View Full Version : Irish on the move

05/07/2004, 4:00 PM
There doesn't seem to be a lot of threads about Irish player who have been transferred so far this summer so I thought I'd open one for all the "mini-transfers" (big transfers too but they'll also get their own threads). Anyway these are the transfers so far, let me know if I missed any and update as much it as possible.

Liam Miller - Celtic to Man Utd - Bosman
Glenn Whelan - Man City to Sheff Wed - Free Transfer
Barry Quinn - Coventry to Rushden and Diamonds - Free Transfer
Barry Conlon - Darlington to Barnsley - Bosman
Michael Keane - Preston to Hull City - undisclosed fee
Stephen Elliot - Man City to Sunderland - Free Transfer
Scott Fitzgerald - Colchester to Brentford - Free Transfer
Paul Butler - Wolves to Leeds - Bosman
Paul Heffernan - Notts County to Bristol City - £125k
Nick Colgan - Hibs to Barnsley - Free Transfer
Joe Kendrick - 1860 Munich to Darlington - Free transfer
Shaun Byrne - West Ham to Boston - Free Transfer
Graham Stack - Arsenal to Millwall - 1 year Loan
Stephen McPhail - Leeds to Barnsley - Free Transfer

1MickCollins
05/07/2004, 4:50 PM
There doesn't seem to be a lot of threads about Irish player who have been transferred so far this summer so I thought I'd open one for all the "mini-transfers" (big transfers too but they'll also get their own threads). Anyway these are the transfers so far, let me know if I missed any and update as much it as possible.

Liam Miller - Celtic to Man Utd - Bosman
Glenn Whelan - Man City to Sheff Wed - Free Transfer
Barry Quinn - Coventry to Rushden and Diamonds - Free Transfer
Barry Conlon - Darlington to Barnsley - Bosman
Michael Keane - Preston to Hull City - undisclosed fee
Stephen Elliot - Man City to Sunderland - Free Transfer
Scott Fitzgerald - Colchester to Brentford - Free Transfer
Paul Butler - Wolves to Leeds - Bosman
Paul Heffernan - Notts County to Bristol City - £125k
Nick Colgan - Hibs to Barnsley - Free Transfer
Joe Kendrick - 1860 Munich to Darlington - Free transfer
Shaun Byrne - West Ham to Boston - Free Transfer
Graham Stack - Arsenal to Millwall - 1 year Loan
Stephen McPhail - Leeds to Barnsley - Free Transfer

Here are a few more:

Alan Quinn - Sheff Wednesday to Sheffield United - Free
Dwayne Mattis - Huddersfield Town to Bury - Free
Jason McAteer - Sunderland to Leicester City - Free
Liam Lawrence - Mansfield Town to Sunderland - Undisclosed
Richie Foran - Carlisle United to Motherwell - Free

I think only the Liam Miller, Stephen Elliott and Graham Stack moves ( if confirmed?) really are of any interest. McPhail, Colgan and Michael Keane probably won't be involved now they have dropped a division.

And the likelihood of Butler, Foran, Mattis, Byrne, Fitzgerald , Conlon, B.Quinn & Kendrick winnning senior caps winning (more) senior caps is unlikely.

dublinred
05/07/2004, 4:55 PM
Which Quinn played against Jamacia in centre of midfield ? Thought he looked like a decent longterm prospect would be shocked if he is gone to Rusden & Diamapnds.

1MickCollins
05/07/2004, 5:00 PM
Which Quinn played against Jamacia in centre of midfield ? Thought he looked like a decent longterm prospect would be shocked if he is gone to Rusden & Diamapnds.

dublinred
05/07/2004, 5:04 PM

Cheers , a move from Weds to United is a step up these days.

bitored
05/07/2004, 6:23 PM
What about rumoured moves??
At least Duffer is staying at Chelsea - depending on who you believe he's in competition with Robben or else they'll play together in a 4-3-3 formation

Other possible moves...
Carr to Newcastle has been talked about for a while now
Ipswich are apparently interested in Kinsella (still without a club) and Alan Mahon
Ian Harte to Villareal !! :confused:
What about Andy Reid? I think a move up to the Premiership would be good for him - weren't Spurs rumoured to be interested??

05/07/2004, 7:13 PM
What about rumoured moves??
At least Duffer is staying at Chelsea - depending on who you believe he's in competition with Robben or else they'll play together in a 4-3-3 formation

Other possible moves...
Carr to Newcastle has been talked about for a while now
Ipswich are apparently interested in Kinsella (still without a club) and Alan Mahon
Ian Harte to Villareal !! :confused:
What about Andy Reid? I think a move up to the Premiership would be good for him - weren't Spurs rumoured to be interested??
Mourinho would be foolish if he didn't play Duff as much as possible and judging by Robben's performances for Holland he looks very inconsistant.

Newcastle were interested in Trabelsi but it looks like he's going to Arsenal and their other target Miguel is priced at £8mil so Robson may go back in for Carr.
Ipswich aren't interested in Mahon anymore but Kinsella is still one of their top targets.
Harte is staying at Leeds, he had a chance to move to Villarreal after they agreed a fee with Leeds but he declined the offer.
There hasn't been much talk about Andy Reid since Kinnear put a ridiculous price on him. Spurs aren't interested in him anymore since Pleat is gone. Charlton and Newcastle look the most likely to sign him but I wouldn't be suprised if he was playing in division 1 again next season.

06/07/2004, 12:33 AM
Forest made a very strong finish last season, enough to
put them up there pushing for promotion if it continues.
(I think they were second to Norwich on current form
won 5 drew 3 out of last eight). It was a tough run in too,
a point from the last four games was all I expected at one
point but Forest got 10.

Money has been made available for him to strengthen
the squad too, but whether that means Reid must be
sold remains to be seen, hopefully not.

I think Kinnear will probably hang on to Reid untill
January barring a big bid coming in soon (fairly unlikely?).

If Forest are not pushing for promotion by then Reid would
have to be sold, so my hope is that he will stay with Forest
and gain promotion with them.

Kinnear made some excellent signings towards the end of last
season and I think the chairman trusts him to get Forest
promoted.

I would love to see Reid playing in the Premiership with Forest.

bitored
06/07/2004, 8:26 AM
Ian Harte to Valencia ?!!?
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/3868983.stm

06/07/2004, 11:11 AM
Jason McAteer - Sunderland to Leicester City - Free

It's off, according to the Teamtalk website. He couldn't agree personal terms, apparently.

:) PP

lopez
06/07/2004, 11:13 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/3868983.stm :D :D :D :D :rolleyes:

06/07/2004, 5:04 PM
Lads, Valencia are actually seriously interested in Harte. Ranieri is looking for a left back as his current left back is around 38 and he's supposedly a fan of Harte.

Also, as PP said, the McAteer deal is off.

Pat O' Banton
07/07/2004, 4:27 PM
Lads, Valencia are actually seriously interested in Harte. Ranieri is looking for a left back as his current left back is around 38 and he's supposedly a fan of Harte.

Also, as PP said, the McAteer deal is off.

According to the FAI website it is actually city rivals Levante that are after Harte's signature. Hope it works out for him and that he can revive some confidence. Being at Leeds over the past couple of seasons would be bad enough for anyone, but a couple of lads I know who support them said that he used to get some of the worst of the stick.

only1kilbane
07/07/2004, 5:15 PM
According to Mc Ateers agent the deal is still on. Hopefully will work out for him he is good enough at least to be playing for leicester if not still in the premier .

The Legend
07/07/2004, 6:24 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/3868983.stm

God help them... what would possess them to want him? :confused:

07/07/2004, 8:28 PM
God help them... what would possess them to want him? :confused:The general level of defending in Spain is a bit weaker than in England, particularly amoung the weaker teams. Harte should fit in nicely if he can motivate himself.

lopez
07/07/2004, 8:33 PM
The general level of defending in Spain is a bit weaker than in England, particularly amoung the weaker teams. Harte should fit in nicely if he can motivate himself.The emphasis is more on attacking. It's perhaps why it's possibly the most attractive - and competitive - league in Europe.

07/07/2004, 8:42 PM
The emphasis is more on attacking. It's perhaps why it's possibly the most attractive - and competitive - league in Europe.Hey, did I pass a judgement? :P I like it that way.

lopez
07/07/2004, 8:48 PM
Hey, did I pass a judgement? :P I like it that way.Tranquilo amigo. Didn't take it you did. :p ;)

bitored
08/07/2004, 12:06 PM
Harte to Levante (who?) by the looks of things....
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/l/leeds_united/3876757.stm

petef
08/07/2004, 12:18 PM
Teaming up with Mjallby then.

Closed Account 2
08/07/2004, 3:03 PM
Harte to Levante (who?) by the looks of things....
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/l/leeds_united/3876757.stm

Theyre the 2nd team in Valencia, Pedrag Mijatovic used to play for them when his daughter had to have specialist medical treatment at the hospital there...

08/07/2004, 4:23 PM
According to Levante's website Harte will have a medical tomorrow. He will then be presented to the media in a 12noon local time press conference at the Hotel Melia Valencia Palace on Friday.

So it looks a cert now. :)

Bowsy
08/07/2004, 4:32 PM
Much maligned by a lot of people, myself included, but good luck to him. Hope it re-invigorates his career.

concanta
08/07/2004, 9:50 PM
Totally agreed

Fair play to him....I have critisisd him as much as the next but maybe if he gets a bit of confidence back he will not be a lost cause. I am still not convinced by o shea at left back and if harte inproved his defending then he would beok....he is worth his place in the irelan squad for his free kick skills alone

lopez
08/07/2004, 9:55 PM
If he joins them I'll be hoping he and his team are a success in la liga. Levante's only claim to fame was the auctioning of Vincente some years back before the lad's campanas had fully dropped

09/07/2004, 1:28 AM
I know Harte gets a lot of flak but I remember him being
right at the top of opta stats for completed crosses/passes.
He was in the top 5, maybe at number 1.

The only other Irish players I remember figuring in those list
were Roy Keane (completes passes) and Duff (completes runs
and maybe crosses too).

The you have to remember he is playing behind Duff so he is
going to be left exposed at times as Duff is more attack minded
than Kilbane.

Unfortunately Opta don't seem to publish such stats (for free)
anymore.

I have just been to their site and I found this quote.

"this tool provides immediate understanding as to why more of David Beckham’s crosses were unsuccessful than successful. Is he putting it into the wrong areas, or are the strikers making the wrong runs??"

Or is he just useless? That is the blatently obvious answer to me!! :D

1MickCollins
09/07/2004, 1:31 AM
I think Harte has ability, he just needs a gigantic kick up the arse every now and again.

carnstien
09/07/2004, 7:14 AM
I still can't believe that nobody has ever thought of playing Harte on the left wing. I know he is slow but at least he wouldn't be exposed defencively and he can still put in those class deliveries and be lethal from set pieces. He also has the ability to get around a man. Just don't ask him to defend.

lopez
09/07/2004, 8:16 AM
Just finished reading 'The Gaffers' by Paul Howard and he states that Harte has a higher free-kick and penalty success than Mr. P. Spice. Perhaps if there were rules like American football where you could bring on a bloke to take a free kick or a penalty then take him off again, Ian would be a legend. :D

09/07/2004, 8:50 AM
Harte's lack of pace was frequently exposed in the kick-and-rush premiership, I remember Kieran Dyer repeatedly skinning him a few years ago for Newcastle when O'Leary was still in charge, Harte didn't start the return game too.

The Primera Liga is different, with a little extra time on the ball to pick out passes, Harte's confidence will definately improve. As long as Levante don't get completely crushed in every game, he should improve.

As it is he's second choice left full behind O'Shea, with an injury to him, or one of the centre-halves he'll be back in with an opportunity to impress.

Just as a side bar, was John Aldridge the last Irish international to play in Spain when he was at Real Socieded?

lopez
09/07/2004, 9:04 AM
According to MARCA, Levante confirmed his signing last night. He has a medical this morning and will be presented to the press at 12 noon.
Just as a side bar, was John Aldridge the last Irish international to play in Spain when he was at Real Socieded?I think you are right. Kevin Moran signed for Sporting Lisbon at about the same time (1988) or maybe the season before. Were the only other Irish players to have played in Spain Alan Campbell at Racing Santander and a Northern Ireland fringe player with a big ginger moustache at Celta Vigo in the mid eighties?

carnstien
09/07/2004, 9:20 AM
As it is he's second choice left full behind O'Shea, with an injury to him, or one of the centre-halves he'll be back in with an opportunity to impress.

In fairness, I think Finnan, who is a vastly more competent defender than Harte, is 2nd choice at left back and is the one who will come in if anyone across the back 4 is injured.

parnell ranger
09/07/2004, 11:01 AM
According to MARCA, Levante confirmed his signing last night. He has a medical this morning and will be presented to the press at 12 noon.I think you are right. Kevin Moran signed for Sporting Lisbon at about the same time (1988) or maybe the season before. Were the only other Irish players to have played in Spain Alan Campbell at Racing Santander and a Northern Ireland fringe player with a big ginger moustache at Celta Vigo in the mid eighties?

micheal robinson played in spain and retired there-he commentates for spanish tv now.

lopez
09/07/2004, 11:31 AM
Forgot him. They've even got a 'spitting image' type puppet of him on his show 'El dia despues' as well as a weekend programme covering politics and other non-football topics where he's the anchor-puppet.

Closed Account 2
09/07/2004, 11:36 AM
According to MARCA, Levante confirmed his signing last night. He has a medical this morning and will be presented to the press at 12 noon.I think you are right. Kevin Moran signed for Sporting Lisbon at about the same time (1988) or maybe the season before. Were the only other Irish players to have played in Spain Alan Campbell at Racing Santander and a Northern Ireland fringe player with a big ginger moustache at Celta Vigo in the mid eighties?

Babb and Mahon played for Sporting Lisbon (Portuguese League) in 2001.

09/07/2004, 12:06 PM
I just checked Levante's website and it says he signed a 4 year contract last night. Press conference this afternoon.

http://www.levanteud.com/index.php/ver_noticia/id/1543.html

Closed Account 2
09/07/2004, 3:22 PM
Their coach, Bernd Schuster, has a good reputation for getting a lot out of players. I think its good weve got a player in our squad (potentially) who'll be playing continental football next year, it will add a bit more experience with him having to face the likes of Saviola, Ronaldino, Aimar and Fernando Torres every week.

KCFC Bohs
09/07/2004, 3:58 PM
Fair play to Harte for giving it a go. Brian Kerr has said it before (and I agree with him) that as long as our players confine themselves to the English leagues then they will find it difficult to adapt to different styles of play used "on the continent".

Hopefully he will adapt well and other Irish players will follow suit.

22/07/2004, 1:13 PM
mark kinsella is having a trial with leeds and played in their 2-0 defeat at mansfield last night

1MickCollins
23/07/2004, 1:02 AM
mark kinsella is having a trial with leeds and played in their 2-0 defeat at mansfield last night

How degrading must it be for Kinsella to be a trialist at his age, having done what he has done?

23/07/2004, 10:16 AM
How degrading must it be for Kinsella to be a trialist at his age, having done what he has done?

I don't think there's any disrespect intended on Leeds part. They just have so little money Blackwell's making sure not just of peoples fitness -which'd be covered in their medical anyway -but that they'll fit in with the other handful of players, journeymen and donkeys he's going to have to call a squad for the next 25 years. Brian Deane (36 years old and two spells at Leeds behind him) also did a trial and got a one year contract as did Danny Cadamarteri ( fat bald lad who used be thin and have dreads when he played in in the PL for Everton a million years ago).

I'd say they'll give him a contract in any event as he's more than capable of making an impression in the first division or whatever the fcuk they're calling it these days.

23/07/2004, 12:31 PM
2 words. Marcio Amoroso.

bitored
27/07/2004, 3:57 PM
Kinsella has signed for Wallsall apperently

27/07/2004, 4:09 PM
Kinsella has signed for Wallsall apperently

Just read that on RTE now too.
As a Leeds supporter I'm a bit disappointed. He's the type of player who could've had an Indian Summer there. Ah well

03/08/2004, 10:47 AM
Finnan is in talks with Blackburn over a season long loan deal.

Metrostars
03/08/2004, 3:34 PM
Finnan is in talks with Blackburn over a season long loan deal.

now thats a surprise. Isnt he first choice full back for the pool? BTW, I'm heading to the swamp (Giants Stadium) to see Liverpool-Roma tonight.

03/08/2004, 5:47 PM
now thats a surprise. Isnt he first choice full back for the pool? BTW, I'm heading to the swamp (Giants Stadium) to see Liverpool-Roma tonight.
They bought a new right back, Josemi (I think thats his name) but still have very little cover.

03/08/2004, 6:22 PM
I think he's mainy a centre half. It would be a daft move by Pool to send him to Blackburn imo.