View Full Version : Weekends Latest (w/e 17 June)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

18/06/2011, 8:46 PM
Thought Bobby Ryan was back with Galway or has he signed recently?

Mr Maroon
18/06/2011, 9:23 PM
Thought Bobby Ryan was back with Galway or has he signed recently?

He's been with us all season. He played for us last night.

18/06/2011, 9:25 PM
4-0 win for us tonight - Thought we played well enough. Nice goal by Raff just as he was coming off. Horgan scored direct from a corner ! We were cruising for most of it and Ventre and McGuinness mopped up anything that came their way.

18/06/2011, 10:06 PM
He's been with us all season. He played for us last night.

Ya I thought so. kdjac must have picked up the wrong name.

Pike fan saying again that he is signing for them because he is moving back to Limerick and that Galway are going to be folded in a few weeks. I'd take that with a huge pinch of salt of course.

Mr Maroon
19/06/2011, 12:47 AM
Ya I thought so. kdjac must have picked up the wrong name.

Pike fan saying again that he is signing for them because he is moving back to Limerick and that Galway are going to be folded in a few weeks. I'd take that with a huge pinch of salt of course.

I wouldn't be surprised or upset if Bobby left soon.

We aren't going to fold in a few weeks.

legendz
19/06/2011, 2:15 PM
Yet another big win. There's been a good few big wins over the last few weeks. A few clubs have been showing their class.

Dillonman
19/06/2011, 3:23 PM
Yet another big win. There's been a good few big wins over the last few weeks. A few clubs have been showing their class.

Or a few clubs have been showing how poor they are!

WindmillWarrior
19/06/2011, 5:11 PM
They signed a fair few players too, Robbie Clarke, Gavin Whelan, Tony Grant (allegedley only 34???),Bobby Ryan and 2 others who i forget.

Not sure about all that! There are a couple training with us but if they're signed or not is another story

legendz
19/06/2011, 9:59 PM
Or a few clubs have been showing how poor they are!

lol, could be the case. I'll look at the glass half full for this one.

geezer
19/06/2011, 10:26 PM
we might get some pride in displays soon.

born2bwild
19/06/2011, 10:50 PM
Although our fans(and maybe others at other grounds) comment on the lack of travelling support I have to commend the few Galway fans who were in Tallaght. Just like Drogheda your team is what it is and it must be demoralising to be going to games fully expecting to lose. But you keep going. Fans like this are invaluable to not only the club but the league. I take my hat off to you.
I keep going and I don't even have a club anymore.

jafrazer
20/06/2011, 7:39 AM
http://vimeo.com/25302852

20/06/2011, 8:25 AM

You'll come out eventually.

hoopy
20/06/2011, 11:00 AM

To be fair though Galway and Drogheda are real clubs. Fingal were never a club.

Cuyahoga
20/06/2011, 11:03 AM
OUCH ! Kick him when he's down Hoopy!

hoopy
20/06/2011, 11:30 AM
OUCH ! Kick him when he's down Hoopy!

Nothing against the fella himself, indeed Fingal may have been the reason he started going to LOI so for that we can be grateful, but it was just a matter of time with them, just like Dublin City, and just like a couple of present first division sides. Fran Gavin says he hopes the three Galway sides merge, it would be beneficial to all. Why isn't he asking why there was three Galway sides allowed in the LOI in the first place?

20/06/2011, 12:49 PM
Nothing against the fella himself, indeed Fingal may have been the reason he started going to LOI so for that we can be grateful, but it was just a matter of time with them, just like Dublin City, and just like a couple of present first division sides. Fran Gavin says he hopes the three Galway sides merge, it would be beneficial to all. Why isn't he asking why there was three Galway sides allowed in the LOI in the first place?

This just shows how out of touch Gavin is. Asking those three to amalgamate is the equivalent of asking Bohs, Shels and Pats to do so. Different clubs altogether. As an aside, the three of them wouldn't make up a decent First Division side at the moment.

Mr Maroon
20/06/2011, 2:23 PM
As an aside, the three of them wouldn't make up a decent First Division side at the moment.
Mervue are comfortable in mid-table on their own.

born2bwild
20/06/2011, 5:03 PM
Ha...must have been an hallucination on my part, then. Just like Rovers' consistently poor results against Fingal....all just a dream...Ronan Finn was turned into a real player in the Santry Siro...now Rovers are reaping the benefits....but that's just me and the hallucinogenic drugs.

@BShels I have a season ticket for Shels; haven't missed a game. I'm out. But I can't claim to be a fan; not like the lads who've suffered for the club over the past few years.

Dublin could and should be able to support five or six PD clubs.

20/06/2011, 5:31 PM
Mervue are comfortable in mid-table on their own.

Yup they are a decent side who have improved over time and are holding their own very well. A club a lot of people should have big respect for.

El-Pietro
20/06/2011, 5:42 PM
Finn was a quality player in 2008 for UCD. Rang rings around most of the league back then. I remember clearly him making a fool of a few Cork City midfielders at the time. This was of course when we had bags of money, or someone said we did anyway

20/06/2011, 6:07 PM
This was of course when we had bags of money, or someone said we did anywayAnd look at us now.
Barely two ha'pennies to rub together :D

hoopy
20/06/2011, 6:45 PM
Ha...must have been an hallucination on my part

Just a bad dream

CSFShels
20/06/2011, 7:14 PM
@BShels I have a season ticket for Shels; haven't missed a game. I'm out. But I can't claim to be a fan; not like the lads who've suffered for the club over the past few years.
Hardly relevant and if anyone at our club had that opinion we'd never have another fan come in because it looks like the suffering is over to an extent under Matthews. From what I've gathered on your posts on other forums (assuming I'm associating you with the right usernames there), you've been at pretty much all our away games too. No need to sell yourself short.

20/06/2011, 7:27 PM
Bray 0 - Bohs 1 (Fagan)

20/06/2011, 7:54 PM
Bray 0 - Bohs 2 (Fagan)

20/06/2011, 8:25 PM
Bray 1 - Bohs 2 (Dempsey)

20/06/2011, 8:42 PM
1-2 ft

great result i have to say. Wasnt expecting much from the game...

hoops1
21/06/2011, 1:20 PM
Bohs are looking very good for 6th place now.

marinobohs
21/06/2011, 1:54 PM
bohs are looking very good for 6th place now.

......still never relegated......:cool:

HulaHoop
21/06/2011, 2:14 PM
......still never relegated......:cool:

Ah is that all you have left, God love you. Things must be bad when the best you can come up with is never relegated especially as Bohs finished bottom of the league so many times over the years and had to beg for re-election.

21/06/2011, 2:42 PM
hush now kids.

21/06/2011, 7:13 PM
Dundalk 1 up. Griffin.

21/06/2011, 7:19 PM
Dundalk 1 up. Griffin.

Holy crap! Dundalk haven't been on fire like this since Sunday night!

http://i54.tinypic.com/2w53ck5.jpg

21/06/2011, 7:21 PM
That was a bit of a misfire Mr.A!

White Horse
21/06/2011, 8:07 PM
Football 2 Hoofball 0

21/06/2011, 8:28 PM
1-2 now

Redzer
21/06/2011, 8:30 PM
Derry City 0 - Sligo Rovers 0

White Horse
21/06/2011, 8:37 PM
Shams equaliser from a long hoofed ball.

born2bwild
21/06/2011, 8:37 PM
1-2 now
Is that the exit music to the Incredible Hulk I hear?

Dillonman
21/06/2011, 10:43 PM
Jut home from Tallaght and can I say, Im never going back, full of scum, young lad who came up in the car with me got jumped by 6 village idiots, fairly roughed him up, older Rovers fans walked bye and did/said nothing. Not bloody on, who the hell can they let both sets of fans out at the same time.

Jicked
21/06/2011, 10:50 PM

Were you at the game? Rovers problem on the night was not hoofing the ball, playing a short game very badly, although in tough conditions.

Dillonman
21/06/2011, 10:55 PM
Were you at the game? Rovers problem on the night was not hoofing the ball, playing a short game very badly, although in tough conditions.

Ye where played off the pitch all night, two complete blunders from Cherrie let you back in.

Jicked
21/06/2011, 10:58 PM
We were defended out of the game after Dundalk went ahead, fair play, you deserved the win even if it is strange saying that when you chuck away a two goal lead. After the first half hour though we should have been 2-0 up, Gary O'Neill's inability to finish anything over then his dinner kept you in the game until you scored and then had the better of the game in dreadful conditions for playing football.

Bray-Z
21/06/2011, 11:06 PM
Ah is that all you have left, God love you. Things must be bad when the best you can come up with is never relegated especially as Bohs finished bottom of the league so many times over the years and had to beg for re-election.

Ehh no that'd be us actually!

21/06/2011, 11:09 PM
Jut home from Tallaght and can I say, Im never going back, full of scum, young lad who came up in the car with me got jumped by 6 village idiots, fairly roughed him up, older Rovers fans walked bye and did/said nothing. Not bloody on, who the hell can they let both sets of fans out at the same time.
I can't remember both sets of fans ever being let out at the same time.

bullit
21/06/2011, 11:21 PM
Dundalk fans dont like Tallaght(past experiences, because some times the Shams security DO let both sets of fans out at the same time) You have to be dead wise and know wot your doing or otherwise you will hit trouble.(think setanta cup final)

21/06/2011, 11:25 PM
Stadium security has no discretion - it's the Guards who pen in the Rovers fans while the away section filters out. It'd be a failure on their end. Can't remember there being any trouble on opening day or even the recent fixture v Bohs.

21/06/2011, 11:37 PM

Great to sit beside the Dundalk fans who had just finished a bout of 'Cheerio' as the ball came in to Dennehy. :cool2:

Especially when it's an unwarranted point against a side who threw it away by dropping deeper and deeper and deeper, inviting the late pressure after being in control and having Rovers for the taking.

bullit
21/06/2011, 11:51 PM
Great to sit beside the Dundalk fans who had just finished a bout of 'Cheerio' as the ball came in to Dennehy. :cool2:

Especially when it's an unwarranted point against a side who threw it away by dropping deeper and deeper and deeper, inviting the late pressure after being in control and having Rovers for the taking.

You have have to look at the side that Dundalk went into the game with ?? Injuries were the main point,subs more imporant. Dundalk fans knew that the last 20 mins would be crucial and so it panned out !!

We will get yous yet!!