View Full Version : erdinger beer

26/06/2004, 4:01 PM
anyone ever drink erdinger beer for the full night, as in nothing else in between ?
ive only had it at the end of the night when ive already a full tank on board.
there seems to be a bit of a story doing the rounds that if you drink it exclusively for the night that next morning, while you still know you ve been on the beer,you feel nowhere near as bad as a normal :rolleyes: hang over.

ccfcman
26/06/2004, 4:04 PM
you feel nowhere near as bad as a normal
its german-in germany there's a law for brewers ie.u cant pile chemicals into beer.no chemicals means no hangovers

ger121
26/06/2004, 4:12 PM
I've drank it all nite long loads of times and my nick name for it is "head ringer" Need I explain more!!! Lovely beer though.

26/06/2004, 5:46 PM
My experience is that if I do get a hangover - they get worse and more likely as you get older I'm afraid - it'll be very mild compared to the kind of scutters-and-headthumping I get from a regular lager. It's because, as ccfcman says, there's less preservatives and other junk in it. Same goes for microbrewery beers, if not more so. Now do ye see why I like the Well so much? :)

27/06/2004, 8:25 AM
Die Rheinheitsgebot, old German law. Pure no hangover. That said, its foolish to assume you will be fine, as if it does give a hangover, its a fecking killer.

Beavis
27/06/2004, 10:03 PM
Cure for hangovers is water breaks now and then during the night.Simply because hangovers are as a result of dehydration.I haven't had one since I found this out.

27/06/2004, 11:23 PM
Only reason you won't get a hangover with water breaks during the night is because you're being a complete wuss and not spending enough time DRINKING! :)

(My favourite hangover cure is a glass of Alka-Seltzer before I hit the sack, which always works a treat. Although it could be that it only seems effective because I only take it when I'm sober enough to remember, in which case would I have gotten a hangover anyway? A real "if a tree falls in the woods when there's no-one there" question that. :))

noby
28/06/2004, 8:03 AM
Die Rheinheitsgebot, old German law.

That's one reason for less of a hangover. The other is that, being a wheat beer, the Germans like to leave the yeast in, to add flavour, hence the cloudy beer. The Yeast will help stop your hangover (vitamin B or something). So the more you drink, the more you cure your hangover :)
As Dahamsta said, same goes for microbreweries, with no additives, or just ask any homebrewer.

If you also like the taste of weissbier, and don't just drink it for its anti-hangover properties, try some Franziskaner if you come across it (the one with the monk) Good summer beer.

28/06/2004, 9:20 AM
i am licky, God has given my a unique gift....no matter how much i drink and what i drink, i don't get hang overs at all, ever....... :D

28/06/2004, 9:24 AM
if you drink it exclusively for the night that next morning, while you still know you ve been on the beer,you feel nowhere near as bad as a normal :rolleyes: hang over.

I used to drink it a lot before but the emissions from my exhaust the next day were brutal. Not as bad as if you've been on stout all day and night but much more gas.

noby
28/06/2004, 9:30 AM
I used to drink it a lot before but the emissions from my exhaust the next day were brutal

Forgot to mention that. The down-side to the Yeast

28/06/2004, 9:36 AM
The only time I've got a really severe hangover from lager is when I drank a wagon load of Stella Artois. It's septic. My whole night blanked out, and I spent 4 hours the next morning on the bowl with my head in the sink at the same time....believe me it was necessary....and very helpful that our crapper at home is tiny with the sink in very close proximity to the bowl... :D :D

28/06/2004, 9:49 AM
I drank a wagon load of Stella Artois. It's septic.

I think it's a grand beer.
Got 20 bottles for 20 yo's down in Dunnes and drank a fair dose of them at a BBQ the other weekend. Best fun and cheapest night I've had in years.

28/06/2004, 10:23 AM
Tesco have Miller 18 for €20 at the moment, and Rolling Rock 24 for €20.

28/06/2004, 10:38 AM
Fosters Ice is a cracker....cheap enough too. I also drank this Dutch beer called Oranjeboom in london once....good stuff

28/06/2004, 10:39 AM
Tesco have Miller 18 for €20 at the moment, and Rolling Rock 24 for €20.

Still not as good as the Dunnes deal for 5.2% Stella or "Wife Beater" as you may know it. I remember the lads over used to call it that.

28/06/2004, 10:40 AM
I used to drink it a lot before but the emissions from my exhaust the next day were brutal. Not as bad as if you've been on stout all day and night but much more gas.

I'm sure it is (Stella), but for some reason it blows the head off me. No other beer does, but that does. Oh...and I also had a bad experience in Spain with San Miguel...but theres no way I'm going there!! :o :o

28/06/2004, 10:48 AM
I also drank this Dutch beer called Oranjeboom in london once

My girlfriend came over to visit me when I was working in Amsterdam and I was drinking that. When it was her turn to buy a round she asked the barman for Olafanbrau. Think there was a Carlsberg ad at the time with a fake brand of that name or something. Oranjeboom is normal and boring enough though.

noby
28/06/2004, 11:00 AM
Still not as good as the Dunnes deal for 5.2% Stella or "Wife Beater" as you may know it. I remember the lads over used to call it that.

Got a 6 pack of pils from LIDL for €6.99 (6 x 500ml)
Once they're cold enough, it's drinkable.

Wonder how many of these (http://www.dogfish.com/beer/120minuteipa.cfm) you'd throw back a night

DogFish Head 120min IPA. 21%abv :eek:

28/06/2004, 1:21 PM
i am licky, God has given my a unique gift....no matter how much i drink and what i drink, i don't get hang overs at all, ever....... :DI used to be the same way, in fact my drinking buddy and myself used to tempt fate with rounds like "pint, short, different pint, different short, etc", and everyone used to get ticked off cos both of us'd be chirpy as fork in the morning whether or which. It doesn't last though, so enjoy it while you can. Older you get, the worse the hangovers get.

I used to drink it a lot before but the emissions from my exhaust the next day were brutal. Not as bad as if you've been on stout all day and night but much more gas.I get that from Heineken. "Ikky ring, Sunday mornin", as another drinking buddy used to eloquently put it.

Nuffing wrong with Stella btw. Some of it in my fridge right now in fact. Nyom.

28/06/2004, 1:24 PM
[QUOTE=dahamsta]I used to be the same way, in fact my drinking buddy and myself used to tempt fate with rounds like "pint, short, different pint, different short, etc", and everyone used to get ticked off at us cos both of us'd be chirpy as fork in the morning whether or which. It doesn't last though, so enjoy it while you can. Older you get, the worse the hangovers get.

27 and still going strong, i should reach my drinking peak soon, i'm hoping the upcoming European trip will be a challenge for me

28/06/2004, 1:35 PM
how many of these have ye sampled??
http://www.beerritz.co.uk/br_wbs16.htm
Or these
http://www.beerritz.co.uk/br_wcpbe.htm

15 bottles of the Chimay 9% jobbie would do the trick.. :eek:

28/06/2004, 1:38 PM
how many of these have ye sampled??
http://www.beerritz.co.uk/br_wbs16.htm

Seven of them.
You can get Carlton Cold in the Outback on Parnell St. in Dublin.

28/06/2004, 1:39 PM
where they have the best in music every thursday night, supplied by yours truely :D

28/06/2004, 1:41 PM
where they have the best in music every thursday night, supplied by yours truely :D

I've been in to see your man, Joe Walsh?
Does Pearl Jam and and all that stuff on a Friday night.
I'll remember never to go on a Thursday :D

28/06/2004, 1:44 PM
yeah joe is good, thursday is karaoke and music, not a bad night, i mainly play rock.

28/06/2004, 1:49 PM
so enjoy it while you can. Older you get, the worse the hangovers get.

can personally vouch for that right now.trying to recover after an all day job at the curragh for "the derby" yesterday.
in days of yore i could have drunk twice as much and not feel as bad :(

28/06/2004, 1:50 PM
ah old people, they are always complaining :D

28/06/2004, 1:52 PM
thursday is karaoke and music.

I'm definitely not going now!
A bunch of roo bangers tearing "I Will Survive" apart.
No thanks.

28/06/2004, 1:54 PM
ah old people, they are always complaining :D

far from it max,
its just like you dont appreciate it til its gone ;)

btw,the talent on view yesterday was amazing,like a guy could be tempted

28/06/2004, 3:59 PM
in days of yore i could have drunk twice as much and not feel as bad
Actually come to think of it, I'd be more inclined to say that the hangovers last longer, which makes them seem worse.

Max, don't gloat, it'll come back to bite you in the arse in a couple years time. :)

Beavis
28/06/2004, 5:59 PM
I also drank this Dutch beer called Oranjeboom in london once....good stuff
Decent alright.It's the same makers of Dutch Gold and Royal Dutch but for some reason they sell only Oranjeboom in Holland.I was in Breda,where they produce these beers,I hoped to find Dutch Gold on tap but it wasn't available anywhere on tap or cans.Must only export these beers to Ireland(?)