View Full Version : RTE Presenter Banned by the FAI

northwestexile
29/07/2011, 5:30 PM
About time the FAI grew a pair and held these boys to account over thier reporting of FAI affairs. Sick of every news piece having a negative slant put on it by these died in the wool GAH heads. Last night on RTE Radio 1 a report on both Europa League games involving LOI clubs was reported after an under-19 cricket world cup qualifying match.

http://www.thescore.ie/no-further-questions-rte-presenter-banned-by-the-fai-189108-Jul2011/

brayfan08
29/07/2011, 9:21 PM
Was he not banned for asking Delaney about his salary , its a fair question i think.

Spudulika
29/07/2011, 9:49 PM
Des may be a GAA fan, he's also a major sports fan, and as well as following LOI, he's a West Ham fan (remember his jousts with that legendary Man U fan Pat Kenny?). He has asked some hard questions (in nice ways) of a number of figures, however the FAI are not to be questioned or doubted, we all have to shut up and respect them. Funny how one Louth journalist hasn't gotten the same treatment yet he's written and said far worse about the FAI and Mr. Delaney (yet with an O'Reilly backed agenda).

peadar1987
29/07/2011, 11:26 PM
This won't win the FAI any friends in the media, and will ultimately be pretty counter-productive. Unless this lad was dishing out personal abuse, the FAI are being immature at best.

30/07/2011, 12:11 AM
Anybody who questioned Delaney in the FAI were disposed of fairly quickly. Now he wants to take on the journalists who asked a VERY relevant question. How come someone who presides over a tin pot organisation, which is run, mostly by volunteers, can justify paying HIMSELF more than the Taoiseach. Its obscene. can't believe he is getting away with this. Another sickening chapter in our country's social history.

bullit
30/07/2011, 12:26 AM
Anybody who questioned Delaney in the FAI were disposed of fairly quickly. Now he wants to take on the journalists who asked a VERY relevant question. How come someone who presides over a tin pot organisation, which is run, mostly by volunteers, can justify paying HIMSELF more than the Taoiseach. Its obscene. can't believe he is getting away with this. Another sickening chapter in our country's social history.
Twice as much i believe.It realy is a shockingly high salary and well worth having a dig at it on a national forum such as RTE.

Quadruple1928
30/07/2011, 2:21 AM
The FAI seem to think they can do what they want, even if Delaney went one of his stupid chums would replace him, whole organisation needs to be changed.

Spudulika
30/07/2011, 5:15 AM
There was a damning article yesterday in the Indo (no guesses as to who wrote it) which pointed out the sheer hypocrisy in the FAI and the obvious and shameful waste of money. You have a failed businessman parachuted in as a legacy office holder, getting revenge on those who sold out his Daddy, and yet he takes home a pay packet that he could never make in the private sector due to his sheer ineptitude and inability to lead. Yet I don't see this particular journo being singled out for such action. However nobody, and I mean nobody, in football is going to stand up and be counted as they're all happily earning and blazering their way along! The capitulation of the clubs in allowing the LOI come again under the FAI's "guidance" is a case in point, and worse, the media and clubs trundled along in tow when JD and co cut prizemoney because they wanted to cover the costs of a court case with a club over a very, very odd deal done with Endemol. It's more than a joke at this stage.

30/07/2011, 8:40 AM
Failed business man? I always thought Delaney had been quite successful.

More on this here: http://www.independent.ie/national-news/rte-defends-des-cahill-in-ban-row-as-fai-threatens-to-sue-2835679.html

Not about the salary according to FAI. Show is taken down from RTE player.

Spudulika
30/07/2011, 9:05 AM
Mr A, do a little background checking on the man and see what he did as a businessman, it's not pretty.

RTE, as a public service broadcaster, cannot blank the FAI, though it no remains to be seen if the media will go after Delaney and his cronies the way they did after others from the FAI who transgressed.

athloneman
30/07/2011, 11:44 AM
the FAI are just embarressing themselves at this stage and are showing what a petty little organisation they are! anyone involved in sport in this little country is entitled to question the FAI's finances and delaneys wage packet!!!

northwestexile
30/07/2011, 12:19 PM
It probably will only make matters worse with regards to FAI/media relations but I feel that it's about time that the FAI challenged these guys on the way they report Irish football related news. Every news article has a negative slant put on it. The report in yesterdays Indo is a case in point. I don't think thats it's excessive to send three members of the board to Rio for the World Cup draw. It's a massive draw and where we need a presence. If the FAI had only sent 1 or 2 people it would have been reported that they were strapped for cash or how amature they look in comparision to other nations. They really are in a no win situation. Every article that journalist has written since he got a smack on the wrist for the FAI has had a negative spin put on it. Do other sporting organisations in this country get the same amount of scrutiny applied to their affairs? I dont think so
If they FAI are doing such a terrible job I hope they keep it up,
Senior team joint top of their qualifying group with a top international manager in charge,
Under 21's with an ex LOI manager in charge,
Under 19's making a semi final of a European competition beating Italy on the way there with another ex LOI manager in charge,
New stadium,
One LOI club in with a shout of a Champions League play-off place
Same club guarenteed Europa League play-off spot
Another club in with a chance of making the Europa League play-offs
Improved UEFA co-efficient
Most people see this as being in spite of the FAI but surely they must take a large amount of credit for this

peadar1987
30/07/2011, 12:28 PM
It probably will only make matters worse with regards to FAI/media relations but I feel that it's about time that the FAI challenged these guys on the way they report Irish football related news. Every news article has a negative slant put on it. The report in yesterdays Indo is a case in point. I don't think thats it's excessive to send three members of the board to Rio for the World Cup draw. It's a massive draw and where we need a presence. If the FAI had only sent 1 or 2 people it would have been reported that they were strapped for cash or how amature they look in comparision to other nations. They really are in a no win situation. Every article that journalist has written since he got a smack on the wrist for the FAI has had a negative spin put on it. Do other sporting organisations in this country get the same amount of scrutiny applied to their affairs? I dont think so
Senior team joint top of their qualifying group with a top international manager in charge,
Under 19's making a semi final of a European competition beating Italy on the way there with another ex LOI manager in charge,
New stadium,
Most people see this as being in spite of the FAI but surely they must take a large amount of credit for this

Yes, all these things are terrible, and need addressing by the FAI, but banning one journalist for asking what seem to be legitimate questions about Delaney's salary is not the way to go about it. The FAI do have a significant bargaining chip at their disposal in the national side, and have used this to good effect in getting MNS and live LOI on the air, but I think they could still use it more. I'm sure the agreement with RTÉ over international rights could stretch to coverage of LOI games in Europe, and a certain amount of advertising for the league on relevant sporting programmes, such as The Premiership.

bluewhitearmy
30/07/2011, 12:39 PM
New stadium,

How do they deserve any credit at all for these?

Its the clubs that deserve the credit for that certainly not the FAI.

northwestexile
30/07/2011, 1:09 PM
Peadar1987
It's the point that is being made that is important for me. Banning one won't make a difference in isolation but standing their ground on issues like these will over time.
Bluewhitearmy
It doesn't matter how you look at it the FAI deserve credit for LOI clubs improvement in European competition. If you put it down to the change to summer football thats because of the FAI or if you put it down to the improved professionalism of clubs off the field in terms of admin and back up staff then that is also down to the FAI through the club licensing process.

A N Mouse
30/07/2011, 1:23 PM
Peadar1987
It's the point that is being made that is important for me. Banning one won't make a difference in isolation but standing their ground on issues like these will over time.
Bluewhitearmy
It doesn't matter how you look at it the FAI deserve credit for LOI clubs improvement in European competition. If you put it down to the change to summer football thats because of the FAI or if you put it down to the improved professionalism of clubs off the field in terms of admin and back up staff then that is also down to the FAI through the club licensing process.

What is the issue though? You seem a little confused.

Now I normally try and give the fai the benefit of the doubt, if there's some kind of rational way of explaining whatever questionable thing they've done.

But there are legitimate questions to be asked here, and this comes across as petty in the extreme. It's not as if he's even their fiercest critic

bluewhitearmy
30/07/2011, 1:31 PM
Peadar1987
Bluewhitearmy

They dont deserve credit for the clubs work at all in my opinion the clubs should get 100% credit....The licensing process is a joke too but thats a different story.

Whats your problem with the journalist by the way surely its his job to ask relevant questions?

peadar1987
30/07/2011, 1:46 PM
Peadar1987

But it seems like the FAI aren't blacklisting this journalist because of a general bias against the LOI in the media, it's more like they're refusing to talk to him because he made a legitimate criticism of the organisation. If the FAI were restricting access to the Ireland team, and explicitly stated it was because of the media's refusal to broadcast, or even acknowledge the exploits of domestic clubs at home and in Europe, that would be a different matter entirely, and I'd probably agree with you.

If this blacklisting was something to do with the lack of media coverage of the league, the FAI would almost certainly have said so. It doesn't make sense to try and make a statement to the media without actually telling the media what you're doing!

athloneman
30/07/2011, 1:46 PM
northwestexile do you work in the pr department of the FAI?? how can that sham of an organisation be praised for loi clubs doing well when they dont care about the national league?

passerrby
30/07/2011, 1:53 PM
northwestexile do you work in the pr department of the FAI?? how can that sham of an organisation be praised for loi clubs doing well when they dont care about the national league?

The point is DES Cahill has a boner about the fai or at lease John Delaney , I've never heard him ask anybody in the gaa about under the counter payments to managers

30/07/2011, 3:59 PM
I fully completely support the FAIs' Ignore Des Cahill initiative and I hope it is taken on by the country as a whole.

I never had much time for John and his merry band of idiots and arselickers but with this one brilliant initiative they've done more to foster goodwill among right minded people than has been done by the FAI in the last 25 years. :ball:

30/07/2011, 4:00 PM
Also, northwestexile, when you get your lunch break above in Abbotstown I suggest reading up about the chicken and the egg. x

northwestexile
30/07/2011, 4:04 PM
My issue is not that a journalist asked questions about delaneys salary my issue is with the general negativity that the print and broadcasting media always spin on an FAI/Irish football related story.

30/07/2011, 4:05 PM
The point is DES Cahill has a boner about the fai or at lease John Delaney , I've never heard him ask anybody in the gaa about under the counter payments to managers
No, the point is determining whether the kinds of questions being asked / points being raised by Des Cahill were relevant and valid. If they were, the FAI are acting like bullies.

30/07/2011, 4:08 PM
My issue is not that a journalist asked questions about delaneys salary my issue is with the general negativity that the print and broadcasting media always spin on an FAI/Irish football related story.
But yet you applaud them for singling out one guy, (who, according to soccerc on another forum, was making perfectly relevant points) and banning him, with a possible legal action?

30/07/2011, 4:08 PM

Chicken and egg, chicken and egg........

Give us a half dozen examples of negative spin in the last twelve months, should be easy enough if it's a regular thing.

northwestexile
30/07/2011, 4:10 PM
But yet you applaud them for singling out one guy
Every great journey starts with a single step

30/07/2011, 4:11 PM
Every great journey starts with a single step
Seriously, is that your reply to my point?

30/07/2011, 5:33 PM
Seriously, is that your reply to my point?

Delays salary is larger than the entire prize fund for the league of Ireland . He has surrounded himself with yes men who are in their positions thanks to him .I fear that when the bubble bursts the true debts will be astronomical .

30/07/2011, 6:11 PM
New stadium,

Enjoy watching another championships at home without ireland in it, underage football is pants (spain 5-0 ireland) and Delaney has never cared for the LOI
U obviously work within abbotstown:mad:

Spudulika
30/07/2011, 7:32 PM

Wrong, wrong and wrong - if you'd heard the exchange instead of reading biased comment then you would know the first two wrong points were nothing about being anti-FAI or Delaney, they were simple questions regarding how it's being run.

The same man has openly questioned and tackled issues regarding the GPA (he backed them and took alot of private flak from the GAA), and he has also questioned contentious issues like the winter training break (a sham), players expenses for "weaker" countie (he illustrated this using the Louth hurlers), he took onthe Kilkenny Co Board over their poor treatment of football and he has reguarly highlighted the need for transparency in manager payments. Actually he fed Pat Spillane a few times who ran with it.

We cannot make any comparison between the GAA and FAI, the GAA are rightly taken to task when there is violence on or off the pitch and they react and deal with it. They are not a shower of freebie chasers and moneygrubbers - for what is JD paid 400,000e per year? Why?

This is about the FAI, sneaky leaks from anti-GAH people will try to draw comparisons - oh they and easier ride etc, crap! JD and his cronies in the FAI have been spinning yarns and hiding in Abbottstown, running down the league, telling lies and making it worse for themselves. This story will run for a while yet.

Jinxy
30/07/2011, 8:31 PM
It's a Gaaliban conspiracy!
JD is worth every penny of that 400 grand. :p

maksimir
30/07/2011, 8:52 PM
Des always comes accross as a pretty decent bloke - compared to buck toothed, bottle tannned, hair dyed, chest waxed Marty whatever his name is who kowtows to everything GAAAAAA. I remember I had that awful committee room on in the background when trawling the web and when marty was lauding the GAAAAAS 'community work' even one of his own GAAAAA guests had to bring him back down from planet bogball in the stickfighting universe to point out that 'soccer' and rugby also do great work in the community.

To be fair Des reports accross the board on sports when doing the RTE sports bulletins on the radio - of which I'm sure he has some editorial input.

Re: Delaney. Did anyone else think it a tad weird that when Sligo were doing the great work they did to get the Showgrounds up to standard for UEFA inspection he came out and said something along the lines of "sure i'll give them 5,000 cash out of me own pocket to pay for ............". That is the type of comment I'd expect to hear from Stanislas ****ticova from the Begorabegorastan FA. Then again it was a few days before the kaka hit the fan in regards to his salary. Hmmmmmm.

Jinxy
30/07/2011, 9:01 PM
Des has a bottle tan too in fairness.

maksimir
30/07/2011, 9:09 PM
Des has a bottle tan too in fairness.

Ah yeah but Marty's is more of an oompa loompa shade and his tippex white gnashers just add to the overall cosmetic effect.

31/07/2011, 1:21 AM
Thanks lads. Marty gaa meltyface gives me nitemares. Won't sleep for days now.:-(

Spudulika
31/07/2011, 5:55 AM
Thanks lads. Marty gaa meltyface gives me nitemares. Won't sleep for days now.:-(

Ah come on now, he has a soft spot for the Farney and all things/people thereof - comes from his days of learning Paddy K's poetry by heart!

Cuyahoga
31/07/2011, 8:23 AM
Enjoy watching another championships at home without ireland in it, underage football is pants (spain 5-0 ireland) and Delaney has never cared for the LOI
U obviously work within abbotstown:mad:
To get to the semi finals of the european u 19's was a great achievement for a small country, underage football is in good shape based on qualifying for the tournament in the first place and then getting to the semis and been beaten by an excellent team.

OneForTheFuture
31/07/2011, 8:37 AM
To get to the semi finals of the european u 19's was a great achievement for a small country, underage football is in good shape based on qualifying for the tournament in the first place and then getting to the semis and been beaten by an excellent team.

Yeah....and the 5th goal was never a peno:p

31/07/2011, 12:23 PM
Ah come on now, he has a soft spot for the Farney and all things/people thereof - comes from his days of learning Paddy K's poetry by heart!

Since I am from Oriel and not the tiny bit of my county known as Farney I don't care. He still gives me the heebee jeebees.

31/07/2011, 6:57 PM
I once saw Marty in Dicey's surrounded by wimmin. He's a scarier looking man in real life.

passerrby
01/08/2011, 2:53 PM
Wrong wrong wrong spud I did listen to the piece with DES and rent a mouth and I assume the fai problem was not with the piece about Delaney wages but about the accounts that had been presented at the gam
The jist of which was that the accounts were incomplete or was hiding something and I've never heard DES question the honesty or integrity of any other codes

01/08/2011, 3:20 PM
Delaney has paid back his salary a dozen times over in terms of improved revenue since he took over. He's an unlikable ass and no right thinking person wants to see him bring home mega money but he's exactly the type of slippery eel we need at the head of the FAI. I haven't heard much about accusations of accounting irregularities - that would be a whole other story if substantiated.

01/08/2011, 4:15 PM
Sorry but as far as I'm concerned he's only interested in lining his own pockets. He's more interested in Man U than Irish football.

01/08/2011, 4:17 PM
Of course he's only interested in lining his own pockets. All that matters is that he lines the FAI's pockets significantly more.

passerrby
01/08/2011, 6:18 PM
Second part of the interview was about the agm and the accounts that were presented , comments like were they audited and is that the complete picture we are getting as if they were incomplete anyway that's what it sounded like to me,

MeathDrog
01/08/2011, 6:22 PM
Sorry but as far as I'm concerned he's only interested in lining his own pockets. He's more interested in Man U than Irish football.
<facepalm>

Spudulika
01/08/2011, 6:55 PM
Wrong wrong wrong spud I did listen to the piece with DES and rent a mouth and I assume the fai problem was not with the piece about Delaney wages but about the accounts that had been presented at the gam
The jist of which was that the accounts were incomplete or was hiding something and I've never heard DES question the honesty or integrity of any other codes

passerby, I heard it too, though there was no reason for the FAI to react as they did, your boss was getting carried away (as he did on a Saturday newstalk show a couple of weeks before) though nothing too close to the bone was done, JD and his buddies are reacting before serious questions are asked. They figured everyone would just roll over and play dead when they blamed Limerick's court case for the reduction in prizemoney, likewise the litany of mistruths and half truths regarding ticket sales.

And your have to take off the blinkers, Des led he way when he questioned (wrongly in my opinion) quite virulently about apparent cronyism in the IABA - when in fact the right men were moving into the right positions but instead of coming out swinging, they let it settle in the wrong hands.

Likewise he has been constantly critical of the GAA for not embracing more modern technology and doesn't hold back when it comes to criticising other associations. However if you only wish to hear what you want to, then nobody will change your mind. But please don't present it as fact.

passerrby
01/08/2011, 7:09 PM
Firstly spud John delancy has never been my boss in fact if you check my posts over they years you will find I've been a critic of a lot of fai policy but what I don't do is wear blinkers everytime John Delaney is mentioned on this forum.
I believe in my opinion that some reporters feel that soccer needs to be constantly dissected to find the seedy underbelly in a way that no other sport is treated

A N Mouse
01/08/2011, 7:17 PM
Firstly spud John delancy has never been my boss in fact if you check my posts over they years you will find I've been a critic of a lot of fai policy but what I don't do is wear blinkers everytime John Delaney is mentioned on this forum.
I believe in my opinion that some reporters feel that soccer needs to be constantly dissected to find the seedy underbelly in a way that no other sport is treated

In fairness that, kind of accuracy, sounds exactly like an fai statement