View Full Version : Sweden (A) - general (Thu 22/03/13)
30/01/2013, 4:18 PM
This is some info I got from our hotel.
The best ways to come here from the airport is either:
By bus, http://www.flygbussarna.se/en you can book online and I believe It’s cheaper to book both ways at the same time.
By train, http://www.arlandaexpress.com/default.aspx?page=3&= Same deal here.
I think the return fare is twice the single fare.
The best deal for the express train is the 2 adults travelling together for the price of one ticket, Thurs - Sat
http://www.arlandaexpress.com/discounts.aspx
brine3
03/02/2013, 9:59 PM
Bloody hell, that Arlanda train isn't cheap. I booked a train from Malmo to Stockhom for 290 SEK. That's 600 km!
Tip for when you are in Stockholm, you can get a metro travel card for the Stockholm region. I think it costs 100 SEK per 24 hours. You can buy them in the Pressbyran newsagents which are in nearly all stations.
04/02/2013, 9:09 PM
There's a commuter train from the airport (Arlanda) in addition to the express train. The commuter train is about €14/15.
The stadium is between the airport and the city center. AFAIK if you take the train, you'll need to travel to the city center first and get a second train back out to the stadium. If you get the aircoach, it's about a 30 min walk from the nearest aircoach stop to the stadium. Note the aircoach doesn't take cash so either book online or have your card at the ready.
Does anybody know when we'll get confirmation about whether we got tickets for this game or not?
Junior
27/02/2013, 10:47 AM
Not sure, deadline to apply was on 22nd Feb. Im sure the FAI will need a couple of weeks to get their ar$es in to gear. If you applied, you'll get one. No way this game is going to be oversubscribed.
27/02/2013, 11:32 AM
I got confirmation today.
brine3
27/02/2013, 12:05 PM
Me too. In Section 2. Friends Arena doesn't have a section 2. :D
Still, as long as I have a ticket!
27/02/2013, 1:02 PM
i got confirmation today too
Junior
27/02/2013, 1:25 PM
Yep me too. *Slap on the wrist for doubting the FAI Ticket Office efficiency*
Sleepingpartner
27/02/2013, 6:27 PM
Apparently we only asked for and were sold 700 tickets. Though a good friend from Ybig said this figure was much less, well 400.
Bottle of Tonic
27/02/2013, 9:41 PM
I didn't get my ticket cos I bloody snoozed on it, forgot and got my application in too late. :(
So I'm looking for 2 tickets for this match. Anyone looking to shift them I will gladly take them off your hands.
ArdeeBhoy
27/02/2013, 10:01 PM
You'll get them over there, no bother.
Junior
28/02/2013, 9:13 AM
I didn't get my ticket cos I bloody snoozed on it, forgot and got my application in too late. :(
So I'm looking for 2 tickets for this match. Anyone looking to shift them I will gladly take them off your hands.
Have you tried emailing the FAI. I know the deadline has passed but they might still be able to offer you something. I imagine that deadline was just in case demand outstripped supply which certainly wont be the case.
If not, then as no one has any tickets in their hands yet you might need to wait for a week or two before talk of spares starts to filter through.
Otherwise you could do as an earlier poster suggested and buy them for the home end in the section next to the Irish fans via the swedish fa's website (details somewhere earlier in this thread).
28/02/2013, 9:46 AM
My ticket application seemingly disappeared and no invoice arrived. Rang the Ticketmaster number from the FAI website. Fella on the phone said they'd some spare, so took my card details and that's me sorted.
The brother clean forgot to apply. He rang, but as he didnt have an account, he was told to contact the FAI to have them create one for him, then ring back.
So if you have an account, ring Ticketmaster. If you don't have one, ring the FAI, then Ticketmaster.
ArdeeBhoy
28/02/2013, 10:02 AM
And guarantee there will be spares before and in Stockholm.
brine3
28/02/2013, 3:08 PM
Only 400 huh... to think I couldn't get a ticket for the match in Gdansk. Where are all those feckers now...
28/02/2013, 3:19 PM
Only 400 huh... to think I couldn't get a ticket for the match in Gdansk. Where are all those feckers now...
They're staying away in protest at the brand of football employed by Trap.
brine3
28/02/2013, 3:27 PM
Did they not see the Euro 2012 qualifiers then? That was muck as well. They could have kept away from Gdansk in protest as well and then I'd have been able to watch the match.
Bottle of Tonic
28/02/2013, 4:19 PM
My ticket application seemingly disappeared and no invoice arrived. Rang the Ticketmaster number from the FAI website. Fella on the phone said they'd some spare, so took my card details and that's me sorted.
The brother clean forgot to apply. He rang, but as he didnt have an account, he was told to contact the FAI to have them create one for him, then ring back.
So if you have an account, ring Ticketmaster. If you don't have one, ring the FAI, then Ticketmaster.
What number did you ring? Cannot see one on the FAI website for ticket master and whatever number I ring that is on their site just keeps putting me around in circles from one option to another. Got onto a bird eventually, she hadn't a clue and gave me a number for their 'sports department' that when I rang didn't exist anymore.
I know we'll pick em up out there. It's usually how I operate to be honest but would like to have it in my pocket heading out for once.
Junior
28/02/2013, 8:54 PM
Is that what is being quoted as how many tickets have been taken for this one? Whats the source? I knew it wouldnt be massive but I expected 1,000-1,500 tbh.
EDIT: Sorry missed the earlier post....
01/03/2013, 9:03 AM
What number did you ring?.
The Dublin one on here. https://oss.ticketmastereurope.com/html/home.htmI?team=fai
01/03/2013, 12:39 PM
Did they not see the Euro 2012 qualifiers then? That was muck as well. They could have kept away from Gdansk in protest as well and then I'd have been able to watch the match.
Tongue-in-cheek my friend.
I feel like quite the charlatan as I won't be in Sweden. But I didn't head to Gdansk after Poznan so I suppose I shouldn't feel so bad. :)
ArdeeBhoy
01/03/2013, 2:36 PM
Not all of them. And people explained at the time why those tickets were so hard to come by, not just the Spain factor.
If you get a time machine, you can have mine next time round...
brine3
02/03/2013, 10:29 AM
Hehe, thanks, I'll have to keep that offer in mind!
05/03/2013, 3:16 PM
I noticed that they had my address wrong(html &, instead of the actual letter and numbers) on their new lovely portal, how many times are they doing to redesign the tickets portal? Anyway just be careful and check its correct if you are getting your tickets sent out.
Does anybody know when the tickets will be sent out? Thanks.
11/03/2013, 12:00 PM
Does anybody know when the tickets will be sent out? Thanks.
This week.
ArdeeBhoy
11/03/2013, 6:20 PM
They have been. To the SC's at least.
Thanks lads. They were waiting for me when I got home today. Roll on next week now.
12/03/2013, 11:10 AM
My ticket arrived.
13/03/2013, 3:19 PM
If you are tight for time take the express train over the bus. Its only about 20 mins.
Some stuff I got from a work colleague.
- Gamla Stan (Old Town), good for a walk, cafes and a few bars. Beware of the more touristy roads and find the little back streets. The royal castle is there too but I personally think it’s quite dull
- Catch a free ferry from Skeppsbrokajen (east side of gamla stan)/Slussen (the lock) to Djurgarden, nice view from the water. Djurgarden has the ‘Grona Lund’ amusement park and the ‘Vasa’ museum (http://www.vasamuseet.se/en/), which is well worth a visit I have been told
- Mosebacke/Sodra teatern, nice bar/restaurant/venue, often good live music and a great view from the 7th floor, which is a cocktail bar - http://whatsupsthlm.se/isthlm/sodra-teatern/200/
- Sturebadet/Centralbadet (http://www.sturebadet.se/sturebadet-english/1029301-start-page or http://www.centralbadet.se/). Two grand old spas in the centre of town if the weather is rubbish
- Other good venues for live music that could be worth checking out are Tradgarden (http://whatsupsthlm.se/isthlm/tradgarden/203/) and Debaser (http://whatsupsthlm.se/isthlm/debaser-medis/66/) but not sure what they are like these days
- Sturecompagniet is the biggest club in town (on Stureplan) but personally I’d avoid it
- The Modern Museum is on a small Island close to Gamla Stan (annoyingly you have to double back on yourselves to get out there though) http://www.modernamuseet.se/
- Ostermalm is a pretty good area for walking around in town, especially if you are into Scandinavian design/furniture shops but I suspect there may not be much time for that
- Restaurant Tranan used to be a lovely little restaurant/bar straight up from Hard Rock Café in ‘Vasastan’. Could be pricy now though, http://www.tranan.se/
brine3
13/03/2013, 8:54 PM
Same here. The whole ordering, paying for and delivery of the tickets went so smooth that I am in a state of shock.
14/03/2013, 1:38 PM
Debaser - named after the Pixies song? That's good enough for me. Mrs Stuttgart and I chose that for our first dance at our wedding!
14/03/2013, 1:47 PM
Good tune Stutts. I was thinking the same thing, is it named after the song, like Depeche Mode in Tallinn. I was also thinking the same thing sounds like a good place, on name alone.
I never knew you could dance Stutts.
brine3
15/03/2013, 2:11 PM
There is a Debaser in Malmö too, I was thrown out of there once... Music there varies, one night it was 80s alternative which was good. Other times they play a lot of Swedish pop, like Robyn and that kind of rubbish.
I got an e-mail from the Stockholm police today reminding me that fans aren't allowed to bring teargas to the stadium. There go all my plans! :D
ArdeeBhoy
15/03/2013, 8:06 PM
Aye, if it's typical Trap tactics we'll just bring our 'tears...
Junior
17/03/2013, 12:57 PM
You're a gas man Ardee.....
18/03/2013, 12:58 PM
I never knew you could dance Stutts.I can pogo and mosh with the best of them.
ArdeeBhoy
19/03/2013, 3:17 AM
Please NB!
http://www.facebook.com/RISSCW/posts/497027563687078
ArdeeBhoy
19/03/2013, 3:35 AM
http://wikitravel.org/en/Stockholm
19/03/2013, 10:10 AM
Spare Ryanair flight seat going direct to Sweden on Friday morning (not return) as due to business have to go via London. Not sure how much it costs to change a name on a Ryanair flight but happy to pass on to someone without charge. Might also have a couple of spare tickets (face value €50.00 each). Have my own but friend ordered me a couple as well (just in case).
Send me a private message if interested.
ArdeeBhoy
19/03/2013, 11:13 AM
Yard of Pace was looking for tickets.
And think costs €50 to change the name, maybe more...plus the passport details are different. Unless you can find someone with the same name...
In hindsight may be able to help?
Post up on here ASAP Fri am, how many, if any, tickets are spare and will suggest a meeting point in town, but bear in mind it's going to be fecking freezing...
Junior
19/03/2013, 3:08 PM
Webcam at stadium which confirms the area around it is still a building site and ....well its cold :-)
http://www.webbkameror.se/byggkameror/arenastaden/arenastaden_1_640.php
ArdeeBhoy
19/03/2013, 4:20 PM
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=554385894581473&set=a.383117871708277.90025.369909666362431&type=1&theater
ArdeeBhoy
19/03/2013, 10:42 PM
http://yourlivingcity.com/lifestyle/irish-pubs-stockholm/#.UUj4Bjd4h0w
My mate told me that they cancelled their St. Patricks Day parade there last weekend and its suppose to be on this Saturday instead.
ArdeeBhoy
20/03/2013, 6:54 AM
Correct, as some aged royal was being buried then.
DeLorean
20/03/2013, 9:05 AM
St. Patrick's Day rescheduled (http://swedishirish.com/st-patricks-day/)
ArdeeBhoy
24/03/2013, 10:21 PM
http://www.expressen.se/nyheter/halsningen-pa-med-taket-da-hors-vi-mer/?fb_action_ids=10151575525001079&fb_action_types=og.recommends&fb_source=aggregation&fb_aggregation_id=288381481237582