View Full Version : Just Follow The Floodlights
writerbk1969
01/09/2011, 6:46 PM
Just an update that Just Follow The Floodlights will be launched in various cities throughout Ireland over October.
Currently trying to find a suitable Dublin venue (if not a footy ground itself) Not to sure of where - basically a good sports bar , cosy that does good trade and central. Any suggestions will be most welcome as I'd be looking at a Friday or Saturday night mid-October.
01/09/2011, 7:16 PM
The players lounge?
Just kidding.
My favourite sports bar is The Lotts Snug but waaaaay too small.
Eh, MacTorcaills, The Old Stand, Nesbitts, McDaids, Kehoes?
writerbk1969
01/09/2011, 7:21 PM
Whats been suggested is Doheny & Nesbitt, Grand Canal Bar, Arlington Hotel (to which I said no) and of course it could be a football venue on night of match. I think places like the Aviva are a non-starter
01/09/2011, 7:43 PM
Yeah Nesbitts could be an option but to be honest, personally I'd rather die of thirst than willingly head there for a sports occasion.
Not that my presence would have any bearing on the venue.
Donoghues on Merrion Row?
born2bwild
01/09/2011, 7:49 PM
Bar in Tolka
01/09/2011, 8:46 PM
Bar in Tolka
If I wasn't gonna do it you were!
BohsFans
02/09/2011, 12:27 PM
Just an update that Just Follow The Floodlights will be launched in various cities throughout Ireland over October.
Currently trying to find a suitable Dublin venue (if not a footy ground itself) Not to sure of where - basically a good sports bar , cosy that does good trade and central. Any suggestions will be most welcome as I'd be looking at a Friday or Saturday night mid-October.
eh... what is it?
02/09/2011, 12:28 PM
eh... what is it?
A book.
02/09/2011, 12:50 PM
Id say pick a match night and use the local bar. Club bar in Dalymount, Maldron in Tallaght, McDowells in Inchicore.
Whatever night suits you best
02/09/2011, 3:42 PM
Harolds Cross - after all it hosted LOI football for years.
writerbk1969
02/09/2011, 6:16 PM
Maldron is interesting as is Bohs ground. Suppose it would have to be a match night. Rovers v Bohs would have been perfect but the semi-fibals of FAI Cup is on.. mind u if they both got knocked out?
More importantly i'm hearing the Cork launch is in the Evergreen Bar on Friday 21 October, immediately after our game against Longford Town.
I had my launch there last year, great venue and I will certainly be in attendance to support this book.
writerbk1969
07/09/2011, 8:33 AM
Cheers Razor. Yes been told its a great venue. Damien Richardson should be launching it and I'm trying to get as many ex-players there as possible. The Galway launch has a nice little link-up with the 1991 squad, whilst Waterford and Dublin ones have special guests as well. Just tying down a midlands launch now if possible.
Mr Maroon
07/09/2011, 8:50 AM
Where will the Galway one be?
MagicMon
07/09/2011, 10:06 AM
Cheers Razor. Yes been told its a great venue. Damien Richardson should be launching it and I'm trying to get as many ex-players there as possible. The Galway launch has a nice little link-up with the 1991 squad, whilst Waterford and Dublin ones have special guests as well. Just tying down a midlands launch now if possible.
In Termonbarry?
07/09/2011, 10:13 AM
Good mon.
marinobohs
07/09/2011, 10:45 AM
Maldron is interesting as is Bohs ground. Suppose it would have to be a match night. Rovers v Bohs would have been perfect but the semi-fibals of FAI Cup is on.. mind u if they both got knocked out?
Probobly better to use LOI owned premises, (I think Pats own Mc Dowells now) - support our own and all that ;). Having it after a Bohs/shams (Phibsboro or Tallaght) game probobly not a great idea as your audience would primarily consist of Gardai as there is little chance of opposition fans allowed to mix unfortunately.
If you are interested in having the launch in Dalymount (either on match night or some other night) PM me and I will put you in touch with apprpriate person. Good location for some publicity photos and fairly near town (although there is still no direct bus from Tallaght)
horton
07/09/2011, 2:24 PM
Is there gonna be a launch up this way?
writerbk1969
07/09/2011, 4:32 PM
Horton if I get enough interest I would be in Derry like a shot. Really enjoyed my time there (I travelled to all 21 grounds in three months- 2856 miles!) and would just need a venue.
The publisher washes his hands of these events (hes paying for the book I suppose) but if I knew a venue (maybe the Social Club) where I could unload 30/40 books I's be there in a shot.
Mr Maroon the Galway Launch is in the Goalpost October 15th .
MarinoBohs - Dalymount I've seriously considered but the publisher/publicist want to hold off until the FAI Cup Q-finals. I agree with what your saying about the crowds.
McDowells is a good option to- and they'll be one in Monaghan or Longford if I have my way
08/09/2011, 10:34 AM
I get enough interest I would be in Derry like a shot
What about for us London exiles? ;)
writerbk1969
08/09/2011, 12:13 PM
Give me a place my friend, some dedicated people to buy it and I'll pop over to launch it there without a moments hesitation.
08/09/2011, 9:01 PM
If I am back working I will stay up for the Cork launch after our match. I havent being out in cork in yrs!
writerbk1969
11/09/2011, 10:48 AM
Just been given some trophy sponsorship as well so I guess I'll have to do a "Best Away Day" "Best Burger" "Best Pub" etc as well now.
11/09/2011, 12:51 PM
Why not best food rather than burger then the Mondogs will win! :D
writerbk1969
11/09/2011, 1:21 PM
Have to say I enjoyed them - I have a pic of Micheal O' Neill struggling to eat one before the cup game last week at Gortakeegan. In my travels McDowells of St Pats has come up most times as the best pub along with The Goalpost in
Galway and The Horseshoe in Cork.
11/09/2011, 3:41 PM
Have to say I enjoyed them - I have a pic of Micheal O' Neill struggling to eat one before the cup game last week at Gortakeegan. In my travels McDowells of St Pats has come up most times as the best pub along with The Goalpost in
Galway and The Horseshoe in Cork.
A mate of mine got that pic too with Tom Simmonds chatting to him at the same time. Sorry Michael but I sent Tom over to talk to you coz he was wrecking my head as I tried to work on the gate!
El-Pietro
11/09/2011, 7:33 PM
horseshoe is an absolute hole, not even close to being the best pub in the Turners Cross area. not even the best pub on the Curragh Road
born2bwild
11/09/2011, 8:26 PM
Why not best food rather than burger then the Mondogs will win! :D
Don't know about those mondogs - not all they're cracked up to be.
Still better than the hotdog that I got down in Jackman Park that almost had me dialing 999 in the middle of the night.
writerbk1969
11/09/2011, 9:54 PM
Well my Cork launch is in the Evergreen Bar . Not sure what thats like , but heard its a good football pub.
Well my Cork launch is in the Evergreen Bar . Not sure what thats like , but heard its a good football pub.A fine pub, in my opinion the best in the Turners Cross area.
Would have to agree with El Pietro on the Horseshoe, handy at half time, but no more than that.
writerbk1969
23/09/2011, 7:19 PM
Just to let you know there is now a Facebook page for Just Follow The Floodlights...a website will be live by Sunday night as well. Please have a look and "like" - its got some great quotes, pics, old videos and quiz questions as well as a poll or two...the first being the ground with the "Best AwaY Day" atmosphere.
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Just-Follow-The-Floodlights/102389203203426?ref=ts&sk=wall
freewheel30
24/09/2011, 2:20 PM
Good luck with it all Brian - had a read of "Singing The Blues" before, some good laughs alongside all the good info!
On the subject of Mondogs, can someone explain this?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HFVI3ObVXxA
24/09/2011, 2:45 PM
ha ha its catching on!!! Thats class! Gonna put that up on fb and see if anyone can translate it for me! :D
writerbk1969
25/09/2011, 12:40 PM
www.briankennedy.me for launch dates , blog , info , etc
26/09/2011, 9:40 PM
Had 3 mon dogs earlier in the season up there my mate had 5! And no were not fat bas****s there just pure addictive, you sure there's not something in them lol.
writerbk1969
27/09/2011, 5:36 PM
LOL - if there is Roddy's crowd must be on them as they're doing OK
30/09/2011, 7:04 PM
Had 3 mon dogs earlier in the season up there my mate had 5! And no were not fat bas****s there just pure addictive, you sure there's not something in them lol.
Reminds me about the restaurant in America i read about a few years back that was putting tiny bits of crack in the burgers and people were coming back at 3 am in the morning for more lol
http://www.dundalkfc.com/book-launch-just-follow-the-floodlights
writerbk1969
03/10/2011, 4:47 PM
Great stuff Dunny.
Really looking forward to Saturday. Martin Lawlor, Dermot Keely and Tommy mcConville.
Hopefully there will be a crowd after the Derry game so spread the word!
redobit
05/10/2011, 3:45 PM
Been a while since I was over in Longford, do they still have them pizza slices? They would run the Mondogs close.
05/10/2011, 6:43 PM
Been a while since I was over in Longford, do they still have them pizza slices? They would run the Mondogs close.
The fact that I can't even remember the pizza slices answers that question :) - don't even have a chipper half the time anymore attendances are just too bad. Some serious sambos in the clubhouse tho il tell ya that :)
05/10/2011, 9:39 PM
no not any more redobit.. I think that was the 2007 season or so. Local pizza co had a stall for a few matches that season but never came back!
redarmyfaction
05/10/2011, 10:29 PM
Reminds me about the restaurant in America i read about a few years back that was putting tiny bits of crack in the burgers and people were coming back at 3 am in the morning for more lolUrban myth I am afraid the bioavailabilty of oral crack is very low, unless they were smoking the bugers, and nor does it make any commercial sense since a Hit of crack is more expensive than a burger And furthermore after a feed of crack the only thing you're gonna eat is a hookers ass.
06/10/2011, 1:06 PM
Northern Sound radio promoted the launch on their sports news there during the 1 o'clock news Brian!
06/10/2011, 1:10 PM
And your promoting Northern Sound here.
There are no selfless acts anymore.
06/10/2011, 1:24 PM
Urban myth I am afraid the bioavailabilty of oral crack is very low, unless they were smoking the bugers, and nor does it make any commercial sense since a Hit of crack is more expensive than a burger And furthermore after a feed of crack the only thing you're gonna eat is a hookers ass.
The voice of experience.
writerbk1969
06/10/2011, 11:49 PM
Great Stuff...looking forward to kicking off the launches this weekend and trying to get round everywhere in next month!
For the Mons-- Billy Bagsters back on Sunday so stay there after the Youths game!
09/10/2011, 12:05 PM
Urban myth I am afraid the bioavailabilty of oral crack is very low, unless they were smoking the bugers, and nor does it make any commercial sense since a Hit of crack is more expensive than a burger And furthermore after a feed of crack the only thing you're gonna eat is a hookers ass.
Well maybe it wasn't crack so what ever is highly addictive, i wouldn't know :)
writerbk1969
09/10/2011, 11:06 PM
Thanks to all the fans at Oriel, Dalymount & Gortakeegan that bought the book in so many numbers. The welcome I got at each ground felt fantastic. Can't wait for the rest now.
09/10/2011, 11:36 PM
Feck ya Brian, I had planned on an early nite so would be bright eyed and bushy tailed for the first Monday morning in my new job but decided to have a wee flick through the book and 2 hours later am just putting it down. Not sure I will sleep though coz the Bray grey day is now replaying on a constant loop in my head after reading about it.
Such an impressive book and to have accidentally ended up with the very first copy makes me feel extra privileged! Go buy it people or I will batter you with my copy!