View Full Version : Michael Keane

Pages : 1 [2]

theworm2345
30/09/2011, 10:57 PM
I couldnt imagine Doolin falling out with a young footballer!!!
Damn, if only we had Givens on the job.

Predator
30/09/2011, 11:19 PM
Our lamentation can be soothed with the thought that Derry-man Shane Duffy, Dublin-man Mark O'Brien, Galway-man Greg Cunningham and Cork-man John Egan among others are also our prospective defenders. Perhaps Keane thinks he has a better chance at breaking through the English ranks? You wouldn't blame him.

01/10/2011, 1:35 AM
Mexico sent their senior squad to the Gold Cup this year and they sent their U'23 squad to the Copa America. The Copa America games were obviously A internationals as well even though Mexico were invited and sent their U'23s.

The Gold Cup is their 'home' Confederation championship. They sent a 'B' team to the Copa, so again it would say to me that the Copa in this case wasn't full international for the protagonists.

Irwin3
01/10/2011, 1:43 AM
The Gold Cup is their 'home' Confederation championship. They sent a 'B' team to the Copa, so again it would say to me that the Copa in this case wasn't full international for the protagonists.

But to FIFA it is.

All the matches in a competition have to have the same status. It's up to the national teams what players they select.

01/10/2011, 2:05 AM
Then outside if what I have said explain FIFA's decision re Motta?

Irwin3
01/10/2011, 8:24 AM
Then outside if what I have said explain FIFA's decision re Motta?

Like I said earlier, 'anything goes' with the right appeal and the right lawyers.

03/10/2011, 2:38 PM
It's unfortunate to hear when a player doesn't want to play for Ireland, but I won't lose sleep over it. It is their choice, after all and it must be respected.
What I find worrying, however, is that Doolin has McGinty on standby - has he fallen out with him?

Your sig got me thinking Predator -perhaps we could get the FAI to enlist someone the young players would look up to, like Lawro, and give him an official title of Elite Player Mentor (EPN for short) entrusting him with the task of steadying the resolve of players who might be coming under undue pressure from within their families and communities...

Sullivinho
03/10/2011, 2:53 PM
Your sig got me thinking Predator -perhaps we could get the FAI to enlist someone the young players would look up to, like Lawro, and give him an official title of Elite Player Mentor (EPN for short) entrusting him with the task of steadying the resolve of players who might be coming under undue pressure from within their families and communities...

Roy Keane: Elite Player Mentalist.

gastric
03/10/2011, 10:14 PM
Roy Keane: Elite Player Mentalist.

Roy sits there with a kid's parents giving them a steely stare. As he drinks his coffee, he massages his baseball bat. His only comment - 'go ahead punks make my day'.

Yep Sullivniho, he is definitely the man for the job.

Top Drawer
06/10/2011, 12:32 PM
It's unfortunate to hear when a player doesn't want to play for Ireland, but I won't lose sleep over it. It is their choice, after all and it must be respected.
What I find worrying, however, is that Doolin has McGinty on standby - has he fallen out with him? Can I mention a few / Mc Ginty, Brady, Duffy, O Brien these are a few that he has fallen out with in 12 months as well as "allegedly" making little of Keane on the last away trip.

Why would anybody want to play for him.

06/10/2011, 12:41 PM
By "fallen out" do you mean he has overlooked them for squads? He had a few words to say about Brady in public but he's since stepped up to the 21s anyway.

Wolfie
06/10/2011, 12:42 PM
Top Drawer[/B];1539790]Can I mention a few / Mc Ginty, Brady, Duffy, O Brien these are a few that he has fallen out with in 12 months as well as "allegedly" making little of Keane on the last away trip.

Why would anybody want to play for him.

Good man, Top Drawer. Would ye check to see if I left my passport with you??? I've tried the side press, the bottom shelf and the overhead cabinet to no avail. Plane leaves in 2 hours.

Mark Breen
12/01/2012, 5:14 PM
Michael Keane has told the new edition of 'Inside United' that he has switched his international allegiance from Ireland to England.

Source is: Sky sports reporter Enda Brady

12/01/2012, 5:24 PM
Best of luck to him. Hope he makes it.

Had read somewhere, could of been redcafe or somewhere, that Michael couldn't understand William playing for England because they were brought up Irish but obviously that could of been hogwash, in recent foot.ie lingo.

It could be the same influences in the United youth set up that see us lose out on mcginty.

Olé Olé
12/01/2012, 5:51 PM
Best of luck to him. Hope he makes it.

Had read somewhere, could of been redcafe or somewhere, that Michael couldn't understand William playing for England because they were brought up Irish but obviously that could of been hogwash, in recent foot.ie lingo.

It could be the same influences in the United youth set up that see us lose out on mcginty.

Kevin Gallen syndrome strikes again!

12/01/2012, 5:55 PM
Kevin Gallen syndrome strikes again!
Can't find any reference to it, so we'll just say I made it up. Disregard.

Olé Olé
12/01/2012, 6:22 PM
Can't find any reference to it, so we'll just say I made it up. Disregard.

I actually think I remember reference being made to it. There's actually quite a few parallels with a recent article I read about Kevin Gallen who was pressurised by people within his club to play for England under-age (manager Gerry Francis due to some rule on foreign players in the squad, if I'm correct), even though his background was distinctly and proudly Irish. He expressed a degree of regret and even attempted to go back on the decision but his time had passed.

Michael Keane is taking a big risk declaring for England. If Gallen is to be believed, then Keane's decision appears more to be of his own accord. The amount of players that make the grade with both United and England is very small. Fair play to him for taking the risk. But if the risk fails I wouldn't be particularly happy to see Keane welcomed back into the Ireland set-up (if he is even still eligible to switch allegiance back).

Given that McGinty and Keane are of a similar age, position and profile, do they honestly think that both of them will be heavily involved in the English set-up for the next 10 years without their progress being to the detriment of the other, given the amount of players their age and position with premiership clubs harbouring England ambitions also? Best of luck to them either way.

I'm not sure either if McGinty has switched his allegiance. We'll wait and see, I guess.

youngirish
12/01/2012, 9:03 PM
Surely we can all be a bit more bitter and twisted on this forum regarding Keane's decision considering all that money we paid into his development. This needs to be taken to CAS and Keane should be dragged into the dock to explain his treacherous actions.

liamoo11
12/01/2012, 9:34 PM
Best of luck to him. At the end of the day if you feel irish play for us if you dont play for england. If Keane feels english then Im sure one under 21 england cap will mean more to him than 30 senior Ireland caps and rightly so I think. Well played young man

DannyInvincible
12/01/2012, 10:33 PM
Surely we can all be a bit more bitter and twisted on this forum regarding Keane's decision considering all that money we paid into his development. This needs to be taken to CAS and Keane should be dragged into the dock to explain his treacherous actions.

We had a nice multicultural thing going on here too until the FA came meddling, but I heard Keane couldn't even find it within himself to wear shamrock last St. Paddy's Day so maybe we're best rid of the bigot.

Predator
12/01/2012, 10:36 PM
Compensation! Bigotry!

Sullivinho
12/01/2012, 10:46 PM
Treachery!

12/01/2012, 10:47 PM
Time to get onto the EPN for some tips to sort out this debacle.

It's rather hilarious the difference in tone from here to the OWC regarding "defections".

gastric
12/01/2012, 11:17 PM
Dirty rotten Ba***ard leaving us to join England. P**ck. I hope he gets injured early in his career, the dirty rotten Mancunian turncoat. Along with McGinty they should be never be allowed to enter Ireland again.

Bonnie, is this the tone you want because if it pleases you I can continue and even bring it lower. Just let me know. I think the OWC posters are on to something!

Predator
12/01/2012, 11:21 PM
I can tell you something: this isn't over!

and to paraphrase a well known chairman

You wonder what influences young players and their families come under when deciding their international future... The FA is undermining a cross community team and those who support this practice are sectarianising the argument. Froth. Not. Making. Sense.

12/01/2012, 11:59 PM
It remains to be seen if these guy are good enough to play international football at a senior level.

Yes they could turn out to be the next Leon Heskey but nothing is proven yet.

No point in crying until some milk is actually spilt.

13/01/2012, 12:07 AM
I can tell you something: this isn't over!

and to paraphrase a well known chairman

You wonder what influences young players and their families come under when deciding their international future... The FA is undermining a cross community team and those who support this practice are sectarianising the argument. Froth. Not. Making. Sense.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h55HYoV0HH4

13/01/2012, 12:08 AM
Dirty rotten Ba***ard leaving us to join England. P**ck. I hope he gets injured early in his career, the dirty rotten Mancunian turncoat. Along with McGinty they should be never be allowed to enter Ireland again.

Bonnie, is this the tone you want because if it pleases you I can continue and even bring it lower. Just let me know. I think the OWC posters are on to something!

Well. You know, It's like the love that dare not speak it's name. Thanks for the insight into how it could be over on OWC. :( I wish I could play too.

AlaskaFox
13/01/2012, 3:06 PM
Best of luck to him. At the end of the day if you feel irish play for us if you dont play for england. If Keane feels english then Im sure one under 21 england cap will mean more to him than 30 senior Ireland caps and rightly so I think. Well played young man

Exactly this. Well said.

Deckydee
14/02/2012, 10:58 AM
http://www.manutd.com/en/News-And-Features/Football-News/2012/Jan/will-keane-and-michael-keane-have-international-ambitions.aspx

14/02/2012, 12:21 PM
Boo. Hiss.

14/02/2012, 12:48 PM
Boo. Hiss.
Depriving someone of an underage cap, using our resources. These lads need to be weeded out!

Oh wait. Best of luck to him. Hope we qualify for the finals and meet the English over there, don't think there is much between the sides despite the different resources available.

When is the U19 squad for the Turkey friendly named?
I see Neill Byrne (Notts Forest[Rochdale loan]) has received his call up already.
http://www.rochdaleafc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10441~2609699,00.html

Olé Olé
14/02/2012, 1:07 PM
Have these lads twitter accounts? Time for a tirade of torrential abuse!

Will's goalscoring record doesn't seem too strong with the English underage systems for a prodigious talent. The way Pogba and Morrison have struggled to make an impact on the first team, it's hard to see how these lads will break through into the United first team. Best of luck to them and I hope they do it. It took a lot for them, Michael in particular, to commit to England when their chances of a long, prosperous career with Ireland are far greater.

Will is eligible to switch back if he doesn't play a competitive senior game for England. What's Michael's status in this regard? Not that I would ever like to see them switch back, just wondering whether the window is open to them.

Really hoping McGinty doesn't want to switch, even if indications are that his head has been turned.

AlaskaFox
14/02/2012, 3:50 PM
Have these lads twitter accounts? Time for a tirade of torrential abuse!

Will's goalscoring record doesn't seem too strong with the English underage systems for a prodigious talent. The way Pogba and Morrison have struggled to make an impact on the first team, it's hard to see how these lads will break through into the United first team. Best of luck to them and I hope they do it. It took a lot for them, Michael in particular, to commit to England when their chances of a long, prosperous career with Ireland are far greater.

Will is eligible to switch back if he doesn't play a competitive senior game for England. What's Michael's status in this regard? Not that I would ever like to see them switch back, just wondering whether the window is open to them.

Really hoping McGinty doesn't want to switch, even if indications are that his head has been turned.

I'd welcome him back with open arms.

14/02/2012, 5:02 PM

Not sure if it makes any difference, but Sean McGinty's twitter feed describes himself as an Irish underage international

<EDIT>

Just checked, and he's either closed it or is using a different one now.

Jack Grealish's account - https://twitter.com/#!/JackGrealish1 - describes himself "I play for Aston Villa u18s and Republic Of Ireland u17s"

Olé Olé
14/02/2012, 5:41 PM
Not sure if it makes any difference, but Sean McGinty's twitter feed describes himself as an Irish underage international

<EDIT>

Just checked, and he's either closed it or is using a different one now.

Jack Grealish's account - https://twitter.com/#!/JackGrealish1 - describes himself "I play for Aston Villa u18s and Republic Of Ireland u17s"

Aye, Grealish played for our under 17's out in the Algarve on Thursday. Hoping the lad sticks it out with us now.

Interesting tweets from Jack actually!

Counting down the days to european championships , wouldnt miss it for NOTHING !! Im feeling it's irelands year lol :) !!
Followed up with:

& btw peeps i mean u17 european championships lol :) not the senior one in the summer as I would prefer England to win that #Opinions

McGinty's account seems definitely deleted. Well someone tweeted that him and Reece Brown (Wes's brother) deleted their accounts.

McGinty and both Keanes have been included in United's squad for the Europa league.

27/04/2012, 8:37 AM
Confirmed

Michael Keane in England squad
http://www.manutd.com/en/News-And-Features/Football-News/2012/Apr/michael-keane-gets-first-england-call-up.aspx

Best of luck to him, hope he makes the England squad some day. I'd be interested to know if his choice was purely on football, i.e, England will offer him better opportunities, or if it's because he feels more English. Probably a bit of both.
I'm only interested out of curiosity by the way, he's free to choose either country despite his motivation.

The Fly
27/04/2012, 10:29 AM
There's just something wrong about someone named Keane playing for England.

27/04/2012, 10:43 AM
could be two of them if his twin brother is as good!

27/04/2012, 10:51 AM
Best of luck to him.

Sullivinho
27/04/2012, 10:57 AM
There's just something wrong about someone named Keane playing for England.

All bets were off after someone called 'Danny Murphy' turned out for 'em. :D

Irwin3
27/04/2012, 2:30 PM
could be two of them if his twin brother is as good!

Will's already played for the U'21's.

Predator
27/04/2012, 9:17 PM
Do you think Mickey saw the likes of Duffy, Egan, Kiernan, Connolly etc. and thought, "You know, maybe my chances of getting a game are better with England". :)

Philly
27/04/2012, 10:53 PM
Can't win 'em all. It must be confusing for lads when they are coming through the ranks to decide where their allegiance lies. I hope he has a good England career!

28/04/2012, 1:28 AM
I guess they saw the strength of the current Irish squad and up coming players and decided to take the easy option
rather than try and make the Ireland squad. Can't blame em.

liam1289
14/06/2012, 1:38 PM
anyone know has he offically put all in with engerland?

samhaydenjr
01/03/2015, 1:03 AM
Couldn't find a thread for Will Keane but I noticed that he got his third goal in six games for Sheffield Wednesday today - maybe it's time to have a word in his ear? Or possibly a few words - like Kane, Sturridge, Berahino, Rooney, Austin, Ings, Welbeck, Wickham, Walcott ;)

TrapAPony
01/03/2015, 10:43 AM
Couldn't find a thread for Will Keane but I noticed that he got his third goal in six games for Sheffield Wednesday today - maybe it's time to have a word in his ear? Or possibly a few words - like Kane, Sturridge, Berahino, Rooney, Austin, Ings, Welbeck, Wickham, Walcott ;)

I'd be saying the same to Patrick Bamford:D

samhaydenjr
02/03/2015, 2:50 AM
I'd be saying the same to Patrick Bamford:D

Oh yeah, Bamford would definitely be a coup. From an interview with him at http://www.thenorthernecho.co.uk/sport/football/middlesbrough/11533057.Bamford_chose_England_over_Ireland_despit e_family_calls/

“It is still my aim to play for England but I have my Mum’s side of the family who are all Irish, and they are pushing me. But I think I am English and we will see what happens."

Ooh, possible identity crisis there - keep it up, Mrs Bamford's family