21st A Monaghan Utd
29th H Waterford United

30/09/2011, 11:48 PM
1st Shels 71
2nd Monaghan 70
3rd Cork 66
4th Limerick 66

Thats the way I see it finishing. The goal difference will kill us.

hotspur
05/10/2011, 8:32 PM
1st Shels 71
2nd Monaghan 70
3rd Cork 66
4th Limerick 66

Thats the way I see it finishing. The goal difference will kill us.

I think limerick will get third spot they will beat mons away, they have a few suspended also cork have shels to play.

bluewhitearmy
05/10/2011, 8:54 PM
I think limerick will get third spot they will beat mons away, they have a few suspended also cork have shels to play.

Mons have none suspended for game against Limerick and we need them to drop points other then lose to us....Not a chance of catching Cork now imo.

dutchie
06/10/2011, 3:08 AM
Might be a better thing that Mons have full team against us and missing a few against Mervue,all we can do is win all our games and you never know!!!

dutchie
06/10/2011, 3:16 AM
Might be a better thing that Mons have full team against us and missing a few against Mervue,all we can do is win all our games and you never know!!!

06/10/2011, 9:38 AM
Roddy came out with a classic on Newstalk last night. He was talking about diving in the box and how much it disgusts him. The presenter asked him what would he do if Mons won a pen in the last minute that would get them promoted but the striker had blatantly dived to get the penalty.
"Oh", says Shoddy, "I'd be telling him to roll it wide...no question" :confused:

Limerick defenders...be aware of this!!

bluewhitearmy
06/10/2011, 4:24 PM
The suspended Mons players miss the Wexford game and only the Wexford game so far.

Only a one game ban in LOI for straight red which is ridiculous. Unless the ref recommends it should be more or something like that.

passerrby
06/10/2011, 4:49 PM
The suspended Mons players miss the Wexford game and only the Wexford game so far.

Only a one game ban in LOI for straight red which is ridiculous. Unless the ref recommends it should be more or something like that.

there was no straight red

bluewhitearmy
06/10/2011, 4:58 PM
there was no straight red

Sean Brennan was given a straight red either that or the ref was so fast at getting the yellow out for him no-one around me saw it.

Were you at the game?

Edit: From Extratime.ie

Cork City 3 - 1 Monaghan United
79' - Red Card - And Monaghan are down to ten after Sean Brennan is given a straight red for an absolutely brutal 'tackle' on Shane Duggan.

passerrby
06/10/2011, 5:51 PM
Sean Brennan was given a straight red either that or the ref was so fast at getting the yellow out for him no-one around me saw it.

Were you at the game?

Edit: From Extratime.ie

Cork City 3 - 1 Monaghan United
79' - Red Card - And Monaghan are down to ten after Sean Brennan is given a straight red for an absolutely brutal 'tackle' on Shane Duggan.

ref showed seanie a yellow earlier and i think you are right he was very fast in flashing the second yellow but am not sure as i was some distance away

bluewhitearmy
06/10/2011, 6:37 PM
ref showed seanie a yellow earlier and i think you are right he was very fast in flashing the second yellow but am not sure as i was some distance away

Id be fairly sure he did not show any yellow to Sean after the tackle on Duggan he showed him a straight red...I know Ryan got a yellow earlier but im almost certain Sean was a straight red.

Not that it means anything but Extratime dont have Sean getting any yellow either.

El-Pietro
07/10/2011, 10:26 AM
it was definitely a straight red. dunno if he got a yellow earlier in the game but the first sending off was one card

07/10/2011, 11:17 AM

The disciplinary committee meets on Mondays afaik, so they'll decide then if it warrants an extra game or two, based on the match report.

Everything I've read has said it was a straight red.

passerrby
07/10/2011, 12:36 PM
The disciplinary committee meets on Mondays afaik, so they'll decide then if it warrants an extra game or two, based on the match report.

Everything I've read has said it was a straight red.

methinks you are correct ,spoke to the kitman who thinks it was a straight red

bluewhitearmy
07/10/2011, 2:19 PM
I hope it was or this LOI business has finally made me lose it.

Targetman
08/10/2011, 8:09 PM
Waterford beat Shels 1-0 tonight, and Cork have gone top after beating Salthill 4-0.

1st Cork 28 / 63
2nd Shels 27 / 62
3rd Mons 26 / 58
4th Limerick 27 / 57

Can definitely see a few more twists and turns coming in the last few games, Its still all to play for.

ped_ped
08/10/2011, 10:27 PM
Harps and Cork to nail Shels to 4th place anyone?

(Not clutching at straws, just taking the p!ss . . .)

born2bwild
09/10/2011, 11:26 AM
If form was gravity Shels would be doomed.

bluewhitearmy
09/10/2011, 3:48 PM
Mons beating Wexford 2-0.

Cant see em dropping points to Mervue or Athlone.
Cant see us beating them either being honest.

bluepowers
10/10/2011, 10:40 AM
lets hope we can bring it to final game of the season anyway be a miracle if we do get promotion but you never know just need a monaghan slip up

hotspur
10/10/2011, 12:40 PM
lets hope we can bring it to final game of the season anyway be a miracle if we do get promotion but you never know just need a monaghan slip up

Limerick will get promoted shels have bottled it and i think cork will beat them, limerick have to stay focused on every game.

harpin
10/10/2011, 12:50 PM
Limerick will get promoted shels have bottled it and i think cork will beat them, limerick have to stay focused on every game.

Shels would still have to lose to either Harps or Salthill as well....it's not happening

As for us getting promoted...Mervue to take points off Mons followed by us beating Athlone Mons and Waterford...it's not happening

Teams in the premier going bust, not getting licences, we get promoted...most likely scenario

I hope I'm wrong but I doubt it

bluewhitearmy
10/10/2011, 1:28 PM
Shels would still have to lose to either Harps or Salthill as well....it's not happening

As for us getting promoted...Mervue to take points off Mons followed by us beating Athlone Mons and Waterford...it's not happening

Teams in the premier going bust, not getting licences, we get promoted...most likely scenario

I hope I'm wrong but I doubt it

Definitely most likely but id hate to go up like that.

thomas72
10/10/2011, 1:53 PM
Definitely most likely but id hate to go up like that.

After nearly 20yrs in division one I could not give a fck how we go up as long as we do.

10/10/2011, 2:57 PM
After nearly 20yrs in division one I could not give a fck how we go up as long as we do.

Any way will do but it just wouldn't feel the same. Getting up on the field is a good way of drumming up support for the team and getting momentum in the club. Going up on technicalities just isn't the same.

bluewhitearmy
10/10/2011, 3:28 PM
After how long we have spent in the 1st division i want to be bale to go mental after a match that we have been promoted get that moment of joy after finally getting out of the division.

Just wouldn't be the same finding out through reading it on here or Extratime or anything like that. On the pitch should be the only way to go up or down hope this league gets to a stage where that happens some year.

Patrick Dunne
10/10/2011, 3:40 PM
If Limerick finish outside the play-off places, it is my reading of the situation that two clubs would have to go bust/be refused a Premier Licence, before you would be promoted.

The loser of the play-offs would be first in line (unless they go bust themselves first ! ).

Shannonsider
10/10/2011, 5:37 PM
I wouldn't like to see another club go bust, even if that means Limerick will go up. As a football fan I would hate to see another club go, especially after the progress domestic football has made this year. Still a hope of doing it on the pitch, not a huge one, but fingers crossed. We should know by Friday anyways for sure.

bluewhitearmy
10/10/2011, 6:06 PM
I wouldn't like to see another club go bust, even if that means Limerick will go up. As a football fan I would hate to see another club go, especially after the progress domestic football has made this year. Still a hope of doing it on the pitch, not a huge one, but fingers crossed. We should know by Friday anyways for sure.

What progress?

ped_ped
10/10/2011, 8:26 PM
Assume he's referring to Rovers exploits in Europe? Which is nothing if not progress.

bluewhitearmy
10/10/2011, 8:55 PM
Assume he's referring to Rovers exploits in Europe? Which is nothing if not progress.

Progress for Rovers yes...The league is still a joke and Rovers getting into Europe hasnt helped the fact that we could lose clubs again this off season.

abbeyvale
10/10/2011, 11:34 PM
As of Mon 10/10/11

1 Cork City 28 18 9 1 68 / 24 63
2 Shelbourne 27 20 2 5 53 / 21 62
3 Monaghan United 27 19 4 4 54 / 26 61
4 Limerick 27 17 6 4 42 / 21 57

Remaining Fixtures

Shels
Oct
14th H Finn Harps
22nd A Salthill Devon
29th H Cork City

Mons
Oct
14th A Mervue United
21st H Limerick
29th A Athlone Town

Cork
Oct
21st H Longford Town
29th A Shelbourne

Limerick
Oct
14th H Athlone Town
21st A Monaghan Utd
29th H Waterford United

4tothefloor
10/10/2011, 11:42 PM
Hopefully the Limerick mafia at Athlone will roll over for ourselves and then take something off of Mons on the final day. If any of ye know the lads, start making some phone calls :D

El-Pietro
11/10/2011, 12:31 AM
Mervue is your best bet to take points from Mons excluding yourselves

kingpin4
11/10/2011, 1:36 AM
Imagine this scenario.

Shels v Finn harps, harps win
Shels v salthill, Shels win
Shels v cork, cork win
Leaves Shels on 65 points

Cork win their 2 games, finish on 69

Mons v mervue, draw
Mons v Lims, Lims win
Mons v athlone, mons win
Leaves them on 65

Lims win their 3, finish on 66 points

1. Cork
2. Limerick
3. Shels
4. Monaghan

How surreal would that be? (obviously it'll all be blown out of the water come this Friday when Shels and monaghan batter harps and mervue...but I can dream)

11/10/2011, 10:19 AM
Yeah it's this weekend that the dream will start to really crumble I fear. I'd hate to go up via some off the field mechanism (enlarged Premier division next year anyone?), much like bluepowers I would feel cheated out of a period of mayhem when that final whistle goes. OBVIOUSLY if it comes to that we take it and we plan for the future but you'd have to be a small, miserable sort of club to celebrate an administrative promotion like it was a cure for cancer.

11/10/2011, 10:23 AM
Yyou'd have to be a small, miserable sort of club to celebrate an administrative promotion like it was a cure for cancer.

Meh, I'd take it. Obviously it would be way way better to go up for footballing reasons, but if it's a choice of staying in the graveyard or going up on a technicality then it's an easy call. We've only been down here 2 years and it's sucking the life out of us, I'd hae thought ye'd latch onto any chance of going up!

bluewhitearmy
11/10/2011, 1:30 PM
Meh, I'd take it.

Sadloserkids point proven :p

fieldofmarkets
11/10/2011, 4:54 PM
If we finish on 66 but Mons still beat is to 3rd...they'll be up on a technicality (2pts v Harps) and I'm sure they will be fine with it. I'd take it now.

11/10/2011, 7:14 PM
worth noting btw that the broadsheet newspapers have not given the mons the two extra points yet as know one has been notified.

abbeyvale
12/10/2011, 11:14 PM
League play-offs scheduled

by Extratime Team
Wed, Oct 12 2011

The FAI have announced the details of the Airtricity League promotion/relegation play-offs. According to the press release, the third placed First Division club will face a two legged clash with the tenth placed Premier Division side. The first leg will take place on Tuesday 1st November with home advantage to the First Division club. The second leg will play three days later, on the 4th November.

This confirms the fact that the top two sides in the First Division will gain automatic promotion, resulting in a 12 team Premier Division next season. For the 2011 season, the Premier Division featured ten clubs. The First Division had been planned to contain 12 teams but with the withdrawal of Sporting Fingal from the league with no replacement selected, the division had to run with 11.

Should the play-off be level scores after the two legs, extratime and penalties will decide the game. As Shels currently are competing in the FAI Cup semi finals, should they finish third in the league and reach the FAI Cup final, the second leg game will be moved to the 9th November.

The match order and dates have been confirmed as follows by the NLEC (all matches to kick-off at 7.45 pm):

First Leg - Tuesday, 1st November:
Third placed First Division Club v Tenth placed Premier Division Club

Second Leg – Friday, 4th November:
Tenth placed Premier Division Club v Third placed First Division Club

14/10/2011, 10:58 PM
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-s6C1vku5VJI/TjlIQCv8tyI/AAAAAAAADWE/gqH_BzNQWOI/s320/qprlolfail-meme-generator-clutching-at-straws-7b031d.jpg....at this stage.

born2bwild
14/10/2011, 11:28 PM
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-s6C1vku5VJI/TjlIQCv8tyI/AAAAAAAADWE/gqH_BzNQWOI/s320/qprlolfail-meme-generator-clutching-at-straws-7b031d.jpg....at this stage.
No. Youse have got to crucify them semi-nordie ba$tards next week. I'm going up to Monaghan to watch it.

bluewhitearmy
15/10/2011, 12:47 AM
Its over now i reckon.

15/10/2011, 7:55 AM
Fukn sickened. Hard to compete with pure good luck and roddy's getting it in spades. Still, you make your own luck I believe and this is scullys karma for being a negative tactician all season.

fieldofmarkets
15/10/2011, 9:33 AM
Another Mons late late sickener.....we've all had some but they are ridiculous. Going up to the game anyway on Friday, if we're still alive on the last day then you never know. Really want to see a performance from us and take the 3 points.

AlanOB
15/10/2011, 10:30 AM
What an absolute sickener last night. I knew it was coming but it still hurt. Particularly because Mervue had two glorious chances to equalise in injury time. :(

Reading on other forums, everyone seems to hate Mons. They're viewed as a cynical side who don't deserve to be in the position they're in. Now personally I believe the table never lies, but they have had their luck, what with the Harps debacle and copious last minute winners.

But like I've said before, we've been the architects of our own downfall. 9 goals in 2 home games shows what could have been done in Jackman earlier in the season. Shame.

bluewhitearmy
15/10/2011, 4:23 PM
Big thank you letter from Mong U to Delaney and Fran if we win our last 2 it was the FAI that got em up....UCD at least will be thrilled that their support will look fantastic if Mons are up.

Pablo Escobar
15/10/2011, 4:29 PM
You seem to be ignoring us. If we fail to beat Longball on Friday, we could be in a spot of bother!