View Full Version : Estonia V Ireland - Friday, 11th November 2011 - Euro 2012 Play Off 1st Leg

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18

DannyInvincible
10/11/2011, 7:11 PM
I'll only be getting into Dublin airport at around 4:45PM. Where's the Ticketmaster office? :/

the bear
10/11/2011, 7:17 PM
I'll only be getting into Dublin airport at around 4:45PM. Where's the Ticketmaster office? :/

at the corner of nothumberland road, 10min walk from the dart station but annoying as you are at the stadium then have to go out and back in again after queing for 30 mins at the office

koneinc
10/11/2011, 7:19 PM

As Serb said you might be able to pick them up at the ticket booths near the Aviva.

I'll arrive from London at 3:45pm, I'd really prefer not to have to collect them before the game (with the doubt in the back of my mind that Ticketmaster would mess up and I'd miss the biggest game since France 09 and have 3 very angry friends!)

<edit>the bear beat me to it

10/11/2011, 7:49 PM
I'll only be getting into Dublin airport at around 4:45PM. Where's the Ticketmaster office? :/Have you not seen the forecast? Freezing fog. Jeez man, you're cutting it fine.

10/11/2011, 7:59 PM
I'll have my 3 tomorrow. Nyiaow.

10/11/2011, 8:03 PM
Match Day Squad of 18. Who'll make the bench tomorrow?

12. Westwood
13. O'Dea
14. Coleman
15. Fahey
16. Hunt
17. McCarthy
18. Cox/Walters

Randolph, Gibson, Keogh, McShane,

That about right? Only the emboldened are certainties though.
(O'Shea, Best and Doyle come back for Tuesday)

Irwin3
10/11/2011, 8:07 PM
About right although I'd say Gibson over McCarthy if only based on shooting ability. Although this depends on how many pounds Gibson is still carrying and how sharp he's been in training this week.

10/11/2011, 8:08 PM
I think that's about right, assuming O'D is 100%.

10/11/2011, 8:11 PM
I wouldn't be surprised to see Gibson and Keogh on the bench instead of Coleman and McCarthy.

legendz
10/11/2011, 8:26 PM
I'm used to watching Ireland games. It's in contrast to people who've hopped off the bandwagon years ago. I remember being in a pub in June watching the Macedonia game, for a good crowd, sporting crowd in some respects in Limerick, there wasn't a whole lot of attention or interest in the game. I can imagine a lot of people watching tomorrow nights game because of the hype that's been building up in the media. Will they be prepared for the football the will have to watch?! It's not going to be exciting football but hopefully the boys in green will do the job. :D I think Trap's experience of big games will be of benefit to Ireland. Sometimes in the build up to games ye can hear the right noises while reading between the lines. He'll have the team going out on the parked well drilled on what they have to do.

Like some, if not many, I am disappointed by the lack of creativity in midfield. I decided before the Macedonia game I wouldn't be too bothered by it any more. The reason simply is Andrews and Whelan turned up for their country when others didn't. It's a bit rich to be going on about the players not playing in midfield when they are the players who could not be bothered to turn up. I was delight for those lads that they won the game that night away in Macedonia and subsequently the enjoyable friendly in Belgium against Italy.

I think our lads are in good shape going into this game. Given will be Given. The defence will do it's job as will the midfield. Keane showed away in Paris he's up for these big nights. Duffer should've put us 2-0 up in Paris that night. Keane had a decent chance to as well in that second half. Walters has impressed me with his cameo appearances. Cox impressed away in Macedonia and I wasn't surprised by his good display in the last game.

Hopefully the Aviva stadium and the country will be rocking when the final whistle is blown next Tuesday evening. ;)

10/11/2011, 8:32 PM
Zonal Marking's preview of the play offs: http://espn.go.com/sports/soccer/news/_/id/7215436/euro-2012-portugal-own-worst-enemy-bosnia-euro-playoffs-michael-cox
Thinks the game will end 0-0

DannyInvincible
10/11/2011, 9:42 PM
Have you not seen the forecast? Freezing fog. Jeez man, you're cutting it fine.

Ha, had me worried for a second there. Circumstances have dictated; it's the best we can do, but I think we should just about be OK as we're getting a taxi straight to the pub. Hopefully...

10/11/2011, 9:50 PM
we're getting a taxi straight to the pubyou've got your priorities straight anyway

10/11/2011, 11:12 PM
Getting giddy now for tomorrow night.

Hale
10/11/2011, 11:34 PM
They have an attacking player with Middlesbrough 'Kink' and he barely gets on for them a 1st division side.
At least most of our first team play at half decent sides...ok maybe not Andrews.....but surely this is a great opportunity against an average side. Come on Ireland!

French Toasht
10/11/2011, 11:40 PM
Dear Christ I'm getting excited now. More of this would be just lovely.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNKA9NzM7Yc&NR=1

Crosby87
10/11/2011, 11:58 PM
For some reason I always equate Irelands situation like the last hand in Rounders. Im not sure who we are this time.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5RiuE1rWnso

theworm2345
11/11/2011, 12:34 AM
Getting giddy now for tomorrow night.

Dear Christ I'm getting excited now. More of this would be just lovely.
Will be putting on Rising Sons: Ireland's Eastern Odyssey in a few hours...never seen it should get the juices flowing :good:

hudhastings
11/11/2011, 1:07 AM
noyhing said bout wes and colman bit dissap
ointed

French Toasht
11/11/2011, 1:14 AM
Exactly 24 years ago to the day, Gary Mackay scored for Scotland against Bulgaria, to qualify Ireland for it's only ever European Championship.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/1111/1224307370176.html

And

One day short of ten years ago, Ireland beat Iran to qualify for its last major tournament.

Coincidence?

I think not.

ArdeeBhoy
11/11/2011, 1:46 AM
Tues is the exact 10th anniversary of winning the Iran tie...

Crosby87
11/11/2011, 1:48 AM
sorry if this a repeat but the keeper is confident.
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/id/982311/estonia-goalkeeper-sergei-pareiko-calm-ahead-of-ireland-play-off?cc=5901

TrapAPony
11/11/2011, 3:31 AM
Between Kerr, Prandelli & even Worthington, Trapattoni will have found out all he needs to know about Estonia. I'm confident we will win.

theworm2345
11/11/2011, 4:11 AM
Will be putting on Rising Sons: Ireland's Eastern Odyssey in a few hours...never seen it should get the juices flowing :good:
Can only watch this stuff every few years...****s sake

11/11/2011, 8:56 AM
Anybody got a link to a site where I can rely on a match stream being available? I'll be getting up in the middle of the night to watch it, and would like to have it sorted out before bed if possible. Nothing on Rojadirecta just yet.

Hibs4Ever
11/11/2011, 9:28 AM
Bet365 are streaming it live

11/11/2011, 10:00 AM
Wiziwig.tv

11/11/2011, 10:07 AM
Can't concentrate, argh!!!

11/11/2011, 10:44 AM
Far too much positive vibes going around for my liking. Doesn't feel like the day of an Irish game.
This place should be full of people giving out about formations and tactics and selections.

I'm going for a nervy 0-0 draw. With people complaining afterwards that we're boring.
The less hype between tonight and Tuesday the better. God help us if we get a positive result and the country gets into a frenzy over the weekend and the complacency rubs off on the players.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/321131_299490063403080_239295259422561_1214932_141 0884195_n.jpg

zero
11/11/2011, 10:51 AM
Wiziwig.tv

yeah this is your man, seems to be the replacement for myp2p.eu.

you can also dive into the forums if there are any problems.

http://forum.wiziwig.eu/forums/9-Weekdays

boovidge
11/11/2011, 11:11 AM
are "the road to asia" and "rising sons" on the net somewhere? I only have them on VHS :mad:

dr_peepee
11/11/2011, 11:43 AM
My predictions for tonight.

A win and a clean sheet for us.

A coming of age performance for Ward.

Keane to score.

Walters to perform well and propose a selection dilemma with Doyle for the return leg.

McGeady to flatter to deceive.

Fahy to come on for Andrews around the hour mark.

Kelly to have a wobbly game.

theworm2345
11/11/2011, 11:55 AM
Anybody got a link to a site where I can rely on a match stream being available? I'll be getting up in the middle of the night to watch it, and would like to have it sorted out before bed if possible. Nothing on Rojadirecta just yet.
http://tykestv.eu/index.php on Channel 2 there, usually very reliable in terms of quality

are "the road to asia" and "rising sons" on the net somewhere? I only have them on VHS :mad:
I can get you Rising Sons though it may have to wait for a little while as I have to encode it down to a manageable upload size.

11/11/2011, 11:56 AM
The post-noon nerves have kicked in. Argh!

Eirambler
11/11/2011, 12:12 PM
Daily Mail (yes, I know) reporting that the team have been told that Cox is starting alongside Keane.

Any sign of an Estonian team sheet? They were supposed to announce it yesterday afternoon?

zero
11/11/2011, 12:21 PM
come on the lads.

let's start putting 10 years of hurt behind us tonight in tallinn.

Wolfie
11/11/2011, 12:29 PM
Exactly 24 years ago to the day, Gary Mackay scored for Scotland against Bulgaria, to qualify Ireland for it's only ever European Championship.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/1111/1224307370176.html

I can envisage the RTE coverage beginning with the Gary McKay footage tonight.

Que Bill "It was 24 years ago today that Ireland first qualified for a major tounament thanks to that famous goal by...................................."

punkrocket
11/11/2011, 12:32 PM
Far too much positive vibes going around for my liking. Doesn't feel like the day of an Irish game.
This place should be full of people giving out about formations and tactics and selections.

I'm going for a nervy 0-0 draw. With people complaining afterwards that we're boring.
The less hype between tonight and Tuesday the better. God help us if we get a positive result and the country gets into a frenzy over the weekend and the complacency rubs off on the players.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/321131_299490063403080_239295259422561_1214932_141 0884195_n.jpg
the stress is putting years on all of us

Duggie
11/11/2011, 12:48 PM
will maloney be commentating tonight?? suppose, he shouts way to much. as if we werent stressed enough....

Murfinator
11/11/2011, 12:55 PM
Have to say I don't have much nerves ahead of tonight, I'm saving that for tuesday. I view tonight a bit like a qualifying session in Fomula 1 ahead of the grand prix tuesday. It'll decide the position and framing of that final game but I very much doubt it'll decide anything.

11/11/2011, 1:04 PM
Think Cox is hoing to start. Have had that feeling since the 3 up top were announced.

Hope I'm wrong. Just back from lunch now and the countdown to leaving here begins.

11/11/2011, 1:06 PM
RTE are still saying Walters is favourite but with RTE you never know if they have info or are just 2 days behind on the rumours.

Duggie
11/11/2011, 1:09 PM
i hope walters starts and puts it about in the box, robbie to feed off the crumbs and score.

11/11/2011, 1:47 PM
Apparently word on the ground in Estonia is that JD has stated that Walters is starting. JD is also buying drinks and the FAI are buying up black market tickets and raffling them to fans. Might be all rumours of course.

11/11/2011, 1:55 PM
Apparently word on the ground in Estonia is that JD has stated that Walters is starting. JD is also buying drinks and the FAI are buying up black market tickets and raffling them to fans. Might be all rumours of course.Sounds like JD propoganda from the JD spin machine.

boovidge
11/11/2011, 2:03 PM
I can get you Rising Sons though it may have to wait for a little while as I have to encode it down to a manageable upload size.

That'd be great if it's not too much trouble worm.

Serb
11/11/2011, 2:31 PM
Reading the Guardian's live football blog they mentioned an interesting stat — Given has saved 4 of the last 23 penalties taken against him in the Premier League. That's an average of almost one save for every five penalties. I think we'd take Estonia if it came to a shootout though.

richieos
11/11/2011, 2:31 PM
Rising sons is already online somewhere, downloaded it just over a week ago but had to search on google for ages. will have a look now and see if i can find the link

11/11/2011, 2:33 PM
Apparently word on the ground in Estonia is that JD has stated that Walters is starting. JD is also buying drinks and the FAI are buying up black market tickets and raffling them to fans. Might be all rumours of course.

I had heard about the latter late last week, assumed it was rumour.

Cymro
11/11/2011, 2:44 PM
Will be watching with interest later, good luck. Can only see a 0-0 tonight but I reckon you will win 2-0 or 3-0 in Dublin.

Will also be following the Jocks in Cyprus, their fans on the TAMB all reckon it will be an easy game :D