View Full Version : Travel Arrangements..
26/06/2004, 3:27 PM
747 Travel rep Michael Caslin had a meeting in the Tangled Web earlier... not finalised yet till Tuesday, but heres a quick rundown on details so far...
Team and supporters on the same flight but different hotels (3 hotels in Vaduz..)
Flying out Tuesday 13th morning and coming back Friday 16th evening
Heading out to (possibly) Zurich (3 hours coach trip to Vaduz), stay a night or two there, then on to Vaduz and spend the night there after the match...
Price to be arranged when we find out how many people are going...
Carrigy's bus from Longford to Dublin Airport 15 yo-yos
Match tickets not finalised in package, but should be cheap enough
Price of package being finalised Tuesday evening by Paschal in the Tangled Web around 9.... any more details ill post up on Wednesday!
gheewhizz
27/06/2004, 1:24 PM
The club are looking at flying out Monday, but as PAURO 7 said everything will be finalised on Tuesday.
28/06/2004, 9:02 AM
no the club are flying out tuesday, it would be a waste of money having players there for 3 days before the game.
28/06/2004, 10:50 AM
just a small point, but everyone who lives in Longford and is going on the trip will want swiss francs, the bank don't usually keep them in stock so i'd advice anyone traveling to get in early and order their currency this week, its currently 1.48 swiss franc for the euro ( thats ulster bank exchange rate )
28/06/2004, 9:25 PM
From Michael caslin was advising us the other day he was saying to us that it is a lot cheaper to exchange the foreign currency when in Liehcenstein as we will be robbed bleedin rotten on the exchange rate over here....
gheewhizz
28/06/2004, 11:51 PM
Trust me the club are flying out on the Monday, I'm tiring to get stuff sorted out for the trip, it was confirmed to me today
gheewhizz, what do you know - Max has the inside line :rolleyes:
29/06/2004, 9:09 AM
macy the we are going to haqve to get a UN resolution on this war :rolleyes:
29/06/2004, 9:47 AM
check this link out
http://a1144349.cheapnet.co.uk/boards//showthread.php?s=&threadid=10794
macy the we are going to haqve to get a UN resolution on this war :rolleyes:
You're arguing with someone involved with the team, but are adamant that he's wrong ffs.
No UN resolution, the US would never back it.
29/06/2004, 9:52 AM
you never know, they just might......why at the meeting on sat were the gang told that supporters and team flying together on the tuesday, that was the info i was going on.
The team may end up flying Tuesday, but surely he'd know what the team are looking at at the moment - more up to date info than Saturday.
re exchange rates
Banks here are offering about 1.5 CHF for a euro - checked today.
Most big stores and supermarkets will also accept euros - in note form only.
hope this helps
29/06/2004, 6:16 PM
if any one is at the meeting in the tangled web tonight could they post the info....
30/06/2004, 10:41 AM
good luck from the cork lads!
town73
30/06/2004, 1:20 PM
I think it was a in the region of €630 for flights and three nights - two in Munich and one in Vaduz. Leaving on Tuesday and coming back on Friday. It was limited availability and I believe there is now a waiting list in operation. 01 4757070 is their number.
30/06/2004, 1:22 PM
it was so limited they never bothered to ring back the people who contacted them in the first place........i rang 747 twice and have been fogged off with rubbish both times, they even told me THIS MORNING no trip had been finalised yet :mad:
just for the craic i rang again and they told me again NO DETAILS HAVE BEEN FINALISED YET, when i told her it was a 7:20 flight to munich on the 13th, she didn't know what to say.....i was also told that anyone how left a message over the last few days had been called back....eh not true missy, both myself and pauro left messages and neither have been contacted.
30/06/2004, 2:24 PM
a couple of us have looked into alternative routes and i've come up with this so far if anyone is interested..
13th july dublin - zurich with swiss air
hotel in zurich for 2 nights
return train to vadus
i night in hotel in vadus
all in including taxes 450 euro.....
price was worked out at 585 for flights, accomadation in both munich and vaduz plus the bus trips over there, an extra 47 for taxes charged by aer lingus! fly out tues morning at 7.20am stay in munich for 2nights all travel to vaduz approx 3hrs and stay in vaduz after the game. fly back to ireland from munich at 7.45pm on fri evening! yeah all 50 places were fully booked last night and there is a waiting list in place!
30/06/2004, 2:32 PM
yeah but how long can ya wait on a waiting list, those who want to go need it all sorted asap......that 450 includes all taxes as well.
i'd rather go with the offical trip, but if 747 don't get off their ass soon and bother to contact those who left messages, then the alternative plan will have to be put into action
01/07/2004, 12:15 AM
Well folks we have booked the alternatibe trip. Got sick and tired of 747 getting back. As Mark Neilan said the trip in his earlier email is 450 euros return from dublin to zurich via amstersdam .Plus we have got a 4 star hotel. The name of the hotel we are staying is the hotel geneva.You can look up the information on www.ebookers.ie an excellent website.
01/07/2004, 9:35 AM
marthio outing me !!!! the shame of it all......
yeah we are heading out at 6.30 am on the tuesday morning so we might see a few of yee in the hotel, we got a nice 4 star hotel in zurich for 2 days, then a nice train jounrey to vadus where i've just booked a hotel there for the night of the game........all for 200 less than 747, who btw still haven't retruned my calls.
Strasbourg Bohs
01/07/2004, 10:49 AM
I'm sure Feech (Bohs Zurich) and myself could be persuaded to meet up for a few beers in Zurich if yous want :)
01/07/2004, 10:54 AM
that thought had crossed our minds, i'll pm our hotel name and a contact number to both off yee....
06/07/2004, 10:53 AM
just a note for antone going to the game via zurich, remember its duty free !!! unlike germany :D
DaithiT
07/07/2004, 6:47 AM
Lichtenstein is the Duty Free Tax Heaven..... Its like Monaco.... You'l all love it down here great scenery... Looking forward to the game, have at least
5 family members coming over.
07/07/2004, 8:46 AM
are duty free stores not located in airports only ??? if there is no airport in lich how can they have duty free shopping ????
By having no excise duty in the country?
DaithiT
07/07/2004, 10:25 AM
That's it Macy... No tax on Tobacco etc...
07/07/2004, 10:42 AM
sounds good, i have a list of people lookin for fags already.
I think that certain streets in Dublin are also good for this, don't ask me which ones though!!
07/07/2004, 3:26 PM
not as many as a while ago, a lot of those guys have been pushed off the main streets by the cops, they money is in door to door pirate dvd sales these days, or so i've heard anyway :rolleyes:
gheewhizz
07/07/2004, 7:40 PM
gheewhizz, what do you know - Max has the inside line :rolleyes:
Well Macy I was right, the club & some of the committee are flying out on Monday morning at 6:20am :cool:
07/07/2004, 7:58 PM
As long as the plane turns up this time...but we wont go there.. :cool:
07/07/2004, 9:36 PM
As long as the plane turns up this time...but we wont go there.. :cool:
Uh oh lets not go there :eek: lets just say i wont be getting hyped up over the trip until i get out of Dublin feckin airport! :)
08/07/2004, 8:11 AM
still waiting on 747 to return my call :D
town73
08/07/2004, 10:51 AM
still waiting on 747 to return my call :D
They returned my call last week, when they had one spot open. Had already booked flights (€270 - friedrichshafen). Does anyone know where the 747 group are staying in Munich?
08/07/2004, 10:53 AM
who cares :D
DaithiT
08/07/2004, 1:55 PM
I haven't heard yet, but I'll post the info when I find out. Have to meet some
family members there, and its only 30 mins away, so I was more than pleased
when we drew Vaduz.
08/07/2004, 2:04 PM
what time are the main body leaving longford at on tuesday morning for the airport, the flight is at 7:20 isn't it ???
yes that is the plan!
08/07/2004, 2:14 PM
yeah flight at 7;20 , but what time ya leaving longford.....
wel not quite sure but the time i was given was approx 3am! but dont quote me on it
08/07/2004, 2:17 PM
ya might make it on time seeing as there are no pubs to stop at on the way up, but will the web close on time on monday night :confused:
DaithiT
08/07/2004, 2:19 PM
I think my sister has to be up at 3:30 am!!!!!!!!!
They should have flown the group in on Wed... Get in to munich about 7pm, plenty of time to eat drink etc, and your not knackered!!!
08/07/2004, 2:24 PM
i'm leaving longford at 2 am for a 6:30 flight to zurich...is anyoen else going via zurich ???
we are having a little session on the wen night
ya might make it on time seeing as there are no pubs to stop at on the way up, but will the web close on time on monday night :confused:
you sound so bitter max!
08/07/2004, 2:30 PM
na just always laugh when the bus arrives 20 mins into the game :D
i got a great price on the trip and am really looking forward to it now...
if anyone gets any decent pics on the trip let me know, myself and pauro have a little project starting at the end of july so watch this space !!!
na just always laugh when the bus arrives 20 mins into the game :D
i go on that bus, and so far we haven been 20 mins late for any game!!!! :confused:
10/07/2004, 11:25 AM
i'm leaving longford at 2 am for a 6:30 flight to zurich...is anyoen else going via zurich ???
we are having a little session on the wen night
walking to dublin are yeh max ;) :D