View Full Version : Weekend of September 11th latest

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Dave_SRFC
10/09/2011, 10:44 AM
Shams were fans throwing coins and bottles and spitting at Rovers players.
Sligo fans are gay, so there...

born2bwild
10/09/2011, 10:45 AM
Sligo fans are gay, so there...
Yer ma.

Dave_SRFC
10/09/2011, 10:51 AM
No your Ma...

born2bwild
10/09/2011, 10:55 AM
No your Ma...

Your ma's C0ck.

PartySaint
10/09/2011, 11:01 AM
A very good second half performance last night got us a big 3 points, Dave Mulcahy scored a contender for goal of the season, Alan Kelly had a bit of a mare we should have had about 4 penalties before we eventually got one, A draw up in Tallaght probably would have been a better result for us but it does make Monday night very interesting now

On another note, Once again as I was going through the turnstyle last night the man taking my ticket, Shock my hand welcomed me to the Carlisle Ground and wished me a safe journey home after the game, Really is a touch of class from Bray IMO

hoops1
10/09/2011, 11:07 AM
Sligo fully deserved the pts last night. They were better 11v11 the reds had no bearing on the result as they were the better team either way. If they had a proper goalscorer they be such a different team. Should be a good run in

10/09/2011, 11:17 AM
It hasnt been announced who will be taking over at GUFC for the remainder of the season but rumour has it that John "Jumbo" Brennan will take the position. Former Galway United manager Tony Mannion has been seen in terryland for the past 3 games also, both sitting together in the main stand.

Both these guys could get the best out of the lads for the remainder of the regular season as well as the play offs.

hoopy
10/09/2011, 11:26 AM
Sligo fully deserved the pts last night. They were better 11v11 the reds had no bearing on the result as they were the better team either way. If they had a proper goalscorer they be such a different team. Should be a good run in

Thought Sligo deserved their win, but sadly a lot of people won't reflect on what was an excellent game of football, but on the performance of HanCOCK. I'm sure even some Sligo fans were scratching their heads at some of the decisions they got. Blinkhorn's part in the winner took the biscuit.

PartySaint
10/09/2011, 11:27 AM
Now that Sean Conor is gone that now surely make Ian Foster the worst manager in the League, With the team he has up there they should be doing so much better and he probably has a bigger budget than Pats and Bohs who they wont be finishing ahead of this season

poster
10/09/2011, 12:07 PM
I'm still trying to figure out which one I find funnier in hindsight:

Shams wasting time at 1-0,
Pat Sullivan trying to headbutt Damien Hancock,
Thompson hugging Hancock after he did it,
Shams throwing BOTTLEs at Alan Keane,
The SDCC lads playing 'Bitter Sweet Symphony' at the end of the game,

ONE F***IN ROVERS
:sheep:

hoopy
10/09/2011, 12:14 PM
I'm still trying to figure out which one I find funnier in hindsight:

Shams wasting time at 1-0,
Pat Sullivan trying to headbutt Damien Hancock,
Thompson hugging Hancock after he did it,
Shams throwing BOTTLEs at Alan Keane,
The SDCC lads playing 'Bitter Sweet Symphony' at the end of the game,

ONE F***IN ROVERS
:sheep:

Again well done on your big win of the season. Pity you can't be impartial or gracious for once. Btw, your obsession with the SDCC means you don't realise that our fans look after the music and MC stuff. Just so you know :eek:

poster
10/09/2011, 12:23 PM
Again well done on your big win of the season. Pity you can't be impartial or gracious for once. Btw, your obsession with the SDCC means you don't realise that our fans look after the music and MC stuff. Just so you know :eek:

Shams fans weren't too gracious when they threw bottles and an assortment of other objects at Alan Keane.

hoopy
10/09/2011, 12:26 PM
Shams fans weren't too gracious when they threw bottles and an assortment of other objects at Alan Keane.

Agree and I don't think those plastic bottles should be sold but that's no excuse for thicks throwing them. Alan obviously had a relation he saw in the crowd which is why he ended up over there celebrating.

poster
10/09/2011, 12:28 PM
Agree and I don't think those plastic bottles should be sold but that's no excuse for thicks throwing them. Alan obviously had a relation he saw in the crowd which is why he ended up over there celebrating.

As did Karl Sheppard earlier in the season when he twice came over in front of us (SDCC and Showgrounds). He must have seen someone at the back of the stand??

hoopy
10/09/2011, 12:32 PM
I've no problem with players doing it to be honest. What did you think of Blinkhorn's contribution to the winning goal? Did you not think the tackle on Turner was every bit as bad as Flynn's? Again Sligo didn't need any help from the ref as they were the better side, but ultimately his decisions won you the game, even allowing for the fact you were the better side. We had too many players who were lethargic, whereas your players were well up for your manager's biggest game of the season.

poster
10/09/2011, 12:37 PM
I've no problem with players doing it to be honest. What did you think of Blinkhorn's contribution to the winning goal? Did you not think the tackle on Turner was every bit as bad as Flynn's? Again Sligo didn't need any help from the ref as they were the better side, but ultimately his decisions won you the game, even allowing for the fact you were the better side. We had too many players who were lethargic, whereas your players were well up for your manager's biggest game of the season.

Ya I thought Blinks' handball was questionable in the lead up to the goal and also thought Danny's tackle on Turner was dangerous. If that was late in the second half, he's gone.

But that's the first game this season where we've had all the luck, it was gonna happen some time just like Galway getting a point.

hoopy
10/09/2011, 12:39 PM
I'm sure we'll get a dodgy peno on Monday to make up for it :D

PartySaint
10/09/2011, 12:58 PM
I'm sure we'll get a dodgy peno on Monday to make up for it :D

I heard Neil Doyle is reffing, so you probably will

gormacha
10/09/2011, 2:13 PM
whereas your players were well up for your manager's biggest game of the season.

Ah, the classiest backhanded compliment/putdown in the football universe. Solid work. ;)

10/09/2011, 3:32 PM
Congratulations to Sligo. Better team overall and no team that has two players sent off can really expect to get a result in a top of the table clash. Ndo tormented Paterson all night - who looks a good player but short of fitness - and Doyle destroyed Murray and Sives with his pace. Sligo look very good but still concede soft goals. Rovers just looked a yard of the pace for most of the game, only really hitting form in and around Sullivan's sending off/the goal. Gonna be a very demanding few weeks now.

Candystripe
10/09/2011, 4:18 PM
Havn't looked at the remaining fixtures but this season we could have four teams in with a chance come the final night.

As CD posted above, Shams have a very hard few games and we play them at the end of this 4 game period.

Does anyone know when the Shams V Derry game will be played at tallaght as I cant find it anywhere?

Thanks

poster
10/09/2011, 5:32 PM
...that picture is hilarious though as nothing fookin hit him...

http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/54/cf/6f/e136123eb3021578a501377b3ac662c042a7d7ac15/INPHO_00540810.jpg

10/09/2011, 5:46 PM
Does anyone know when the Shams V Derry game will be played at tallaght as I cant find it anywhere?

No date arranged yet, according to an FAI email.

The Lilywhites
10/09/2011, 6:32 PM
Now that Sean Conor is gone that now surely make Ian Foster the worst manager in the League, With the team he has up there they should be doing so much better and he probably has a bigger budget than Pats and Bohs who they wont be finishing ahead of this season

Pats certainly have a bigger budget. I would think Bohs have too, especially now with Guthrie and Kearns gone.

Cuyahoga
10/09/2011, 7:16 PM
Judge Foster at the end of the season. I fancy them to win the fai cup.

adamd164
10/09/2011, 7:48 PM
Athlone 0-4 Cork City latest score.

Edit: 5-0 now.

PartySaint
10/09/2011, 7:59 PM
Pats certainly have a bigger budget. I would think Bohs have too, especially now with Guthrie and Kearns gone.

Not a chance we have a bigger budget, I can't imagine Quigley and Byrne are on small money, I could be wrong but didn't you offer Bolger more than we could at the start of the season?

adamd164
10/09/2011, 8:13 PM
7-0 City now against Athlone

dong
10/09/2011, 8:20 PM
http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/54/cf/6f/e136123eb3021578a501377b3ac662c042a7d7ac15/INPHO_00540810.jpg

That picture is obviously photoshopped;)

The Lilywhites
10/09/2011, 11:56 PM
Not a chance we have a bigger budget, I can't imagine Quigley and Byrne are on small money, I could be wrong but didn't you offer Bolger more than we could at the start of the season?

Believe what you want. But Pats have a bigger budget than us, even more so now.

de bowez
11/09/2011, 12:11 AM

300k ish for Dundalk?

11/09/2011, 12:39 AM
OFFICIAL

Sean Connor has left Galway United after agreeing to a compensation package with the club.

Congratulations :)

Hibs4Ever
11/09/2011, 5:26 AM

Absolutely not a chance St Pats have a bigger budget than Dundalk. Ridiculous to even think so. Quigo and Byrne would be serious earners at Dundalk, whether you choose to accept it or not

11/09/2011, 5:55 AM
Well Kearns leaving wouldn't reduce the budget, just the expenditure. I'd imagine with Byrne, Quigley and Hawkins on board that Dundalk would have a bigger budget than Pat's.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
11/09/2011, 3:29 PM

And I thought Shams have maintained that they weren't going to throw money away like some of the clubs in the past

bluemovie
11/09/2011, 4:16 PM
Is this list of Waterford bookings correct?

Michael Coady - Yellow Card (29)
Seamus Long - Yellow Card (43)
Adam McSherry - Yellow Card (44)
Paul Murphy - Yellow Card (44)
Paul Carey - Yellow Card (45)
Paul Murphy - Yellow Card (74)
Michael Coady - Red Card (87)
David Breen - Yellow Card (87)

No real reason for asking, just wondering about Paul Murphy, and how there were so many yellows?

That first one for Murphy should say Murray. As captain, he complained to the ref about McSherry's booking and got one for himself. Most of the bookings were 'offences', but he Grant was giving out cards like it was Christmas. There was no malice in the game from either side yet there were 14 cards shown! Ref's assessor was supposed to have been unhappy. It was a horrible, wet, slippy night so maybe Grant could have shown a little more discretion.

Not but that it wouldn't make a difference if we had most of our first team suspended for the rest of the season. We couldn't beat eggs at the moment.

Mr Maroon
11/09/2011, 5:55 PM
United announce Brennan as caretaker manager (http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/united-announce-brennan-as-caretaker-manager)

Sean South
11/09/2011, 6:22 PM
Some footage of some of Monaghan supporters trying to take a Salthill banner. Luckily the Salthill fans defended their banners

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s3Uyew8_qiI&feature=player_embedded

11/09/2011, 6:36 PM
Highlights of Derry v UCD. The bits between 52 and 54 minutes kind of show the ridiculous pressure we were under for much of the game.

l3Gql80d3HI

Mr Maroon
12/09/2011, 8:13 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F2a-IvIbK_Q&feature=player_embedded

CMcC
12/09/2011, 9:12 AM
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF765/557092.jpg

how can 2 Sligo Rovers players clearly turning into zombies be classified as "no incident"? Baffling. :)

Ah come on now - the Shamrock supporters must have been provoked. They usually are.

12/09/2011, 9:19 AM
If there were players turning into zombies in front of me, I'd be trying to kill them too.

adamd164
12/09/2011, 9:56 AM
One of the goals and some interviews from Athlone vs Cork City here. Fair play to the kid who does these videos!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqp8OsLWPHE

12/09/2011, 11:34 AM
One of the goals and some interviews from Athlone vs Cork City here. Fair play to the kid who does these videos!I had to turn it off when Tommy came on, his voice is just so boring it zzzzzzzzzzz.

Sean South
12/09/2011, 11:59 AM
If there were players turning into zombies in front of me, I'd be trying to kill them too.
If the Simpsons has taught be anything zombies feed on brains so UCD fans would be a obvious target but I don't think Shams fans need to worry.

12/09/2011, 2:39 PM
Bart: Dad! You killed the zombie Flanders.
Homer: He was a zombie?

SwanVsDalton
12/09/2011, 6:57 PM
Drogs one up on Derry after just three minutes. We're intent on making this difficult for ourselves.

Fester
12/09/2011, 7:18 PM
http://www.firstrowsports.eu/watch/83466/1/watch-st-patricks-dublin-vs-shamrock-rovers.html Live stream

Fester
12/09/2011, 7:25 PM
Drogheda 2 up

12/09/2011, 7:25 PM
Drogs one up on Derry after just three minutes. We're intent on making this difficult for ourselves.

2-0 now