View Full Version : head wrecking radio ads

01/07/2004, 10:32 AM
"go harvey,go harvey,harvey norman .
dont even know what they do cos i always turn it off when i hear it.

the second one is
"isnt this the part of the show where i go down into the audience and kill some one".its an ad for ventriloquist (spell ?) david strassman?

01/07/2004, 10:35 AM
Harvey Norman is one of the major disadvantages of living in Dublin, I spend so much time in the Car with the radio on that I can't help hearing those bloody things.

That recycling/tetra-pak add with the layering of the single statement about trees overlapping drove me mad too.

The Davod Strassman ad I don't know, but the guy is an absolute genius, so I'll forgive him.

01/07/2004, 10:51 AM
I think Harvey Norman is great, especially the one in which the woman with the foreign accent calls him 'Mr. Haaaarvey'. If I lived near his shops, I'd go there every day just to see him.

Yeah he sounds like a character. :)

Go Harvey Go Harvey...now its in my head can't get it out... :o

01/07/2004, 10:54 AM

That's a trigger for rage if I ever heard one.
The guy must have people calling into the shop looking to give him a few slaps.

Not an ad per se but the Weetabix jingles on Ryan Tupperware's show are equally as bad. The joy of a digital tuner with preset stations is that you can flick in an instant. Imagine being back in the old days with the manual tune wireless? :eek:

01/07/2004, 10:55 AM
That recycling/tetra-pak add with the layering of the single statement about trees overlapping drove me mad too.

because the trees we plant,outnumber the one we use,because the trees...........................an absolute cracker.

btw what or who is harvey norman?

cullenswood
01/07/2004, 11:00 AM
Not a radio ad, but that Squeez ad that is back on the box now is really getting on my wick. "Every Squeez pack is jumping with juice, 15 Oranges of flavour let loose", and that father and daughter combo prancing around the kitchen. The ad was around years ago, so I'd say the poor "daughter" is about 20 now, and quite ****ed off!! You'd think the "father" would have had more sense aswell!

01/07/2004, 11:00 AM

homewares and elctrical goods AFAIK, does computers too. Although from the ads I wouldn't be sure, and i couldn't tell you where the shops are located...

but if I knew.... :mad: :mad: ;)

01/07/2004, 11:02 AM
Anyone hear the gift grub sketch where they were doing "celebrity death match?"Keith Wood v Harvey Norman....it was pure class. Basically Woody was beating the bejaysus outa Harvey, but it ended in Harvey putting Woody in one of his great value microwaves and blowing him to kingdom come...priceless

Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat?

You don't know Mr. Haaarvey?

What planet you been on for the past 6 months? It must have been lifeless, becuase Mr. Haaarvey is the life and soul of the party...

read my first post conor.i never got to the end ......honestly ...its just so annoying.............now youve got me going.......anger management...here i come.......

He's an Oz version of Des Kelly sort of thing.

ger121
01/07/2004, 12:31 PM
when I was in Oz I used to have to listien to Harvey bloody Norman everyday on radio and T.V I couldn't believe it when i got home to see the ****er had moved over here :eek:

Quack
01/07/2004, 9:43 PM
Three particularly betes noires , all of which seem to feature heavily on Newstalk 106:

A) Hale's (or is it Haile's?) Freight:
"What is inevitably in life? Death? Possibly. Hale's Freight? Definitely!"

Um, I think you got those mixed up, dude.

B) A silence. Then a dramatic voice: "Listen."
Pause.
"Concentrate"
(with a tone of urgency) "Really concentrate"
"Something wonderful is happening 24 hours a day."
(the listener wonders what wonderful, life-enhancing revelation is coming.)
"William Hill Casino.com"
It's the way he tells it. The voice is so earnest and almost pleading, you really do (even when you've heard it a couple of times before) listen eagerly. And then the let down.

c) (actually, haven't heard this is a while)
Voice: "Who was the second man on the moon?" (me, and most listeners I would say: "Buzz Aldrin!") Voice continues: "No one knows. Because no-one cares who comes second. At Hooke and macdonald, we come first... blah blah blah."

This ad always strikes me as particularly ignorant. Everyone knows that Buzz Aldrin was the second man on the moon. Everyone.

01/07/2004, 9:51 PM
Voice: "Who was the second man on the moon?" (me, and most listeners I would say: "Buzz Aldrin!") Voice continues: "No one knows. Because no-one cares who comes second......

:D exactly how it went for me too...

02/07/2004, 9:23 AM
"Luas, watch out for it"

:eek: :rolleyes: :(

02/07/2004, 9:26 AM

the second one is
"isnt this the part of the show where i go down into the audience and kill some one".its an ad for ventriloquist (spell ?) david strassman?#

the fact that the guy who does the voice over ( harvey )is from dublin and is a manager in the store, is even more annoying

02/07/2004, 9:28 AM
Three particularly betes noires , all of which seem to feature heavily on Newstalk 106:

A) Hale's (or is it Haile's?) Freight:
"What is inevitably in life? Death? Possibly. Hale's Freight? Definitely!"

Um, I think you got those mixed up, dude.

B) A silence. Then a dramatic voice: "Listen."
Pause.
"Concentrate"
(with a tone of urgency) "Really concentrate"
"Something wonderful is happening 24 hours a day."
(the listener wonders what wonderful, life-enhancing revelation is coming.)
"William Hill Casino.com"
It's the way he tells it. The voice is so earnest and almost pleading, you really do (even when you've heard it a couple of times before) listen eagerly. And then the let down.

Voice: "Who was the second man on the moon?" (me, and most listeners I would say: "Buzz Aldrin!") Voice continues: "No one knows. Because no-one cares who comes second. At Hooke and macdonald, we come first... blah blah blah."

This ad always strikes me as particularly ignorant. Everyone knows that Buzz Aldrin was the second man on the moon. Everyone.

i beg to differ, i asked a month old baby that very question and it didn't have a clue of the answer........so you are wrong my good man !!!!!

02/07/2004, 9:35 AM
btw where is Harvey supposed to be going?

02/07/2004, 9:39 AM
i beg to differ, i asked a month old baby that very question and it didn't have a clue of the answer........so you are wrong my good man !!!!!

I challenge you to ask that baby who was the first man to walk on the moon.
In the same way, that baby wont give a fiddlers if Hooke and McDonald come first.

aidz1
02/07/2004, 9:41 AM
go harvey go could be brought to the terraces.....maybe we could use it for the mean green defensive machine of gary breen....
the radio ad that has me turning stations at the moment is that ad with one of brendan carrols shows.......some gag to do with the graveyard and all are dead...head wrecker

btw i find harvey to be on the tad expensive side

02/07/2004, 9:46 AM
btw i find harvey to be on the tad expensive side

whatever you're into...
do you find his shops expensive too? :D :D

02/07/2004, 9:57 AM
the radio ad that has me turning stations at the moment is that ad with one of brendan carrols shows.......some gag to do with the graveyard and all are dead...head wrecker

Yeah, he says something like, if you went to my other 2 shows you'll love my new one.
Hang on a second there little man.
People may have gone to your other shows expecting that they may be funny but realised that you're an annoying little jackeen runt.
They probably wont enjoy your new show.
Someone may have been dragged kicking and screaming to your shows and hated them. Why then would they automatically love your new show?

03/07/2004, 11:15 AM
so,hurry on down to bargain town......where .....
"the prices are only famous"

and "wogans interiors" or something similar.
can terry wogan not be humanely put down or similar?

05/07/2004, 9:19 AM
Harvey is bad, but it's that oil ad with the scratched record that wrecks my head.

05/07/2004, 10:23 AM
[QUOTE=Macy but it's that oil ad with the scratched record that wrecks my head.[/QUOTE]

or the one with the car dealer crying cos he doesnt want to sell a second hand nissan........jaysus its a sad world........

Quack
10/09/2004, 9:17 PM
i wonder do they sell the "theme from bargaintown" in bargaintown?

It would be head wrecking but if some "dance to tipperary" type made a handbag version of the song it would be HUGE.

Any "dance to tipperary" type who does so is of course legally obliged to give me wads of cash now.

Political Rebel
10/09/2004, 9:27 PM
Bloody DAZ ad's do my head in............DAZ - the soap you can believe in :mad: :mad:

12/09/2004, 11:43 AM
Theres an ad for insurance on Sky - Esure or something featuring that pompous **** Michael Winner, and some lass in the background saying im not his sister... Calm down dear its only an advert... and he says this repeatedly for about 10 seconds advert .... GRRRRRRR.......... MUST DESTROY..... :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Ruairi
12/09/2004, 11:47 AM
Bloody DAZ ad's do my head in............DAZ - the soap you can believe in :mad: :mad:

The john smith's p!ss take with peter kay and danny baker is quite funny though

12/09/2004, 11:53 AM
The john smith's p!ss take with peter kay and danny baker is quite funny though

They're quality alright......... "The running bomb"!!!!!!

joeraki
12/09/2004, 12:46 PM
Those poxy eurocycle ads :mad:

And that new harvey norman ad with those irratating kids at the end saying "happy birthday harvey norman"

14/09/2004, 11:37 AM
Those ads for the Square shopping centre have to be the cheesiest ads ever. The one about the two 'guys' hanging out and all the 'ladies' checking one of them out cos he shops at the Square....yuck.....
And the other one where the annoying little kid keeps asking his da to bring to the square..."Its all there in the Square"...jesus help us.. :eek:

14/09/2004, 12:02 PM
Those ads for the Square shopping centre have to be the cheesiest ads ever. The one about the two 'guys' hanging out and all the 'ladies' checking one of them out cos he shops at the Square....yuck.....
And the other one where the annoying little kid keeps asking his da to bring to the square..."Its all there in the Square"...jesus help us.. :eek:

courtesy of ex 2fm jock simon young.
anybody who has'nt been to "the square" its a dive
.loads of "bogeys" hanging around.

14/09/2004, 12:23 PM
There's an ad over here, think it's for Citreon Vans or something.
The guy asks for a bacon sandwich and the other guy says what kind of bread, then lists off all different types. He then asks if he wants sauce. The he says, "you want salad?" to which yer man replies, "you want a slap?"
It gives me a great giggle everytime.
What I hate though is those, "Been in an accident that wasn't your fault? Claim what's yours" bla bla bla...

15/09/2004, 1:55 PM
ads for Eircom Phonewatch featuring talentless bints who used be in fair city handing their car keys and video over to the burglar coz that's what they might as well be doing if they don't have Eircom phonewatch installed. call now and get €250 off installation -offer must end soon terms a and conditions apply minimum contract 12 months

How much does this thing cost if they're giving you 250 bucks off installation? what's the operating cost?
is it true there's a 200 bucks charge if the gardai are called out to a false alarm?

can these people by hauled in by the nads for scaremongering?

never mind the fact that it'd probably be cheaper to just be burgled every couple of years -Your chances of being burgled have never been lower -there's no money in it as most people don't keep cash at home and DVD players, tellys, consumer goods have never been cheaper so the old fashioned burglar can't move his traditional haul. the exceptions to this are of course the elderly and infirm who tend to be less trusting of plastic money/banks etc... and student accomodation where the prospective burglar at least knows ther'll be four of everything and loads of CDs/DVDs

there's a bit in Bowling for columbine where Marilyn Manson makes a salient point about people being fed a diet of "fear and consumption" by their media and he's spot on.

As for that cnut Harvey Norman. I would never ever tire of kicking his limp dead ass around the road. B@st@rd!!!!!!!!!

15/09/2004, 2:09 PM
those radio ads promoting eamon dunphys radio show.
eamon on eamon:"i love paris,its a beautiful city,the people, the architecture"............shut up you overpaid mouthpiece.

15/09/2004, 2:31 PM
the stupid american that does flor griffins pieces on 96fm. just talk normally for christs sake. and the ads are on every 4 minutes. why would you bother advertising a furniture centre that much? people just go to the nearest one!

17/09/2004, 2:01 PM
And that new harvey norman ad with those irratating kids at the end saying "happy birthday harvey norman"

The original ad was bad enough but that ad with the kids now makes me change station out of principle.

If ever i saw a use for internet petition would do one to send to radio stations to tell them dump that ad or everyone will keep changing channel.

:(

22/09/2004, 7:42 PM
free,free, free x 1000 times repeated :(
i think its for free phone calls in ulster or something,its a complete brain melter.
its now on telly as well with yer man kelly interviewing someone and thats all the two of them say :eek: