View Full Version : Preliminary Draw of the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8

29/07/2011, 1:52 PM
I have a feeling that Spain or the Netherlands are certs.

I do not want France or England.

Yard of Pace
29/07/2011, 3:03 PM
I have a feeling England and ourselves will be paired together, its been a while. Its time.

I have a feeling that Spain or the Netherlands are certs.

Any idea of tomorrow evening's lotto numbers, lads?

Cuyahoga
29/07/2011, 3:41 PM
Te draw is live on rte2 tomorrow night the 30th at 8.15.

29/07/2011, 4:00 PM
Any idea of tomorrow evening's lotto numbers, lads?

Yes. I reckon exactly 7 numbers will be drawn from the range of 1-45 inclusive.

29/07/2011, 4:43 PM
SSN are going with the whole England v France thing now.

DannyInvincible
29/07/2011, 4:55 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0727/worldcup_fifa.html

FIFA today announced that the 2014 World Cup finals will start on 12 June and finish on 13 July.

At a news conference in Rio, FIFA president Sepp Blatter also announced that a decision whether to introduce goalline technology would be taken at next March's meeting in London of the International FA Board, the game's lawmakers.

If approved, he said, it could be implemented at the World Cup finals two years later.

FIFA also announced that the World Cup play-off system, heavily criticised after Thierry Henry's infamous handball for France against the Republic of Ireland, would be maintained.

Will be interesting to see if there are any developments on the goal-line technology front, but has the play-off system itself come in for heavy criticism? I didn't think so. I think the play-off system is fair enough. The problem when we were drawn against France was that a decision was taken after the groups were completed to seed the play-off draw after the groups had already been seeded originally. Essentially, it was unnecessarily making things twice as hard for teams like us as we'd fairly finished second after initial seeding just like all the other teams who'd finished second. The seeding was my only issue with those play-offs (and the introduction of basketball rules for a split second during extra-time in our away leg, obviously).

Cymro
29/07/2011, 5:41 PM
Norway
Montenegro
Ireland
Northern Ireland/Georgia
Faroe islands
San Marino

Christ, that's a weak group. No offence to Irishmen (Northern/Republic) or Montenegrin, or Brian Kerr, obviously, if any of you are reading.

29/07/2011, 5:46 PM
Christ, that's a weak group. No offence to Irishmen (Northern/Republic) or Montenegrin, or Brian Kerr, obviously, if any of you are reading.

I reckon we could top that. I think we're due a super easy group.

I think I'd take Greece over Norway.

So

Greece
Slovakia
Ireland
Austria
Latvia
Andorra/San Marino

Happy with that.

Also Cymro... Irishmen will do. There's no such thing as Republic of or Northern Irishmen.

(queue GR)

boovidge
29/07/2011, 7:24 PM
I reckon we could top that. I think we're due a super easy group.

I think I'd take Greece over Norway.

So

Greece
Slovakia
Ireland
Austria
Latvia
Andorra/San Marino

Happy with that.

Also Cymro... Irishmen will do. There's no such thing as Republic of or Northern Irishmen.

(queue GR)

Over at OWC headquarters an alarm sounds.

29/07/2011, 7:34 PM
Ugh....

England
Slovakia
Rep Ireland
Poland
Estonia
Wales

I take it back, next Irish group was....

Italy
Serbia
Rep Ireland
Romania
Latvia

I'd cry, I really would if that group came up. Wouldn't be tears associated with winning the lotto or losing one's virginity say....well, unless it was lost in a Romanian prison.

Cymro
29/07/2011, 8:02 PM

(queue GR)

True, but the two are seperate countries in footballing/political terms, and people have a tendency to say 'Ireland' or 'Irish' when actually referring to the Republic and Northern Irish when talking about the North. Personally I use Irish normally but in this context it makes sense to distinguish.

backstothewall
29/07/2011, 8:05 PM
Would like

Greece
Slovakia
southern Ireland
northern Ireland
Faroes
Luxenbourg

Avoiding France Sweden and Russia has to be the priority.

What about this for a group...

England
France
Ireland
Scotland
Faroes
Wales

That might not happen, but I can't help the feeling that we are well overdue to pull England out of the hat. Obviously its impossible to tell this far out, especially with England, they could well be beating the world under Harry Redknapp by then, but if we were playing them tomorrow I would fancy our chances.

DannyInvincible
29/07/2011, 8:14 PM
If we're "due" to draw someone from that first pot, it's probably Greece. Ireland have never played Greece in a competitive fixture. Not sure if we've ever played them in a friendly.

Irish_Praha
29/07/2011, 8:30 PM
If we're "due" to draw someone from that first pot, it's probably Greece. Ireland have never played Greece in a competitive fixture. Not sure if we've ever played them in a friendly.

I remeber we had a bore scoreless draw with them in 2002 in between McCarthy leaving and Kerr being appointed. Givens stood in as caretaker manager and there were caps given to player who rarely if ever got another one.

Think we also lost agianst them in 2000 when Finnan and a few others made thier international debuts.

back of the net
29/07/2011, 8:54 PM
I remeber we had a bore scoreless draw with them in 2002 in between McCarthy leaving and Kerr being appointed. Givens stood in as caretaker manager and there were caps given to player who rarely if ever got another one.

Think we also lost agianst them in 2000 when Finnan and a few others made thier international debuts.

yeah played them in a right borefest in 2002 under givens....pretty sure glen crowe made his ireland debut that night

It was also the game that led to David Connolly and his angry ant nickname for not been a first choice squad member as far as i remember

backstothewall
29/07/2011, 9:09 PM

We're not that lucky!

Sullivinho
29/07/2011, 9:28 PM

Glen Crowe called up after a comical exchange between Givens and David Connolly if memory serves.

I wouldn't mind getting them at all.

Edit: Didn't see back of the net's post there. My memory's grand but the eyesight may be a concern!

29/07/2011, 9:39 PM
I hope ye lot don't get Iceland. "We" prefer to play against sides who play decent football.
"We" definitely don't want Norn Iron, "we" have humped them so many times (a soft 6 pointer), it just wouldn't be a challenge and nothing to learn from the lower grades.

30/07/2011, 12:45 AM
That sunny group wouldn't be the handiest on the field either. The bad group is very bad.

The sunny group wouldn't be the easiest on the field, but at least we could look forward to good weather on the travels.

1988 qualifiers since we last played Luxembourg, about time we got them again. Moldova would be a cheapo trip, and somewhere we haven't played before. As usual, we'll get a mix of challenges. It won't be all hard or all easy. The FAI are praying for a big name, but I'm hoping for a good draw.

Same format as last time, which I hate. At least in the next qualifiers, a top two spot will guarantee qualification.

Noelys Guitar
30/07/2011, 12:51 AM
True story. Can't remember the exact date but the draw for the 1982 World Cup took place sometime in late 1980. Absouletely no coverage from RTE (or any of the British channels). Zero. Called up the then Irish Press sports desk (from a pub call box)to get the draw (Which took place on a midweek night). After about 10 mins convincing the hack that I didn't work for the rival paper he eventually told me the draw. Holland was mentioned as top seed and this was greeted with huge roars in the pub (Cumann Inn, Kimmage Road). Travel plans immediately set in motion. It will be great to actually watch the draw tomorrow.

30/07/2011, 1:27 AM
I hope ye lot don't get Iceland. "We" prefer to play against sides who play decent football.
"We" definitely don't want Norn Iron, "we" have humped them so many times (a soft 6 pointer), it just wouldn't be a challenge and nothing to learn from the lower grades.
You're starting to sound like a Sligo Rovers fan, geysir.

Murfinator
30/07/2011, 1:36 AM
According to random.org the group we draw will be...

Croatia
Serbia
Republic of Ireland
Georgia
Cyprus
San Marino

Think I'd take that.

30/07/2011, 9:44 AM
Like in the last qualifiers, Russia and Georgia can't be in the same group, and Armenia and Azerbaijan also, for reasons which you know. Because of that this time, we avoided the German group, and the long haul to Almaty. Armenia is a spin in comparison to travelling over there.

30/07/2011, 11:02 AM
Like in the last qualifiers, Russia and Georgia can't be in the same group, and Armenia and Azerbaijan also, for reasons which you know. Because of that this time, we avoided the German group, and the long haul to Almaty. Armenia is a spin in comparison to travelling over there.

Never heard about that. Where did you hear about that?

Crosby87
30/07/2011, 12:49 PM
If people see some of the groups in the last decades drawn as a result of corruption, or trying to make it easy on certain nations, will this draw be an actual honest draw due to the fact that FIFA are pretending they are not corrupt right now?
Or is the general consensus that they are all pretty much honest draws?

DannyInvincible
30/07/2011, 12:59 PM
Never heard about that. Where did you hear about that?

I think they did something like that for the last draw as well.

DannyInvincible
30/07/2011, 1:03 PM
If people see some of the groups in the last decades drawn as a result of corruption, or trying to make it easy on certain nations, will this draw be an actual honest draw due to the fact that FIFA are pretending they are not corrupt right now?
Or is the general consensus that they are all pretty much honest draws?

They don't really need to invoke the warming-some-balls-on-a-radiator method when they have the pots seeded anyway.

30/07/2011, 2:18 PM
That would be way too retro, Danny.
These days, it's the FIFA secret ops dept custom designed remote control chip, that powers the heating element inside each ball.

boovidge
30/07/2011, 3:30 PM
greece, slovenia,ireland,northern ireland, azerbaijan,luxembourg

that'll do nicely please.

30/07/2011, 4:22 PM
I´m not really that fussy about which top seeded team we get, but definitely would not want Spain or Germany, Italy too because they usually manage to do enough, then Holland have turned into high fliers in the qualification games. So apart from those 4, it's all much of a muchness,
Though Portugal have improved since WC 2010. So apart from those 5, I'm not fussy.

DannyInvincible
30/07/2011, 4:32 PM
I'd rather just not get a pot one side at all. Can that be arranged? Do we still have FIFA bargaining chips from Henrygate? :)

30/07/2011, 4:49 PM
When Ireland's ball pops up into Spain's group, right on cue the cameras will capture Blatter, laughing his head off as he shouts into the ear of some lackey 'that'll serve the miserable whiners right'.

Noelys Guitar
30/07/2011, 4:51 PM
The most dangerous team of all is probably Belgium and thankfully they are a third seed. Always best not to draw a re-emerging team.

30/07/2011, 5:31 PM
They don't really need to invoke the warming-some-balls-on-a-radiator method.

It's never happened, and it won't happen today. We have the same chance of getting Spain and England, as we have of getting Norway and Greece. And that applies to everybody.

AlaskaFox
30/07/2011, 6:02 PM
I'd rather just not get a pot one side at all. Can that be arranged? Do we still have FIFA bargaining chips from Henrygate? :)

Nope, but they have changed the rules so that Group H at WC2014 will have five teams in it.

DannyInvincible
30/07/2011, 6:03 PM
It's never happened, and it won't happen today. We have the same chance of getting Spain and England, as we have of getting Norway and Greece. And that applies to everybody.

... I wasn't being completely serious. Was just playing with the idea of FIFA as corrupt. Obviously they won't be doing anything of the sort. They have seedings to separate the powerhouses anyway.

Didn't an unseeded play-off draw raise serious suspicion one year amongst the conspiracy theorists, mind? In any case, how would anyone know either way?

30/07/2011, 6:04 PM
The most dangerous team of all is probably Belgium and thankfully they are a third seed. Always best not to draw a re-emerging team.

do you think other countries might say the same about us?

Jicked
30/07/2011, 6:06 PM
Has there been word on what time we can expect the European draw?

30/07/2011, 6:06 PM
anyone know what channel its on over here?

DannyInvincible
30/07/2011, 6:08 PM
Has there been word on what time we can expect the European draw?

I believe proceedings are under way in Rio. BBC are offering live text updates:

Good people of the live text commentary, a running order (timings approximate): 1921: African Zone Draw. 1941: Asian Zone Draw. 1952: North American, Central and Caribbean (CONCACAF) Zone Draw. 2011: Oceania Zone Draw. 2029: European Zone Draw.

About 8:30PM then.

AlaskaFox
30/07/2011, 6:08 PM
BBC Red button, SSN now.

20.29 the European section is on at according to BBC.

30/07/2011, 6:12 PM
ya is it on any channel though DI

30/07/2011, 6:17 PM
... I wasn't being completely serious. Was just playing with the idea of FIFA as corrupt. Obviously they won't be doing anything of the sort. They have seedings to separate the powerhouses anyway.

Didn't an unseeded play-off draw raise serious suspicion one year amongst the conspiracy theorists, mind? In any case, how would anyone know either way?

If FIFA wanted to hand-pick a group, all they need to do is put them up on a PC, and choose what they want in 30 seconds. But it has to be held in public, and the balls have to be drawn out one-by-one, as has always been the case. It's a completely fair and random draw, and the conspiracy theories that go around, rarely happen in reality.

AlaskaFox
30/07/2011, 6:35 PM
We're live blogging it all here in case anyone can't tune in yet:
http://greenscene.me/2011/07/fifa-world-cup-2014-qualifying-draw-live-commentary/

tommy_c12000
30/07/2011, 6:56 PM
Donegal Kildare gone to extra time so presume RTE2 not showing draw til later. Prob offer it online. On SSN anyways, watching it here, christ those guys would drag the arse out of anything! Been on since 7 talking sh*&e

Noelys Guitar
30/07/2011, 7:15 PM
Its hilarious on Sky. Gordon McQueen been giving a few home truths on the England team and the Sky announcer continually switching subject. http://myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=124591&part=sports

30/07/2011, 7:20 PM
Donegal Kildare gone to extra time so presume RTE2 not showing draw til later. Prob offer it online. On SSN anyways, watching it here, christ those guys would drag the arse out of anything! Been on since 7 talking sh*&e

Just flashed up on RTÉ 2 saying just that.

Fixer82
30/07/2011, 7:20 PM
Anyone got a link for the draw on tv?

Mark Breen
30/07/2011, 7:23 PM
Draw on here also....

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminarydraw/draw.html

EastTerracer
30/07/2011, 7:24 PM
Anyone got a link for the draw on tv?

Try www.myp2p.eu - there seems to be a few links there. For those here in America the draw is live on www.ESPN3.com

The European draw is just about to start after the musical interlude