supplemental" income.

poster
26/10/2011, 5:51 PM
Truth hurt?.

Where did I deny our slow starts?

Sheesh, ye Shams... I think some of ye are more worried about us than about yerselves.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/10/2011, 5:56 PM
Truth hurt?

Well seeing as our results against Bohs this year are probably what cost us the league getting him away from Bohs will be a start. They took 8 points from us. 8 points we probably should have taken.

Slow start didn't help as per usual but I think it was our form around the Poltova game that did us as we had caught up the points we dropped early on (I think when we bet Shams at home that we were 1 point behind maybe). Then we lost 1, drew 3 and won 1 of the 5 games between the end of July and the start of September to be in the position that when we went to Tallaght we were way behind Shams (something like 5 points and they had a game in hand)

But sure these things happen. Unfortunately we've no idea what manager or squad we'll have next season as most of the league is on 1 year contracts

hoopy
26/10/2011, 6:04 PM
what he allegedly gets from "supplemental" income up in the north west...

A total SMOKEscreen!

poster
26/10/2011, 6:04 PM
Did you get yours?

HulaHoop
26/10/2011, 6:13 PM
It's a long off season so there are no guarantees he will be with us next season.

It's a fair point you make about slow starts to the league but you are one sad sad man to be on here typing about Paul Cook the day after your team has won the league. I'd say the rest of your clubs fans are rightly still on the beer celebrating their achievement and fair play to them, so would I be, but yourself and Mypost would rather be getting your kicks with your pants around your ankles typing about "supplemental" income.

Well unfortunately with it being a working day it isn't possible to spend 2 or 3 days out on the ****. I enjoyed great celebrations with our players in Camden Street last night until the early hours and what better way to work off the hangover than come on here and wind up the already hurting Sligo fans about how Cook staying isn't actually the brilliant news you seem to think it is. If I was a Sligo fan I'd rather Cook had gone and get Nutsy in. Who'd be more likely to win the league for you, Cook or Fenlon?

poster
26/10/2011, 6:16 PM
Cook staying isn't actually the brilliant news you seem to think it is.

The feeling's mutual this side of the Shannon as far as MO'N staying with Shams.
There's still hope...

26/10/2011, 7:50 PM
Sounds like a bit of a convenient excuse. Why ask to speak to them in the first place if he didn't want to move his family? Unless he would have moved them if he was given a longer contract?His family don't live in Sligo anymore, they've gone back to Liverpool so that wouldn't be an issue. He does wan't a job closer to home though.

He was on newstalk and said the contract offer was non-negotiable and he wasn't accepting the terms so that's why he rejected, nothing else.

born2bwild
26/10/2011, 8:14 PM
I reckon of the three managers Fenlon is the best, Cook and MON are not as good. I saw both rovers early on this year: unfit NdO and chaotic non-passing shams are evidence that something serious was awry. In the end, sheer quality (in cook's case) and quality a d depth (MON) saved them.
As a Shels fan I wouldn't swap Matthews with any of them.

26/10/2011, 8:33 PM
His family don't live in Sligo anymore, they've gone back to Liverpool so that wouldn't be an issue. He does wan't a job closer to home though.

He was on newstalk and said the contract offer was non-negotiable and he wasn't accepting the terms so that's why he rejected, nothing else.

Did I miss hear that about his family liking Sligo? I'm sure he said they still were there.

26/10/2011, 8:33 PM
Stephen Kenny to get a second chance in Scotland?

shellyriver
26/10/2011, 10:00 PM
Stephen Kenny back in Scotland? Probably if its the Highland Leagues.

If Nutsy is so much in demand, how come he was behind Cook in the list for St Johnstone.

Straightstory
27/10/2011, 9:26 AM
Stephen Kenny back in Scotland? Probably if its the Highland Leagues.

If Nutsy is so much in demand, how come he was behind Cook in the list for St Johnstone.
A bit surprised that Cook is staying in Sligo, but pleased that he is. My favourite LOI manager! Sligo fans must be very pleased.

TiocfaidhArmani
27/10/2011, 3:01 PM
Did I miss hear that about his family liking Sligo? I'm sure he said they still were there.

It's in the papers here today, St Johnstone not happy in talks for a long time and all about the money basically. Never even talked about his assistant. He was wanting the same as the old manager and St Johnstone wanted him to prove himself in the SPL first before getting what the old manager got.

Good for Sligo but the family thing is a smokescreen, he was after more money and wouldn't let up so St. Johnstone pulled the plug.

27/10/2011, 4:02 PM
Good for Sligo but the family thing is a smokescreenCook never said it was his family so it's no smokescreen from him. As I said, his family are back in Liverpool so uprooting them from Sligo is not correct. He wasn't happy with the contract offer, simple. Cook has said this so he's not trying to hide anything.

Dixie Dean
27/10/2011, 4:09 PM
It's in the papers here today, St Johnstone not happy in talks for a long time and all about the money basically. Never even talked about his assistant. He was wanting the same as the old manager and St Johnstone wanted him to prove himself in the SPL first before getting what the old manager got.

Good for Sligo but the family thing is a smokescreen, he was after more money and wouldn't let up so St. Johnstone pulled the plug.

If its in the british press it must be true :rolleyes:

Rasputin
27/10/2011, 4:13 PM
Will the "financial investigation" shams fans were rabbitting about cast any light onto the shadey dealing going on with Cook?

TiocfaidhArmani
27/10/2011, 4:13 PM
If its in the british press it must be true :rolleyes:

Well Sligoman on here says himself it was the money, maybe everyone is lying. Why would St Johnstone lie about it anyway? What purpose is there? You're in long talks with someone and then decide you don't wanna uproot your family?

Either way he's now saying it was to do with money, as are St Johnstone. BTW, it's not a British press thing, the article has direct quotes and seems 100% accurate.

hoopy
27/10/2011, 5:58 PM
Will the "financial investigation" shams fans were rabbitting about cast any light onto the shadey dealing going on with Cook?

We're awaiting a report from Benson and Hedges.