View Full Version : Champions League 2011/12

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

old git
07/12/2011, 11:16 PM
I guess we won't see Man U beating Barca this season.

I picked the wrong match to watch last night - Porto waddle their way against Zenit.
Benfica look the better team from Portugal, just that bit more clinical up front.
Basel had a good night in the mud. Shaqiri looks like he can make the step up from the star u21 player at the Euros to a class senior footballer. It's a good sign for the Swiss league that one of their clubs could hold onto him this long.

unless they meet in super cup .. winners champ league v europa league winners :D::D

DeLorean
08/12/2011, 9:14 AM
That would still be next season :) United got what they deserved, not so much for the performance last night but for their complacency throughout the group. Good to see a few less obvious teams in the knockout rounds anyway, European football needed a season like this. If somebody could topple Barca, the tournament would be wide open.

KK77
08/12/2011, 9:58 AM
Tommy Martin and 3e will be happy that Man Utd will be playing Thursday night football in the Europa League. I would imagine Fergie will give the young guns a chance in the Europa League and if fit Michael Owen so good news for them and Michael. I read an interview with Rio this morning and he is all out to win the Europa League so Fergie will have a decision to make there. I suppose it will all depend on what games they have on the Sunday/Monday and how the Europa League group is going. I saw another article with quotes from the great pro Evra saying he is embarrassed to be playing Thursday night football in the Europa League. I think he should be embarrassed by his form first of all. One player rapidly on the way downhill.

Closed Account 2
08/12/2011, 12:47 PM
I think Lindegaard looks a lot less shakey than De Gea. I see that in his two games (Benfica away and Otelul away) he only let in 1 goal, whereas De Gea shipped 7 in his 4 games. He just doesnt seem to command the box as well and the Man Utd defenders seem to hit every panic button with De Gea in nets.

It's all very well that De Gea might come on and become a very good keeper for them, but in the short term it looks like its cost them getting out of the group.

DeLorean
08/12/2011, 4:41 PM
Evra and co are right to feel embarrassed about failing to qualify, I don't see the problem with him saying that. I think Ferguson may want to win it all the same. It's the only European competition that United haven't won and it's a fairly elite group that have one all three...Juventus, Bayern Munich and Ajax. Ferguson would join our own Trap as the only manager to have won all three with the same club, in addition to his Cup Winners Cup with Aberdeen. Interestingly enough Marco Tardelli has won all three as a player.

Teams to have won all three major UEFA competitions (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_club_competition_records#List_of_teams_to_hav e_won_the_three_main_European_club_competitions)

KK77
09/12/2011, 8:48 AM
Embarrassed to be playing in the Europa League he said!

Good spin on it there have to say! PMSL!

DeLorean
09/12/2011, 9:21 AM
Yeah I read the quotes...no spin, just agree with him. He also said "maybe one or two of us have to look at ourselves in the mirror and say we can do better than we have done". That, to me, sounds like he was including himself.

09/12/2011, 9:33 AM
Tommy Martin and 3e will be happy that Man Utd will be playing Thursday night football in the Europa League. I would imagine Fergie will give the young guns a chance in the Europa League and if fit Michael Owen so good news for them and Michael. I read an interview with Rio this morning and he is all out to win the Europa League so Fergie will have a decision to make there. I suppose it will all depend on what games they have on the Sunday/Monday and how the Europa League group is going. I saw another article with quotes from the great pro Evra saying he is embarrassed to be playing Thursday night football in the Europa League.

Embarrassed or not, it's tough sht. They weren't good enough after 6 games to make the CL groups, and they only beat one team, so they'll play something more suited to their capabilities in the new year.

Did RTE describe them going out as a "sad night" that "doesn't bear thinking about" again? Eamonn Holmes bragged to his news viewers last year, that he didn't know what Thursday Night European football feels like, as his team doesn't play on Thursdays. He'll find out soon enough. ;)

KK77
09/12/2011, 9:57 AM
Yeah I read the quotes...no spin, just agree with him. He also said "maybe one or two of us have to look at ourselves in the mirror and say we can do better than we have done". That, to me, sounds like he was including himself.

I meant you're spin!

KK77
09/12/2011, 10:04 AM
Mark Lawrenson was saying on the last word last night that the result on Wednesday had been coming yet on Monday on the same show he said and i quote him "Man U will sail through". The man is a c*ck.

DeLorean
09/12/2011, 10:05 AM
I meant you're spin!

I know...that's why I said "no spin, just agree with him"... explanation of which would translate into..."I am not spinning anything, I just happen to agree with what Patrice said", and it's "your" not "you're" ;)

DeLorean
09/12/2011, 10:07 AM
Embarrassed or not, it's tough sht. They weren't good enough after 6 games to make the CL groups, and they only beat one team

I don't think many would argue with that.

KK77
09/12/2011, 10:39 AM
I know...that's why I said "no spin, just agree with him"... explanation of which would translate into..."I am not spinning anything, I just happen to agree with what Patrice said", and it's "your" not "you're" ;)

SAD;)

Sure look on the bright you can join an elite group who have won the 3 competitions as you said!

DeLorean
09/12/2011, 10:54 AM
Sad:(

I know, you'd think at your age you'd know the difference :)

Sure look on the bright you can join an elite group who have won the 3 competitions as you said!

I supported United growing up alright but began to care less and less every year of my adult life. I'm really not pushed. I'd prefer them to win than City, Chelsea or Liverpool but it really doesn't upset me when they lose. I'd be happy out to see Spurs win the league with the way they play football. I've just a general interest these days to be honest. As for the three competitions thing, I do think it would be a nice thing for any club to have, and an incredible achievement by Ferguson, but I can't even see them winning that without Vidic to be honest. Not sure how seriously they'll take it in any case. Maybe if they lose to City in the FA Cup they'll try to give it a good go.

Mark Lawrenson was saying on the last word last night that the result on Wednesday had been coming yet on Monday on the same show he said and i quote him "Man U will sail through". The man is a c*ck.

Most annoying pundit of all time, he doesn't even have a close rival.

KK77
09/12/2011, 10:59 AM
I know, you'd think at your age you'd know the difference :)

You'd think at your age you'd know when you have been fished;)

I supported United growing up alright but began to care less and less every year of my adult life. I'm really not pushed. I'd prefer them to win than City, Chelsea or Liverpool but it really doesn't upset me when they lose. I'd be happy out to see Spurs win the league with the way they play football. I've just a general interest these days to be honest. As for the three competitions thing, I do think it would be a nice thing for any club to have, and an incredible achievement by Ferguson, but I can't even see them winning that without Vidic to be honest. Not sure how seriously they'll take it in any case. Maybe if they lose to City in the FA Cup they'll try to give it a good go.

Fair enough.

Most annoying pundit of all time, he doesn't even have a close rival.

Ronnie Whelan goes close! LOL

09/12/2011, 4:01 PM
Lawro came up with a decent pun on Tuesday, I suspect by accident rather than design, when Costa of Valencia received a booking, as they showed the replay, Lawro made the comment that he did something silly that cost a yellow.

Zizou
16/03/2012, 10:21 AM
What a draw!! The dream final of El Classico is on for sure now. Both Barca and Real away in their 1st legs of quarters and semis!!
Predictions on Agg:
Apoel 0-5 Real Madrid
Marseille 2-4 Bayern Munich

Benfica 2-3 Chelsea
Ac Milan 1-4 Barca

Semi
Bayern 2-3 Real
Chelsea 3-4 Barca

Final
Real 1-2 Barca

16/03/2012, 10:44 AM
Barca have the tie they didn't want. Milan are a very difficult team to break down (under normal circumstances :)) and can play when they have to.
Madrid and Bayern are bankers to get through, Barca to sweat it out and Benfica to provide an upset of sorts.

DeLorean
16/03/2012, 2:16 PM
Barca broke them down 5 times in the group stages, although they also conceded 4. It should be a decent tie, the game at the San Siro in the group was a cracker. The draw really sets it up for a Barca v Real/Bayern final, both of which would be intriguing in their own way. Bayern with home advantage in a one off game would be a serious threat to Barca and I think Mourinho would prefer to have them in a final than semi also. Bayern v Barca would be very open I'd imagine, whereas Real v Barca would be cagey and riddled with cheating. They bring the worst out of each other in that regard.

16/03/2012, 5:24 PM
True enough that Barca scored 5 on aggregate, I forgot about that important stat:)

I suppose I was mainly thinking of the effort Barca had to put in at home after going behind to an early goal and where Milan looked like they enjoying themselves, defending effortlessly on the ropes.

Hyuihr
18/03/2012, 1:30 PM
Milan's backline was awful in the 2nd leg against Arsenal. Hard to imagine them containing Barca. But will be an interesting test of Thiago Silva's much-hyped credentials. I don't think there strikforce is likely to hold up for back-to-back games either. Though if they get it together it should be a great couple of games. Anyway, I'd like to see Bayern get to the final. It's enough that Madrid and Barca have a monopoly on La Liga and they play each other on a very regular basis.

Hyuihr
18/03/2012, 1:30 PM
their*

18/04/2012, 7:44 PM
Drogba just scores to put Chelsea one up. If ever there's an argument for atheism, it's Drogba. No God would ever reward his first half performance with that, and the adulation that comes with it. Apart from Jose Antonio Reyes I don't think I've ever seen a player play the game in such a profoundly dishonest manner.

18/04/2012, 8:10 PM
looking at tonight's match whoever thought of a Chelsea Bayern final ? I really expected an all Spanish final

18/04/2012, 9:15 PM
Drogba just scores to put Chelsea one up. If ever there's an argument for atheism, it's Drogba. No God would ever reward his first half performance with that, and the adulation that comes with it. Apart from Jose Antonio Reyes I don't think I've ever seen a player play the game in such a profoundly dishonest manner.

Missed the game, was he up to his old tricks again?

(ok read on bbc - he was, funny that Puyol was angry with him, as he is one heck of a cheat himself, only playing barca at their own game)

jinxy lilywhite
18/04/2012, 10:01 PM
I was watching the Chelsea - Barcelona game tonight and the picture went a bit fuzzy. I tapped the side of the TV and Drogba fell over

KK77
19/04/2012, 8:28 AM
looking at tonight's match whoever thought of a Chelsea Bayern final ? I really expected an all Spanish final

Yeah you just never know it might well be Chelsea's year. Finally winning it when least expected.

DeLorean
19/04/2012, 10:39 AM
Drogba just scores to put Chelsea one up. If ever there's an argument for atheism, it's Drogba. No God would ever reward his first half performance with that, and the adulation that comes with it.

The Lord works in mysterious ways :)

http://www.footballtransfertavern.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/busquets.jpg

Closed Account 2
19/04/2012, 2:08 PM
I have to say it was cyincal or clever or whatever you want to call it, but against Barca it was a taste of their own medicine. I was also really suprised at how the much vaunted "invincible" Barca seemed to really struggle with direct balls played over the midfield.

And Valdes has another poor game in London, beaten at the near post by Van Persie last year, let on in under his body (from Walcott?) the year before and chocolate wrists last night...

19/04/2012, 2:29 PM
Was it really a taste of their own medicine? I've never thought of Barcelona as among the worst offenders by any means.* In fact I'm amazed by how much Messi is able to stay on his feet. They ham it up a bit against Real Madrid, but Real do the same against them.

* Despite Gerry Armstrong's duff protestations, the penno against Levante last weekend was nailed on in my opinion. A two handed shove to the ground, not unlike Cahill's foul just outsuide the box last night, on Iniesta I think.

Valdes went for it with his foot last night I thought.

19/04/2012, 4:18 PM
are you kidding me!:rolleyes:
one of about a million vids...............

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DhYU_znLSRk

24/04/2012, 9:05 PM
That tie was just a car crash in slow motion right from the moment Barcelona hit the bar in Stamford Bridge. Barcelona were inept for the second half, out-Arsenaling Arsenal in pointless passing and awful defending. James McClean would have made a difference out wide. Valdes had a shocker over both games.

God I hate Chelsea and that dispicable creep Drogba!

I want Madrid to win now, I don't see Chelsea beating them.

legendz
24/04/2012, 9:14 PM
Real and Bayern will be delighted. I'd say Real will get through tomorrow night but possibly AET.

24/04/2012, 9:17 PM
Who won?

DeLorean
25/04/2012, 7:49 AM
Yeah hopefully Madrid make it through. They'll really have to defend well tonight though. At least there's the safety net of JT not lifting the trophy.

25/04/2012, 7:56 AM
That tie was just a car crash in slow motion right from the moment Barcelona hit the bar in Stamford Bridge. Barcelona were inept for the second half, out-Arsenaling Arsenal in pointless passing and awful defending. James McClean would have made a difference out wide. Valdes had a shocker over both games.

God I hate Chelsea and that dispicable creep Drogba!

I want Madrid to win now, I don't see Chelsea beating them.

Likewise, but surely one can ADMIT that Chelsea's performance last night was brilliant, one of the best in along time,and so deserve to be in the final

25/04/2012, 8:12 AM
No, I won't. I refuse! They parked the bus but Barcelona beat themselves. They have ventured too far into the realm of football fundamentalism, a la Wenger.

DeLorean
25/04/2012, 8:34 AM
Chelsea dug deep obviously but they got a mental amount of luck over the two legs. They could and should have been three down by the time they scored at Stamford Bridge. The post saved them in the last minute there. Messi missed a sitter, a penalty and hit the post last night. Goal disallowed for offside (by a fraction if it was offside). That said, Barcelona can only blame themselves really, Sanchez and, in particular, Fabregas tried to be too clever with their chances at the Bridge. Also, leaving half of the pitch open for Ramieres to run through when they were in a winning position and a man up last night was criminal.

KK77
25/04/2012, 9:33 AM
Martin Keown saying is this the end of an era for Barce. Good god you have to wonder about these pundits sometimes! Fair play to Chelsea they rode their luck but they are through and i have a feeling their name is on it!

cornflakes
25/04/2012, 10:03 AM
Martin Keown saying is this the end of an era for Barce. Good god you have to wonder about these pundits sometimes! Fair play to Chelsea they rode their luck but they are through and i have a feeling their name is on it!

TV3's pundits are horrible to listen to, every time Lawrenson opens his mouth I want to smash my head against the TV!:mad:

DeLorean
25/04/2012, 10:50 AM
I'm with you there cf, and the guy is cleaning up. Yeah KK, it has the look of Liverpool in 2005 about it alright, especially when you look back to the Napoli tie and it's similarities to Liverpool's final group match against Olympiakos. They are missing a lot of important players though.

25/04/2012, 11:34 AM
When Messi missed that penalty I knew it was game over.

Highly frustrating watch. Any other team up against that Chelsea side would have made use of the overlaps that were on offer. Madrid should have too much for em if they make it through tonight. Bayern? Not so confident.

DeLorean
25/04/2012, 11:50 AM
I feel the same I think. Even though Bayern would have home advantage, that comes with it's own pressures and I'd find it hard to imagine Ronaldo not getting a few chances against a make-shift Chelsea defence of Bosingwa - Cahill - Luiz - Cole, and that's assuming they have no injuries between now and then. I'm not at all confident that Real will do the business tonight though.

25/04/2012, 12:27 PM
The post saved them in the last minute there..

A George Hamilton expression. Did it make a flying save? ;)

Alas I missed the game but with Terry being sent off "early doors", it is a huge tribute that they scored two goals. They were fortunate though catching them on the end of a morale sapping defeat by Real. Queue screams for the manager (who was God a few months ago) to be sacked. It's a funny old game. Glad for DiMatteo though. Been through depression and seems a decent sort.

25/04/2012, 6:07 PM
Funny as I didnt notice it at first despite listening to it on the headphones.................(was shouting myself like mad when that goal went in!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6RG6yxgeFE&feature=related

25/04/2012, 9:43 PM
Whooda thunk it? Munich v Chelsea.

How serious will Munich's suspended absentees be?

old git
25/04/2012, 10:12 PM
Whooda thunk it? Munich v Chelsea.

How serious will Munich's suspended absentees be?

probally balances out a bit of chelsea's four suspensions...

did you see that clown dunphy on rte tonight ronaldo a bottler for missing penalty in shoot-out and they then show highlights of barcelona - chelsea and after messi hits crossbar from penalty spot the bold eamon has no comment to make..

DannyInvincible
25/04/2012, 10:52 PM
Of course, home advantage didn't favour the Germans on this occasion:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ur5fGSBsfq8

26/04/2012, 9:30 AM
probally balances out a bit of chelsea's four suspensions...

did you see that clown dunphy on rte tonight ronaldo a bottler for missing penalty in shoot-out and they then show highlights of barcelona - chelsea and after messi hits crossbar from penalty spot the bold eamon has no comment to make..
Thanks.

I thought it was a super save from the bayern keeper (Neuer , sp?)

26/04/2012, 11:13 AM
It was a fantastic save. Missed the game because I was at a gig but caught the highlights.

COME ON BAYERN!!