View Full Version : FAI Intermediate Cup 2011/2012

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

the hawk
07/03/2012, 9:29 PM
God help the winners of Phoenix/Everton game,they have to play the best team in Cork on the worst pitch in Cork. It made good players look very silly at times last weekend and spoilt what should have been a great game.

we all cant play on that carpet ye have tez . we would love to but we cant

beautiful game
07/03/2012, 10:39 PM
What chance have Everton in the replay?

I didn't get up there so just wondering how the game developed.

Are Phoenix up to much?

townhall tez
08/03/2012, 12:34 AM
we all cant play on that carpet ye have tez . we would love to but we cant

Moneygourney has come on a long way Mr Hawk but i wouldnt say its a carpet...astro maybe could be!

lawman
09/03/2012, 2:41 PM
If you ask most Avondale players they will tell you they hate playing in Avondale park. It was an awful venue for a quarter final of such a prestigious competition and in my opinion is not worthy of hosting a semi final of the Fai intermediate cup.

agreed. that pitch has being getting worse each season

KUFCMan
18/03/2012, 3:53 PM
RESULT

Verona 1-1 Killester
Extra Time starting

KUFCMan
18/03/2012, 4:40 PM
RESULTS

Verona 2-1 Killester (AET)
Phoenix 1-2 Everton

18/03/2012, 6:39 PM
All Cork semi, well done to Everton
Good Friday maybe?

ball-hop
19/03/2012, 3:51 PM
Great win for Everton - tasty semi coming up

Gobias
19/03/2012, 8:59 PM
Avondale vs Everton -Saturday April 7th

beautiful game
20/03/2012, 5:16 PM
Pity they can't play that in Turner's Cross. Hopefully this game will draw a huge attendance and if the FAI don't get a share of the gate then it could be a nice little earner for Avondale Utd.

Can't see anything other than an Avondale win unless they self implode but it will be tight and I fancy Avondale to pinch it 2-1.

boiled egg
21/03/2012, 10:05 AM
Well nutter, Everton are up against your beloved.. I told you everton would go far in this competition and i am being proved right at the moment.. great semi to look forward to, i can see everton pinching it tho..

AvondaleNutter
07/04/2012, 5:48 PM
Avondale 1-1 everton
Good game to watch. Everton took the lead with a Rob omahony free kick. Avondale missed a spotter on the stroke of half time but they leveled on 85 minutes after a clanger by the keeper who was excellent in the game. A draw was a fair result, replay in two weeks time. It was great to see a massive crowd at the game.

balls
07/04/2012, 7:23 PM
Avondale 1-1 everton
Good game to watch. Everton took the lead with a Rob omahony free kick. Avondale missed a spotter on the stroke of half time but they leveled on 85 minutes after a clanger by the keeper who was excellent in the game. A draw was a fair result, replay in two weeks time. It was great to see a massive crowd at the game.

Great to hear there was a big crowd what was the attendance roughly today avondalenutter ??

beautiful game
07/04/2012, 10:00 PM
Poor game today.

Both sides cancelled each other out.

Didn't think Avondale did enough to warrant a replay but they got the bit of good fortune that's necessary at any level.

Really disappointed with the attendance for such a high profile game.

There was no more than 300 and I think I'm being generous there.

Hopefully a much bigger crowd will come along for the replay.

AvondaleNutter
08/04/2012, 9:34 AM
Poor game today.

Both sides cancelled each other out.

Didn't think Avondale did enough to warrant a replay but they got the bit of good fortune that's necessary at any level.

Really disappointed with the attendance for such a high profile game.

There was no more than 300 and I think I'm being generous there.

Hopefully a much bigger crowd will come along for the replay.

I think you just said the complete opposite to me. Avondale were the better team in the second half, they also missed a spotter and Meade missed a one on one. Every spot in the perimeter of the pitch was taken by a spectator, it's a msl game, so 300 is still a good number. Not sure what the final figure was but there was a massive crowd at it.

beautiful game
08/04/2012, 9:57 AM
I agree Avondale were the better side in the second half but for the standards they have set this season they looked pretty ordinary. Credit to Everton for the workrate and Don Horan must have covered every blade of grass tracking Mark Sullivan. You'd still fancy Avondale in the replay but it's nicely set up now for a real cracking tie.

In terms of the attendance. It's just not good enough. The league ensured it was practically the only game in town and I didn't see a whole lot of players, coaches or supporters of many of the other teams out there.

If this was a junior GAA semi-final you'd nearly have to delay kick-off because of the crowds. The league was wrapped up a long time ago and removed any chance of a last day showdown that we've seen in recent years and yet the FAI Intermediate Cup throws up an all-Cork semi-final and all it can muster is about 300.

I know the location of Avondale Park is not ideal so hopefully more people will come out to Everton Park in two weeks time as the players deserve it especially with the final in Dublin.

KUFCMan
08/04/2012, 2:01 PM
RESULT

Cherry Orchard 0-0 Verona

balls
09/04/2012, 12:21 PM
I agree Avondale were the better side in the second half but for the standards they have set this season they looked pretty ordinary. Credit to Everton for the workrate and Don Horan must have covered every blade of grass tracking Mark Sullivan. You'd still fancy Avondale in the replay but it's nicely set up now for a real cracking tie.

In terms of the attendance. It's just not good enough. The league ensured it was practically the only game in town and I didn't see a whole lot of players, coaches or supporters of many of the other teams out there.

If this was a junior GAA semi-final you'd nearly have to delay kick-off because of the crowds. The league was wrapped up a long time ago and removed any chance of a last day showdown that we've seen in recent years and yet the FAI Intermediate Cup throws up an all-Cork semi-final and all it can muster is about 300.

I know the location of Avondale Park is not ideal so hopefully more people will come out to Everton Park in two weeks time as the players deserve it especially with the final in Dublin.

this debate has been had many times on here over the years. soccer at ameteur level is a participant sport were never gonna get the big numbers to the games like the gaa do. Sad but cant see it changing in my lifetime. there are far more talented players playing in the top tier of msl than at any junior gaa games but im afraid the numbers never turn out to view these talent. a shame really.

Goggs
09/04/2012, 3:44 PM
this debate has been had many times on here over the years. soccer at ameteur level is a participant sport were never gonna get the big numbers to the games like the gaa do. Sad but cant see it changing in my lifetime. there are far more talented players playing in the top tier of msl than at any junior gaa games but im afraid the numbers never turn out to view these talent. a shame really.
Good point a mate of mine went to see the game the other day he wasnt at a msl game in years and said he would never go again he said the standard was very very poor are we watching these msl games with rose tinted glasses.

10/04/2012, 1:38 PM
Was away for the weekend so missed the game. All in all i'd say Dale well happy with another bite at the cherry.
Saturday week for the replay I heard.

townhall tez
19/04/2012, 5:22 PM

The point being missed here is that Gaa doesn't have to compete with a professional league. As well as being a game supported by the community it has no competition. When there is an msl match on a cold winters night at the same time there is more than likely a game on tv and out at the cross.
Throw in the factor of gaa being a summer sport as well!

AvondaleNutter
21/04/2012, 9:51 AM
Well said townhall. I'm expecting a tough game today again for the Dale. Hopefully everton will have felt they threw it away two weeks ago and not show up today :-)

AvondaleNutter
21/04/2012, 3:51 PM
Avondale 2 up at half time

AvondaleNutter
21/04/2012, 4:38 PM
4-0 now

21/04/2012, 6:09 PM
finished Everton 0-4 Avondale.

2 each for Marky Sull and Conor Meade.
2 up at half time courtesy of 2 headers.
First half was void of any decent football due to the swirling wind and one torrential shower.
Marky Sull scored a fantastic goal against the run of play very early in the second half.
His control and finish would have been gladly needed at the Cross last night.
Conor Meade finished the game soon after with a delightful chip.

Sparky
21/04/2012, 9:55 PM
I hear Avondale dominated from start to finish with little for Dale keeper to do? Is this a fair reflection?
I was at the first game and I felt Everton had their chance in Avondale park on a pitch that suited them more than Avondale. Fair play
to Everton for giving them a scare and I hope Everton can claw up the league because their position is not a fair reflection. Well Done Avondale,
a league and cup double would be a fantastic achievement if they can pull it off.

townhall tez
22/04/2012, 1:54 AM
I hear Avondale dominated from start to finish with little for Dale keeper to do? Is this a fair reflection?
I was at the first game and I felt Everton had their chance in Avondale park on a pitch that suited them more than Avondale. Fair play
to Everton for giving them a scare and I hope Everton can claw up the league because their position is not a fair reflection. Well Done Avondale,
a league and cup double would be a fantastic achievement if they can pull it off.
A fair reflection Sparky,Dale were far superior today and as you said Everton missed their chance two weeks ago. I'm sure all involved in Cork football will get behind Avondale to do the double now.

Mighty almighty
22/04/2012, 8:28 AM
To be honest lads,I think it's hard to get people out in big numbers to watch Msl games,no.1 if it's a sunday morn,harder again people socialise on sat nights,and also alot of football academy's are on then so people hav kids there.the 2nd is the weather here,we play through the winter,the gaa play through the summer!and the main reason the gaa only really get a crowd out because they only play one championship match every 4-6 weeks,so very easy not to get sick of it,and I never see a big crowd at there league matchs either,if the gaa played everyweek like us ud see the same result.and also u wouldn't be long see'in them get rid of a €10 fee to watch a junior hurling match either....

Pundit
22/04/2012, 5:14 PM
cherry orchard beat verona 2-1 today. same final as last year.

AvondaleNutter
22/04/2012, 6:17 PM
Cheers pundit. Let's hope it's the same result

29/04/2012, 12:39 PM
Final set for Tallaghtfornia, two weeks today.

11/05/2012, 1:52 PM
Should be going up on Sunday, will post updates as they happen.

Chiefscout
11/05/2012, 5:36 PM
Triggs out of final with ankle injury

balls
11/05/2012, 10:37 PM
best of luck to avondale on sunday

Sparky
11/05/2012, 11:32 PM
Good luck Avondale, it would be some achievement to win it back to back but easier said than done. Triggs will be a loss to Cotter's side as I was at the final last year and he had a big game on their best player. He gives Avondale steel but looking at their squad this year they could be without anyone and it wouldn't be too crippling. Avondale 0-2.

Dixie's Cousin
12/05/2012, 10:28 AM
Best of luck to John Cotter and his Avondale players this Sunday from Patsy Freyne, Ger Rennie, Eric Barrett, Dean Evans and all the lads up in Castleview!

13/05/2012, 5:20 PM
1-1 full time, in extra time now

13/05/2012, 5:45 PM
Avondale win 2-1 in extratime - congratulations once again!

splinter
13/05/2012, 6:14 PM
who scored 1st, i had a bet on

13/05/2012, 7:33 PM
Orchard went 1 up after 66 minutes. Dale equalised in the 93rd minute, they got the winner 9 minutes from the end of extra time .

balls
13/05/2012, 8:00 PM
well done avondale, sounds like great cup win

splinter
13/05/2012, 8:23 PM
Was there a good crowd for it?

Chiefscout
13/05/2012, 8:47 PM
Congrats to dale.all best teams get a bit of luck and to get a goal in injury time is a bit of luck that a team that has walked the msl this year truly deserves.up to the rest to catch up.john cotter has raised the bar.fantastic stuff

13/05/2012, 10:26 PM
Just home. Long day out but worth it in the end.
Scrappy enough game to be honest, Dale didnt play to their potential but Orchard probably didnt let them either.
Conor Meade had two one on one chances near the end of the 1st half, keeper saved the first, second hit the post.
Orchard came out the better team after the break and when Dale failed to clear a cross they scored.
With all the missed chances I really thought it was going to be one of those days
That was before Danny Long blasted home in the 93rd minute.
Orchard looked dead on their feet in extra time and in the 111th minute Marky Sull headed back across goal for Deccie Cahill to head home the winner.
Marky Sull got Man of the Match. Hard to judge the crowd with everyone being in the same stand but not more than 5/600.