View Full Version : Salthill (Home)

bluewhitearmy
16/08/2011, 9:43 PM
Should be winning this one Friday and with Cork and Mons having tricky enough games its a great chance to get into the top 3.

Anyone know how long Frost and Bhandarkhar are out for?
If Gamble gets booked in this does he still miss Cork like if he got booked against Harps?
Only changes id make to the team that played Harps is Bhandarkhar/Frost back in left back if any are fit and Judge in instead of Hynes.

Cant see them being able to handle us going forward at all and after taking a hammering against Mervue they should have no confidence think it will end up 4-0 Limerick.

17/08/2011, 7:28 AM
I wonder does the suspension carry over into the FAI Cup game alright if he did pick up a yellow. If its a case he picks up another yellow is he available for Bray next week but out for Cork i'd prefer to see Gamble left out this Friday if that was the case. I think we should have more than enough for Salthill with Tracey, O'Leary and Judge there.

I'm going for a 4-0 win. Gaffney to get his first for us.

Bayern Munchies
17/08/2011, 9:30 AM
Can't wait for this match, seems like forever since I was at my last home game, over a month ago now nearly :eek: but back to business I think that we will beat Salthill easily enough with the quailty we now posses however I think they will come dolwn and try frustrate us and try park the bus and that we could struggle for awhile but once we get the first (hopefully) the goals will start to flow in

If there is any chance Joey Gamble could miss the cork game over a booking in this I wouldn't play him, as has been said we should have enough quality to beat Salthill even without Joey playing. Although saying that I really want to see him play as I haven't had the chance yet :p

3 or 4 nil to Limerick :)

bluewhitearmy
18/08/2011, 10:24 AM
Ive been told now that Joe has to get another 2 bookings to miss a game he has 3 yellows and the limit is 4 but i was told that when he got sent off against Monaghan that suspension wiped out one of the yellows. Not sure of the rules myself but the person that told me would know.

If that is the case then stick with the same team for continuity.

theboywonder8
19/08/2011, 8:29 PM
I'm afraid that could be it now,terrible result,where do they go from here?Jaysus you were off the mark with that prediction jofspring,As a matter of fact bwa and bm were also way off it too.

19/08/2011, 8:44 PM
Great result holding Salthill to a draw.

We do not deserve promotion with an attitude like that tonight. Be positive Scully says with 4 mins to go, a joke.

bluewhitearmy
19/08/2011, 8:53 PM
If he is not sacked before he leaves Jackman tonight its a disgrace.
Attitude was a disgrace players should be ashamed of themselves.

19/08/2011, 8:55 PM
I'm afraid that could be it now,terrible result,where do they go from here?Jaysus you were off the mark with that prediction jofspring,As a matter of fact bwa and bm were also way off it too.

Me and pretty much the rest of the country boywonder

thomas72
19/08/2011, 9:13 PM
i was standing behind pat o sullivan and i can tell ye he was fuming he fired his umbrella onto the ground at the end. i feel sorry for that man he has pumped alot of money into that club its just unfortunate he has *************as a manager. there is four junior teams in town that would beat that salthill team they are useless all they did was hoof the ball away or into touch.
there is no point in sacking scully now might aswell let him finish out the remaining few games if cork beat us in a few weeks thats it 7pts will be the diff

bluewhitearmy
19/08/2011, 9:16 PM
i was standing behind pat o sullivan and i can tell ye he was fuming he fired his umbrella onto the ground at the end. i feel sorry for that man he has pumped alot of money into that club its just unfortunate he has ************ as a manager. there is four junior teams in town that would beat that salthill team they are useless all they did was hoof the ball away or into touch
there is no point in sacking scully now might aswell let him finish out the remaining few games if cork beat us in a few weeks thats it 7pts will be the diff

Why so he can continue to get paid for doing an awful job?

thomas72
19/08/2011, 9:24 PM
Why so he can continue to get paid for doing an awful job?

lets be honest we are not going to get promoted and we dont deserve to either we cant beat rival teams these teams have not just beat us they destroyed us at home. let scully finish out the season and get a top manager in ASAP im sure the club would go after a top manager who is prob already with a club no point sacking him now with a hand full of games left by the time we get a new manager in the season will be over.

bluewhitearmy
19/08/2011, 9:28 PM
lets be honest we are not going to get promoted and we dont deserve to either we cant beat rival teams these teams have not just beat us they destroyed us at home. let scully finish out the season and get a top manager in ASAP im sure the club would go after a top manager who is prob already with a club no point sacking him now with a hand full of games left by the time we get a new manager in the season will be over.

Surely all that should mean he should be sacked...

Get a caretaker manger til the end of the season or until we get a new manager surely could get one in the next 8 weeks then he can get to know his players for 1st division next year.
Cant see the point in keeping a manager that is clearly failing and definitely wont get us up just cos theres only 8 weeks left what good is it to keep him when hes going to be sacked at the end of the season anyway?
At leasr if we get rid of him now the likes of Yellow might stay for next year.

theboywonder8
19/08/2011, 9:34 PM
Me and pretty much the rest of the country boywonder

i agree,if he's not sacked tonight he never will be,the buck stops with him,he has no excuses,the player's are there now.

handball
19/08/2011, 9:35 PM
lads scully should of being sacked weeks ago its just not working 4 him and never seemed to be im shocked that he has lasted this long....

fieldofmarkets
19/08/2011, 9:45 PM
Just can't see a change being made. If we win in Cork (I know, very unlikely) we still have a good chance. Even though there are 2 weeks to that game, we probably have a better chance of winning that game without a change. Scully should have been replaced last offseason but I think its too late now.

We should have been 3 or 4 up by the time Salthill scored with all the chances and they only scored from a bad mistake in us failing to clear.

Monster
19/08/2011, 10:25 PM
the biggest budget and support network any Limerick manager has ever had and yet he continues to make an arse of it.. he has surrounded himself with yes-men not a former player or anyone that has done anything in the game on the coaching staff and he speaks about profesionalism.. my arse.. pat o Sullivan deserves better he has been a breath of fresh air to senior soccer in this town..scully great man to roar abuse at the kids but afraid of his life to question a senior player good riddance pat stick to the cabs!!

4tothefloor
19/08/2011, 11:40 PM
The supporters have been saying for a long time now that Scully isn't up to it. Abysmal record against the top teams in crunch games, and despite having the best Limerick squad and resources since the late eighties, he is absolutely and positively clueless as to how to use them. The "tactics" tonight were a farce. When he can't let the players loose on a team of no hopers like Salthill, well then you know it's never going to happen. Why weren't our full backs bombing forward? Why wasn't the formation changed? Too safe, too negative, no width and worst of all no game plan. Rolls Royce strikers in Behan and Gaffney yet clueless as to how to supply them. Gaffney on the wing is a joke, he's a striker not a winger. The big throw in to the box tactic is also typical of a manager bereft of ideas. Yes, let's have a dangerous striker throw the ball in to the box instead of being in the box himself to do what he does best.

Look at our goals for column, we're the worst of the pack. There's a reason for that, it's because our tactics are wrong and our build up play is too slow and too predictable. We don't stretch teams, we just pass or hoof the ball in to blind alleys. This is with a team containing players that would walk on to most Premier Division teams. It's not rocket science where the problem lies.

From the vibes tonight I think the penny has finally dropped with the club officials too. I'd just hope that they act fast and act now. We can still go up, but not with Scully. Liam Buckley, even Stephen Henderson, are twiddling their thumbs, and both are better managers. So the replacements are out there. Time for Pat Scully to go :ball:

nosebleds
19/08/2011, 11:42 PM
O,M,G, words become me,dont no where to start so i wont.Completely unbeliveable.

gufc2000
19/08/2011, 11:55 PM
Is Barry Ryan usually ye're back-up keeper lads? Just noticed there on extratime that he wasn't in nets

20/08/2011, 12:39 AM
**** that.

bluewhitearmy
20/08/2011, 12:44 AM
The supporters have been saying for a long time now that Scully isn't up to it. Abysmal record against the top teams in crunch games, and despite having the best Limerick squad and resources since the late eighties, he is absolutely and positively clueless as to how to use them. The "tactics" tonight were a farce. When he can't let the players loose on a team of no hopers like Salthill, well then you know it's never going to happen. Why weren't our full backs bombing forward? Why wasn't the formation changed? Too safe, too negative, no width and worst of all no game plan. Rolls Royce strikers in Behan and Gaffney yet clueless as to how to supply them. Gaffney on the wing is a joke, he's a striker not a winger. The big throw in to the box tactic is also typical of a manager bereft of ideas. Yes, let's have a dangerous striker throw the ball in to the box instead of being in the box himself to do what he does best.

Look at our goals for column, we're the worst of the pack. There's a reason for that, it's because our tactics are wrong and our build up play is too slow and too predictable. We don't stretch teams, we just pass or hoof the ball in to blind alleys. This is with a team containing players that would walk on to most Premier Division teams. It's not rocket science where the problem lies.

From the vibes tonight I think the penny has finally dropped with the club officials too. I'd just hope that they act fast and act now. We can still go up, but not with Scully. Liam Buckley, even Stephen Henderson, are twiddling their thumbs, and both are better managers. So the replacements are out there. Time for Pat Scully to go :ball:

Agree with all of that and would like to add that Peter Hynes on the wing is a joke he offers nothing out there he has been terrible playing out wide. Brosnan comes into the team scores a few goals and is then dropped for Hynes out wide when it is quite clear from the last 2 games that Behan and Brosanan are very dangerous together makes no sense. Judge or Brosnan out wide tonight getting at them would have tore them apart.

Gufc no he is our number one but the brilliant Pat Scully rested him tonight.

20/08/2011, 1:01 AM
i was standing behind pat o sullivan and i can tell ye he was fuming he fired his umbrella onto the ground at the end. i feel sorry for that man he has pumped alot of money into that club its just unfortunate he has braindead clown as a manager. there is four junior teams in town that would beat that salthill team they are useless all they did was hoof the ball away or into touch.

the biggest budget and support network any Limerick manager has ever had and yet he continues to make an arse of it.. he has surrounded himself with yes-men not a former player or anyone that has done anything in the game on the coaching staff and he speaks about profesionalism.. my arse.. pat o Sullivan deserves better he has been a breath of fresh air to senior soccer in this town..scully great man to roar abuse at the kids but afraid of his life to question a senior player good riddance pat stick to the cabs!!

What more can I say??

Nail.

On.

Head.

ped_ped
20/08/2011, 6:03 PM
Most frustrating part of all is that the quality is obviously there. It's not - regardless of the performance last night - simply a bunch of overpaid primadonas that couldn't care less. It's an expensively assembled group of very, very good footballers under a sh!te manager. Wouldn't mind Scully as Director of Football or scout or something, because he seems to sign good players mor often than not, but Jesus Christ his tactics are dreadful. And not even boring-but-effective dreadful.

Scully out, Buckley in, please.

da bishop
20/08/2011, 8:05 PM
some really poor stuff against a really poor side in salthill who to be fair to them worked their socks off throughout.very disappointed with our top players behan and gamble,behan looks uncomfortable in that system and is incapable of linking the play for it to be effective,gamble spent the game moaning especially in the second half when the team, which by now was shapeless and lacking in any width,needed leadership from someone with his undoubted quality.felt sorry for hynes totally out of position,he has always worked hard for the team.once again scully changed his lineup and one has to wonder what plan the players go out with,the lack of width in the lineup is a major worry and it was,n until kelly went foward and delivered a few dangerous cross,s that we had any width at all.to see us relying on long throws in the last five minutes was just grasping at straws.salthill deserved their point.

LK37oldskool
21/08/2011, 7:57 AM
Shocking home performance again.Cant argue with anything already said.This season is now a bust.
Scully Out !!!!

bluewhitearmy
22/08/2011, 5:13 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xHuxtwEP6qo

Pat Scully at 11.30 in like any good manager taking some responsibility for a shocking performance :quiet:

born2bwild
23/08/2011, 11:55 AM
Most frustrating part of all is that the quality is obviously there. It's not - regardless of the performance last night - simply a bunch of overpaid primadonas that couldn't care less. It's an expensively assembled group of very, very good footballers under a sh!te manager. Wouldn't mind Scully as Director of Football or scout or something, because he seems to sign good players mor often than not, but Jesus Christ his tactics are dreadful. And not even boring-but-effective dreadful.

Scully out, Buckley in, please.

I hear Galway are looking to offload some managerial dead wood.

23/08/2011, 2:55 PM
It's quite alarming to listen to Scully in that interview. To criticise players for lack of effort would be understandable but to criticise a player for having the audacity to take three touches of the ball and call it 'over elaboration' quite simply beggars belief. It sums up the footballing philosophy the man has and quite frankly Pat O'Sullivan, his wallet and the supporters deserve a lot more.

da bishop
23/08/2011, 9:47 PM
that interview in line with all interviews this manager has given after a poor performance or result.....i.e. it has nothing to do with me.