View Full Version : Trouble in Paradise
03/07/2011, 12:34 AM
that's not even close to what I said. Fitzmaurice is disgracefully biased, and disgracefully loyal to the Bohs establishment. Does that mean everything is from that angle, probably not, but only a ridiculously biased Bohs fan could argue Fitzmaurice wasn't the same
it might not be what you said but if you had read what I was saying properly you would have noticed that I suggested that somebody implying that Bohemian FC were compelling Fitz to write that article or happy about him writing that article or the "rifts" it might create is just absurd. Any rifts were clearly there long before Fitz got his pen in his hand... That you seem to think the implication Spudulika made is plausible, as your initial response suggests, surprises me.
Where did i argue that Fitzmaurice wasnt biased by the way?
Sorry, it's crap journalism, below what the man is capable of, and completely biased. I think he's a good journalist, well up on all areas of football, but his bohs blood is running deep. It's the truth, though viewing from a neutral pov might make it easier for me.
Again, I never said anything about Fitzmaurice being a good/bad/biased/impartial journalist. I simply said that to imply that our Board hade some vested interest in him writing about this or otherwise would be happy about the article is insane.
03/07/2011, 12:35 AM
Fitzmaurice clearly gets insider info from some within Bohemian Football Club. This might potentially cloud his judgement when writing about League of Ireland matters :)
03/07/2011, 12:45 AM
whats your take on Philip Quinn and his relationship to Shams then? :)
03/07/2011, 1:09 AM
Ah you should know I don't read that ****rag :p
whats your take on Philip Quinn and his relationship to Shams then? :)
As with any relationship with Rovers it instantly means one has a discerning mind, creativity, success, joie de vivre and intelligence. So I take it very well :)
I take it very well :)
I'd say you do alright. :)
It's about time you were right on something so :)
Spudulika
03/07/2011, 3:30 AM
it might not be what you said but if you had read what I was saying properly you would have noticed that I suggested that somebody implying that Bohemian FC were compelling Fitz to write that article or happy about him writing that article or the "rifts" it might create is just absurd. Any rifts were clearly there long before Fitz got his pen in his hand... That you seem to think the implication Spudulika made is plausible, as your initial response suggests, surprises me.
Where did i argue that Fitzmaurice wasnt biased by the way?
Again, I never said anything about Fitzmaurice being a good/bad/biased/impartial journalist. I simply said that to imply that our Board hade some vested interest in him writing about this or otherwise would be happy about the article is insane.
I think you need to re-read my original post, climb off the old high horse and not be so precious. Where did I say the "board" compelled him to write the article? And do you believe, seriously, that he had no ulterior motive (to stir) by writing such an awfully researched piece?
RahenyBohs
03/07/2011, 8:35 AM
Dan Murray gone as well
Off to Limerick I read somewhere.
Well he was on the bench in Tallaght today..
Strange times at Shamrock Rovers. If Murray leaves for Limerick it can't be a good sign no matter how much he potentially may be getting there. Well in the hunt for 2 in a row and at the start of a European campaign that has some potential and he'd leave that to battle for potential promotion/play off in the likes of Drom. Mannus would be a big loss if he went too, don't think Richard Brush has seen much action recently.
Rovers have the best squad in the league without a doubt. Its good for the league to have a competitive race though and will keep Shamrock Rovers on their toes after their almost fatal meltdown late last season.
What I don't want to see any more of is the constant campaign in the media of LOI managers heading to Scotland mainly with no real substance.
03/07/2011, 10:46 PM
Has anyone apart from Fenlon and O'Neill been linked with the SPL recently? Hibs have, by all accounts, been interested in MON for some time and Fenlon was publicly courted by Dundee United.
04/07/2011, 12:04 AM
Not since Kenny moved about 3 years ago.
Hibs4Ever
04/07/2011, 7:06 AM
Hibs have, by all accounts, been interested in MON for some time
Can you put up some links to all these accounts that Hibernian FC are or were actually interested in MON being their manager?
marinobohs
04/07/2011, 10:38 AM
Whilst it might be the case some journos can hide their allegiances. Fitzgypo most certainly can't. not only is he official spokesperson for Nutsy and the Bohs board (see last winter's spin) but he also takes every chance he can get to take a pop at Rovers
.......If only he could be as objective as Richard "official spokesman for St Pats" Saddlier or Pat "supersaints" Dolan - still claiming a title for Pats that was rightly awarded to Shels a decade ago:confused:. Maybe if we put "junkie" into their surname it makes the bias more obvious ????
It was a poor piece of journalism by Fitzmaurice,in my opinion, but reading any sort of agenda into it is plain paranoia. Ironically most of the stories "linking" M'ON with other jobs have emanated from his side in the attempt to get a new contract.
By the way Bohs board and Fenlon were at complete loggerheads last year over the non payment of players so peddling "their spin" was impossible - they didn't have one.
As with referrees some fans mistake bad work for biased work (except, of course, when it benifits their club)
PartySaint
04/07/2011, 10:57 AM
.......If only he could be as objective as Richard "official spokesman for St Pats" Saddlier or Pat "supersaints" Dolan - still claiming a title for Pats that was rightly awarded to Shels a decade ago:confused:. Maybe if we put "junkie" into their surname it makes the bias more obvious ????
Really?? Saddlier and Dolan is the best you could come with there?
marinobohs
04/07/2011, 11:06 AM
Really?? Saddlier and Dolan is the best you could come with there?
Was responding to Dodges post PS (why I quoted it). Most journos have a favorite club (see Herald craggy-islandesque article on shams/rascism issue referred to earlier.) Indeed the late Phillip Green(and-white) made a virtue of his bias for shams. Fitzmaurice is no more biased than most of our LOI journos.
04/07/2011, 11:43 AM
Fitzmaurice is no more biased than most of our LOI journos.
yes he is. How many articles has sadlier written about the LOI in the last 2 years? I'd say 4/5. maybe 2 have mentioned Pats.
Dolan has written more articles criticising pats than he has praising them since he left (on bad terms).
Regardless, these aren't LOI journalists. They're columnists and can write what they like. Journalists, on the other hand, are supposed to appear unbiased and report the facts. Some do, despite being supporter of one club or another (the likes of McCadden etc). Others don't. Fitzmaurice being the worst. The fact that Bohs fans feel the need to come on here and defend him tells its own story
To clarify, his piece above may be 100% true. That does not detract from his obvious bias in practically every article he's ever written involving Bohs and Rovers
marinobohs
04/07/2011, 12:09 PM
yes he is. How many articles has sadlier written about the LOI in the last 2 years? I'd say 4/5. maybe 2 have mentioned Pats.
Dolan has written more articles criticising Pats than he has praising them since he left (on bad terms).
Regardless, these aren't LOI journalists. They're columnists and can write what they like. Journalists, on the other hand, are supposed to appear unbiased and report the facts. Some do, despite being supporter of one club or another (the likes of McCadden etc). Others don't. Fitzmaurice being the worst. The fact that Bohs fans feel the need to come on here and defend him tells its own story
To clarify, his piece above may be 100% true. That does not detract from his obvious bias in practically every article he's ever written involving Bohs and Rovers
Dodge,perhaps people came on to "defend" him on seeing the silly petulent post you put up (Fitzgypo type crap). All journalistic offerings open to opinion and if you want to believe Dolan is anti Pats feel free, dont be surprised if others dont agree.
As i said people tend to be more "understanding" of bias when it favours their club. Many on here will recall you defending Sadliers nonsence about why he left Pats (imaginary phone call from Bohs) when most thought it utter rubbish.
Completely at a loss to see how you can accept it may be 100% factual and yet criticise him for reporting it (should he not report it because it is shams ? Who exactly is he allowed report on ?)
Can see some bias at play in this but not by Fitzmaurice.
Completely at a loss to see how you can accept it may be 100% factual and yet criticise him for reporting it (should he not report it because it is shams ? Who exactly is he allowed report on ?)
Because I didn't comment at all on that story. I commented at his journalism in general. I'm getting pretty tired of having to spell every ****ing thing out for you too.
marinobohs
04/07/2011, 2:01 PM
Because I didn't comment at all on that story. I commented at his journalism in general. I'm getting pretty tired of having to spell every ****ing thing out for you too.
big difference between "commenting" and petulent stuff in your post - but, hey,thats open to opinion as well.Personally I dont really care if you "spell every thing out" or not (leave the expletives to you), hardly like anyone hangs on your every word now is it ?
Its a forum, dont like it, dont respond to it (heat, kitchen and all that.):)
and Marino commented that there are plenty other affiliated LOI journalists who are clearly as biased as Fitzmaurice. Its not rocket science Dodge. You dont agree with the two he pointed out - big deal. The only unbiased journo i can think of is Dave Kelly. The rest nearly all have clear alternate agendas.
Jicked
04/07/2011, 3:46 PM
Can you put up some links to all these accounts that Hibernian FC are or were actually interested in MON being their manager?
Hibs are hardly going to announce their shortlist to the world, or refute or confirm any alleged interest. In the last week alone the Daily Record, Guardian, Edinburgh Evening News journalists have all mentioned MON being linked with the job (which isn't available as of yet), before you start looking at Hibs blogs/forums.
Hibs4Ever
04/07/2011, 5:32 PM
Hibs are hardly going to announce their shortlist to the world, or refute or confirm any alleged interest. In the last week alone the Daily Record, Guardian, Edinburgh Evening News journalists have all mentioned MON being linked with the job (which isn't available as of yet), before you start looking at Hibs blogs/forums.
So you have no proof that Hibs are or ever were interested in MON. Cheers for clearing that up
04/07/2011, 6:25 PM
One of the tabloids today reckoned Rovers are after Tony Cousins to replace Croly. Presumably so they dont have to fork out for new initialled training gear. Actually maybe we'll appoint Croly to replace Cousins too.
Jicked
04/07/2011, 10:55 PM
So you have no proof that Hibs are or ever were interested in MON. Cheers for clearing that up
Have you proof of any club being interested in any manager, bar ones that were appointed, or who failed to get the job after going public with their talks.
Wait, why are you arguing about this again?
04/07/2011, 11:24 PM
Steve Mclaren has come out and stated he wants Calderwood as his no.2 and talks are on going with Hibs - let the MON rumor mill spin again
Hibs4Ever
05/07/2011, 6:07 AM
Have you proof of any club being interested in any manager, bar ones that were appointed, or who failed to get the job after going public with their talks.
Why would I need to supply proof? I'm not the one claiming "Hibs have, by all accounts, been interested in MON for some time"
Wait, why are you arguing about this again?
Who's arguing? Someone made a completely bullsh*t claim that Hibernian FC are and have for some time, been interested in MON as their manager, so i asked them to back it up with all these "accounts". They can't. End of
Jicked
05/07/2011, 11:17 AM
By "accounts" I think he probably meant fairly consistent paper talk on the matter, as opposed to Hibs releasing any shortlists or Rod Petrie talking on the record about other managers he likes the look of when he still has someone in that position.
What a very odd reaction to transfer speculation. You must lose it completely on August 31st if you have Sky Sports News.
marinobohs
05/07/2011, 12:31 PM
By "accounts" I think he probably meant fairly consistent paper talk on the matter, as opposed to Hibs releasing any shortlists or Rod Petrie talking on the record about other managers he likes the look of when he still has someone in that position.
What a very odd reaction to transfer speculation. You must lose it completely on August 31st if you have Sky Sports News.
To be honest Lads I can undestand both sides - if I was a Hibbie I would be quite worried at the prospect of M'ON decending on the club :p never the less there has been speculation linking him to Hibs - however tenuous and as such its fair game to end up on here. As ever its up to each individual to decide how much faith they put in reports on any topic on here (orindeed any website). Personally always found FOOT.IE to be among the best sources but by no means infallible
Hibs4Ever
05/07/2011, 12:32 PM
By "accounts" I think he probably meant fairly consistent paper talk on the matter, as opposed to Hibs releasing any shortlists or Rod Petrie talking on the record about other managers he likes the look of when he still has someone in that position. .
So by nonsense rumour/gossip in rag newspapers. Fair enough. Petrie has always been known to take the cheap option, but he'd never be that desperate
What a very odd reaction to transfer speculation.
Why do you find it odd that I asked where he saw all these accounts of Hibs wanting MON?
You must lose it completely on August 31st if you have Sky Sports News.
Nope, don't have any of the Sky channels, or don't have any interest in having them
Jicked
05/07/2011, 10:26 PM
I wouldn't have considered the Guardian a rag, their SPL correspondent Ewan Murray suggested he'd be in with a shout of any job, the Scotsman did too, as did the Edinburgh Evening News and Daily Record (the last two being the rags). Having been to Easter Road a half dozen times since Christmas, their fans know all about MON and reckon he's in with a good shout of managing them one day. If the job was available tomorrow, I bet the bookies would have MON in the first 3 or 4 names. Considering we're talking about would he be potentially in with a shout of a job if it were going, it hardly seems to be as completely ludicrous that he might be linked to it.
It's odd because when someone asks for accounts of a transfer link, most people would accept the above as being just that as most people are able to understand when such links are confirmed and when they wont be by the club, which is all you seem to accept.
Jim Magilton coming in to replace Crolly?
Jicked
06/07/2011, 9:26 AM
Yes, ex-Ipswich Town and QPR manager Jim Magilton will be our temporary assistant manager.
06/07/2011, 12:05 PM
Irish Times reporting this as true, incredibly.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2011/0706/1224300169500.html
Former Northern Ireland captain Jim Magilton has been drafted in to assist Shamrock Rovers boss Michael O’Neill on temporary basis.
marinobohs
06/07/2011, 12:13 PM
Irish Times reporting this as true, incredibly.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2011/0706/1224300169500.html
Much as JICKED did earlier ?
06/07/2011, 12:16 PM
Most of this morning's papers have it. Presumably because everyone recognises him from the real football they play in the real league across the water.
06/07/2011, 12:49 PM
Much as JICKED did earlier ?
I thought he was joking!
Jicked
06/07/2011, 11:05 PM
Oh ye of little faith. It is an impressive appointment by MON alright, will be interesting to see what effect he can have in a short period of time.
marinobohs
07/07/2011, 11:12 AM
Oh ye of little faith. It is an impressive appointment by MON alright, will be interesting to see what effect he can have in a short period of time.
Impressive if they can work together ! Tail wagging dog and all that. Should be a good appointment though (if areas of responsibility are clear) as, given shams big/quality squad, it can be a chore in itself keeping everyone happy.
07/07/2011, 11:21 AM
Not necessarily related to jacked, but it is funny reading some Rovers fans talk about Magilton’s ‘impressive’ appointment and be very positive about it, while only last week saying the No 2 job means nothing…
(And granted its not all of them)
07/07/2011, 12:44 PM
In fairness to Magilton, he's made it clear it's a short term gig so I doubt he'll be muscling in too much. It's probably just something to keep him occupied while he waits to see what offers come in over the summer (if any).
At this stage I would've assumed that MON was told by the board to get someone in short term as I don't think it would be wise to get a long term No.2 in if the manager himself may not be at the club long term.