View Full Version : MM would consider coming back as manager in the future

Noelys Guitar
12/07/2011, 12:29 AM
Probably looking at post 2014 but in football you never know. Dervan stirring a bit but some interesting comments from MM.
http://www.examiner.ie/sport/soccer/mick-id-come-back-but-not-right-now-160713.html

theworm2345
12/07/2011, 1:23 AM
http://foot.ie/threads/123420-Irish-Wolves-and-Opposition-Irish/page20

ArdeeBhoy
12/07/2011, 8:07 AM
MMcC, FFS.....

Fizzer
12/07/2011, 9:45 AM
I've a lot of respect for Mick, clearly loved playing for and managing his country, his sort of pig-headed attitude of country before self is refreshing in a way, in a world where we almost accept the opposite as a given now. I like the way, after a few shaky moments (keane at centre-back, ditto Harte) he settled into it and allowed our players to pass the ball and play football. All those replays of him just after the Robbie equaliser against Germany were gas, the jaw dropping as he realised, we'd gotten what we deserved after playing them off the park for most of that game (as we did against Cameroon and Spain). Then him leaping around like an over-excited kid not knowing where to run. A few months after that I was in the college bar, we'd lost at home to the Swiss (after also getting thumped by the Ruskies). There was a crowd of lads there standing up, clapping, singing 'cheerio, cheerio' etc. It wasn't just a few either, probably over half of the crowd actually. They were so happy we'd lost, cos it meant MMC was fooked. It didn't seem to matter that in terms of qualifying, Ireland were fooked, they were delighted. I just thought it was sickening, to treat a guy like that who'd given his all for a country he hadn't been born in but one that he had such a deep affection for. The Keane 'stuff' was still raw at the time which probably had a big bearing on it but I just thought yknow, we're not English, this is not the way we carry on. Mick wasn't perfect, he certainly was naive tactically at times and occasionally his man-management style probably could have been a bit more ......finessed, but I thought he deserved more respect. Even if he doesn't come back, and I don't believe that he will, I'm happy to see he still has that deep affection for us and urges his own players so strongly to have that same pride in pulling on the shirt. As i get older, I find that I only really watch premiership/championship football now to see how the Irish players are getting on but I watch out for Wolves results too, not just for the players but because of Mick, he's one of us and I wish him all the best. Delighted when they managed to stay up last season, the final game reminded me a bit of his days with us, jesus there were some nerve-jangling moments and some real heartbreak (Macedonia) along with the good times (Holland) but I wouldn't have had it any other way

zero
12/07/2011, 10:13 AM
i'd echo many of fizzer's sentiments; that spain game in wc 2002 sticks in the craw though.

i firmly believe we would've had too much for the koreans in the 1/4 had we gotten through. the one that got away, i guess.

ArdeeBhoy
12/07/2011, 10:18 AM
And then you woke up....

Metrostars
12/07/2011, 12:21 PM
I have a soft spot for Mick, he was a mediocre club player but always gave 110% for country and stood out. As fizzer said he had his ups and downs as manager but I think he should have left on a high right after the 2002 WC. I am of the opinion that international team managers should stay no longer than a 4 or 6 year cycle at most. You need new ideas after a while. But that being said, it will be 12 years on in 2014 and I wouldn't mind him getting another shot. Him or Tardelli. We could do far worse.

12/07/2011, 12:24 PM
A lot of micks problems that existed when managing Ireland still persist to this day, which is annoying and shows how stubborn he is that he hasn't changed/developed in relation to this through the years.

His blind loyalty, and inability(to see as much as anything else) or insistance on not changing certain things/tactics/players costs him dearly at times. From an international perspective these are even more costly.

Having said that I wouldn't be upset if he was appointed in the future again.

Murfinator
13/07/2011, 1:14 AM
He's a simple man and a simple manager. There's no BS about him and his direct down to earth approach tends to resonate well with players. Though hes no tactical genius either.

We could do worse, we could do better. I wouldn't feel particularly strongly for or against him.

irishultra
14/07/2011, 8:57 PM
ye 4 nostalgia

the bear
15/07/2011, 11:29 PM
depends on who else would be in the running, we could do better or worse but it would be an ok appointment,

what do people think about the prospect of tardelli taking over traps mantel whenever he decides to call it a day?

its hard to know what he would be like really, he would know the players and tactical strengths weaknesses but has no experience of being the main man before that i know of. he defo hasn't done anything in his time within our setup to stand out to me, but people seem to be talking about him as a future candidate

16/07/2011, 11:12 AM
What can an assistant coach do for you to notice?

It's obvious his presence is vital as part of a team effort.

For continuity I would love him as our next top dog with Brady in support.

Anyways that's all in the future and I will continue to back Trap.

irishfan86
16/07/2011, 9:45 PM
I like Tardelli, seems like a good guy, passionate, etc. Really good for keeping spirits up in the camp and acting as an encourager. A good cop to put the arm over the shoulder if Trap leaves you out of the starting XI, that sort of thing.

That said, wouldn't want him as our main man. Much better candidates out there. I'd like us to aim for the highest we possibly can, and I think Tardelli is a way off that level based on his spotty career as a manager.

the bear
16/07/2011, 10:12 PM
What can an assistant coach do for you to notice?

It's obvious his presence is vital as part of a team effort.

you just answered yourself there.

im gonna keep a closer eye on him in future

16/07/2011, 11:04 PM
I know I did.

16/07/2011, 11:28 PM
He's certaintely improved and gained more experience since leaving Ireland and as said above we could do a lot worse. I love a manager that tells it like it is no BS and what you see is what you get with Mick so if he does get it again I'd have no problem with it but there are better options perhaps.

youngirish
17/07/2011, 6:47 PM
I wonder would Martin O'Neill be interested if Trap steps down after our participation in Euro 2012 comes to an end if he's still out of a job by then. If we made it all the way to the finals I can't imagine O'Neill would still be hanging around but if we fail to qualify he could be interested.

17/07/2011, 7:08 PM
the problem we're going to have with whatever candidates are identified as potential managers is we've set a precedent of offering a salary similar to one they'd get in the Premier League -despite the fact that even pre-Trap the Ireland job already paid very well by international standards.

Anyone who has premier league managerial experience is going to be looking for mad money and is likely to be telling Delaney to go ask Denis O'Brien for a cheque.

Just on Martin O'Neill -I'm not entirely convinced by him. His successes were primarily in a dead league contested by two teams, his real accomplishments were with Leicster and further back with Wycombe. Despite having a generous budget he scarcely did any better with Villa than David O'Leary who had virtually none.

CraftyToePoke
17/07/2011, 7:45 PM
Just on Martin O'Neill -I'm not entirely convinced by him. His successes were primarily in a dead league contested by two teams, his real accomplishments were with Leicster and further back with Wycombe. Despite having a generous budget he scarcely did any better with Villa than David O'Leary who had virtually none.

I think his stock has fallen since the Villa episode, there were a few very expensive signings in the reserves at that club by the time they stopped being willing to let him spend anymore. However there is the UEFA Cup final and the last 16 of the Champions League from his time in Scotland too.

irishfan86
18/07/2011, 12:09 AM
O'Neill would be a great successor to Trap as long as he was committed to see a campaign through. My worry with him would be jumping ship if a Premier League came calling.

SwanVsDalton
18/07/2011, 9:14 AM

Can't agree with that. O'Leary took Villa to 6th, 10th and 16th. Under O'Neill, it was 11th, 6th, 6th, 6th. Very consistent despite the top tier of the EPL being more competitive than it was during O'Leary's tenure. Plus O'Neill has the better win percent and won almost twice as many games (albeit with an extra season).

Sure O'Neill had the money to spend, but for me the most important thing is Villa became consistent, and crucially, started beating the big teams on occasion (Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal et al). Under O'Leary, Villa were regularly spanked against those guys. As a team, Villa were far more purposeful under O'Neill.

the bear
18/07/2011, 9:10 PM
Can't agree with that. O'Leary took Villa to 6th, 10th and 16th. Under O'Neill, it was 11th, 6th, 6th, 6th. Very consistent despite the top tier of the EPL being more competitive than it was during O'Leary's tenure. Plus O'Neill has the better win percent and won almost twice as many games (albeit with an extra season).

Sure O'Neill had the money to spend, but for me the most important thing is Villa became consistent, and crucially, started beating the big teams on occasion (Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal et al). Under O'Leary, Villa were regularly spanked against those guys. As a team, Villa were far more purposeful under O'Neill.

then he left them high and dry a few days before the season started, whatever his quarel was with the owner i wasn't impressed with his actions there.

he is a very good manager although also a very annoying pundit. i reckon he would be a better option for us than big mick

SwanVsDalton
19/07/2011, 9:10 AM
then he left them high and dry a few days before the season started, whatever his quarel was with the owner i wasn't impressed with his actions there.

he is a very good manager although also a very annoying pundit. i reckon he would be a better option for us than big mick

I'm only defending his record compared to O'Leary, not his acrimonious departure.

Back on thread, I'd have no problem if Mick were to come back though it's hard to judge since it's impossible to know who would be available in this hypothetical. But I do think he's a better manager than he was a decade ago. He's accrued a lot of respect that I don't think many of us would've expected after he left the Ireland job. Fair play.