View Full Version : Latest Weekend Fri 12th

Pages : 1 [2]

13/08/2011, 5:31 PM
sligo fans doing any coverage of the game today?

13/08/2011, 5:54 PM
is freeman and ekanem still with drogs windmillwarrior? I havent heard any word from them since mick cooke made those recent signings!

Freeman's definitely not

dong
13/08/2011, 6:15 PM
sligo fans doing any coverage of the game today?

Some games recently have been online on ocean fm but don't think so tonight Stu.

WindmillWarrior
13/08/2011, 6:17 PM
Yeah, both gone. Bit tough on Victor as he had improved a lot, though he was still liable of a major f*ck up now and again. Freeman, I suppose it was a little tough on him as well, as most times he played he was played out of position out wide and not up front. Still managed to bag a couple of nice finishes though

13/08/2011, 6:19 PM
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/sligo-rovers-tv

this was just posted on the Bohs mb. Will check it out at kick off. Hopefully it will work. The game there earlier in the season was a great display (by the fans as well as the team).

13/08/2011, 6:40 PM
^^not working^^

13/08/2011, 8:00 PM
Not long left at the Flansiro, 3-1 to us.

13/08/2011, 8:20 PM
Bohs from behind to lead 2-1 in Sligo. Would be terrific win for them (and for us!).

13/08/2011, 8:28 PM
All over on the Strokestown Road.

Great response after last week's debacle.

13/08/2011, 8:29 PM
All over on the Strokestown Road.

Great response after last week's debacle.

Longford 1-3 Shelbourne

hoops1
13/08/2011, 8:36 PM
15 mins to Bitter meltdown.

13/08/2011, 8:41 PM
I always knew the Bohs were undercover Hoops fans.

hoops1
13/08/2011, 8:46 PM
I predict
The ref was crap
Bohs fans are scum
I hope Derry win it.

13/08/2011, 8:57 PM
I predict
The ref was crap
Bohs fans are scum
I hope Derry win it.

I'll go for the ol' reliable

It was never a penalty
Bohs should've had 9 men before the first goal

Dixie Dean
13/08/2011, 9:09 PM
I predict
The ref was crap
Bohs fans are scum
I hope Derry win it.

The ref was crap
Shams fans are scum
I hope Derry win it.

gufc2000
13/08/2011, 9:34 PM
Other First Div Results:

Finn Harps 1-2 Limerick

Salthill 0-5 Mervue

hoops1
13/08/2011, 10:24 PM
The net is down in Sligo.
Latest from down there mweeeeeeeeeeeh mweeeeeeeeeeeeeeh mweeeeeeeeeeeeh
Its not fair

13/08/2011, 10:39 PM
It's still Shams' to throw away but...

...I've never really felt like it before, but I have just have a feeling about this season. We seem to be getting that little bit of luck that we didn't get in 2005/6 and it might prove the difference. I'm the most pessimistic football fan you could imagine but I'm starting to really, really believe in this team.

hoops1
13/08/2011, 10:48 PM

...I've never really felt like it before,

What? Drunk?

13/08/2011, 11:05 PM
What? Drunk?

I think it makes perfect sense. Shams are still the favourites, but I just have a feeling this could be our year. I'm a bit of a pessimist when it comes to football, so I see this as a significant thing,

And yes, I am drunk.

born2bwild
13/08/2011, 11:21 PM
Despite taking to the field with Calamity James and slow hand (slow everything) Bermingham, Shels beat Longford tonight.

A detour up the road to Termonbarry and Lorcan Fitzgerald's performance were the lowlight and highlight respectively of my trip. I took a pic of the town sign of Termonbarry but I've exceeded my upload quota so i can't upload it.

By the way, Monaghan fans: Karl Bermingham - player of the year last year, 17 goals - did he get a belt of a hurley at the Christmas party last year or something because I actually think he's broken. I wonder does Alan Matthews have a receipt?

13/08/2011, 11:30 PM

...I've never really felt like it before, but I have just have a feeling about this season. We seem to be getting that little bit of luck that we didn't get in 2005/6 and it might prove the difference. I'm the most pessimistic football fan you could imagine but I'm starting to really, really believe in this team.

The rules of football:

1. Every fan gets that belief

2. Pessimism is a much more suitable bedfellow

3. Every fan knows not to give in to that belief for the sake of their own happiness.

4. When you really start to believe, you're most likely drunk.

13/08/2011, 11:37 PM
Cracking game of football tonight in Finn Park with undoubtedly, unquestionably the goal of the season by Denis Behan. What a strike. Worthy of any league in the world. Pity there was no camera there to see it though. About 20 or 30 Limerick fans made the trek up too, fair played to them.

Also, Seamus Coleman there too watch the game. Good to see.

13/08/2011, 11:37 PM
The rules of football:

1. Every fan gets that belief

2. Pessimism is a much more suitable bedfellow

3. Every fan knows not to give in to that belief for the sake of their own happiness.

4. When you really start to believe, you're most likely drunk.

I don't know if number three or four made me laugh/shot down my dreams in flaming wrecks more.

13/08/2011, 11:49 PM
Despite taking to the field with Calamity James and slow hand (slow everything) Bermingham, Shels beat Longford tonight.

A detour up the road to Termonbarry and Lorcan Fitzgerald's performance were the lowlight and highlight respectively of my trip. I took a pic of the town sign of Termonbarry but I've exceeded my upload quota so i can't upload it.

By the way, Monaghan fans: Karl Bermingham - player of the year last year, 17 goals - did he get a belt of a hurley at the Christmas party last year or something because I actually think he's broken. I wonder does Alan Matthews have a receipt?

You were lucky to get out alive. Hibs were playing Alberts tonight in De Barras.

born2bwild
13/08/2011, 11:55 PM
What was that? Hurling? The other abomination?

14/08/2011, 12:00 AM
*whoosh*

14/08/2011, 12:08 AM
I don't know if number three or four made me laugh/shot down my dreams in flaming wrecks more.

Exhibit A: Sligo fans thought they actually had a chance of winning the league last season. See the damage it can do to possibly otherwise sound minds. :weep:

14/08/2011, 12:12 AM
Exhibit A: Sligo fans thought they actually had a chance of winning the league last season. See the damage it can do to possibly otherwise sound minds. :weep:

Ah. I thought your post was we're-all-in-this-mess-together football fan bonhomie. In actual fact it was fully fledged Rovers chauvinism. :p

born2bwild
14/08/2011, 12:13 AM
*whoosh*
*???*

14/08/2011, 12:19 AM
In actual fact it was fully fledged Rovers chauvinism. :p

That's rule 5 :D

GalwayRed
14/08/2011, 12:43 AM
Good win tonight puts us back on track after last weeks disaster. I thought it was relatively comfortable overall even though we got a good bit of luck with our second goal. 10 wins in the last 11 league matches and go into our 2 week break from the league on a positive :)

14/08/2011, 1:19 AM
*???*

I'd a much better retort for ya for being in the spiritual home. Sorry about that but android crashed at the time if posting.

Someone needs to invent a way to signify tone via text.

OneForTheFuture
14/08/2011, 8:32 AM
2 weeks to come up with something better than this!!

http://i700.photobucket.com/albums/ww9/HuskieDrog/Super6.jpg

Ha I wasn't sure what way to read it because it's doesn't look right but I went with "Not your super ****" maybe just referring to someones ****, with normal powers?

dong
14/08/2011, 10:54 AM
Not a lot to be said for our performance last night. Conceding goals at the wrong time. Not a bit of hunger again. Once again Nutsey gets the better of us. Been rich pickings for Bohs in the showgrounds all season.

bluewhitearmy
14/08/2011, 11:24 AM
Cracking game of football tonight in Finn Park with undoubtedly, unquestionably the goal of the season by Denis Behan. What a strike. Worthy of any league in the world. Pity there was no camera there to see it though. About 20 or 30 Limerick fans made the trek up too, fair played to them.

Also, Seamus Coleman there too watch the game. Good to see.

Ya thought it was a good game alright...

Think we deserved the win though and especially a goal like that deserves to win any match even Coleman was impressed with it after the game.

Who is that number 10 for ye McAlawee is it? Cracking player thought him and Brolly were excellent for ye lastnight if we didnt have Shaun Kelly i think Brolly could have done some serious damage.

14/08/2011, 1:23 PM
Who is that number 10 for ye McAlawee is it? Cracking player thought him and Brolly were excellent for ye lastnight if we didnt have Shaun Kelly i think Brolly could have done some serious damage.

10 was Blaine Curtis. Cracking player indeed, we were grand going forward just defensively we were shaky. Pizza Hutton and Paddy McLaughlin were our weak links there. McElwee was the small fella in the middle of the park, number 6. Last game for us before he heads to America on a soccer scholarship. Brolly is a great player on his day, but just hasn't shone out like he should do as of yet after 4 or 5 years at the club which is a pity because we all know he has the ability.

bluewhitearmy
14/08/2011, 2:03 PM
Where did ye get Curtis from?

Ya Hutton couldnt deal with the pace of our attackers before he came off..
Was it Brolly that was on trial with Oldham or something a few months back?

Was it just me our did your fans keep abusing one of your players?

14/08/2011, 3:08 PM
Curtis was signed for the A league team originally from Kildrum Tigers but since he got a chance in the first team he hasn't looked back.
Hutton is long past it now, shame he put himself through that last night.
Brolly was on trial with Rochdale before the season started alright.

And it wasn't so much abuse more....telling the manager he's sh**e and to take him off.

CSFShels
14/08/2011, 5:47 PM
10 was Blaine Curtis. Cracking player indeed, we were grand going forward just defensively we were shaky. Pizza Hutton and Paddy McLaughlin were our weak links there. McElwee was the small fella in the middle of the park, number 6. Last game for us before he heads to America on a soccer scholarship. Brolly is a great player on his day, but just hasn't shone out like he should do as of yet after 4 or 5 years at the club which is a pity because we all know he has the ability.
Curtis was good against us too.

HomerJay
14/08/2011, 5:53 PM
Ha I wasn't sure what way to read it because it's doesn't look right but I went with "Not your super ****" maybe just referring to someones ****, with normal powers?
Normally people read across, not downwards.

legendz
14/08/2011, 8:21 PM
Curtis was signed for the A league team originally from Kildrum Tigers but since he got a chance in the first team he hasn't looked back.
Hutton is long past it now, shame he put himself through that last night.
Brolly was on trial with Rochdale before the season started alright.

And it wasn't so much abuse more....telling the manager he's sh**e and to take him off.

Goes to show the A Championship can have it's uses if used right. It also has to be mentioned their is no onus on Harps to field an A side being in the First Division but they do so, as do Limerick.

14/08/2011, 8:43 PM
To be honest it'll be awfully weird without an A side there next year now. I'd imagine there will still be some form of reserve side playing in the Ulster senior league or something.

OneForTheFuture
15/08/2011, 7:14 AM
Normally people read across, not downwards.

And normally people will spell correctly before making a banner for public display.

bluemovie
15/08/2011, 4:05 PM
Not a lot to be said for our performance last night. Conceding goals at the wrong time. Not a bit of hunger again. Once again Nutsey gets the better of us. Been rich pickings for Bohs in the showgrounds all season.

Maybe ye should re-sign Keith Foy??

15/08/2011, 6:17 PM
Just saw Bohs penalty decision against Sligo there and that is absolutely disgraceful refereeing there. Where was the penalty?!

srfc1928
15/08/2011, 6:36 PM
Just saw Bohs penalty decision against Sligo there and that is absolutely disgraceful refereeing there. Where was the penalty?!

Decisions like that make you wonder why you turn up, probably make more sense to stay in the pub and watch the premiership.
No point complaining either, it just makes it worse in the long run. Totally disiluishioned with the refereeing in the league.

Guinney
15/08/2011, 7:10 PM
Looked like a stone wall penalty for us when Rodgers stuck his arms out for Drogheda. He completely blocked Kearns shot which looked to be heading for the back of the net.