View Full Version : Good Luck Shels!!!

Shelsman
13/07/2004, 12:56 PM
Best of luck to the Shels team tomorrow night, here's hoping they can carry their league form into Europe ( for once! ).
It would be great if Shels, Bohs, and Longford all progress ( and Cork too!!! ) which would probably be the first ever season that all eL clubs will have won their first round in Europe. The team I fear the most for is Longford, considering the poor domestic form, but hopefully they'll put that aside and knock out FC Vaduz.

13/07/2004, 5:06 PM
I've heard that some Icelandic channel are covering the match and it's possible to get that channel over here on certain satalites and that one or two pubs may be showing the match but I don't know which pubs or how you could possibley get the channel, does anyone have any info at all?

13/07/2004, 8:20 PM
I'll be honest, I knew that Longford and Bohs were playing but I didn't realise the Shels game was on so soon, I've heard nothing about it in the press (hang on, that's hardly a surprise).

But, definitely wish them all the very best, hope they come away with good result and keep the good vibes going for EL supporters

eoinh
13/07/2004, 8:58 PM
Yeah good luck.

KR are last in the icelandic league, i think. You should do well :)

Razor-G
14/07/2004, 9:19 AM
Just to add my best wishes to Shels tonight Hope ye do well. If all the Eircom League clubs do well in Europe this
year it can only improve things at home....

Best of Luck.

macdermesser
14/07/2004, 7:55 PM
Why not this year.. the year of all the upsets ... and to top it off, an EL team to make it into the group stages. Five minutes to kick off .. hope the lads get a result.

http://livescore.net

probably the best site for latest score on the match

14/07/2004, 7:58 PM
You can listen to live coverage here, http://www.krreykjavik.is/ click on the link in the top right corner. The commentary is in Icelandic but apparently the presenter knows that people from here will be listening to will commentate on the main parts of the match in English :confused:

I can't even get it working at the moment though, so updates on newstalk and livescore are looking the only option right now.

14/07/2004, 8:48 PM
So Far So Good

KR Reykjavik 0 - 0 Shelbourne on 45 minutes

14/07/2004, 8:50 PM
I've got the commentary working but it's pretty much entirely in Icelandic with only the score being given in English, so all I can make out are the player names. Houlihan and Byrne seem to be getting mentioned alot so that probably says we're playing well, but Williams had to make a good save mid way through the half....I think anyway....

eoinh
14/07/2004, 8:53 PM
Half Time Score

KR 0 Shelbourne 0

Not bad i suppose

14/07/2004, 9:10 PM
KR are 1-0 up.

eoinh
14/07/2004, 9:11 PM
For feck sake

1-0 down after 50 minutes :mad:

bert
14/07/2004, 9:17 PM
Shels are now two down

eoinh
14/07/2004, 9:18 PM
kr are now 2-0 up! For Fecks sake - to an Icelandic team! :rolleyes:

adamcarr
14/07/2004, 9:23 PM
kr are now 2-0 up! For Fecks sake - to an Icelandic team! :rolleyes:
I also see Malmo have won 2-0 away to Djungartens :eek: ;)

14/07/2004, 9:24 PM
Reykjavik [2 - 0] Shelbourne

47' [1 - 0] A.J. Sigurgeirsson
54' [2 - 0] S. Olafsson

Jesus H.Christ :mad:

eoinh
14/07/2004, 9:44 PM
Thank feck - shels have got one back

adamcarr
14/07/2004, 9:45 PM
Thank feck - shels have got one back

eoinh
14/07/2004, 9:46 PM
Flip theyve equalised 2-2 all :D

adamcarr
14/07/2004, 9:48 PM
Wahey!!! I never doubted them! :D

eoinh
14/07/2004, 9:53 PM
Wahey!!! I never doubted them! :D :D

FT KR 2 Shels 2

could have been worse.

Thats 5 games in europe for el teams - not one lost game yet :)

14/07/2004, 9:54 PM
With Fitzpatrick and Crawford back and hopefully no other injuries, we should hopefully be able to finish the job back at home.

The shels message board has seemingly exploded, I can't even get on it anymore :D

14/07/2004, 9:57 PM
KR Reykjavik 2 - 2 Shelbourne

47' [1 - 0] A.J. Sigurgeirsson
54' [2 - 0] S. Olafsson

84' [2 - 1] Moore
87' [2 - 2] K.Ö. Sigurdsson (o.g.)

according to Livescore.com

another late jammy equaliser by Shels, although this tiem I'm delighted, well done, good battling, now finish the thing at home. :cool: :D

corkharps
14/07/2004, 10:07 PM
Jesus,that was tight!well done Shels. :) Now ye should concentrate on Europe and forget about the Cup! :D

15/07/2004, 9:07 AM
Well done $h€£$ although might bring back memories of 2-2 1st leg to Hibernians...

ITV teletext had crowd at 1200 so maybe ye were rattled by such large support ;)

Have to be favourites to get to 2nd round now.

15/07/2004, 12:55 PM
Here's some pictures of the match if anyone wants a look by the way, some very good pictures in there I think...

http://www.sportsfile.com/fotoweb/Grid.fwx?folderid=5000&columns=4&rows=4&search=(IPTC103%20contains%20D0407050)

15/07/2004, 2:15 PM
Good comeback. Helps improve the all important UEFA coefficient.

How long is Alan Moore playing for ye?

15/07/2004, 3:01 PM
How long is Alan Moore playing for ye?

He joined $hels at end of June, same time Gamble joined city.

15/07/2004, 6:35 PM
Was that keeper for KR (Kristian Finnbogasson) the same one who was in nets when Ireland won 4-2 a few years back? Just remember him letting Mark Kennedy's goal under his body (and Kennedy's really embarrassed look) and then coming out to a through ball only to go flying over it and let Keane in to score. No wonder Shels scored twice if it is the same guy! :p

15/07/2004, 6:53 PM
Whats the story with tickets for the return leg at Tolka?

15/07/2004, 6:57 PM
Not sure at the moment, they'll probably have a ticket stall set up outside the ground for the match as I think they have to be all ticket, I seriously doubt you'll have any trouble getting tickets on the day of the match either way.