14/10/2011, 8:23 PM
4 min injury time

bullit
14/10/2011, 8:28 PM
Fair play to Shels,stuck to the task well :D

14/10/2011, 8:28 PM
All over.1-1. See Ye on Monday in Inchicore.

Cuyahoga
14/10/2011, 8:31 PM
Well done Shels with 10 men for over half the game.

14/10/2011, 8:34 PM
Great second half.
No bottle tonight.
Great game.

14/10/2011, 9:03 PM
That performance should give Shels the boost they need for the league regardless of how the replay goes. Should take care of Harps and Salthill and then a draw would do against Cork wouldn't it (in terms of winning the league)?

MagicMon
14/10/2011, 9:08 PM
Not if Monaghan beat Limerick and Athlone

superjohnny
14/10/2011, 9:19 PM
Great second half.
No bottle tonight.
Great game.

Thought shels were excellent, would fancy them in richer now with 11 men. Pete is one negative cu** though

14/10/2011, 9:34 PM
Not if Monaghan beat Limerick and Athlone

I see, hadn't studied the table for a while! Cheers.

CSFShels
14/10/2011, 10:01 PM
Heroic performance from 10 against 12. That was probably Collie's biggest contribution since joining the club. Waste of oxygen.

14/10/2011, 10:11 PM
What was the attendance there tonight?

EDIT: just saw 2,538 official on Extratime. Which isn't overly amazing given the rivalry and the occasion.

CSFShels
14/10/2011, 10:12 PM
2538, close enough to most peoples predictions.

born2bwild
14/10/2011, 10:16 PM
Excellent from Paiso.
He played an absolute stormer tonight. Nearly scored too from a cross!

Just hope that Shels are playing the likes of Pats every week next year.

born2bwild
14/10/2011, 10:19 PM
Heroic performance from 10 against 12. That was probably Collie's biggest contribution since joining the club. Waste of oxygen.
Ah now, he's had the odd decent game. The 1-0 win away to Monaghan, for example - he was excellent. He's not always Mr Calamity. Didn't deserve to get sent off tonight.

bullit
14/10/2011, 10:24 PM
Ah now, he's had the odd decent game. The 1-0 win away to Monaghan, for example - he was excellent. He's not always Mr Calamity. Didn't deserve to get sent off tonight.
He Struck out in a manner that if his kick had have connected it would have done serious damage= RED.
Murphy made a lot of it but still a red.

born2bwild
14/10/2011, 10:26 PM
He Struck out in a manner that if his kick had have connected it would have done serious damage= RED.
Murphy made a lot of it but still a red.
Arse. Murphy was climbing all over Collie like some kind of monkey then the ponce hits the deck and starts simulating. Assh0le deserved a boot up the hole (not in the head) for cheating. Galling to see James sent off when there should have been a free in his favour.

bullit
14/10/2011, 10:35 PM
T'was the way i seen it btbw.Is there a vid of it ?? Have a look again,i defo thought it was a straight red anyway.Regardless of what happened leading up to it,he had intent when he lashed out when they tangled on the ground.

CSFShels
14/10/2011, 10:39 PM
Ah I don't know if one can say he didn't deserve it. I don't think he made contact but you can be sent off for intending to kick someone in the face no?

14/10/2011, 10:43 PM
He clearly had a couple of goes in the general direction of his face. Amazing anybody would say he didn't deserve to be sent off.

born2bwild
14/10/2011, 10:47 PM
From what I remember Murphy hopped up on Calamity's back and crashed down on top of him. Then he wouldn't move off him. Jesus, yeah, if he lashed out (and that wasn't clear from where I was sitting) it's a card, but given how obvious Murphy's foul and his play acting was, James was definitely at least as sinned against as sinning. Yellow card would have been a better call.
Anyway, I'm not that adept at reading 'intent' so maybe James intended to kick him in the face. Trouble is, I don't know if a ref can be any better at reading intent than I am. Still a straight red for Collie covered up the fact that he made a total blunder in not calling for a free against Pat's for Murphy's acrobatic assault on James. He could just as easily have booked Murphy.
Does it make that much difference anyway? I just want to get back to the league with David Cassidy and Philly Hughes uninjured.

born2bwild
14/10/2011, 11:15 PM
Just had a look at the thing on RTE player. Not a chance that it was a fair sending off. Murphy did a kung fu move up on his back and there is zero lashing out and absolutely no contact by James in response. Murphy grabs his face like a little girl - shameful.
Playing against pansies like that used to drive me mental. James may have a lot of faults but he is not a dirty player.

15/10/2011, 12:34 AM
He played an absolute stormer tonight. Nearly scored too from a cross!

Just hope that Shels are playing the likes of Pats every week next year.

Looked like it. Very impressed with the lads tonight. Dying for Monday to come already. Gonna be class.

On the sending off; I would have sent him off if I was the ref, but I had the benefit of a digibox and I rewound it and on several viewings I would have reversed the decision.
Buttimer didn't have that option. Murphy was all over James when that ball came in and it was definitely a free to us. But these things happen. I wasn't at all bitter about the red to be fair. I knew AM would send them out all guns blazing iun the second half. Cheesesteak was great as well tonight. I know I have been critical of him after the debacle v Sheriff, but he's shut me up tonight. Gonna be a great month.

15/10/2011, 6:41 AM
Thought shels were excellent, would fancy them in richer now with 11 men. Pete is one negative cu** though

Argh damn Pats as my tasty double with Bristol Rovers implodes. Pats should have had this game wrapped up early in the second half, my god such an effort from them, and what was North doing out on wing!!!!A lot of passengers on the pats team (mcfaul, murphy) and kavangh would be some player if he had an end project. Man how bad have Pats ended up since i have seen them at start of season.:mad:
I didnt see the last 20 mins but well done Shels.

Hibs4Ever
15/10/2011, 7:06 AM
Good game and huge occassion for Shels, Pats will definitely win the replay though

GalwayRed
15/10/2011, 11:20 AM
Good game and huge occassion for Shels, Pats will definitely win the replay though
I wouldn't say huge occasion for us. If anything Pats were the side that looked nervous last night. Our main focus is the league whereas Pats season is sort of resting on Monday night now.
I thought we deserved a draw out of the game and was very pleased with how we reacted to going a goal and a man down. I haven't seen any replays but my initial reaction was that it deserved a red.
I reckon Pats will beat us on Monday but we might as well give it a go anyway.

16/10/2011, 12:08 PM
Are rte gona show Mondays replay?

16/10/2011, 1:19 PM

Wouldn't think they will, unless they cancel or move MNS?

El-Pietro
16/10/2011, 2:41 PM
looks like a decent crowd in Dayler.

don't agree with Rico that that was a penalty though. His hand was by his side, it wasn't sticking out

monkey9
16/10/2011, 2:43 PM

I don't imagine they will. They didn't show our semi final replay last year against the Shams!!

monkey9
16/10/2011, 2:45 PM
looks like a decent crowd in Dayler.

don't agree with Rico that that was a penalty though. His hand was by his side, it wasn't sticking out

Yeah, never a penalty!

monkey9
16/10/2011, 2:46 PM
Ger O' Brien could be James Beattie's identical twin!!

dong
16/10/2011, 7:42 PM
Hancock did his best to ruin that game today. He was pathetic once again.
We were poor, but Bohs were very limited in all honesty.
Great to be heading to the Aviva again but the disappointment of the league still lingers a small bit.
Very small home crowd today I thought. Sad to see.

Calcio Jack
16/10/2011, 8:02 PM
Great to be heading to the Aviva again but the disappointment of the league still lingers a small bit.

Careful now... saying you find that something relating to Bohs to be sad might get you into all sorts of trouble... gook luck in the final... will you bring as big a crowd as last year ?

hoopy
16/10/2011, 8:14 PM
You'd think with 11 groundskeepers that the pitch would've been in better condition

OneForTheFuture
16/10/2011, 8:41 PM
Careful now... saying you find that something relating to Bohs to be sad might get you into all sorts of trouble... gook luck in the final... will you bring as big a crowd as last year ?

Careful now....Ya racist

hoops1
17/10/2011, 9:55 AM
Poor match yesterday. Very disappointed in Sligo. But a win is a win.

17/10/2011, 10:11 AM
To be fair Bohs did defend well and were quick to break up play. Found it a better game than the Pats one to be honest.
Fair dues to RTE, for a change. Three LOI games in a week, wow that felt good

marinobohs
17/10/2011, 1:19 PM
To be fair Bohs did defend well and were quick to break up play. Found it a better game than the Pats one to be honest.
Fair dues to RTE, for a change. Three LOI games in a week, wow that felt good

Due to suspensions (will clubs ever change that rule ?) and injury Bohs were down to bare bones and were very limited in attacking options (Brennan was clearly not fit) and Sligo -without ever playing well - deserved the win. Overall a poor game with very few chances for either team. Sligo (especially in second half) looked more likely to nick a goal. No surprise either that it was a sloppy enough goal when it came.

best of luck to Sligo in the final (FAI Cup is fast becoming to them what League Cup is to Derry :))

17/10/2011, 1:21 PM
best of luck to Sligo in the final (FAI Cup is fast becoming to them what League Cup is to Derry :))
Does that mean we can finally say that Rovers are the Cup specialists again?

marinobohs
17/10/2011, 1:28 PM
Does that mean we can finally say that Rovers are the Cup specialists again?

Thats why I stressed SLIGO, Stu :D. In recent years Sligo's FAI Cup record is beyond compare (3 finals in a row). Is there a criteria to be reached to qualify as "cup specialists" ?

placid casual
17/10/2011, 1:34 PM
Winning it 6 years in a row would lend itself to the monicker.

17/10/2011, 1:45 PM
Is it tonight yet?

Come on!!!!!!!

17/10/2011, 1:47 PM
Atrocious stuff from Hancock, both sides were poor on the ball, but the referee exacerbated it.

dong
17/10/2011, 2:31 PM

Hard to say. I think we will bring a similar amount judging by the interest the semi final generated.

bluewhitearmy
17/10/2011, 2:36 PM
Hope Pats win the cup just cos they have Kav.

El-Pietro
17/10/2011, 3:55 PM
will there be any radio coverage or anything for this?

17/10/2011, 4:04 PM
Pats fan commentary on ustream is the only audio (they've been trialling pictures too, so maybe you'll get that too). No TV

redobit
17/10/2011, 4:51 PM
Out of interest how is it decided who is the home team. Didnt matter last couple of seasons but the teams in the final playing in red it will be an issue!

de bowez
17/10/2011, 5:06 PM

Agree with all of that except for the crowd bit, biggest attendance in Dalyer in a long time and possibly for the last time. Will be far lower on Friday.

Also think we would have had a far better chance if Burns, Flood and Fagan had been available. Although the defence did very well considering we were playing 2 left backs and 2 right backs.