View Full Version : When will we blow it
17/09/2011, 7:36 PM
Can a mod make this a poll.
In honour of Limerick fans and our legendary optimism the question I ask is simple:
Of the five must win games left which one will we blow it on?
Wexford (H)
Mervue (A)
Athlone (H)
Monaghan (A)
Waterford (H)
Monaghan is the obvious one but Mervue could be a cheeky outside bet. :ball:
17/09/2011, 7:45 PM
I would have said Mervue but thinking of it we have a good chance of beating them, they will at least try play ball and not go all defensive . If we win all games up to Monaghan I think we can actually go up. Other teams have games in hand but I always say it's better to have points in the bag.
If it comes down to the last day of the season i don't think my nerves will handle it.
We now have 4 points from 6 in the last series of games against the other top teams. If we beat Monaghan then that's 7 from 9 and a great return in fairness.
harpin
17/09/2011, 8:38 PM
Can a mod make this a poll.
In honour of Limerick fans and our legendary optimism the question I ask is simple:
Wexford (H)
Mervue (A)
Athlone (H)
Monaghan (A)
Waterford (H)
Monaghan is the obvious one but Mervue could be a cheeky outside bet. :ball:
Next Friday we'll probably attract a crowd after that result last night......prays for rain
bluewhitearmy
17/09/2011, 8:44 PM
Im going to be optimistic again and say we wont blow it.(And yes i am really a Limerick fan:p)
Just to be safe though ill do a little rain dance.
17/09/2011, 11:42 PM
Poll added at LimTilIDie's request!.
Wexford (H)
Mervue (A)
Athlone (H)
Monaghan (A)
Waterford (H)
Monaghan is the obvious one but Mervue could be a cheeky outside bet.
18/09/2011, 12:08 AM
funboys at home
18/09/2011, 12:53 AM
I like Mr. Ritchies style, you can tell he was a Pike regular, not a chink of light in his Limerick outlook. :)
Second
18/09/2011, 8:55 AM
Can we not vote for all the home games.. With them boo boys in the stand how can any home team ever concentrate ...I think if they weren't in the stand shouting like a--s we would have a better more confident side at home
18/09/2011, 10:18 AM
Last game. I just have a feeling. :(
dutchie
18/09/2011, 12:19 PM
Stupid poll,by stupid people!!!
bluewhitearmy
18/09/2011, 12:29 PM
Can we not vote for all the home games.. With them boo boys in the stand how can any home team ever concentrate ...I think if they weren't in the stand shouting like a--s we would have a better more confident side at home
Weird how they play better away from home then when its only the lads from the Shed and a few more there wouldnt you think?
El-Pietro
18/09/2011, 12:38 PM
you guys probably have the easiest run in. absolutely sickened.
18/09/2011, 12:45 PM
you guys probably have the easiest run in. absolutely sickened.
Apart from Monaghan at home ye don't have to kick a ball!!
18/09/2011, 12:50 PM
Stupid poll,by stupid people!!!
Ah no, it's all tongue in cheek in fairness. :)
I hope with all the hope I've left that we don't blow it, I think there's actually a good chance that we wont, you only had to see the reaction of the players and staff at the final whistle the other night, absolutely full of belief now and so they should be.
I just set this thread up at the same time as the "It's in our own hands thread" as a window into the psyche of your average Limerick fan. This one will run to 26 pages, the other one will barely get a reply. :)
Apart from Monaghan at home ye don't have to kick a ball!!
Nonsense. Monaghan, Shels and Waterford(who's sole aim this season seems to be to beat us and do feck all else). All 3 will be tough. Fingers crossed Shels will have it officially won by then, like they should.
18/09/2011, 2:21 PM
Nonsense. Monaghan, Shels and Waterford(who's sole aim this season seems to be to beat us and do feck all else). All 3 will be tough. Fingers crossed Shels will have it officially won by then, like they should.
Think that's why he thinks mons are your only tough one. Shels will have the league wrapped up and certainly won't do us any favours. We had a tough run in but got Shels and ye out of the way with 4 points. Waterford certainly won't be easy for us either, have we ever in history won all our games against them in a season, I wouldn't think so.
18/09/2011, 2:28 PM
More or less what Jofspring says.
Mervue away is a tougher game than Waterford away IMHO. Waterford are terrible and getting worse, I know there's rivalry there but an early goal kills that. Plus it will probably be like a home game for ye crowd wise.
Shels will be gone on holidays for about two weeks by the time you come to play them. I fully expect them to roll over and have their bellies tickled.
El-Pietro
18/09/2011, 4:00 PM
Waterford are terrible but they really want to spoil our season. That's all that they have left to play for. I agree that if we score early it would probably be game over, though our formerly stingy defense has been shaky in the last few weeks. The goals we conceded against your lot were criminally bad.
We have three "easy games" against Harps, Longford and Salthill that we should win - two at home as well. Monaghan will obviously be difficult, hopefully Tommy focuses on the game and not on Roddy.
Before this weekend I thought the Shels game would come at a time when they had won the league, now I'm not so sure. We need to beat Monaghan as much to get the three points as to ensure Shels aren't battling for the title on the last day.
Yeah, I wouldn't be so certain about Shels either. They're confidence is faltering and they're only 7 ahead of Mons and Mons have game in hand and play them. They could well need something on the last day.
I'll never write off Waterford in a game against us, no matter how bad their form is. Mervue is also slightly dodgy alright but simply a must win if we want promotion.
It's certainly going to be nailbiting!
jaorta
19/09/2011, 10:34 AM
This is a ridiculous thread.Could anyone believe a limerick supporter set up this thread and didnt give an option
for limerick not to blow it.Typical
El-Pietro
19/09/2011, 10:52 AM
we're not playing Mervue micls?
19/09/2011, 11:18 AM
This is a ridiculous thread.Could anyone believe a limerick supporter set up this thread and didnt give an option
for limerick not to blow it.Typical
That option should be there alright.
Especially for people who don't get sarcasm and/or read the whole thread. :good:
Can it be added??
19/09/2011, 11:30 AM
I can assure you us City fans are thinking the exact same thing, starting tomorrow night
jaorta
19/09/2011, 12:09 PM
That option should be there alright.
Especially for people who don't get sarcasm and/or read the whole thread. :good:
Can it be added??
If you find it hard to laugh at yourself.I would be happy to do it for you....(sarcasm???)
19/09/2011, 12:21 PM
http://www.sc2mapster.com/media/avatars/4/429/300px-718smiley.svg.png
jaorta
19/09/2011, 12:23 PM
Thats more like it old son:good:
19/09/2011, 1:13 PM
What about winning all 5 and losing to Galway in the playoff?
jaorta
19/09/2011, 1:58 PM
:(
What about winning all 5 and losing to Galway in the playoff?
It would be just like something that would happen to us Gary!!!!
bluewhitearmy
19/09/2011, 2:37 PM
Cork will hammer Waterford i have seen them recently i dont care how up for it they are they are not good enough to stop Cork unless Cork bottle it. Hope im wrong obviously but cant see it.
20/09/2011, 11:24 AM
Cork will hammer Waterford i have seen them recently i dont care how up for it they are they are not good enough to stop Cork unless Cork bottle it. Hope im wrong obviously but cant see it.
You never know with football though, Salthill shouldn't have managed a draw against us a few weeks back either. At least one of the top four will make a bags of things against one of the other sides before the end.
bluewhitearmy
20/09/2011, 11:28 AM
You never know with football though, Salthill shouldn't have managed a draw against us a few weeks back either. At least one of the top four will make a bags of things against one of the other sides before the end.
Very true but im trying to convince myself there is no hope it will happen so i wont be too disappointed if Cork win :p...Also they are missing Kevin Murray and Paul Murphy which makes them weaker again.
LFC Blue
20/09/2011, 11:43 AM
Just to clarify lads 1st and 2nd automatically promoted while 3rd play last in the Premier over two legs? the Limerick Post seems to think otherwise and have printed it on numerous editions recently that 3rd play 4th for the right to play 2nd from bottom in prem. Also what about Mons getting awarded a 3-0 victory as opposed to the 0-0 draw they played out v Harps due to Harps not bloody registering a player properly.Could this ultimately cost us!
bluewhitearmy
20/09/2011, 11:59 AM
Just to clarify lads 1st and 2nd automatically promoted while 3rd play last in the Premier over two legs? the Limerick Post seems to think otherwise and have printed it on numerous editions recently that 3rd play 4th for the right to play 2nd from bottom in prem. Also what about Mons getting awarded a 3-0 victory as opposed to the 0-0 draw they played out v Harps due to Harps not bloody registering a player properly.Could this ultimately cost us!
Yep thats it...The post and Leader have it wrong for ages.