View Full Version : brian mcgovern on his way ???

10/07/2004, 1:08 PM
from www.elevenaside.com

Newly-promoted SPL side Inverness Caledonian Thistle could be about to augment their Irish contingent with a move for Longford Town’s Brian McGovern.

The ambitious Scottish outfit’s boss John Robertson was on hand to see McGovern star in his side’s recent clash with Bohs and looks likely to put in a bid for the Town ace.

The two clubs began talks earlier this week without an actual transfer figure being agreed.

"There has been contact between John and myself.

"They are keen on Brian and we are not the type of club that will stand in someone’s way.

"Having said that we will be looking for some form of compensation because there is no doubt that we played a significant part in Brian’s development," Longford boss Alan Matthews insisted

10/07/2004, 1:14 PM
interesting......paisley to take his place perhaps!?
I know we hate gossip here, but i have heard one or two of our players are not going to europe because of recent bad performances?
can anyone scrap this or indeed confirm it?

Enda M
10/07/2004, 3:05 PM
why would they do that they are the ones responsible for the poor peformances.

10/07/2004, 4:20 PM
tbh mcgovern will not be missed at all he has being very poor this year. He is very prone to be tirned very easily by the attacker. I would also get rid of Ferguson. Think the team needs some new blood badly. Put Murph back to defence and build the defence around Paiso.

10/07/2004, 9:41 PM
I would also get rid of Ferguson.

:mad: tut tut!!

11/07/2004, 2:43 AM
i wouldn't get rid if him, but i would give a good kick up the ars€ along with the rest of his team mates......mcgovern must stay, his experience is badly needed.

11/07/2004, 10:28 AM
We cant really stand in his way, its a good move for him, but its a big loss all the same. A little worried that the SPL see the Eircom League as a breeding ground for their league.... It could be a culture shock for him though, have you seen where Inverness is on the map?

11/07/2004, 11:45 AM
wouldnt like to see him go,
i think he is just suffering from the same syndrome thats struck the majority of the rest of the team.
i reckon "a rising tide raises all boats" and his form will improve when and if the rest do too.
i think he would be missed.

12/07/2004, 9:15 AM
I would also get rid of Ferguson. Think the team needs some new blood badly. Put Murph back to defence and build the defence around Paiso.
FFS Marty - would bohs, shels and Cork please form an orderly line for Barry please.... Who the fook would you play alongside Paiso?

sparkey
12/07/2004, 1:12 PM
In todays Sun Matthews is quoated as saying he has left McGovern at home for the trip to Vadus. He also blames him for the defeat against D.C. The paper are speculating that he has played his last game for the club. It seems that he is definatley on his way to Scotland.

12/07/2004, 1:17 PM
show me the money....i'm not a happy man but paiso is well up to the job or dillon with murph at left back and the god father in the middle

12/07/2004, 5:14 PM
From what I heard around town at the weekend, the club were glad to get rid of McGovern as he was a bit of a bad influence and had an attitude problem.

btw macy all ferguson is good for at the moment is hoofing the ball-he has being very poor this season. When the transfer window comes in I would drop Ferguson and maybe get a new signing -if the opportunity arose I would get Paul McNally back to the club at the drop of a hat-for starters he is more calm at the back than Fergie and he had an excellent peno record with us. As an experiment how about putting Keegan when he is fit and push him back into defence. I saw him in defence at the UCD preseason game and he was excellent in the air.

I am sure that we can get a young defender to the club in exchange for the hoofer Ferguson.

in all fairness fergusons disclipinary record in the two years with us is shocking-5 sendings off numerous bookings. I think it is time the club swallowed their pride and sold him off provided we have a good backup plan.

13/07/2004, 8:49 AM
When the transfer window comes in I would drop Ferguson and maybe get a new signing -if the opportunity arose I would get Paul McNally back to the club at the drop of a hat-for starters he is more calm at the back than Fergie and he had an excellent peno record with us.
Well Bohs would jump at a straight swap, as they reckon Paul "I'd never play for him again" McNally is a waste of space. Barry's one of the best defenders in the league, McNally's not. Only Shels and Drogs have better defensive records than us. Defence isn't our problem.

sparkey
13/07/2004, 10:07 AM
Our decent defensive record has more to do with the superb form (Yet Again) of Digger than anything the back four in front of him are doing. The little fella would get more cover in the desert than he has got from his defence in some games this season.

observer
13/07/2004, 2:31 PM
How does the man of the match in last years cup final become a player the Town now believes is disposable. Like all players McGovern has had bad days but overall he has been a great addition as he brought a touch of class and experience to the defence. As for his being a bad influence thats a load of crap. If Matthews no longer likes a player and wants to get rid of him he should have the balls to say so and not employ the rumour mill to tarnish a players reputation. There may be financial reasons that the Club want McGovern out but to knock his professionalism is a dirty move. As for the Sun article Longford Towns problems have not been in defence but at midfield and in attack ( sectors of the field for which Matthews signed 4 players this year). For McGovern to be left behind for the Euro trip is inexplicable by any standards and rises serious questions about the club.
The team has lost confidence and a few wins would get the momentum going. It will not help however if the players see their team mates getting knocked and made into scrapegoats by the Manager and club officials.

Nipper
13/07/2004, 6:14 PM
it's sad that McGovern is being jettisoned as he was excellent last season. But it seems (hear a lie, tell a lie) he wasn't too happy about being rushed back from injury earlier on in the season and <allegedly>hasn't been putting in the effort in training,moaning constantly, etc. He is a valuable asset though and we should ask the SuperCallies for 50 grand minimum.

17/07/2004, 2:25 PM
McGovern hasn't gone yet but the manager wants rid and the players agree with him. He apparently came back for pre-season a stone overweight, hence getting himself injured, his attitude was poor in training and he was protecting himself on the field, there's no doubting McGovern's ability but his attitude left a bit to be desired. That and the fact that he's been talking to Inverness for the past three weeks without telling the club or the manager..As I said he has ability but his attitude has slipped, that's been his problem at every club and even with Ireland U-21s where I believe he got sent home from a tournament for ill discipline

observer
19/07/2004, 11:12 AM
Not true! the only one talking to any Scottish team was Matthews. This sounds to me like very carefully leaked mis-information and a continued slating of a player because he stood up to Matthews and Alan cannot take that. As for the players wanting McGovern out, that is crap. Maybe Barry Ferguson does as he sees his place in jeopardy but I know for a fact that many players would not support the views being given.
In any case what stupidity to publicly slate and devalue a player you are hoping to sell. Does that make sense to anyone. Has the committee discovered oil under the old seats at Flancare and no longer need the funds which McGovern's transfer might have realised. :(

19/07/2004, 11:16 AM
well if the players don't agree with alan they certainly didn't show it, morale is very high at the mo and the lads really have a high team spirit going as anyone who was at the after match drinks on thursday would have seen and in the airport on friday it was just the same.....

longfordian hasn't been wrong yet in any of his info and there is a reason for that......he is close to the club. so i see no reason not to believe what ne posted above.

19/07/2004, 11:46 AM
The players are united behind Alan and Aaron. On that trip I've nevr seen them in as good form, a lot of that had to do with who'd been left behind, They reckoned they had their squad spirit back, those who were causing resentment, not just mcGovern had been left behind. Just talk to the senior pros like Vinny and Digger, they reckoned McGovern had his head up his arse all along, even last season but while he was doing it on the pitch they didnt want to rock the boat. They felt he wasnt really committed to Longford Town, it was just a way of furthering his career, he said this in an interview before the cup final "I'm not one of these players that'll kiss the badge and pretend I'll be here for the rest of my career..If i get a decent offer I'll move along" were his exact words, it was in the Irish Sun the day before the Cup Final.

Im not making up this info whether you choose to believe it or not is up to you. He told the other players he was talking to Inverness and their manager John Robertson, they're not likely to be making it up. As I said before he's a decent player but his attitude wasn't 100%

19/07/2004, 12:27 PM
I heard a roumer(maybe you might confirm this Longfordian) or else it could be a load of sh!t but i heard that after the DC match, Kirbs and Digger refused to take their wages because they didnt feel they deserved them and they told all the other players to do the same but no one else did. you know, hear a lie, tell a lie???

19/07/2004, 1:19 PM
Half true from what I can gather. Don't think they asked the others to do the same but didnt want to take their own until the club insisted. You have to pay your players just so you're honouring their contract. Alan, Aaron and Gary Matthews did similar apparently.. The players were seemingly as devastated as they could possibly be that night so it was good to see them relaxed and in high spirits out there, they really seemed like a united bunch and hopefully our season starts now

19/07/2004, 1:24 PM
two squad member told me on thursday that the away fans booing them really got to them and was mentioned in the dressing room afterwards and that was a major reason for the wages move.....

before the trip i hadn't really met too many of the players, cause after games i have to bullet off to work. but i have to say they were so approchable on thursday night after the game and also in the airport on friday, my thoughts on certain members of the squad changed and i for one will be getting behind the club in any way possible to make this another sucessful season at the flansiro and beyond !!!!

oh longfordian did you have a chat with the ref in the airport ?????

19/07/2004, 1:29 PM
No but a certain Lanesboro based committee member made his feelings clear, in Russian too after he'd been taught an appropriate phrase "Skulke dinge" (sp?) which apparently means "how much money" the ref followed him out to the conveyor belt to see who he was, he had no incriminating gear on him though and was on his own so it cant be traced back to the club!! :p

19/07/2004, 1:37 PM
yeah i was wearing a club top so i could say nothing to him :mad: , have the other people who didn't travel left the club or just didn't travel, there were a lot of rumours flying about

19/07/2004, 1:48 PM
They will be gone if we can get rid of them, they're not in the manager's plans at the moment anyway. 1 August is the first day the window opens and they're on the hit list. He wants to bring in a left sided player and get rid of three, the three that werent there obviously, Byrne, Keegan and McGovern, Gary Murphy may be loaned out to get football

19/07/2004, 1:54 PM
well said about gary, an amazing talent in my eyes, but needs first team experience to bring himself up to the standard, could do with some gym work to build upper body strength !!!

DaithiT
19/07/2004, 2:47 PM
Aye he is a great Talent, and he does need competitive games. Spoke to him
after the League cup qrt final and he seemed a bit down, he was apparently
the only fit player left behind... not really good for his morale... He's better
off playing for Longfords second best team.. Kenagh Utd :D

Best regards to all from the Fc. Vaduz Webmaster. He told me that the session in the Löwen (Lion Bar) has already cult status. Iam sure the session in the Crash bar has also Cult status :)

19/07/2004, 2:56 PM
the mid day session in cafe amann was great also, locals takin photos of section O in full voice and one dad brought his child over cause he heard the singing and had never seen anything like it in the town.......

fingers, toes and testicles crossed for a good result in the home leg and a need to print more t shirts !!!!

observer
19/07/2004, 4:02 PM
It still does not make sense to devalue him publicly before offloading him if that is what the club intends. I have never before seen a manager berate a player in the papers in any code be it rugby, gaelic or soccer, as it is unprofessional. In a team game it does not help player's spirit's to know that when the manager gets fed up of you he will castigate you in the press. I have no doubt that Longfordian is getting his info directly from the club. However,I also believe is that he is getting the version of the story which Alan wants circulated.
If however what he say's is true and that all the clubs problems have stemmed from Brian McGovern, there should be an immediate pick-up in the teams league performances. If this happens I will believe Longfordian's version and,while still not condoning the handling of the affair, agree that it was for the betterment of the team.

19/07/2004, 6:25 PM
Well to be fair, I never said all our problems stemmed from McGovern, he was just one of a few who the other players felt weren't putting it in, Lavine was one of them until he got his ass kicked by the club for playing in a 5 a side in Galway and the manager requested he be kept, hence making Alan Eric's hero again..I just said that McGovern in the eyes of the players not just the manager wasn't committed enough. I can understand to a point why people might think its a spin being put on it, but I feel that its not and McGovern was out of order..

The one area where I would blame Alan is that he says things to reporters that he maybe should make clear shouldn't be quoted..but you must remember he's not in management all that long and he's bound to make some mistakes. Overall, most clubs would snap him up and indeed a lot have tried already

observer
20/07/2004, 9:04 AM
At least it is good to hear that Alan is agreeing to let Alan Murphy go on loan. At his age he has to be playing to develop and if he is not facilitated the club will lose him on a permanent basis. If our own local players are not looked after properly they will not stay and Gary has real talent and plenty of bite to go with it. A few home grown players would increase the attendances I believe.
Perhaps the blood letting taking place might result in a better overall athmosphere at Flancare and maybe an occasional word from the chairman in the managers ear might help his approach to media issues.

20/07/2004, 9:05 AM
its gary murphy your thinking of and if alan was speaking the truth what is wrong with that....do you want him to start telling fibs to the media ???

observer
20/07/2004, 12:13 PM
Not just Gary Murphy though he is the player currently in the squad. There are other good young prospects who will not sign for the Town if they think they will not be developed. As for a Manager saying whatever he feels to the press in respect of his players, I am afraid that would not pass as a good recommendation in any situation. Unlike you and I a manager has to keep the cool and take other considerations into account.

21/07/2004, 1:32 AM
mcgovern is a FORMER player its fair game and we deserve the truth about why he left.

21/07/2004, 7:34 AM
mcgovern is a FORMER player its fair game and we deserve the truth about why he left.

i think there is a big fly in the ointment.apparently they dont want to pay a fee.
according to the papers robertson said all was going to plan until someone mentioned a fee.
he said there is no way they are willing to pay anything.

observer
21/07/2004, 9:10 AM
Would you pay a fee for someone whose manager and club have branded as damaged goods ?

22/07/2004, 7:19 AM
irrespective of whether matthews should have kept it to himself about his thoughts on mcgovern.
i dont see how there is a mix up about a fee.
surely the first question that robertson would have asked is how much if any fee is applicable before they take it any further ?.

he could hardly assume that all e/l players are free.