View Full Version : Tour de France
Crash on stage 3 did him, opened up an old cut that's got infected. Not the usual "there's a bit of a slope, think I'll climb in the bus"...
Same with pettachi... Fell yesterday
09/07/2004, 3:24 PM
Same with pettachi... Fell yesterday
jaysus lads ,talk about the kiss of death :eek: :D
Wait till you see the numbers down today - last kilometre crash!
Yeah but inside the last kilomtre so nobody lost anytime. Only about 20 got away unscathed...
Been quite interesting the times I've got to watch it, Armstrong and Ulrich (mainly Ulrich) have hardly been on the coverage.
10/07/2004, 10:15 AM
Been quite interesting the times I've got to watch it, Armstrong and Ulrich (mainly Ulrich) have hardly been on the coverage.
just wait till those yokes they call mountains come into view.you wont be able to get them out of your face :D
Watching the text commentary on eurosport.com & Virenque is bombing away to another mountain stage win. Will be a popular win on bastille day too.
14/07/2004, 2:47 PM
16 H 43 - Richard Moments Away From Victory
Richard Virenque is surely about to throw his traditional one-armed salute. Expect to see the finger pointing to the sky any moment now...
16 H 42 - Shortest Final Kilometer...
Technical difficulties in contructing the 'Flamme Rouge' which is meant to signal the final kilometer of the stage, has forced the organisers to put the 1km to go sign 850m from the finish...
16 H 41 - Virenque About To Start Final Climb
Virenque is just 2km from the finish. The final ascent is a short but steep one.
16 H 39 - Bettini's Group 20'07" Behind Virenque
The Col du Pas de Peyrol split the peloton. The second main group includes the rider who has worn the polka-dot jersey since stage two. This peloton is 20'07" behind Virenque.
16 H 38 - Richard 5km From Victory
Virenque is 5km from the finish. He has been on the attack since the 35th kilometer. By the end of the stage his escape will have lasted for 202km, 67km of which were were ridden on his own.
Virenque won.
No change yellow jersey.
117 Mark Scanlon (IRL) AG2R Prevoyance 06:24:48.0 +00:24:24.0 but basically joint 78th.
Now 90th overall some 30+mins behind leader.
Scanlon's doing a dairy in the star newspaper. The other day was a rest day and he was saying he didn't really know what to expect in the mountains. The longest race he;s done before was tour of denmark at that was 11 days so he's in new territory here.
If he gets through the next couple of days he should be ok
I'm sure he'd take it easy in the first few mountain stages as would be unsure how he'd recover as no real experience of...
Metrostars
16/07/2004, 1:55 PM
First of the mountain stages today....should see a shakeup in things...
16/07/2004, 2:03 PM
Postals pushing the pace on the first slope because of rain. Guys dropping back at a fierce rate. Voeckler still there though.
16/07/2004, 2:24 PM
slope because of rain. Guys dropping back at a fierce rate. Voeckler still there though.
it would be a miracle if he keeps yellow today.
ulrich is going to have to do something soon if he is to have any chance
Ulrich won't be doing owt in the wet. Loads of Mountain stages left.
16/07/2004, 2:27 PM
it would be a miracle if he keeps yellow today
You'd imagine so. He's lasted the first of the two big climbs today though so if can keep his deficit to Virenque and Armstrong down on the last one he might be able to hang on. He'll lose it tomorrow if he doesn't today anyway.
it would be a miracle if he keeps yellow today.
ulrich is going to have to do something soon if he is to have any chance
Sure Voeckler has almost 7mins on Virengue...could he lose that much on last climb?
Could, but apparently the not going as high as the hardest part of the mountain.
16/07/2004, 2:38 PM
i forgot it was a time trial today,alpe d uez is normally a long man breaker of a stage.
16/07/2004, 2:39 PM
i forgot it was a time trial today
:confused: Not a time trial today, ordinary mountain stage.
16/07/2004, 2:45 PM
:confused: Not a time trial today, ordinary mountain stage.
i have it as individual time trial 15 k from bourg doisans (on the lower l alpe dheuz) to the top ?? :confused:
anyone near a telly ??
16/07/2004, 2:49 PM
STAGE 12 Castelsarrasin > La Mongie
In the Pyrenees.
L'Alpe d'Huez is on Wednesday. It is a time trial this year alright.
i have it as individual time trial 15 k from bourg doisans (on the lower l alpe dheuz) to the top ?? :confused:
Thats correct but thats for next wednesday 21st.
16/07/2004, 2:53 PM
got the dates mixed up there guys.
today is the 16 th and i looked up stage 16. :)
16/07/2004, 2:56 PM
Ullrich's in trouble. He's about 20'' down on Armstrong now.
Metrostars
16/07/2004, 3:26 PM
Armstrong finishes second and puts some distance between him and the other contenders. Ullrich 2:30 behind and Hamilton 3:30 behind. Voeckler keeps the yellow jersey for another day.
VOECKLER still has yellow jersey by almost 5 1/2 mins.
Overall Armstrong over 3mins ahead of Ullrich, 4mins on Hamilton & Mayo 6mins+...
Read like good stage on web, stupid NTL feckers dropping eurosport :(
16/07/2004, 3:47 PM
Wonder will Armstrong sue LeMond for defamation? I mean, he's pretty much said he believes Armstrong is on drugs. Doesn't do much for the sport, seems to be going the way of heavyweight boxing. If only Stephen could get a new manager and return to the game...
LeMond writing in Le Monde. Confusing eh? Armstrong's going to have to sue at least one of these chancers (Walsh, LeMond, most of the French Nation, etc) just to keep his good name. Which is totally fooked up when you consider that he's never been caught doping.
As for the French, total and utter drug cheat Richard Virenque is well on his way to record-breaking 7th King of the Mountains. And not a peep out of Les French. :rolleyes:
Having said that, I think Virenque's great but then again I'm a hypocrite. ;)
16/07/2004, 3:59 PM
And neither has our Michelle...
Caught tampering though which, like Ferdinand's offence, amounts to the same thing.
Scanlon in the large group at the back today, equivalent of joint 93rd, he now 108th overall.
Knoert
16/07/2004, 6:56 PM
Nice to see you all follow Scanlon's performances, despite except he was once in an escape in the 1st week, he wasn't much up front :p ...
I was totally surprised today, a lot of favourites failed today, I don't know the reason, maybe the weather?
Anyway, great performance by Basso, Armstrong showed he's still very strong, I hoped for a Basque victory today... maybe Mayo can do something tomorrow, although he didn't look strong as well...
16/07/2004, 7:01 PM
[QUOTE=WeAreRovers. Which is totally fooked up when you consider that he's never been caught doping.
KOH[/QUOTE]
with all due respect,
it all depends on how hard you are looking.
can you imagine the turmoil if they finally caught up with him or he had a brainstorm and came clean.
i dont think its physically possible to do what the top guys do without artificial stimulation.i dont care who you
are,there is no way you could be on a strecher after a 230 k stage and then get up the next day and do it again.
i am still a big fan(read my posts on the thread),but i have to say im looking at it a bit sideways these days.
even a very famous ex irish cyclist (now retired)is under a cloud of suspicion for some heroics on earlier tours.
i dont want to rain on anyones parade but you have to be realistic about what a body can and cant do.