View Full Version : Dermot O'Leary

Condex
23/06/2004, 9:55 PM
Dermot was on fantasy football tonight, very good.

And despite taking a bit of stick (English accent) declared that he supported Ireland and that Wayne Rooney was also Irish because:
1) His name
2) He looks Irish
3) Comes from Liverpool

24/06/2004, 7:44 AM
Yah well done thought he handled it very well.

Forgive my ignorance though who is Dermot O'Leary.

24/06/2004, 8:02 AM
He presents Big Brother, and I think he does some weekend interview/music thing on Channel four on weekend mornings

24/06/2004, 8:04 AM
This should give you some idea.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sportacademy/borntowin/hi/the_mentors/newsid_3201000/3201517.stm

:ball: PP

finlma
24/06/2004, 8:40 AM
He was very defiant in his supporting of Ireland and not England, fair play to him. Frank Skinner didn't look impressed.

I live with all English people and they can't understand how I support whoever they play. I just say that it's too hard to explain.

24/06/2004, 8:45 AM
He was very defiant in his supporting of Ireland and not England, fair play to him. Frank Skinner didn't look impressed.

**** Frank Skinner. :)

Dermot is a great example for all young 2G in Britain who identify with their heritage. He's always been unequivocal about his Irishness whenever interviewed, even in the face of opposition from the likes of Skinner. More power to his elbow.

:ball: PP

24/06/2004, 9:14 AM
O'Leary is constantly talking about his Irishness (or as he put it God's Country) and every now and again wears his "Made in Ireland" t-shirt. He also presented a show on chennel 4 a couple of years ago wearing a Wexford GAA shirt. A mate of mine from wexford who was living in Cardiff at the time felt a bit of local pride...

Best bit last night was whenafter the inital claim, Skinner asked "but you're followig England this time surely"

"No" was the quick and decisive answer...

carnstien
24/06/2004, 9:20 AM
2) He looks Irish

Well I hope to christ I don't look Irish then!

24/06/2004, 9:25 AM
yeah dermot has had a irish passport since he was 8 or 9, comes into the embassy to get it renewed and always signs autographs and poses for photos with staff, from what they say he's a sound head...

he is also big into american football and was a sky pundit for the super bowl this year.

24/06/2004, 9:42 AM
he is also big into american football and was a sky pundit for the super bowl this year.
Read a thing where he was asked to try out for the English national side and said no "because I'm Irish and my dad woud kill me..."

28/06/2004, 9:47 AM
Bryan McFadden was on Fantasy Football on Friday night and said he was supporting England. Tosser.

Last night, Phoenix From The Flames (which I usually enjoy) was Ray Houghton's goal from Euro 88 against England. In the lead up, Ray had to prove his Irishness by dressing up as a leprechaun, the dancer from Riverdance, and finally an IRA gunman. Which I felt was pretty insulting to be honest.

finlma
28/06/2004, 10:07 AM
Bryan McFadden was on Fantasy Football on Friday night and said he was supporting England. Tosser.

Last night, Phoenix From The Flames (which I usually enjoy) was Ray Houghton's goal from Euro 88 against England. In the lead up, Ray had to prove his Irishness by dressing up as a leprechaun, the dancer from Riverdance, and finally an IRA gunman. Which I felt was pretty insulting to be honest.

I agree, it was a disgrace last night. Usually the jokes are good but dressing Ray Houghton as an IRA gunman was very offensive.

I think McFadden said he supported England so he wouldn't have to take any stick from the crowd.

Paulie
28/06/2004, 10:38 AM
That's an absolute f*cking disgrace.

finlma
28/06/2004, 10:39 AM
Which I felt was pretty insulting to be honest.

If you were really insulted you can make a complaint to Ofcom (http://www.ofcom.org.uk). I made a complaint to them anyway.

SeanieBoy
28/06/2004, 10:58 AM
They have to pitch it so the T*ns can fit in their individual sterotypes of the world......my pal at school with Rayo,claims he was 'staunch'.......though probably mellowed in old age..... :eek:

PS.Dermot O'L.;Top response to the two planks.....S.& B.......the lads told me,that 'Skinner' is some sort of 2nd.generation...his real name being Francis Collins?

I didn't see the Dermot Leary one, but by all acounts they blanked him when he said he didn't support England & started claiming that all the Irish team were English, they will always use that one...What about that German/Canadian gimp they have playing for them, what about Greg Rusedski, John Barnes, Lennox Lewis etc....I can't stand the ignorance of the way they carry on. Doing an Irish dance when Bryan McFadden was on aswell, he let himself down badly.

pbn
28/06/2004, 12:05 PM
Personally, I thought it was Rayo that let himself down. He was used, the fool! Is he that skint that he has to dress up an a leppo,Irish dancer? for those muppets. He also allowed them to joke about him/the players "not being really Irish" yet AGAIN..
Shame on you Ray !!

28/06/2004, 12:08 PM
well ray always says he looks for the scotish results first......

28/06/2004, 12:23 PM
Doing an Irish dance when Bryan McFadden was on aswell, he let himself down badly.

Yeah, that was OTT as well, reckon Skinner should have been tackled or something for that one, although McFadden probably didn't want to **** off any prospective employers in England. W@nker

f you were really insulted you can make a complaint to Ofcom (http://www.ofcom.org.uk). I made a complaint to them anyway.

Thanks for that finlma, I went to the fantasy football website (http://www.itv.com/fantasyfootball) (which is little more than an ad for the show - nice one ITV) and their email address is listed, it's tough to read though, I think it's fantasyfootball@avalonuk.com I mailed them with a complaint, and I'll mail ofcom now

fergalr
28/06/2004, 12:54 PM
Sorry folks - I had posted a new thread about this before seeing that you were already talking about it. Ta for all the relevent links and email addresses.