View Full Version : Kazakhstan (A) - general (Fri 07/09/12)
boovidge
25/08/2012, 6:51 PM
Fair play to anyone heading over for this!
25/08/2012, 10:23 PM
Really looking forward to this trip now. Week to go before we leave.
Some fantastic photos of Astana here: http://daypic.ru/travel/48205
Mad Moose
07/09/2012, 3:14 PM
Does anybody know if RTE Radio's coverage will rock up on Radio Player post broadcast. I have no way of seeing this afternoons game and can't get home in time to listen to the entire game. I'd wait if I thought I could listen back but not sure if its something RTE Radio Player would include.
Any thoughts welcome.
10/09/2012, 12:09 PM
Good trip. I definitely prefer the smaller trips. Far better craic and never too packed in the pubs ye go but still great craic.
Good bunch on this trip as well, and most up for the craic as well.
Kazakhs were generally quite friendly, but I got done going through border police, had to go into the toilet and pay them £100 to get my passport stamped. Apart from that a great trip, if a little expensive.
Great to put a few more faces to (user)names, brendy_eire and maribor_kev particularly. Good sensible chat with those lads.
10/09/2012, 4:21 PM
I got done going through border police, had to go into the toilet and pay them £100 to get my passport stamped. Apart from that a great trip, if a little expensive.
This flying out? Bit mental. Seemed grand with me, even started chatting about the match.
Got my phone robbed on the flight back, so feck all photos though.
Great oul trip, has to be said. Some difference between Almaty and Astana. Difficult to believe that they're both in the same country. Astana is just a mad place. Incredible to think most of it has been built in the last 10 years. Easily the strangest country I've ever been to.
Delighted with the win, though I'll try to quickly forget about the match.
Definitely prefer the smaller away trip crowds, even if that does sound a bit snobby. You get to talk to literally everyone on the trip, and it's a bit less mental than the bigger trips.
10/09/2012, 4:39 PM
Ya on the way out. The more I think about it the more I think it was to do with the fact that I wasn't wearing a football top. Thought i was on my own and could get away with it. The funny thing is it was the same guy who let me through in the first place.
Its a mad place alright, those buildings are unreal. Says a lot about Oil and Gas and a dictatorship ;)
Ya it might come across as a little bit snobby but you can get both things, you get to chat to everyone out there, sensible craic but at the same time if yer up for a bit of mad craic and that then you can get both.