View Full Version : Ireland's 23 man squad for Euro 2012
Murfinator
14/11/2011, 11:00 AM
The Trap will be very loyal to his squad. I'd be amazed if we had more than 1 or 2 new faces in the Euro 2012 squad.
Certs:
Given
Westwood
Dunne
O'Shea
St Ledger
O'Dea
Ward
Kelly
Whelan
Andrews
Duff
McGeady
Fahey
Hunt
Keane
Doyle
Walters
Long
That's 18 places locked in (if the players are fit).
Could actually see Long being left out, some sides only bring 4 strikers. If Trap sticks with his usual system of Keane/Cox paired with Doyle/Long/Walters it could mean one of the latter 3 won't be involved.
Here's Emmet Malone's opinion: (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/1114/1224307526087.html)
LIKELY/UNLIKELY LADS: The race to make the 23-man squad for Euro 2012
Racing certainties . . .
Goalkeepers
Shay Given and Keiren Westwood
Defenders
John O’Shea, Seán St Ledger, Stephen Ward and Richard Dunne
Midfielders
Damien Duff, Aiden McGeady, Keith Andrews and Glenn Whelan
Forwards
Robbie Keane and Kevin Doyle
On the rails . . .
Goalkeepers
David Forde
Defenders
Stephen Kelly, Darren O’Dea, Kevin Foley
Midfielders
Keith Fahey, Stephen Hunt and Darron Gibson
Forwards
Shane Long, Jonathan Walters, Simon Cox
Need a big finish . . .
Goalkeepers
Joe Murphy, Darron Randolph, Paddy Kenny and Brian Murphy
Defenders
Kevin Kilbane, Paul McShane, Ciaran Clark, Damien Delaney and Marc Wilson
Midfielders
James McCarthy, Seamus Coleman, Liam Lawrence, Keith Treacy, Paul Green, Wes Hoolahan and Noel Hunt
Forwards
Leon Best and Anthony Stokes
And the complete outsiders . . .
Marc Tierney and Anthony Pilkington (Norwich City), Anton Ferdinand (QPR), Richard Stearman (Wolves) and Alex Pearce (Reading)
do you reckon he just forgot keogh or it was deliberate?
Closed Account 2
14/11/2011, 11:30 AM
This is the squad I'd pick in 6 months time, * = player I would pick but I dont think Trap will select, with his choice in brackets.
1 GK Given
2 GK Westwood
3 GK Kenny (Forde)
4 DF Dunne
5 DF St Ledger
6 DF O'Dea
7 DF O'Shea
8 DF *Cunningham (Ward)
9 DF Kelly
10 MD / DF *Coleman (McShane)
11 MD Andrews
12 MD Whelan
13 MD McGeady
14 MD Fahey
15 MD *Pilkington/Clarke (Gibson)
16 MD *Hoolahan (McCarthy)
17 MD Duff
18 FW Keane
19 FW Walters
20 FW Doyle
21 FW Long
22 FW Cox
23 FW *Best (Hunt)
I can't decide between Pilkington or Clarke of Villa, I'd probably give it to Clarke as he's played a few games for us recently and can play anywhere across the back or even in central midfield.
14/11/2011, 11:31 AM
do you reckon he just forgot keogh or it was deliberate?Probably forgot. Easy to do!
Eirambler
14/11/2011, 11:51 AM
I'd say he forgot him as well. He's always there but you never see him. He'd probably go in the 'need a big finish' category.
14/11/2011, 12:31 PM
David Kelly and Tony Cascarino too (both of whom made appearances in the tournament)
Afair, Cascarino was recovering from an injury and wasn't really available.
Kelly would have been an option to play alongside Cas.
Tipp Townie
14/11/2011, 12:36 PM
Trap took 6 strikers to both the Euro's and WC when he was Italy boss. So Best might have a chance.
At WC 2002 (havent got the EC 2004 squad to hand), that included Totti and Del Piero though, who played in the system as more of an advanced-midfielder, creative role; either playing slightly off one out-and-out striker or, when games needed chasing, behind a front pairing?
Looking at our strikers, i don't feel that there's anywhere near as much 'versatility', if thats the right word. Cox and Long (and Walters?) could both perhaps fall back into a wide midfield role, but we've got better options there within the squad already, not exactly lacking in that dept!
I just can't see Trap taking more than 5 strikers, given the current crop. I don't think he'll drop to 4... unless he starts viewing Duffer in a similar way to McCarthy in 2002.
Loving this thread though. Really interesting to debate it, and its not reducing my excitement levels either!
14/11/2011, 12:45 PM
Here's Daniel McDonnell's take on things:
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/climbing-stairway-to-heaven-2933595.html
Trapattoni will have a lot of thinking to do between now and next summer. He says that people outside his current squad will get a chance to impress, but, by analysing the manager's options, it's clear there is little room at the inn.
GOALKEEPER
First Choice: Shay Given -- The country will be praying that he avoids any kind of injury over the next seven months.
Back-Up: Keiren Westwood, David Forde -- They are the established number two and three, and Westwood is a trusted replacement for Given.
Dark Horses: Darren Randolph, Brian Murphy -- If any mishap is suffered by those above, they will fight over the next spot.
Non-Runners: Paddy Kenny, Joe Murphy -- Kenny is still persona non grata, while Murphy has also fallen out of the good books.
RIGHT BACK
First Choice: John O'Shea -- Can offer cover in other positions, but Trapattoni wants to play him here.
BACK-UP: Stephen Kelly, Paul McShane, Kevin Foley -- Kelly will definitely be on the plane, but McShane and Foley could end up in competition with each other -- although the latter can also supplement the midfield.
DARK HORSE: Seamus Coleman -- Trapattoni has spoken about using the Donegal lad in the long term, but until Everton do, it's hard to see the Irish boss taking that step.
CENTRE -HALVES
FIRST CHOICE: Richard Dunne, Sean St Ledger -- The favoured duo since Bulgaria in 2009 and that situation won't be changing, although St Ledger's situation at Leicester is a worry.
BACK UP: Darren O'Dea, John O'Shea, Paul McShane, Damien Delaney -- O'Dea will definitely go as the preferred cover, with O'Shea and McShane also considered in this department. Delaney is last resort.
DARK HORSES: Alex Pearce -- Trapattoni watched Scottish-born Pearce recently and is thinking about offering a call-up.
LEFT BACK
FIRST CHOICE: Stephen Ward -- The Wolves man was excellent in Estonia, demonstrating that he has learned from Moscow.
BACK UP: John O'Shea, Stephen Kelly, Kevin Kilbane, Damien Delaney, Ciaran Clark -- It's looking grim for Kilbane, who was left out of Estonia, with O'Shea and Kelly the cover options for Ward. Delaney and Clark's prospects are slim; the latter is a centre-half, but Trap views him as a left-sider.
DARK HORSES: Marc Tierney, Marc Wilson, Greg Cunningham -- Trapattoni mentioned Norwich's Tierney on Saturday, while Wilson offers cover in a variety of positions, but is suffering for his behaviour last summer. Trap rates Cunningham.
RIGHT MIDFIELD
FIRST CHOICE: Damien Duff -- His experience is vital to Trapattoni's plans and he will play once he remains intact.
BACK-UP: Stephen Hunt, Seamus Coleman, Liam Lawrence -- Hunt offers cover on both flanks. It could well be Coleman v Lawrence for a spot in the squad, and the Everton man has the upper hand
DARK HORSES: Anthony Pilkington -- Another Norwich man to get a mention from Trap on Saturday. Can play on both wings, but can also play for England as well and seems a bit unsure.
NON-RUNNER: Andy Reid -- Was in Tallinn as a fan on Friday and, given lack of club form and fact he doesn't really fit into manager's system in any position, he will be a spectator next summer.
CENTRAL MIDFIELD
FIRST CHOICE: Glenn Whelan, Keith Andrews -- Injury problems to Andrews broke partnership up for a while, but this honest pair have returned to pole position.
BACK-UP: Keith Fahey, Darron Gibson, James McCarthy, Kevin Foley, Paul Green -- Fahey is now regarded as next best and can also move wide, so he is on course. Gibson may need to move in January to stay ahead of McCarthy and it's hard to see both going to Poland and Ukraine unless a recognised striker loses out.
DARK HORSES: Wes Hoolahan, David Meyler -- Hoolahan is a real long shot. He deserves a call-up, but he can't operate in this system. Will only be accommodated if Trap wants an option for a 4-5-1. Meyler fits the Trap mould, but needs a run of games.
NON-RUNNERS: Steven Reid, Stephen Ireland -- The former has said he would be available in an emergency and the latter is in self-imposed exile. However, Reid and Trapattoni's relationship is non-existent and Ireland would have to be ignored even if he did announce a change of heart.
LEFT MIDFIELD
FIRST CHOICE: Aiden McGeady -- He continues to develop and was excellent in Estonia. Poland and Ukraine will be a huge stage for his talents.
BACK-UP: Stephen Hunt, Keith Treacy -- Hunt will go, but Treacy has fallen out of favour and Duff's ability to switch removes real need for other option.
DARK HORSE: Robert Brady -- An outstanding talent who is on loan at Hull from Man United. Like Pilkington, he is versatile, but will need others to suffer misfortune.
STRIKERS
FIRST CHOICE: Robbie Keane, Kevin Doyle -- Doyle's return to the starting XI tomorrow illustrates that these are still the chosen pair.
BACK-UP: Shane Long, Jonathan Walters, Simon Cox, Andy Keogh -- Unless he decides to bring just four strikers and seek added cover in other positions, the first three names should be safe, but where does that leave Keogh?
DARK HORSE: Leon Best -- Out of tomorrow's second leg through injury, but would hardly have figured anyway. Difficult to see who he can unship.
NON-RUNNER: Anthony Stokes -- No matter what he does with Celtic, the Dubliner is not well regarded by the current regime.
SwanVsDalton
14/11/2011, 12:54 PM
At WC 2002 (havent got the EC 2004 squad to hand), that included Totti and Del Piero though, who played in the system as more of an advanced-midfielder, creative role; either playing slightly off one out-and-out striker or, when games needed chasing, behind a front pairing?
Looking at our strikers, i don't feel that there's anywhere near as much 'versatility', if thats the right word. Cox and Long (and Walters?) could both perhaps fall back into a wide midfield role, but we've got better options there within the squad already, not exactly lacking in that dept!
I just can't see Trap taking more than 5 strikers, given the current crop. I don't think he'll drop to 4... unless he starts viewing Duffer in a similar way to McCarthy in 2002.
Loving this thread though. Really interesting to debate it, and its not reducing my excitement levels either!
Agreed. I can't see him taking six strikers, and don't think there's any need for six (we're not Argentina).
But if he does, Keogh is guaranteed to be one of them for his perceived versatility by Trap.
14/11/2011, 1:22 PM
First Choice: Shay Given -- The country will be praying that he avoids any kind of injury over the next seven months.
This reminded me that Given would have missed the 2010 World Cup for that exact reason...
NON-RUNNER: Andy Reid -- Was in Tallinn as a fan on Friday
Ha! Fair dues.
Afair, Cascarino was recovering from an injury and wasn't really available.
He was fit enough to not be sent home anyway, if not 100% sharp. But it's kind of a red herring anyway, as we'd played 4-5-1 in three of our five friendlies that year, even with Cas fit. So rather than being forced into the formation as you suggest, Charlton was experimenting with both it and 4-4-2 in the lead-up to the World Cup.
Closed Account 2
14/11/2011, 2:49 PM
Walters can play on the wing, he did that in the FA Cup semi final vs Bolton, was mainly out wide running at the Bolton full backs, but would also drift inside and take on a more central role. There is no reason why he couldnt be in the squad as a back up striker (although I'd start him ahead of Doyle at the moment) and a back up winger for Duff. He also takes a decent penalty so again could be an option to throw on in the 118th min (if he wasnt already on). I think Long could also play on the wing (even if he's better as a striker), so he could say take Walters and Long, plus 4 other strikers.
14/11/2011, 2:52 PM
He was fit enough to not be sent home anyway, if not 100% sharp. But it's kind of a red herring anyway, as we'd played 4-5-1 in three of our five friendlies that year, even with Cas fit. So rather than being forced into the formation as you suggest, Charlton was experimenting with both it and 4-4-2 in the lead-up to the World Cup.
Jack's experimenting with 451 in the friendlies, was more inspired by the serious injury to Quinn which had ruled him out. Jack was inflexible but not stupidly so.
His use of 451 at US94 was pragmatic given the players (and fit players) available to him. It was not evidence of a flexibility with tactics. Charlton was marked by his inflexibility.
The point I was making was in reference the use of 451 by Charlton at US94 was offered as evidence of his flexibility with tactics. I disagree and Jack reverted to 442 quick enough when Quinn was available.
Tipp Townie
14/11/2011, 9:27 PM
But if he does, Keogh is guaranteed to be one of them for his perceived versatility by Trap.
Feck, that makes a horrible kind of sense too...
4tothefloor
14/11/2011, 11:57 PM
GK Shay Given
GK Keiran Westwood
GK David Forde
D Stephen Ward
D Stephen Kelly
D Kevin Foley/Marc Wilson
D John O'Shea
D Richard Dunne
D Sean St.Ledger
D Darren O'Dea
M Glenn Whelan
M Keith Andrews
M Keith Fahey
M James McCarthy/David Meyler
M Damien Duff
M Aidean McGeady
M Stephen Hunt
M Seamus Coleman
F Robbie Keane
F Kevin Doyle
F Shane Long
F Jon Walters
F Simon Cox/Leon Best
Best Wildcard Chances:
D Marc Wilson
M David Meyler
M Wes Hoolahan
F Leon Best
Just on the LB cover issue, it may be that Trap may not take any specific cover at all. John O'Shea can play both FB roles, as can Stephen Kelly. St. Ledger has played FB before and Coleman can also play RB. I expect Dunne-St Ledger to be the first choice CB pairing which means O'Shea is free to play a FB role. So there isn't really a need for specific LB cover. In that case the one change I'd make above is Foley/Wilson missing out and an extra midfielder being drafted in, which would allow Trap to take both McCarthy and Meyler or perhaps include Liam Lawerence.
But based on the above squad I think Liam Lawerence, Darron Gibson, Paul McShane and Andy Keogh will miss out and will probably find themselves on the standby list. Kevin Kilbane to miss out which is unfortunate for him but his age and level are against him. Delaney and Treacy to miss out as well.
I think Trap will take five forwards, and more so because Keane, Doyle and Long are always picking up knocks and getting injured. Simon Cox is most at risk here as he is not starting for WBA, if Best continues his form with Newcastle he may well get in ahead. Although you have to factor in that Trap sees Cox as a like-for-like replacement for Keane, which is why he started ahead of Long against Armenia. Walters and Best are similar and I think Walters will win that battle. Stokes, Noel Hunt or Pilkington haven't a hope really barring catastrophic injuries.
David Meyler is probably the best bet for a wildcard - if he can stay injury free for Sunderland he'll be hard to ignore as he's a top player. Stephen Reid might be a very outside bet for a full back slot, but he'd have to come out of retirement so unlikely at the moment. Couldn't see it happening unless O'Shea or Kelly got injured. Would love to see Wes Hoolahan in the squad but he's not a Trap style midfielder so don't see it happening until the next qualifiers at least.
I think the tournament is too soon for Robbie Brady, Ciaran Clarke, Greg Cunningham and other leftfield options such as Tierney, McCann etc. Stephen Ireland? - no chance!
15/11/2011, 8:30 AM
Excellent overview 4tothefloor. Reckon that will be close to the squad. Surprised nothing more has happened with Paddy Kenny.
16/11/2011, 3:11 PM
On the radio this afternoon that Kilbane won't be going bar an injury crisis. So it seems his international career is finished (bar a testimonial, I assume)
A testimonial? Who gets an International testimonial these days?
16/11/2011, 3:55 PM
Are they gone? Last one (and the last controversy over one) was in 2000. Not that long ago. I think only Niall Quinn has since retired having reached the 75-cap limit.
Suppose Trap isn't one for a Liam Brady-style testimonial/token appearance.
Edit - actually, Quinn did have a testimonial (a joint club/country one, as he retired from both around the same time)
Irwin3
16/11/2011, 4:14 PM
Trap called up Roberto Baggio for a farewell against Spain before Euro 2004 after saying he wouldn't make the squad for the finals. Slightly different as Baggio was a different type of legend and he hadn't been selected for years. Trap should've brought Baggio to the finals in my opinion. He was still class and it's almost a crime that one of the world's greats never played at a European Championships.
17/11/2011, 6:52 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/1117/1224307706690.html
Based on the above article, and barring injuries, the squad picks itself.
Given,
Westwood,
Forde;
O'Shea,
Kelly,
Dunne,
St Ledger,
O'Dea,
Ward,
McShane;
McGeady,
Duff,
Hunt,
Andrews,
Whelan,
McCarthy,
Coleman,
Fahey;
Keane,
Doyle,
Walters,
Long,
Cox.
17/11/2011, 8:23 AM
It might be ominous for Keogh that McCarthy replaced him on the bench for the home leg. Too early to say for definite.
How do these squads work out for the Finals, do countries usually go for a
3 goalies, 8 backs, 8 midfielders and 4 forwards, in their 23 man panel?
dr_peepee
17/11/2011, 8:24 AM
Said last night on OTB that he was only going to bring 4 forwards...
Plus there's 8 months to go... Ward wasn't on the scene 8 months ago. (There's less games between now and then admittedly.)
17/11/2011, 8:25 AM
How would they know?
dr_peepee
17/11/2011, 8:32 AM
Trap said it himself. They played the interview on off the ball.
Said something along the lines of Midfielders and defenders and more likely to pick up cards so he'll bring only four forwards.
dr_peepee
17/11/2011, 8:39 AM
I always pick my speculative squads like that. Even for England. Probably because it offers cover in every position for the 4 4 2 formation. But it's seldom ever that in the actual squads. 4thefloor may be right though. He may not bring direct cover for left back. I can't rememer Josh ever playing left full for Trap though.
Jack only brought 2 keepers back in the day too.
Tipp Townie
17/11/2011, 8:59 AM
It might be ominous for Keogh that McCarthy replaced him on the bench for the home leg. Too early to say for definite.
I never got to see the full squad list and the two matchday squads for the play offs. Can someone reprint it here? Would be interested to see; didnt realise McCarthy replaced Keogh for Leg 2.
Completely depends on the options available. As has been mentioned earlier in this thread, even the uber-cautious Trap selected 6 'strikers' in Italy's WC 2002 squad.
I guess the basic rule is to make sure you have every position covered twice over.
I dont like it when squads only take 4 strikers, but i could see why Trap would do it with us. If he only takes 4 then you'd also want to see one of the midfielders as a potential striker too. Which brings us back to Andy Keogh....
A good (albeit extreme) example of the 4-strikers option backfiring is england at WC 2006. Owen, Rooney, Crouch and Walcott. Rooney not fit, Owen got crocked, and Walcotts inclusion was a joke. A mixture of bad luck and bad planning. They definitely should have taken a 5th striker.
17/11/2011, 9:06 AM
Yeah I just had a look at Jack's selection for the USA 94 squad, only 22 were allowed in the squad then.
There were a few fillers, we were short on depth then.
Maybe one day we will look back on this squad and wonder how the hell did we manage to get so far.
17/11/2011, 9:09 AM
Three was the norm though (only us and Colombia brought two for Italia 90). I think in 98, the rules changed so you got an extra player in your squad (i.e. up to 23), but you had to bring three keepers.
We should bring Kilbane as our third keeper actually. :p
Closed Account 2
17/11/2011, 9:12 AM
Didnt the North Koreans try to do that at the last world cup? I think they brought two actual keepers and then a 3rd "keeper" who was in fact a left winger - FIFA rumbled them and said if he was included he couldnt play outfield.
SwanVsDalton
17/11/2011, 9:14 AM
Trap said it himself. They played the interview on off the ball.
Said something along the lines of Midfielders and defenders and more likely to pick up cards so he'll bring only four forwards.
The Irish Times article has the quote (I think) or at least something similar.
Pressed on how he sees his squad for the finals breaking down, aside from the required three goalkeepers, the manager observed: “We usually need four strikers but,” he continued in a reference to Shane Long and Simon Cox, both of whom he named, “some strikers can play wide on the right or the left too. Midfielders and defenders are important because they commit more fouls and after two yellow cards you can be without a player.”
Suggests he'd take five with one or two of them offering wing cover.
17/11/2011, 9:19 AM
A good (albeit extreme) example of the 4-strikers option backfiring is england at WC 2006. Owen, Rooney, Crouch and Walcott. Rooney not fit, Owen got crocked, and Walcotts inclusion was a joke. A mixture of bad luck and bad planning. They definitely should have taken a 5th striker.
I don't think the mistake was not picking a 5th striker.
Walcott's inclusion was a very strange one because he wasn't up to the standard where the manager would play him. What's the point of picking somebody who you won't play even when injury and fitness doubts open up a place? Imo, the mistake was not picking a viable 4th striker.
17/11/2011, 9:20 AM
Didnt the North Koreans try to do that at the last world cup? I think they brought two actual keepers and then a 3rd "keeper" who was in fact a left winger - FIFA rumbled them and said if he was included he couldnt play outfield.
They did, yeah. I wonder is there a case of a third keeper making an appearance at a finals? If there's token spots going, give it to Killer.
(Post not meant to be entirely serious, btw!)
Silly Billy G
17/11/2011, 9:20 AM
Which thread had information on getting tickets for the finals ?
I checked Uefa site yesterday and from what i saw i think more released after draw.
Will you still be able to get them through your club ?
17/11/2011, 9:22 AM
Which thread had information on getting tickets for the finals ?
Dunno if there's an actual thread on it, but best place to ask after info is here (http://foot.ie/threads/159254-Euro-2012-general-info) (and it'll be easier for others to find it then as well)
Tipp Townie
17/11/2011, 9:32 AM
I don't think the mistake was not picking a 5th striker.
Walcott's inclusion was a very strange one because he wasn't up to the standard where the manager would play him. What's the point of picking somebody who you won't play even when injury and fitness doubts open up a place? Imo, the mistake was not picking a viable 4th striker.
Yeah i'd agree with your comments re. Walcott.
But i still think theirs is a good example of why you should have 5 'viable' strikers. If they'd had eg. Defoe instead of Walcott, then the way things went they were still short on options. Owen went home injured and Rooney, struggling for fitness, got sent off and would have been suspended for the next round anyway. Would have left them with just the Crouch/Defoe pairing for a massive game. You'd always want a striking option on the bench. For a team with (deluded?!) designs on winning the tournament, Eriksson's choice was criminal.
Of course you'd hope that, whether we take 4 or 5 strikers, they'd all be 100% fit at least for the first kick off.
17/11/2011, 12:31 PM
They did, yeah. I wonder is there a case of a third keeper making an appearance at a finals? If there's token spots going, give it to Killer.
(Post not meant to be entirely serious, btw!)
Didn't Italy have to beg permission to replace an injured keeper just before a finals not so long ago? Whether they brought two or three, injuries had them down to one.
17/11/2011, 12:39 PM
Didn't Italy have to beg permission to replace an injured keeper just before a finals not so long ago? Whether they brought two or three, injuries had them down to one.
Do you mean replacing Buffon last year? They had three keepers in the squad; Buffon started the first game, Marchetti came in when Buffon got injured and de Sanctis didn't play at all. Dunno if they tried to call up a replacement.
MagicMon
17/11/2011, 1:21 PM
Niall Quinn was Ireland's registered 3rd keeper in 1990, we could pull the same stunt with John O'Shea but I'm pretty certain FIFA have changed the rules.
17/11/2011, 1:29 PM
I think we'll go with 5 strikers, particularly as two (Long & Walters) are versatile and can play well elsewhere. I'd be amazed if he doesn't take 5 actually.
I also hereby predict at least one game in the group stages where we go 4-5-1. I have a nagging feeling that Trap thinks Keane and Doyle are undroppable but that might change. 3 games in 12 days gives Trap license to change things without offending any precious egos.
El-Pietro
17/11/2011, 1:38 PM
Doyler was a winger at City for the most part
17/11/2011, 1:39 PM
Niall Quinn was Ireland's registered 3rd keeper in 1990, we could pull the same stunt with John O'Shea but I'm pretty certain FIFA have changed the rules.
Yeah, the rule now seems to be that keepers can only play in nets. So the days of Jorge Campos coming on for a run up front cos his team were easily winning are over (not that he ever did that in the World Cup)
17/11/2011, 1:43 PM
Player has to be assigned to the team sheet as a goalkeeper. Outfield can only be used as emergency goalkeeper if the other two are injured, that rule goes right down through footballing ladders now. Had that rule in college when I played too.
17/11/2011, 1:58 PM
But can a sub goalkeeper be brought on for a forward, even when the team still have their first-choice keeper in nets?
Tipp Townie
17/11/2011, 1:59 PM
I don't understand how UEFA/FIFA can enforce the keeper rule though. Whats to stop you playing a keeper as an outfielder?
eg. if one of the teams has a wildcard like the Paraguayan Chilavert. Its the 120th minute of the semi-final and its heading to penalties. Your current keeper is a great penno shot stopper so you want to keep him on - but you also want Chilavert on to actually take a penno.
Or are they saying that that literally isn't allowed? Seems unfair to me.
Or am i the only geek who actually cares?!:cool:
EDIT -Stu beat me to it and was way more succinct, as usual
17/11/2011, 2:21 PM
There is nothing to say you can't use a goalkeeper on the bench as a sub for an outfield player, but there is nothing to say you can.
17/11/2011, 2:34 PM
From experience, I've come on as an outfield player once for the college team. Had a thumb injury and couldn't play in goal. One of our players got injured so I came on as striker. Never seen it enforced where one couldn't do so. But every time on a team sheet, player must be wrote down as GK on the bench.
dr_peepee
17/11/2011, 3:23 PM
Didn't he drop Doyle for Long there a couple of games ago though (but then Long got injured and Doyle had to start)... Then dropped Long for Cox after that!!
I think we'll go with 5 strikers, particularly as two (Long & Walters) are versatile and can play well elsewhere. I'd be amazed if he doesn't take 5 actually.
I also hereby predict at least one game in the group stages where we go 4-5-1. I have a nagging feeling that Trap thinks Keane and Doyle are undroppable but that might change. 3 games in 12 days gives Trap license to change things without offending any precious egos.
17/11/2011, 3:56 PM
True. Good logic.
Sullivinho
17/11/2011, 3:59 PM
I vaguely recall hearing/reading that Mexico's goalkeeper Jorge Campos was also registered as a striker in the '94 WC.
I think (and hope) likewise. Whilst in charge of Italy Trap took 5 recognised strikers (not including Totti) to both the 2002 World Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2002_FIFA_World_Cup_squads#Italy) and Euro 2004. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Euro_2004_squads#Italy) Walters has elevated himself to at least level pegging with Cox via his last two performances imo so as it stands I'd have Keane, Doyle, Long, Walters and Cox as said five. If I'm not mistaken, Walters also played quite a few games as a right winger/midfielder for Ipswich so he's got that versatility.
17/11/2011, 4:53 PM
Do you mean replacing Buffon last year? They had three keepers in the squad; Buffon started the first game, Marchetti came in when Buffon got injured and de Sanctis didn't play at all. Dunno if they tried to call up a replacement.
No, I was thinking of France, who asked to replace their third keeper in WC 2010 after he got injured. I had thought their second keeper was also injured (though not for the whole tournament like the third choice guy), but I didn't see any confirmation in my quick googling. They were denied permission in the end.
I think (and hope) likewise. Whilst in charge of Italy Trap took 5 recognised strikers (not including Totti) to both the 2002 World Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2002_FIFA_World_Cup_squads#Italy) and Euro 2004. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Euro_2004_squads#Italy)
The Italians don't think of Totti as a forward. He's a "fantasista", so he only plays in the hole behind two forwards, like the role Keane was moved into in Bari. My guess is that Trap has been reluctant to experiment with that formation more because you usually play three all-round midfielders behind the front three, which would exclude Duff, McGeady, Hunt, etc.
Walters has elevated himself to at least level pegging with Cox via his last two performances imo so as it stands I'd have Keane, Doyle, Long, Walters and Cox as said five. If I'm not mistaken, Walters also played quite a few games as a right winger/midfielder for Ipswich so he's got that versatility.
I think it's far from clear how Trap now rates those five, other than that Keane is clearly first. Doyle seems to be second for now, but the others' performances must be putting pressure on that.